DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 and 29-40 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and nonelected Species A2, A3, A4, B2, C2, and C3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 June 2026. Although claim 20 was not included in the election that was filed, claim 20 is directed to an “off-axis utility beam delivery and off-axis powder delivery,” which is non-elected Species C3 (fig. 4c). As a result, claims 16-20 and 29-40 have been withdrawn from consideration in the current Office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following reasons:
In figs. 1a, 1b, 5, 6a, 6b, and 7, letters should not be placed on shaded surfaces (MPEP 608, CFR 1.84.p.3).
In figs. 2a-d, 3a-b, 5, and 10b, shading should not be used for cross sections (MPEP 608, 37 CFR 1.84.m).
In figs. 2a-d and 3a-b, solid black shading is not permitted (MPEP 608, 37 CFR 1.84.m).
In figs. 4a-c, 6a-b, 7, 8a-b, and 10a, black and white photographs are not normally permitted in utility patent applications (MPEP 608, 37 CFR 1.84.b).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
the “directed energy deposition (DED) system” of claim 24
the “additive manufacturing system” of claim 25
the “laser powder bed fusion (LPBF) system” of claim 26
the “laser welding system” of claim 27
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not a statement that provides the technical disclosure of the patent applicant and does not include that which is new in the art to which the patent application pertains (MPEP 608.0.b). The Abstract also includes terminology that can be implied: “Exemplary embodiments are disclosed…” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: there is no mention in the Specification of the limitation from claim 1: “the multibeam system is asymmetric.”
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 6, and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Recommend amending claims 2-3 and 6 to recite: “the cleaning mode” and “the absorption modification mode.”
Recommend amending claim 21 to recite: “the cleaning mode.”
Recommend amending claims 22 to recite: “the absorption modification mode.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following limitations:
In claim 1, the generic placeholder is a “multibeam system” and the functional limitation is “…selectively configurable into: a cleaning mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work outside the main beam; and/or an absorption modification mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work inside the main beam.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes “an XY2-100 analog galvo laser scanner, a Risley prism scanner, a more complex structured light modulator, digital light processing (DLP) arrangement.”
In claim 10, the generic placeholder is a “beam steering mechanism” and the functional limitation is “for selectively adjusting the positioning of the utility beam(s) relative to the main beam.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes “an XY2-100 analog galvo laser scanner, a Risley prism scanner, a more complex structured light modulator, digital light processing (DLP) arrangement.”
In claim 14, the generic placeholder is “a beam combining mechanism” and the functional limitation is “for delivering the main beam and the utility beam(s) down and/or along a same optical axis.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “dichroic mirror.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites: “wherein the main beam and the utility beam(s) are operable in a pulse laser configuration.” It is unclear if this limitation requires only the “utility beam(s)” to be in a “pulse laser configuration” or both the “main beam and the utility beam(s) to be in a “pulse laser configuration.” The Specification discloses that “the main beam is a continuous or constant wave (CW) diode laser.” For the purpose of the examination, only the “utility beam(s)” will be interpreted as being in a “pulse laser configuration” in view of the Specification, i.e., the limitation will be interpreted as: “wherein
Claim 23 recites: “The multibeam system of claim 1, wherein: the multibeam system is configured for providing additional functionality to directed energy deposition (DED) processing; and the additional functionality includes one or more of surface cleaning and/or absorption modification.” The metes and bounds of claim 23 are indefinite because it is not clear if the “directed energy deposition (DED) processing” is included within the scope of the claim. Specifically, the claim is worded such that the “multibeam system” that is being claimed provides “additional functionality” to “DED processing.” Does this limitation mean that claim 23 is directed to a “multibeam system” that is configured to perform “DED processing” or something more than a “multibeam system” (e.g., claim 23 is directed to the multibeam system and to an additional system that provides “DED processing”)? The Specification appears to describe how the “multibeam system” is capable of performing “DED processing.” For the purpose of the examination, this limitation will be interpreted as: “The multibeam system of claim 1, wherein: the multibeam system is configured for providing and for providing additional functionality; and the additional functionality includes one or more of surface cleaning and/or absorption modification.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10, 12-15, 24-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dohler teaches a multibeam system (fig. 2, beams 17 and 18) comprising:
a primary energy source (laser 11b, fig. 2) operable for producing a main beam (beam 17, fig. 2); and
one or more second energy sources (laser 11a, fig. 2) operable for producing a utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2);
wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured to be operable for adjustably positioning the utility beam(s) relative to the main beam (scanner 12 positions the beams to be “arranged inside each other or closely adjacent to each other,” para 0039); and wherein the utility beam(s) and main beam are configured differently such that the multibeam system is asymmetric (fig. 1b is construed as being “asymmetric,” annotated below); and/or wherein the multibeam system is selectively configurable into: a cleaning mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work outside the main beam (beam 18 is outside of beam 17, fig. 1b; fig. 1b is construed as being a “cleaning mode”); and/or an absorption modification mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work inside the main beam (beam 18 is inside beam 17, fig. 1a; fig. 1a is construed as being an “absorption modification mode”).
