Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kacmarcik et al (US 2015/0188973 A1) in view of Schmieder et al (US 2007/0288640 A1), Kominac (US 2012/0151371 A1) and Perlman et al (US 2010/0166065 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kacmarcik discloses: an ultra-low latency server system comprising: - a first hardware platform comprising a processor and an operating system (Kacmarcik, Fig 1 item 104, 152 or 162);- a first network connection (Kacmarcik, Fig 1, paragraph 0022);- an ultra-low latency remote service executing within said operating system and on the processor (Kacmarcik, Fig 1, paragraph 0023-0024), wherein the processor causes the ultra-low latency remote service to: - receive a rendered image of an application executing on the processor, the rendered image comprising a plurality of frames that include a cursor image in the plurality of frames (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0028, Computing service module 166 may be further configured to use video codec 175 to compress or encode images of server runtime/desktop 172 (including open cloud-application window 173) as image frames in a video stream (e.g., video stream 200, FIG. 2) to be transmitted over network 190 to project a remote desktop on computing device 102);- generate a video stream from the rendered image using video compression and encoding techniques that use data from one or more frames to compress information in later frames(Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0028, Computing service module 166 may be further configured to use video codec 175 to compress or encode images of server runtime/desktop 172 (including open cloud-application window 173) as image frames in a video stream (e.g., video stream 200, FIG. 2) to be transmitted over network 190 to project a remote desktop on computing device 102); - transmit the video stream over the first network connection to a remote browser operating on a client device (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0028-0030, Computing service module 166 may be further configured to use video codec 175 to compress or encode images of server runtime/desktop 172 (including open cloud-application window 173) as image frames in a video stream (e.g., video stream 200, FIG. 2) to be transmitted over network 190 to project a remote desktop on computing device 102), - wherein the ultra-low latency server system is configured to establish the first network connection by receiving a connection request from the client device comprising the remote browser (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0026, 0028-0030, Computing service module 166 may be further configured to use video codec 175 to compress or encode images of server runtime/desktop 172 (including open cloud-application window 173) as image frames in a video stream (e.g., video stream 200, FIG. 2) to be transmitted over network 190 to project a remote desktop on computing device 102);- whereby, in use, a user of the remote browser experiences real-time or near real-time control of the application executing on the processor of the first hardware platform (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0026-0028, Cloud computing service module 166 may be configured so that when a user of computing device 102 selects, for example, a network-hosted file or document (e.g., network-hosted file 170) from cloud data storage (e.g., cloud data storage service 158) for opening or processing, cloud computing service module 166 selects an appropriate network-hosted application (e.g., network-hosted application 171) to open or process network-hosted file 170 on server 160). Kacmarcik does not explicitly disclose remove the cursor image in the plurality of frames; and the connection instructions comprise a hyper-text markup language (HTML) page and executable JavaScript and cursor location information representing a location of the cursor in each frame of the plurality of frames before the cursor image was removed and the cursor image information comprising a bitmap of the cursor to facilitate rendering of the cursor by the remote browser. However, Schmieder discloses remove the cursor image in the plurality of frames (Schmieder, paragraph 0031, 0034, wherein “More specifically, the cursor bitmaps 160 will typically not be included on the sharer's 150's frame buffer 155, since the sharer's 150's cursor 145 is not rendered as graphics data on its own screen … Note that before the mouse pointer 145 is drawn, it may be necessary to make sure that the mouse pointer 145 can be erased. Embodiments accomplish this task in various ways. For example, the cursor bitmaps 160 and other screen portions 165 may be saved (e.g., using SaveScreenBits or memblt) to an off screen cache 155 using similar operations as described in the above rendering operations. Another way may be to save the mouse pointer 145, 110, but draw the mouse pointer 145, 110 in an inverted way. If the screen content (e.g., screen bitmaps 165) were saved using an offscreen or other similar bitmap operation, erasing the mouse cursor 145 may imply restoring the screen bits 165 from temporary cache 155. For example, we can restore the screen bits by syncing the content of the sharer's 150's frame buffer with the viewer's 190's in order to render the application 140 without the cursor 145 (as previously mentioned)”); and cursor location information representing a location of the cursor in each