DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 8-11 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) recite “the aircraft galley”. However, claim 1 recites only “A latching mechanism for an aircraft galley”, whereas claim 14 positively claims “An aircraft galley comprising . . . the latching system”. Therefore, “for an aircraft galley” in claim 1 is interpreted as a statement of intended use, and further references to “the aircraft galley” in claims 1 and 8-11 should be removed. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 5 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “[[A]] The latching mechanism according to claim 4”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 9 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein the handle is substantially flush with [[an]] the outer surface of the aircraft galley”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim(s) 12 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “comprising a bias element configured to bias the latch bolt towards the [[retracted]] extended position”, as is consistent with Para. 0048, Para. 0049 and Figure 3 of the instant specification. Appropriate correction or clarification is required of claim 12 and Para. 0024 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrews (US-2416889-A).
With regards to claim 1, Andrews discloses a latching mechanism (Figures 1-3) for an aircraft galley (interpreted as a statement of intended use, Andrews’s device is suitable for use with an aircraft galley), the aircraft galley (1 Figure 1) comprising a door (3 Figure 1) and a frame (2 Figure 1), the latching mechanism comprising:
a latch bolt (8 Figure 3) movable between a retracted position (Figure 2) and an extended position (Figure 3), wherein the latch bolt is receivable by a latch striker (25 Figure 2) to latch the aircraft galley door when the door is closed and the latch bolt is in the extended position (Col. 3 Lines 40-56);
an actuator (22 Figure 2) configured to move the latch bolt from the extended position to the retracted position (Col. 3 Lines 33-39); and
a handle (7 Figure 1), wherein the handle is movable from a closed position (Figure 1) to an open position (Figure 2) to cause the actuator to move the latch bolt from the extended position to the retracted position, wherein the handle is configured to be pushed (downwards, as shown Figure 2) to move from the closed position to the open position (Col. 1 Lines 26-32).
With regards to claim 2, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 1 and comprising a grip (6b Figure 2), the grip configured to be pulled by a user to open the door (interpreted as a statement of intended use, Andrews’s grip is capable of being pulled by a user to open the door 3), wherein the grip is concealed when the handle is in the closed position (as shown Figure 1), wherein the grip is exposed when the handle is in the open position (as shown Figure 2).
With regards to claim 3, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 2, and comprising a housing (6 Figure 2) surrounding the handle (7 Figure 2), wherein the grip comprises a lip (6b Figure 2), wherein the lip is comprised in the housing (as shown Figure 2).
With regards to claim 4, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 2, wherein the handle (7 Figure 1) comprises a paddle (15 Figure 2) and a pivot (18 Figure 2), the paddle rotatable about the pivot to move from the closed position (Figure 1) to the open position (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 5, Andrews discloses a latching mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the grip (6b Figure 2) is positioned adjacent to a first portion of the paddle (right portion of paddle 15, Figure 2), the first portion on a first side of the pivot (right side of 18, Figure 2) and configured to move inwardly (downwards, Figure 2) when the handle (7 Figure 2) is pushed (as shown Figure 2).
With regards to claim 6, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the actuator (22 Figure 2) is configured to connect to a second portion of the paddle (left portion of paddle 15, Figure 2), the second portion of the paddle on second side of the pivot (left side of 18, Figure 2) and configured to move outwardly (upwards, Figure 2) when the handle (7 Figure 2) is pushed (As shown Figure 2).
With regards to claim 8, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the handle (7 Figure 1) is not configured to project outwardly (Col. 1 Lines 20-26) of an outer surface of the aircraft galley (1 Figure 1).
With regards to claim 9, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the handle (7 Figure 1) is substantially flush (Col. 1 Lines 20-26) with an outer surface of the aircraft galley (1 Figure 1).
With regards to claim 10, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the outer surface (1 Figure 1) comprises a front face of a housing (6 Figure 2) of the latching mechanism.
With regards to claim 11, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the outer surface (1 Figure 1) comprises a front face of the door (3 Figure 1).
With regards to claim 12, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 1 and comprising a bias element (30 Figure 3) configured to bias (Col. 3 Line 70 – Col. 4 Line 5) the latch bolt (8 Figure 3) towards the retracted position (interpreted as intending to recite ‘the extended position’, Figure 3 [see Claim Objections above]).
With regards to claim 13, Andrews discloses the latching system (Figures 1-3) comprising the latching mechanism according claim 1 and the latch striker (25 Figure 2), wherein the latching mechanism is configured to be mounted to the door (3 Figure 1) and the latch striker is configured to be mounted to the frame (2 Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews in view of Saccon (US-20120074714-A1).
With regards to claim 7, Andrews discloses the latching mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the actuator (22 Figure 2) is configured to transmit a force (Col. 3 Lines 33-39) from the handle (7 Figure 1) to the latch bolt (8 Figure 3) to move the latch bolt from the extended position (Figure 3) to the retracted position (Figure 2) when the handle moves from the closed position (Figure 1) to the open position (Figure 2).
Andrews does not disclose that the actuator comprises a Bowden cable.
However, Saccon discloses a latching mechanism (10 Figure 1) wherein a handle (11 Figure 1) and a sliding latch bolt (16 Figure 1) are connected by means of an actuator (15 Figure 1), wherein the actuator can be a tension member comprising either a cable or rigid member (Para. 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Andrews’s semi-rigid with a Bowden cable, as taught by Saccon, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to use a Bowden cable for its higher durability and wear resistance over the lifespan of the latching mechanism, in comparison with Andrews’s bent metal.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews in view of LaConte (US-8616621-B2).
With regards to claim 14, Andrews discloses the door (3 Figure 1), the frame (2 Figure 1) and the latching system (Figures 1-3) of claim 13.
Andrews does not disclose an aircraft galley comprising the door, the frame and the latching system.
However, LaConte discloses a desire for a similar flush-mounted latching system (10 Figures 8-9) in an aircraft galley of an aircraft (Col. 1 Lines 13-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Andrews’s latching system with LaConte’s aircraft galley, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to use Andrews’s latching system for its flush-mounted aesthetic and lightweight construction (Col. 1 Lines 42-50 – Andrews)
With regards to claim 15, Andrews in view of LaConte teaches an aircraft comprising the aircraft galley of claim 14 (Col. 1 Lines 13-23 – LaConte).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-12209444-B2: A related latching system.
US-10557293-B2: A related latching system.
US-20160052231-A1: A related latching system.
US-20050284199-A1: A related latching system.
US-3743336-A: A related latching system.
US-3514979-A: A related latching system.
US-3201161-A: A related latching system.
US-2862749-A: A related latching system.
US-2497624-A: A related latching system.
US-2461393-A: A related latching system.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675