DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 4/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’).
Turvey discloses a weatherproof pouch comprising: a main body (200) having a lower end (212), an upper end (214), at least one sidewall that extends from the lower end to the upper end and defines a perimeter of an enclosable volume (204, 206, 208, 210), the upper end including a closable top, and a bottom that encloses the enclosable volume at the lower end (para 0030); wherein the closable top includes a first collapsible framework (102) and a mating closure, the mating closure including a first closure half (134) attached to a first end of a first side of the upper end and a second closure half (144) attached to a second end of the first side of the upper end; and wherein the first closure half matingly engages the second closure half to close the closable top when the first collapsible framework is collapsed (Fig. 3C).
Turvey further discloses the weatherproof pouch is sized and capable of receiving and enclosing a backpack with the closable top being closed (functional/intended use recitation); the closable top forms a handle when the first closure half matingly engages the second closure half to close the closable top (Fig. 3C); the weatherproof pouch is capable of having an empty rolled position in which the weatherproof pouch forms a loop when the first closure half matingly engages the second closure half (functional/intended use recitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hamel et al. (US 2021/0244147, hereinafter ‘Hamel’).
Turvey discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the transparent window as claimed.
However, Hamel teaches providing a weatherproof pouch with at least one sidewall has a front surface that includes a transparent window (para 0029).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the transparent window taught by Hamel to the weatherproof pouch taught by Turvey, in order to receive, carry, or hole a label which provides indication of the contents of the pouch as taught by Hamel (para 0029).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iaboni et al. (US 4175603, hereinafter ‘Iaboni’).
Regarding claim 3, Turvey discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the framework including four sides connected by hinged corners.
However, Iaboni teaches a bag opening framework being constructed wherein the collapsible framework includes four sides connected by hinged corners (22, see Figs. 1, 2).
Because Turvey and Iaboni both teach collapsible frameworks for the opening of a pouch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the hinged framework with four sides taught by Iaboni for the folding framework along one side taught by Turvey to achieve the predictable result of securely supporting the opening of the pouch while allowing collapse/closure as taught by Iaboni.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15-17, Turvey discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the second framework as claimed.
However, Iaboni teaches providing a bag with a framework on both the upper end (16) and the lower end (22).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the second, lower end collapsible framework taught by Iaboni to the weatherproof pouch taught by Turvey, in order to allow selective discharge of the contents through the bottom end as taught by Iaboni.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sitnikova (US 2020/0245735).
Turvey discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the hanging loop as claimed.
However, Sitnikova teaches providing the upper corner of the bottom surface of the interior of a bag with loops (120, 122) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the loops taught by Sitnikova to the weatherproof pouch taught by Turvey, in order to aid in inverting the pouch as taught by Sitnikova (para 0076).
When viewed in combination, Turvey as modified above results in a device wherein the loops can function as hanging loops configured to support the weatherproof pouch in a hanging orientation when the weatherproof pouch is inside out (functional/intended use recitation).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) in view of Iaboni et al. (US 4175603, hereinafter ‘Iaboni’) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hamel et al. (US 2021/0244147, hereinafter ‘Hamel’).
Turvey as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the transparent window as claimed.
However, Hamel teaches providing a weatherproof pouch with at least one sidewall has a front surface that includes a transparent window (para 0029).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the transparent window taught by Hamel to the weatherproof pouch taught by Turvey as modified above, in order to receive, carry, or hole a label which provides indication of the contents of the pouch as taught by Hamel (para 0029).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) in view of Iaboni et al. (US 4175603, hereinafter ‘Iaboni’) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Iaboni et al. (US 4175603, hereinafter ‘Iaboni’).
Turvey as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the framework including four sides connected by hinged corners.
However, Iaboni teaches a bag opening framework being constructed wherein the collapsible framework includes four sides connected by hinged corners (22, see Figs. 1, 2).
Because Turvey as modified above and Iaboni both teach collapsible frameworks for the opening of a pouch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the hinged framework with four sides taught by Iaboni for the folding framework along one side taught by Turvey as modified above to achieve the predictable result of securely supporting the opening of the pouch while allowing collapse/closure as taught by Iaboni.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turvey et al. (US 2013/0330022, hereinafter ‘Turvey’) in view of Iaboni et al. (US 4175603, hereinafter ‘Iaboni’) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sitnikova (US 2020/0245735).
Turvey as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the hanging loop as claimed.
However, Sitnikova teaches providing the upper corner of the bottom surface of the interior of a bag with loops (120, 122) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the loops taught by Sitnikova to the weatherproof pouch taught by Turvey as modified above, in order to aid in inverting the pouch as taught by Sitnikova (para 0076).
When viewed in combination, Turvey as modified above results in a device wherein the loops can function as hanging loops configured to support the weatherproof pouch in a hanging orientation when the weatherproof pouch is inside out (functional/intended use recitation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
June 18, 2026