frame of the plurality of frames before the cursor image was removed (Schmieder, paragraph 0034, wherein “Note that before the mouse pointer 145 is drawn, it may be necessary to make sure that the mouse pointer 145 can be erased. Embodiments accomplish this task in various ways. For example, the cursor bitmaps 160 and other screen portions 165 may be saved (e.g., using SaveScreenBits or memblt) to an off screen cache 155 using similar operations as described in the above rendering operations. Another way may be to save the mouse pointer 145, 110, but draw the mouse pointer 145, 110 in an inverted way. If the screen content (e.g., screen bitmaps 165) were saved using an offscreen or other similar bitmap operation, erasing the mouse cursor 145 may imply restoring the screen bits 165 from temporary cache 155. For example, we can restore the screen bits by syncing the content of the sharer's 150's frame buffer with the viewer's 190's in order to render the application 140 without the cursor 145 (as previously mentioned).”); and the cursor image information comprising a bitmap of the cursor to facilitate rendering of the cursor by the remote browser (Schmieder, paragraph 0030, wherein “More specifically, the sharer 150 encoder used in remote sessions can reserve a portion of a frame buffer (on the viewer 190) for storing cursor bitmaps 160. Accordingly, updating the sharer's 150's (or other's 105's) cursor shape 145 (110) means caching 155 the bitmaps 160 (e.g., AND and XOR bitmaps) used by a cursor 145. Note that although the temporary cache 155 is shown on the viewer 190 side, this cache 155 mechanism may be on either or both sides of the distributed system 100. In other words, as one would appreciate, the cursor bitmaps 160 can first be stored in a temporary cache 155 on the sharer's 150's side. Eventually, however, the cursor bitmaps 160 will be sent as graphics data 175 in the graphics stream 170, which may then be stored on the viewer side 190 in a frame buffer”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kacmarcik and Schmieder as claimed because this would have provided a way to improve the performance of the system by solving the problem of the too-slow response speed of the cursor when a controlled computer is remotely controlled by a mouse in a client computer.Kacmarcik and Schmieder do not explicitly disclose that remote browser having a JavaScript engine wherein the connection instructions comprise a hyper-text markup language (HTML) page and executable JavaScript. However, Kominac discloses that remote browser having a JavaScript engine wherein the connection instructions comprise a hyper-text markup language (HTML) page and executable JavaScript (Kominac, Fig 1, paragraph 0057, wherein the present disclosure can include or utilize a HTML5 compatible web browser having a 2D canvas, e.g., 530 in FIG. 5. The HTML5 specification provides for a 2D canvas, which allows for dynamic, real-time, scriptable rendering of 2D shapes and bitmap images. In one aspect, being scriptable can mean or include reference to utilizing JavaScript for rendering a 2D image. The canvas consists of a drawable region defined in HTML code with height and width attributes. JavaScript code may access the area through a full set of drawing functions similar to other common 2D APIs, thus allowing for dynamically generated graphics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kacmarcik and Kominac as claimed because this would have provided a way to allow remote desktop session via HTML and JavaScript which eliminates the need to have a protocol-specific software application that executes on the user's specific operating system and platform or plug-in for a specific browser (see Kominac abstract, paragraph 0003).Kacmarcik, Schmieder, and Kominac do not explicitly disclose that:- wherein the video compression and encoding techniques are tuned to minimize buffering by using a minimum number of the plurality of frames during a compression process to reduce the latency in the system. However, Perlman discloses that:- wherein the video compression and encoding techniques are tuned to minimize buffering by using a minimum number of the plurality of frames during a compression process to reduce the latency in the system (Perlman, paragraph 0166-0168, 0175, wherein “Thus, another approach would be to eliminate B frames and only use I and P frames. (One consequence of this is the data rate would increase for a given quality level, but for the sake of consistency in this example, let's continue to assume that each I frame is 160 Kb and the average P frame is 16 Kb in size, and thus the data rate is still 1.1 Mbps) This approach eliminates the unavoidable latency introduced by B frames, since the decoding of each P frame is only reliant upon the prior received frame … The low-latency compression logic 404 employed in one embodiment uses several different techniques to address the range of problems with streaming low-latency compressed video, while maintaining high quality. First, the low-latency compression logic 404 generates only I frames and P frames, thereby alleviating the need to wait several frame times to decode each B frame”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kacmarcik, Schmieder and Kominac in view of Perlman which eliminates B-frames to achieve the claimed limitation because this would have provided a way to reduce high latency and improve the performance of the system.