Dohler, fig. 1a, 1b (annotated), and 2
Doler does not explicitly disclose a multibeam system (interpreted under 112f as being an “XY2-100 analog galvo laser scanner, a Risley prism scanner, a more complex structured light modulator, digital light processing (DLP) arrangement,” which is not explicitly disclosed by Dohler).
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Zimmerman teaches a multibeam system (“the modulation beam may be modulated using a structured light modulator,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Zimmerman, by using a modulation beam generation device 202, as taught by Zimmerman, for each of the lasers 11a and 11b, as taught by Dohler, in order to use a structured light modulator that permits the superposition of beams to augment an intensity of a single beam at a zone of incidence upon the powder, for the advantage of improved process performance, faster production times, improved energy usage, and quality improvements to additively-manufactured components (Zimmerman, para 0015).
Regarding claim 4, Dohler teaches wherein the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.1b) and main beam (beam 17, fig. 1b) are configured differently such that the multibeam system is asymmetric (fig. 1b is construed as being “asymmetric,” annotated above).
Regarding claim 5, Dohler teaches wherein: the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured to be operable for adjustably positioning (para 0039) the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) relative to the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2); and the utility beam(s) and main beam are configured differently such that the multibeam system is asymmetric (fig. 1b is construed as being “asymmetric,” annotated above).
Regarding claim 6, Dohler teaches wherein: the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) and main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) are configured differently (beams 17 and 18 are emitted from different lasers, fig. 2) such that the multibeam system is asymmetric (fig. 1b is construed as being “asymmetric,” annotated above); and the multibeam system is configured to be operable for adjustably positioning the utility beam(s) relative to the main beam (para 0039) such that the multibeam system is selectively configurable into: a cleaning mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work outside the main beam (beam 18 is outside of beam 17, fig. 1b; fig. 1b is construed as being a “cleaning mode”); and an absorption modification mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work inside the main beam (beam 18 is inside beam 17, fig. 1a; fig. 1a is construed as being an “absorption modification mode”).
Regarding claim 7, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured such that the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) is selectively positionable to work outside (fig. 1b) or inside (fig. 1a) the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system comprises a beam steering mechanism (scanner 12, fig. 2) for selectively adjusting the positioning of the utility beam(s) relative to the main beam (para 0039).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose a beam steering mechanism (interpreted under 112f as being an “XY2-100 analog galvo laser scanner, a Risley prism scanner, a more complex structured light modulator, digital light processing (DLP) arrangement,” which is not explicitly disclosed by Dohler).
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Zimmerman teaches a beam steering mechanism (“the modulation beam may be modulated using a structured light modulator,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Zimmerman, by using a modulation beam generation device 202, as taught by Zimmerman, for each of the lasers 11a and 11b, as taught by Dohler, in order to use a structured light modulator that permits the superposition of beams to augment an intensity of a single beam at a zone of incidence upon the powder, for the advantage of improved process performance, faster production times, improved energy usage, and quality improvements to additively-manufactured components (Zimmerman, para 0015; the modulation beam generation devices 202 taught by Zimmerman are construed as being a “beam steering mechanism” combined with the scanner 12 taught by Dohler).
Regarding claim 12, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured to have coaxial utility beam delivery in which the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) and the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) are delivered down and/or along a same optical axis (beams 17 and 18 are coaxial in figs. 1a and 2 downstream of the scanner 12).
Regarding claim 13, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) includes a dichroic mirror (beam coupling device 16, fig. 2; the device 16 reflects beam 17 and transmits through beam 18, fig. 2; construed as being a dichroic mirror) for delivering the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) and the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) down and/or along a same optical axis (beams 17 and 18 are coaxial in figs. 1a and 2 downstream of the scanner 12), whereby the utility beam(s) is steerable to be co-linear with the main beam (steerable by the scanner 12, fig .2).
