DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20, filed 13 January 2026 have been entered into the above-identified application. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “closely connected” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “closely connected” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As the claims are directed to a slot connection between the two elements, a close connection is already implied and without further definition, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to interpret "closely connected".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thiele (U.S. 10,889,171).
Regarding claim 1, Thiele teaches a hidden belt weatherstrip assembly, provided on a vehicle door sheet metal (10, column 4 lines 45-47 state the door panels are stamped from sheet metal) with a first positioning member (750), comprising: an outer belt weatherstrip (500, column 5 lines 46-52 state the weather strip connection assembly may be utilized on an outer weatherstrip), wherein: a first injection-molded joint corner (510, as seen in fig 7, though weatherstrip 500 is taught to be extruded, column 15, lines 25-31 state injection molding may be utilized instead) is provided on an end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (500), and a first positioning portion (550) is provided on the first injection-molded joint corner (510); and the first positioning portion (550) comprises an open structure (551) being downwardly open and extending from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (see fig 7), and has an opening profile to limit a movement of the first positioning member (750), wherein the first positioning member (750) is inserted from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (500) and fitted into the open structure (551) of the first positioning portion (550) along a vertical direction perpendicular to a length direction of a vehicle body (as seen by dotted insertion arrow of connection assembly 801 in fig 7), and the first injection-molded joint corner (510) is fixed to the vehicle door sheet metal (as seen in fig 3 via connection shown in fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Thiele further teaches wherein the open structure (551) of the first positioning portion (550) is a slot (see fig 7).
Regarding claim 5, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 4. Thiele further teaches wherein the slot has an accommodating area (notch as seen in fig 7) and an opening (spanning between 552 and 555, see fig 7) in communication with the accommodating area (see fig 7), and the first positioning member (750) is clamped into the accommodating area (notch as seen in fig 7) through the opening (spanning between 552 and 555, see fig 7) along the vertical direction (as indicated by dotted insertion arrow of connection assembly 801 in fig 7).
Regarding claim 6, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 6. Thiele further teaches wherein the slot (as seen in fig 7) further has guiding edges (552 and 555) inclined outwards and downwards from the opening to both sides of the slot (column 9 line 63-column 10 line 4 states 555 is beveled but could also be rounded, and edge 552 may also be beveled or rounded to guide insertion).
Regarding claim 7, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 7. Thiele further teaches wherein a depth of the slot is less than a thickness of a corresponding position of the outer belt weatherstrip (as seen in fig 7, the depth of the slot appears to be less than the thickness of the outer belt weatherstrip).
Regarding claim 8, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) comprises a positioning column (as seen in fig 7, 750 appears as a column), and the positioning column is provided to protrude (via guide protuberance 753) towards the outer belt weatherstrip (500) along a sheet metal surface of the vehicle door sheet metal (10).
Regarding claim 9, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 8. Thiele further teaches wherein a limiting block (757 of raised frame 751) is provided at an end of the positioning column (the column formed by 750, see fig 7), and the limiting block (757) is configured to be clamped into the first positioning portion (550, as described in column 10, lines 47-51, the raised portion that includes 757 helps to attain a secure, snug, and accurate fit).
Regarding claim 11, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) is connected with the first injection-molded joint corner (510) in the length direction of the vehicle body (as seen in fig 7).
Regarding claim 13, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) is closely connected with the first injection-molded joint corner (510, as seen in fig 7).
Regarding claim 14, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 4. Thiele further teaches wherein the first injection-molded joint corner (510, as seen in fig 7) and the first positioning portion (550) are integrally formed by injection molding (though weatherstrip 500 is taught to be extruded, column 15, lines 25-31 state injection molding may be utilized instead).
Regarding claim 15, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Thiele further teaches wherein the open structure (551) of the first positioning portion (550) comprises a notch downwards (551 is defined as a notch in column 8 lines 54-56 and opens downwards as seen in fig 7).
Regarding claim 16, Thiele teaches a vehicle door, comprising: a vehicle door sheet metal (10, column 4 lines 45-47 state the door panels are stamped from sheet metal) with a first positioning member (750); and a hidden belt weatherstrip assembly, comprising: an outer belt weatherstrip (500, column 5 lines 46-52 state the weather strip connection assembly may be utilized on an outer weatherstrip), wherein a first injection-molded joint corner (510, as seen in fig 7, though weatherstrip 500 is taught to be extruded, column 15, lines 25-31 state injection molding may be utilized instead) is provided on an end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (500), and a first positioning portion (550) is provided on the first injection-molded joint corner (510); and the first positioning portion (550) comprises an open structure (551) being downwardly open and extending from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (see fig 7), and has an opening profile to limit a movement of the first positioning member (750), wherein the first positioning member (750) is inserted from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip (500) and fitted into the open structure (551) of the first positioning portion (550) along a vertical direction perpendicular to a length direction of a vehicle body (as seen by dotted insertion arrow of connection assembly 801 in fig 7), and the first injection-molded joint corner (510) is fixed to the vehicle door sheet metal (as seen in fig 3 via connection shown in fig 7).