Claims 12-13 and 17 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 2-8, 11, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kacmarcik et al (US 2015/0188973 A1) in view of Schmieder et al (US 2007/0288640 A1), Kominac (US 2012/0151371 A1), Perlman et al (US 2010/0166065 A1) and Yamta et al (US 2013/0117659 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 1 is incorporated and discloses Kacmarcik wherein the remote service further causes the processor to: receive the connection request from the remote browser (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0026-0028, Cloud computing service module 166 may be configured so that when a user of computing device 102 selects, for example, a network-hosted file or document (e.g., network-hosted file 170) from cloud data storage (e.g., cloud data storage service 158) for opening or processing, cloud computing service module 166 selects an appropriate network-hosted application (e.g., network-hosted application 171) to open or process network-hosted file 170 on server 160). Kacmarcik, Schmieder, Kominac and Perlman do not explicitly disclose wherein the connection request comprising displayable screen dimensions on the remote browser. However, Yamta further discloses: wherein the connection request comprising displayable screen dimensions on the remote browser (Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, where the web client application 110 sends a request for application content 222. According to embodiments, the desired size input parameter may be sent to the server 104 as part of a request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kacmarcik and Kominac and Perlman in view of Yamta to include the displayable screen dimensions on the remote browser in the request as claimed because this would have provided a way to reduce the video/image size to the available area in the browser which reduces the load in the network and improves the efficiency of the system (see Yamta paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 2 is incorporated and Yamta further discloses: wherein the displayable screen dimensions are smaller than dimensions of the rendered image (Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, generate the requested application content 222 using the desired size input parameter to determine an optimal image size for the target display resolution).
Regarding claim 4, Claim 2 is incorporated and Kacmarcik and Yamta further discloses: wherein the remote service further causes the processor to: generate the video stream to match the displayable screen dimensions (Kacmarcik, paragraph 0017, 0042-0043, Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, generate the requested application content 222 using the desired size input parameter to determine an optimal image size for the target display resolution));
Regarding claim 5, Claim 2 is incorporated and Kacmarcik and Yamta further discloses: wherein the remote service further causes the processor to: cause the rendered image to match the displayable screen dimensions (Kacmarcik, paragraph 0017, 0042-0043, Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, generate the requested application content 222 using the desired size input parameter to determine an optimal image size for the target display resolution));
Regarding claim 6, Claim 2 is incorporated and Kacmarcik and Kominac and Perlman in view of Yamta do not explicitly disclose: the remote browser being configured to pan and/or zoom the video stream. However, having a pan and/or zoom function in a browser to zoon/pan video content is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kacmarcik and Kominac, Perlman and Yamta to include pan/zoom function as claimed because this would have provided a way to improve the user experience and achieve better user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 7, Claim 2 is incorporated and Kacmarcik and Yamta further discloses: wherein the processor further causes the remote service to: receive updated displayable screen dimensions from the remote browser; and change the video stream to match the updated displayable screen dimensions (Kacmarcik, paragraph 0017, 0042-0043, Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, generate the requested application content 222 using the desired size input parameter to determine an optimal image size for the target display resolution));
Regarding claim 8, Claim 2 is incorporated and Schmieder further discloses: wherein the remote service further causes the processor to: transmit a cursor identifier, the cursor identifier identifying a displayed cursor by the application (Schmieder, paragraph 0019, wherein “In step 340, the client computer 210 receives the cursor data D3, which includes a cursor coordinate, a cursor pattern and a cursor check code. The cursor pattern includes a number. Because the cursor may include multiple cursor patterns, such as an arrow and a finger, the correct pattern has to be found according to the cursor check code.”)