Regarding claim 14, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) includes a beam combining mechanism (beam coupling device 16, fig. 2) for delivering the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) and the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) down and/or along a same optical axis (beams 17 and 18 are coaxial in figs. 1a and 2 downstream of the scanner 12), whereby the utility beam(s) is steerable to be co-linear with the main beam (steerable by the scanner 12, fig .2).
Regarding claim 15, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured with coaxial utility beam delivery beams 17 and 18 are coaxial in figs. 1a and 2 downstream of the scanner 12) and off-axis powder delivery (powder is delivered by a device 20, fig. 1, across a horizontal axis, which off-axis of the vertical axis, fig. 1; the only difference between fig. 2 and fig. 1 is the two beam sources, para 0039, i.e., fig. 2 is construed as having the same powder delivery system as that shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Dohler teaches a directed energy deposition (DED) system (relying on para 0004 of the Specification from the Instant Application, Dohler teaches “selective layer-by-layer solidification of layers of a construction material (9) by at least one energy beam,” abstract, which is construed as being “DED processing”) comprising the multibeam system (fig. 2) of claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 25, Dohler teaches an additive manufacturing system (“selective layer-by-layer solidification of layers of a construction material (9) by at least one energy beam,” abstract, which is construed as being an additive manufacturing system) comprising the multibeam system (fig. 2) of claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 26, Dohler teaches a laser powder bed fusion (LPBF) system (figs. 1 and 2; the only difference between fig. 2 and fig. 1 is the two beam sources, para 0039, i.e., fig. 2 is construed as having the same powder delivery system as that shown in fig. 1; thus, fig. 2 is construed as being a laser powder bed fusion system) comprising the multibeam system (fig. 2) of claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 28, Dohler teaches a multibeam directed energy deposition (DED) beam delivery system (relying on para 0004 of the Specification from the Instant Application, Dohler teaches “selective layer-by-layer solidification of layers of a construction material (9) by at least one energy beam,” abstract, which is construed as being “DED beam delivery”) comprising the multibeam system (fig. 2) of claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Abramov et al. (US-20190118297-A1) and Hasegawa et al. (US-20180333807-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Dohler teaches wherein:; the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured to be operable for adjustably positioning (para 0039) the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) relative to the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) such that the multibeam system is selectively configurable into: a cleaning mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work outside the main beam (beam 18 is outside of beam 17, fig. 1b; fig. 1b is construed as being a “cleaning mode”); and an absorption modification mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work inside the main beam (beam 18 is inside beam 17, fig. 1a; fig. 1a is construed as being an “absorption modification mode”).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose wherein: the multibeam system is configured for providing surface cleaning and absorption modification functionality.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches wherein: the multibeam system (fig. 3) is configured for providing surface cleaning (“cleaning the surface of a work piece,” para 0015).
Abramov, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, where the heating beam 17, as taught in fig. 1b of Dohler, was used to clean the surface of a workpiece, as taught by Abramov, before the powder was fused together with beam 18, as taught by Dohler, in order to remove contaminants or layers of material that weaken a weld if left intact (Abramov, para 0015).
Dohler/Abramov teach the invention as described above but do not explicitly disclose wherein: the multibeam system is configured for providing absorption modification functionality.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Hasegawa teaches wherein: the multibeam system (fig. 1B) is configured for providing absorption modification functionality (para 0046).
Hasegawa, fig. 1B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa, where the overlapping beams arrangement, as taught in fig. 1a of Dohler, had an increase in absorption of efficiency, as taught by Hagesawa, because welding a workpiece such as metal is difficult due to the ratio of laser light reflected by the surface of the workpiece being generally high, which can be mitigated by overlapping beam focus points, causing the workpiece to melt at the position where the beams are superimposed on each other (Hasegawa, paras 0044-0046).
Regarding claim 8, Dohler teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured such that the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) is selectively positionable to work outside the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2; fig. 1b) and selectively positionable to work inside the main beam (fig. 1a).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose for cleaning and for absorption modification.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches for cleaning (“cleaning the surface of a work piece,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, where the spaced apart arrangement of beams, as taught in fig. 1b of Dohler, was used to clean the surface of a workpiece, as taught by Abramov, in order to remove contaminants or layers of material that weaken a weld if left intact (Abramov, para 0015).
Dohler/Abramov do not explicitly disclose for absorption modification.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Hasegawa teaches for absorption modification (para 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa, where the overlapping beams arrangement, as taught in fig. 1a of Dohler, had an increase in absorption of efficiency, as taught by Hagesawa, because welding a workpiece such as metal is difficult because the ratio of laser light reflected by the surface of the workpiece is generally high, which can be mitigated by overlapping beam focus points, causing the workpiece to melt at the position where the beams are superimposed on each other (Hasegawa, paras 0044-0046).
