DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 6,685,362 to Burkholder et al.
In regards to claim 1, Burkholder recites an LC dustproof adapter (Figure 1b; 10) comprising a housing (11), a bushing disposed in an inner cavity (2) of the housing and a ceramic (Column 4, Lines 20-30; ceramic sleeves in LC adapters are well-known in the art) sleeve disposed in the bushing (not labeled; sleeve and bushing are located around the inner cavity 2), and a dustproof mechanism disposed in a socket of the housing, the dustproof mechanism comprising a shutter (13) and a slider (14), wherein: the shutter rotatably (at 13b) is disposed at a bottom of the socket of the housing; and the slider is slidably disposed at a top of the socket of the housing; wherein the shutter is provided with a first elastic resetting member (15/51) and the slider is provided with a second elastic resetting member (15/51), the shutter and the slider are mutually closed under action of the first elastic resetting member and the second elastic resetting member.
In regards to claim 3, Burkholder recites the slider is slidably disposed in two first guide rail grooves (where element 31 is disposed) at a top of the socket of the housing through two first guide rails integrally formed at two sides of the slider, the second elastic resetting member is a spring (51), and the second elastic resetting member abuts against a rear end of the slider.
In regards to claim 6, Burkholder recites the housing forms a duplex adapter, a quad adapter, a sextuplex adapter, an octuplex adapter or a dozen adapter.
In regards to claim 7, Burkholder recites the bushing comprises a first bushing and a second bushing, the first bushing is integrally molded into the housing, the second bushing is integrally molded into a front end of a partition plate, and the partition plate is inserted into the inner cavity of the housing and divides the inner cavity of the housing into two sockets. (Figure 1A)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 6,685,362 to Burkholder et al as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, although Burkholder does not expressly disclose a clip disposed on outer side of the housing, the clip comprises a first elastic claw, a second elastic claw and a third elastic claw arranged in a triangular shape, the first elastic claw and the second elastic claw are arranged side by side, an end portion of the first elastic claw is bent to form a first positioning portion and an end portion of the second elastic claw is bent to form a second positioning portion, the addition of a clip on the outer side of the housing having different shapes and configurations for the purpose of additional securement and alignment of optical components as a well established concept in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a clip disposed on outer side of the housing, the clip comprises a first elastic claw, a second elastic claw and a third elastic claw arranged in a triangular shape, the first elastic claw and the second elastic claw are arranged side by side, an end portion of the first elastic claw is bent to form a first positioning portion and an end portion of the second elastic claw is bent to form a second positioning portion.
In regards to claim 5, although Burkholder does not expressly disclose a middle of the shutter defines an arc concave surface, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have included a concave surface in order to provide the desired design and functionality as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the shutter is rotatably disposed in the socket of the housing through two rotating shafts at two ends of the shutter, the first elastic resetting member comprises an inner spring piece and a sealing cover, the inner spring piece comprises an elastic piece installation plate, an elastic arm integrally formed in a middle of the elastic piece installation plate, and an inner buckle integrally formed on two respective sides of the elastic piece installation plate, the elastic piece installation plate is installed on a small hanging table of the housing through the inner buckle, the elastic arm presses a back surface of the shutter, the sealing cover is installed outside the elastic piece installation plate, and the sealing cover is connected to the housing through two outer buckles at two sides in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 8-10, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest two ends of the partition plate are provided with a second guide rail and a third guide rail, the second guide rail and the third guide rail are respectively inserted into a second guide rail groove and a third guide rail groove of the inner cavity of the housing, each of the second guide rail and the third guide rail is provided with a hook, and each of the second guide rail groove and the third guide rail groove is provided with a hanging groove, and the hanging groove is hung on the hook in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 11-13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the slider comprises a base and a cylinder, the base defines an accommodate groove, at least a part of the cylinder is installed in the accommodate groove, and a first end of the cylinder is fixedly connected to an inner side of one end of the base; the slider is slidably disposed in two first guide rail grooves at a top of the socket of the housing through two first guide rails integrally formed on two respective sides of the slider in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. None of the documents cited by the Examiner discloses or reasonably suggests the allowable subject matter discussed above.
The documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement have been considered and made of record. Note attached copy of form PTO-1449. None of the references submitted by Applicant discloses or reasonably suggest the allowable subject matter discussed above.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874