Regarding claim 11, Claim 2 is incorporated and Kominac and Yamta further discloses: connection management system executing the processor, the connection management system that: receives, and optionally authenticates, the connection request from the remote browser, the connection request being for remote access to an application server through the remote browser (Kacmarcik, Fig 1-2, paragraph 0026-0028, Cloud computing service module 166 may be configured so that when a user of computing device 102 selects, for example, a network-hosted file or document (e.g., network-hosted file 170) from cloud data storage (e.g., cloud data storage service 158) for opening or processing, cloud computing service module 166 selects an appropriate network-hosted application (e.g., network-hosted application 171) to open or process network-hosted file 170 on server 160), wherein the connection request comprises the displayable screen dimensions for the remote browser (Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3 steps 315-325, paragraph 0031-0033, where the web client application 110 sends a request for application content 222. According to embodiments, the desired size input parameter may be sent to the server 104 as part of a request); determines a set of configuration settings for the application server; causes the application server to be configured with the set of configuration settings (Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3, paragraph 0031-0033, where generate the requested application content 222 using the desired size input parameter to determine an optimal image size for the target display resolution. The server 104 may open the file containing the requested content 222, which may be a presentation file, and start rendering the content, for example, slides within the presentation. The server 104 may use the web client application-provided desired size input parameter to determine an optimal size for the target display resolution and dynamically generate images 222 that are sized appropriately); determines a set of connection settings for the remote browser; and transmits the set of connection settings to the remote browser; the system optionally comprising a load balancer that selects the application server from a plurality of application servers (Yamta, abstract, Fig 2 item 224, Fig 3, paragraph 0036, where the server 104 sends the requested application content 222 to the web client application 110, the application content 222 being rendered according to the desired size input parameter. At OPERATION 335, the web client application 110 receives the application content 222 and displays the content in the web browser pane 202).
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-8 and 11.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kacmarcik et al (US 2015/0188973 A1) in view of Schmieder et al (US 2007/0288640 A1), Kominac (US 2012/0151371 A1), Perlman et al (US 2010/0166065 A1), and Miyamoto et al (US 2013/0050275 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 8 is incorporated and Kacmarcikm, Schmieder, Kominac and Perlman in view of Yamta do not explicitly disclose: wherein the processor further causes the remote service to: transmit a cursor boundary, the cursor boundary identifying a region within the video stream for which the cursor identifier is valid. However, Miyamoto discloses wherein the processor further causes the remote service to: transmit a cursor boundary, the cursor boundary identifying a region within the video stream for which the cursor identifier is valid (Miyamoto, paragraph 0008, wherein the server creates drawing data, which is to be displayed, corresponding to the input event transmitted from the client to the server, and then creates a table in which cursor IDs are related to object area information included in the drawing data. The server transmits the created table and drawing data to the client. The client moves the mouse cursor in a state in which the drawing data corresponding to the input event is displayed. The client then determines, from the table, the cursor ID in the object area corresponding to the position to which the mouse cursor has been moved, and draws the shape of the mouse cursor corresponding to the cursor ID at the position to which the mouse cursor has been moved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kacmarcik and Kominac, Perlman and Yamta with Miyamoto to include cursor identifier as claimed because this would reduce a communication frequency involved in mouse cursor movement in the server drawing method which reduces the load in the network and improves the efficiency of the system (see Miyamoto paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 9 is incorporated and Miyamoto further discloses: wherein the video stream comprises an audio channel (Miyamoto, paragraph 0008, wherein the server creates drawing data, which is to be displayed, corresponding to the input event transmitted from the client to the server, and then creates a table in which cursor IDs are related to object area information included in the drawing data. The server transmits the created table and drawing data to the client. The client moves the mouse cursor in a state in which the drawing data corresponding to the input event is displayed. The client then determines, from the table, the cursor ID in the object area corresponding to the position to which the mouse cursor has been moved, and draws the shape of the mouse cursor corresponding to the cursor ID at the position to which the mouse cursor has been moved).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/14/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457