Claims 3, 21, 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Abramov et al. (US-20190118297-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Dohler teaches wherein:; the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured to be operable for adjustably positioning (para 0039) the utility beam(s) (beam 18, fig.2) relative to the main beam (beam 17, fig. 2) such that the multibeam system is selectively configurable into: a cleaning mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work outside the main beam (beam 18 is outside of beam 17, fig. 1b; fig. 1b is construed as being a “cleaning mode”); and an absorption modification mode in which the utility beam(s) is positioned to work inside the main beam (beam 18 is inside beam 17, fig. 1a; fig. 1a is construed as being an “absorption modification mode”).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose wherein: the multibeam system is configured for providing surface cleaning or absorption modification functionality.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches wherein: the multibeam system (fig. 3) is configured for providing surface cleaning (“cleaning the surface of a work piece,” para 0015) or absorption modification functionality (“In other circumstances, the creation of high aspect ratio surfaces facilitate the absorption of the fiber laser output configured to weld the work pieces,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, where the spaced apart arrangement of beams, as taught in fig. 1b of Dohler, was used to clean the surface of a workpiece or to weld the workpieces, as taught by Abramov, in order to either remove contaminants or layers of material that weaken a weld if left intact or to weld workpieces together as a result of a high aspect ratio at the surface, which facilitates the absorption of the laser output (Abramov, para 0015).
Regarding claim 21, Dohler wherein the multibeam system is configured such that when the multibeam system is in a cleaning mode, the utility beam(s) does not directly interact with material melted by the main beam whereby the utility beam(s) is operable for ablating a surface of a base material for removing oxides, oils, and/or other debris from the surface of the base material before new material is added.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 3) is configured such that when the multibeam system is in a cleaning mode (separation of beams in fig. 3; “cleaning the surface of a work piece,” para 0015), the utility beam(s) (“cleaning spots of 100 micron diameter,” para 0050) does not directly interact with material melted by the main beam (“third fiber being a main spot of 600 micron diameter,” para 0050; construed such that if the cleaning spots are cleaning, they are not interacting with larger diameter beam, which melts the brazing material, para 0051; para 0015) whereby the utility beam(s) is operable for ablating a surface of a base material (“removal of a naturally occurring oxidation layer, removal of a coating from the surface of the work pieces,” para 0015; “removal” is construed as being the claimed “ablating”) for removing oxides (“oxidation layer,” para 0015), oils, and/or other debris (“coating,” para 0015) from the surface of the base material before new material (“brazing material,” para 0051; para 0014) is added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, where the heating beam 17, as taught in fig. 1b of Dohler, was used to clean the surface of a workpiece, as taught by Abramov, before the powder was fused together with beam 18, as taught by Dohler, in order to remove contaminants or layers of material that weaken a weld if left intact (Abramov, para 0015).
Regarding claim 23, Dohler teaches wherein: the multibeam system (fig. 2) is configured for providing directed energy deposition (DED) processing (relying on para 0004 of the Specification from the Instant Application, Dohler teaches “selective layer-by-layer solidification of layers of a construction material (9) by at least one energy beam,” abstract, which is construed as being “DED processing”).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose the multibeam system is configured for providing additional functionality and the additional functionality includes one or more of surface cleaning and/or absorption modification.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches the multibeam system is configured for providing additional functionality (para 0015) and the additional functionality includes one or more of surface cleaning (“cleaning the surface of a work piece,” para 0015) and/or absorption modification (“In other circumstances, the creation of high aspect ratio surfaces facilitate the absorption of the fiber laser output configured to weld the work pieces,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, where the spaced apart arrangement of beams, as taught in fig. 1b of Dohler, was used to clean the surface of a workpiece or to weld the workpieces, as taught by Abramov, in order to either remove contaminants or layers of material that weaken a weld if left intact or to weld workpieces together as a result of a high aspect ratio at the surface, which facilitates the absorption of the laser output (Abramov, para 0015).
Regarding claim 27, Dohler teaches the multibeam system (fig. 2) of claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above).
Dohler does not explicitly disclose a laser welding system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Abramov teaches a laser welding system (“a method of a welding a plurality of work pieces from a laser system,” para 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Abramov, by using the apparatus, as taught in fig. 2 of Dohler, to weld a plurality of work pieces, as taught by Abramov, in order to weld workpieces together as a result of a high aspect ratio at the surface, which facilitates the absorption of the laser output (Abramov, para 0015).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Haraguchi et al. (US-20190193329-A1) and DeMuth et al. (US-20170232637-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Dohler teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the main beam comprises a continuous or constant wave laser; and the utility beam(s) comprises a Q-switched pulse laser(s).
