DETAILED ACTION
(1)
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the first office action on the merits. Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed March 10, 2025, is entered.
(2)
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on December 18, 2025, is acknowledged. Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration.
(3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 require the extraction electrodes are continuous to the first or second electrode layer, respectively. These limitations are confusing because each instance suggests both extraction electrodes are connected to the same electrode layer. Examiner suggests Applicant designate first and second extraction electrodes to correspond to the first and second electrode layers to make clear that the firsts of each are continuous and the seconds of each are continuous.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite because their scope is unascertainable to one ordinarily skilled in the art.
(4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hesse et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0121352), which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
With respect to claim 1, Hesse teaches a solar cell module (organic photoelectric device) comprising a first substrate (10), a first electrode layer (30) provided on the first substrate, a photoelectric conversion layer (50) provided on the first electrode layer, a second electrode layer (33) provided on the photoelectric conversion layer, extraction electrode layers (30 overlapped by 31 and 30b overlapped by 32) provided in regions on the first substrate not overlapping with the photoelectric conversion layer in plan view of the substrate, the extraction electrode layers each being made of a laminate of a metal layer (31 or 32) and a transparent conductive layer (30 or 30b), respectively. Figure 3 and Paragraphs 43 and 55. Hesse further teaches a second substrate (20) is provided to cover the first electrode layer, the photoelectric conversion layer the second electrode layer and the extraction electrodes, wherein a glass frit (40) in the form of a paste is provided between the second substrate and the extraction electrode layers. Figure 3 and Paragraph 59.
With respect to claim 6, Hesse teaches the glass frit part is provided in an annular shape (Figure 12) surrounding the photoelectric conversion layer as viewed from a laminating direction of the first electrode layer, the photoelectric conversion layer and the second electrode layer, and the glass frit part includes a first region provided between the second substrate and the extraction electrode layers and a second region provided between the first substrate and the second substrate. Figures 3 and 12.
(5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0121352), which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement, in view of Guillen et al. Thin Solid Films, 520, (2011), 1-17.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Hesse teaches the extraction electrodes but is silent as to whether they are a multilayer TCO/metal/TCO laminate with the glass frit in contact with the second transparent conductive layer,
However, Guillen, which deals with electrodes for organic photovoltaic cells, teaches a TCO/metal/TCO electrode have optical characteristics that are globally superior to single-layer metal or TCO electrodes. Abstract. Guillen further teaches they offer the best chance for achieving low resistance and high transmittance with reduced film thicknesses. 5. Conclusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to form at least the extraction electrodes with a TCO/metal/TCO laminate in order from the side of the first substrate such that the glass frit is in contact with the second TCO layer because Guillen teaches this electrode structure is associated with low resistance and high transmittance.
(6)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0121352), which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Hesse teaches the first and second electrode layers include, to a degree, the metal layer and the transparent conductive layer and are connected to extraction electrodes. Figure 3.
As to whether the extraction electrode layers are formed continuously to the first or second electrode, respectively, as per the MPEP, the choice between a separate or integral design is obvious absent a showing the specific choice is contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art. MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)&(C) (internal citation omitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the extraction electrodes perform a current collecting function independent of whether they are separate from or continuous (integral) with the first and second electrodes, respectively.
(7)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0121352), which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement, in view of Noh et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0098202).
With respect to claim 7, Hesse teaches the photoelectric conversion layer includes an organic photoelectric material and is silent as to the layer specifics and whether a perovskite is used in the photoelectric conversion layer as the light absorbing material.
However, Noh, which deals with photoelectric devices, teaches a perovskite solar cell having electrical efficiency equal to that of a conventional photoelectric device using an organic material. Paragraph 75.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a perovskite solar cell in place of Hesse’s organic solar cell because Noh teaches a perovskite solar cell structure having equal electrical efficiency to that of a conventional organic photoelectric device, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, Noh teaches the perovskite solar cell has, in order, an electron transport layer, a light absorbing layer and a hole transport layer arranged one on top of the other, wherein the light absorbing layer contains a perovskite compound represented by ABX3, wherein A is a monovalent cation, B is a divalent cation and X is a halogen anion. Figure 3A and Paragraphs 52, 161, 162, 175, 178, 183-187 and 200.
(8)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759