DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 11/15/2024 and has PRO 63/600374 (11/17/2023). Claims 1-7, 10, 19, 24-38 and 71-79 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 1 has a proviso that the abundance of deuterium in Z is at least 75%. There are three possible positions for Z to be deuterium. For there to be 75% at least deuterium, then all three would have to be deuterium at all times. Otherwise, there would be 33% or 66% deuterium. Clarification is required.
Claims 72 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include 1) the breadth of the claims, 2) the nature of the invention, 3) the state of the prior art, 4) the level of one of ordinary skill, 5) the level of predictability in the art, 6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, 7) the existence of working examples, and 8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The nature of the invention: The nature of the invention is the method of treating a disorder or condition that is mediated by nuclear SET domain-containing protein 2 (NSD2).
The state of the prior art: The state of the prior art is that it involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat which specific disease). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic regimen on its face. NSD2 is known to be involved in cancers (Jeong). However, the full extent of what NSD2 could be involved in has yet to be determined.
The predictability in the art: It is noted that the pharmaceutical art is unpredictable, requiring each embodiment to be individually assessed for physiological activity. In re Fisher, 427 F. 2d 833, 166 USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970) indicates that the more unpredictable an area is, the more specific enablement is necessary in order to satisfy the statute. In the instant case, the instantly claimed invention is highly unpredictable since one skilled in the art would recognize that in regards to the therapeutic effects of all diseases, whether or not the modulation of NSD2 receptors would make a difference in the disease. Hence, in the absence of a showing of a nexus between any and all known diseases and the modulation of NSD2 receptors, one of ordinary skill in the art is unable to fully predict possible results from the administration of the compound of claim 1 due to the unpredictability of the role of modulation of NSD2 receptors. Jeong teaches that NSD2 modulators can treat pancreatic and lung cancer. However, other uses for NSD2 are not yet known.
The presence or absence of working examples: The compound instantly claimed has been shown to have NSD2 inhibitory activity. However, there are no working examples of the instant compound treating any disease or condition.
The amount of direction or guidance present: The guidance present in the specification is that the instant compound is a NSD2 inhibitor and therefore can treat cancer. The specification does not seem to enable a correlation between the mediation of NSD2 receptors and the treatment of any other disease or condition.
The breadth of the claims: The claims are drawn to the treatment of any and all diseases mediated by the bradykinin receptor with the compound of claim 1.
The quantity of experimentation needed: The quantity of experimentation needed is undue. One skilled in the art would need to determine what diseases out of all known diseases would be benefited by the mediation of NSD2 receptors and then would further need to determine which of the claimed compounds would provide treatment of the disease.
The level of the skill in the art: The level of skill in the art is high. However, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro and in vivo screening to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
Thus, the specification fails to provide sufficient support of the broad use of the compounds of claim 1 for the treatment of any disease. As a result necessitating one of ordinary skill to perform an exhaustive search for which diseases can be treated by which compound of claim 1 in order to practice the claimed invention.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds of the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 19, 24-38 and 71-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11420970 Deng and US Patent 12312353 Deng. Deng teaches the instantly claimed compound (see claim 19 for ‘353 and claim 21 for ‘970). Salts are claimed and taught on paragraphs 129, 134 and 136 as well as C14l24-37 and C15l24-49 for ‘970 and paragraphs 110, 115 and 117 for ‘353. Both teach deuterated compounds (paragraphs 129, 134 amd136 for ‘970 and 105 and 112 for ‘353). The difference is that Deng does not specifically make a deuterated compound. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make a deuterated version of the compound taught by Deng with the reasonable expectation of getting a compound having the same or similar properties. Rationale: Deng teaches the possibility of deuterated versions of the compounds within the specification.
Claims 1-7, 10, 19, 24-38 and 71-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 12492203 Connolly. Connolly teaches deuterium enriched compounds and their use in modulating NSD2 and treating cancer. Claim 5 shows the deuterated compound of claim 1. Claim 6 is the pharmaceutical composition. Claim 9 is the treating of NSD2 cancer. The claims are drawn to the compound or the salt. Salts are taught on C10l19-50. The difference between the instantly claimed compounds/methods and the prior art is that the prior art does not specifically make the salts that are claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the salts of the deuterated compounds taught by Connolly. Rationale: Connolly teaches the deuterated compounds and specifically claims the pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, which includes the instantly claimed salts.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10, 19, 24-38 and 71-79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12492203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The patent claims the compound or the pharmaceutical acceptable salt. The deuterate compound is specifically claimed. The salts are taught within the specification on paragraph 37. Therefore, the pharmaceutical acceptable salt of the deuterated compound is within the scope of the claims of the patent.
Claims 1-7, 10, 19, 24-38 and 71-79 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 19/368828 (UGPGPub 20260049083) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The application claims the compound or the pharmaceutical acceptable salt. The deuterate compound is specifically claimed. The salts are taught within the specification on paragraph 37. Therefore, the pharmaceutical acceptable salt of the deuterated compound is within the scope of the claims of the application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625