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Haraguchi teaches wherein: the main beam (heating beam 27, fig. 3) comprises a continuous or constant wave laser (“continuous wave,” para 0120); and the utility beam(s) (beam 25, fig. 3) comprises a pulse laser(s) (“pulse wave,” para 0120).
Haraguchi, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Haraguchi, by using a continuous wave beam, as taught by Haraguchi, for the beam 17, as taught by Dohler, and by using a pulse wave beam, as taught by Haraguchi, for the beam 18, as taught by Dohler, in order to use a power profile for the combined beams that reduces the residual stress of a manufactured object, producing a high-quality manufactured object having a complex internal structure (Haraguchi, para 0025; fig. 2).
Dohler/Haraguchi do not explicitly disclose Q-switched pulse laser(s).
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, DeMuth teaches Q-switched pulse laser(s) (“q-switched pulsed laser,” para 0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler/ Haraguchi, in view of the teachings of DeMuth, by using a q-switch pulsed laser, as taught by DeMuth, for the beam 18, as taught by Dohler, for an economic method that is a pulse wave beam, as taught by Haraguchi, for a pulse arrangement that permits multiple intensity components to create a desired or required temporal pulse (e.g., power flux profile with respect to time) in the same beamline (DeMuth, para 0091).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Haraguchi et al. (US-20190193329-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Dohler teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the utility beam(s) are operable in a pulse laser configuration including one or more of an orbital pulse laser configuration, an offset with interaction pulse laser configuration, an offset without interaction pulse laser configuration, and an adaptive leading pulse laser configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Haraguchi teaches wherein the utility beam(s) (beam 25, fig. 3) are operable in a pulse laser configuration (“pulse wave,” para 0120) including one or more of an orbital pulse laser configuration (the outer edge of beam 27 is construed as being in an orbit around beam 25, fig. 3), an offset with interaction pulse laser configuration (figs. 7), an offset without interaction pulse laser configuration (fig. 10), and an adaptive leading pulse laser configuration (fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Haraguchi, by using a pulse wave beam, as taught by Haraguchi, for the beam 18, as taught by Dohler, and by changing the relative positional relationship between a manufacturing beam and a heating beam, as taught by Haraguchi, for the beams 17 and 18, as taught by Dohler, in order to use a power profile for the combined beams, where the beams change locally under various conditions, reducing the residual stress of a manufactured object, for the advantage of producing a high-quality manufactured object having a complex internal structure (Haraguchi, paras 0018-0019 and 0025).
Claim 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dohler et al. (US-20180141276-A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US-20230031852-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hasegawa et al. (US-20180333807-A1).
Regarding claim 22, Dohler teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the multibeam system is configured such that when the multibeam system is in an absorption modification mode, the utility beam(s) is operable for increasing an effective absorption rate of the main beam as with each pulse from the utility beam(s) a small portion of the material within the main beam’s temperature is increased, which increases rate at which the main beam is absorbed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multibeam systems, Hasegawa teaches wherein the multibeam system (fig. 1B) is configured such that when the multibeam system is in an absorption modification mode (overlapped beams, fig. 1B), the utility beam(s) (spot S1, fig. 1B) is operable for increasing an effective absorption rate of the main beam (para 0046) as with each pulse from the utility beam(s) (“pulsed,” para 0037) a small portion of the material within the main beam’s temperature is increased (“slight melting in the highly focused (high energy density) superimposition region OA,” para 0047; melting is construed as the claimed increasing the temperature), which increases rate at which the main beam is absorbed (para 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Dohler, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa, where the overlapping beams arrangement, as taught in fig. 1a of Dohler, had an increase in absorption of efficiency, as taught by Hagesawa, because welding a workpiece such as metal is difficult due to the ratio of laser light reflected by the surface of the workpiece being generally high, which can be mitigated by overlapping beam focus points, causing the workpiece to melt at the position where the beams are superimposed on each other (Hasegawa, paras 0044-0046).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Benda et al. (US-5508489-A) teach multiple-beam laser sintering.
Gu et al. (US-20170095886-A1) teach in fig. 6, a multibeam configuration where a coating removed with one beam and then welded with another beam.
Holfelder et al. (US-20210387284-A1) teach circulating a beam around another beam.
Flamm et al. (US-20220126396-A1) teach relative positioning between beam spots (figs. 4-6).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/22/2026