Regarding claim 18, Thiele teaches the vehicle door of claim 16. Thiele further teaches wherein the open structure (551) of the first positioning portion (550) is a slot (see fig 7).
Regarding claim 19, Thiele teaches the vehicle door of claim 16. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) comprises a positioning column (as seen in fig 7, 750 appears as a column), and the positioning column is provided to protrude (via guide protuberance 753) towards the outer belt weatherstrip (500) along a sheet metal surface of the vehicle door sheet metal (10).
Regarding claim 20, Thiele teaches the vehicle door of claim 16. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) is connected with the first injection-molded joint corner (510) in the length direction of the vehicle body (as seen in fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiele (U.S. 10,889,171) in view of Shumulinskiy (U.S. 2009/0151266).
Regarding claim 2, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 1. Though Thiele references that an inner belt weatherstrip could be used in the assembly as well, it makes no teachings on the inner belt weatherstrip being located below the outer belt weatherstrip.
Shumulinskiy teaches a similar belt weatherstrip where an inner belt weatherstrip (130) is provided along with an outer belt weatherstrip, and the inner belt weatherstrip is located below the outer belt weatherstrip (as seen in fig 1).
Thiele and Shumulinskiy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of belt weatherstrips for vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thiele to incorporate the teachings of Shumulinskiy and provide an inner belt weatherstrip in addition to the outer belt weatherstrip. Doing so would ensure both sides of the assembly are protected against water, dirt, and debris intrusion.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Thiele and Shumulinskiy teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 2. Thiele and Shumulinskiy further teach wherein a second injection-molded joint corner (210 Shumulinskiy, [0036] states 210 is molded) is provided on an end side of the inner belt weatherstrip (130 Shumulinskiy, see fig 2), the second injection-molded joint corner (210 Shumulinskiy) is fixed to the vehicle door sheet metal (via a fastener, [0036] Shumulinskiy), and the second injection-molded joint corner (210 Shumulinskiy) is provided corresponding to the first injection-molded joint corner (510 Thiele, and taught by the combination above). It would be obvious to utilize a second injection molded joint corner on the inner belt weatherstrip to protect the end of the inner belt weather strip.
Regarding claim 17, Thiele teaches the vehicle door of claim 16. Though Thiele references that an inner belt weatherstrip could be used in the assembly as well, it makes no teachings on the inner belt weatherstrip being located below the outer belt weatherstrip.
Shumulinskiy teaches a similar belt weatherstrip where an inner belt weatherstrip (130) is provided along with an outer belt weatherstrip, and the inner belt weatherstrip is located below the outer belt weatherstrip (as seen in fig 1).
Thiele and Shumulinskiy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of belt weatherstrips for vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thiele to incorporate the teachings of Shumulinskiy and provide an inner belt weatherstrip in addition to the outer belt weatherstrip. Doing so would ensure both sides of the assembly are protected against water, dirt, and debris intrusion.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiele (U.S. 10,889,171).
Regarding claim 10, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 8. Thiele further teaches wherein the positioning column (the column formed by 750, see fig 7) is connected with the vehicle door sheet metal (10, see fig 7). Thiele teaches the positioning column as part of the vehicle door sheet metal but does not teach that the column is welded onto the sheet metal. The claim limitation “welded” is considered a product-by-process claim limitation. The determination of the patentability is based on the product of claim 10 itself and does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 12, Thiele teaches the hidden belt weatherstrip assembly of claim 11. Thiele further teaches wherein the first positioning member (750) is connected with the first injection-molded joint corner (510) in the length direction of the vehicle body (as seen in fig 7). Thiele discloses the claimed invention except for the lap amount between the first injection molded corner (510) and the first positioning member (750) is between 2.0 mm and 3.0 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the lap amount between 2.0 mm and 3.0 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 16 to further include limitations that “the first positioning portion comprises an open structure being downwardly open and extending from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip, and has an opening profile to limit a movement of the first positioning member, wherein the first positioning member is inserted from the end side of the outer belt weatherstrip and fitted into the open structure of the first positioning portion along a vertical direction perpendicular to a length direction of a vehicle body”. As discussed in the interview of 1/9/2026, this amendment overcomes the prior art rejection from the non-final office action dated 11/3/2025. A further prior art search was conducted based on applicant’s amendments and discovered the prior art of Thiele, who teaches the claims as amended.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification are acceptable.
Applicant’s replacement drawings are acceptable and have overcome the drawing objection from the non-final office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631