DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Pursuant to the applicant’s response filed 18 August 2026, the amendments to the claims have been entered into the application. By this amendment, claim 9 has been cancelled, no claims have been added, and claims 1-8 & 10-20 are currently in the application with claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration. The previously applied rejections have been overcome by the amendments and are hereby withdrawn. After additional search and/or consideration, the following rejections are presented to address the changed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0205194 by Teetzel et al (Teetzel) in view of U.S. Patent 11,268,787 issued to Bernkrant et al (Bernkrant).
Regarding claim 1, Teetzel discloses a gunsight and sighting system for mounting onto a firearm (See at least Figures 4-11 and 22, clearly illustrated), comprising: a mount portion (114/116, Paragraph 0058) coupled with a hood portion (132); a projection window (124) with a collimated image overlay (See at least Paragraphs 0038-0039) secured to the mount portion by the hood portion (See at least Paragraph 0039); one or more front sight dots disposed to be visible through the projection window (536, See at least Paragraph 0053); and two or more rear sight dots disposed adjacent to the projection window (568, See at least Paragraph 0054).
Teetzel does not disclose backlit front or rear sight dots.
Bernkrant, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein any one or more of the one or more front sight dots and two or more rear sight dots are backlit to enhance visibility in various lighting conditions (See at least Figures 3-8, clearly illustrated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Teetzel with the noted teachings of Bernkrant. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to brightly illuminate the sight dots to command the attention of the user as taught by Bernkrant.
Regarding claim 2, Teetzel further discloses wherein the mount portion is configured to couple with any of handguns, rifles, shotguns, grenade launchers, BB guns, Airsoft guns, pellet guns, and directed laser weapons (See at least Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 3, Teetzel further discloses wherein the mount portion is configured to be coupled toward a rear of the firearm, directly above a grip of the firearm to facilitate visibility by a shooter (See at least Paragraph 0058, understood).
Regarding claim 5, Teetzel further discloses wherein the mount portion comprises a battery compartment configured to house a suitably sized battery for powering internal circuitry and components comprising the gunsight and sighting system (See at least Paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 6, Teetzel further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more front sight dots is disposed above the battery compartment and is visible through the projection window (See at least Figures 4-11, especially Figure 9, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 7, Teetzel further discloses wherein the two or more rear sight dots are disposed adjacent to the projection window such that a shooter can accurately aim the firearm by aligning the one or more front sight dots with a target while centering the one or more front sight dots between the two or more rear sight dots (See at least Figures 4-11, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 8, Teetzel further discloses wherein the proximity of the one or more front sight dots and the two or more rear sight dots to the projection window is configured to obviate the shooter having to shift focus among the one or more front sight dots and the two or more rear sight dots, and the target (See at least Figures 4-11, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 10, Bernkrant further discloses wherein any one or more of the one or more front sight dots and two or more rear sight dots are configured to be illuminated by way of any one or more of various desirable colors (See at least Col. 6 Line 30-Col. 7 Line 2).
Regarding claim 11, Bernkrant further discloses wherein any one or more of the one or more front sight dots and two or more rear sight dots are configured to be illuminated by way of a suitable electronically controlled lighting source, comprising an LED or chemical light generator (See at least Col. 8 Line 40-Col. 11 Line 41).
Teetzel further discloses an electrical or mechanical adjustment system (See at least Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 12, Teetzel further discloses wherein the electrical or mechanical adjustment system includes a Decrease Brightness button and an Increase Brightness button for altering the brightness of the illuminated one or more front sight dots and the two or more rear sight dots (See at least Paragraph 0077).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teetzel in view of Bernkrant as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2014/0298703 by Gale et al (Gale).
Regarding claim 4, Teetzel further discloses wherein the mount portion is configured to be coupled with a Picatinny rail (See at least Paragraph 0058).
Teetzel as modified by Bernkrant does not disclose the specific details of the firearm, but teaches connecting the device to a firearm with a Picatinny rail.
Gale, a related prior art reference, discloses a Picatinny rail comprising a slide of a handgun (See at least Figures 38-39, clearly illustrated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Teetzel as modified by Bernkrant above with the noted teachings of Gale. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to mount the device on an appropriate firearm as taught by Teetzel.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teetzel in view of Bernkrant as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0372448 by Noskowicz (Noskowicz).
Regarding claim 13, Teetzel as modified by Bernkrant does not disclose light sensors.
Noskowicz, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein two or more light sensors are disposed adjacent to the one or more front sight dots (See at least Figures 6A-6B, elements 303, 304, and 305, clearly illustrated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Teetzel as modified by Bernkrant with the noted teachings of Noskowicz. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to control the illumination assembly to change light intensity based on ambient and target lighting conditions as taught by Noskowicz.
Regarding claim 14, Noskowicz further discloses wherein the two or more light sensors are configured to detect ambient light and/or the amount of light in a target area and signal an electronically controlled lighting source to accordingly increase or decrease the illumination (See at least Figures 6A or 6B, clearly illustrated, and Paragraph 0054).
Bernkrant further discloses illumination of the one or more front sight dots and the two or more rear sight dots.
Regarding claim 15, Noskowicz further discloses wherein the two or more light sensors are disposed in asymmetric locations of the mounting portion and configured to communicate with one another so as to overcome interference due to light arriving at angles other than in front of the gunsight and sighting system (See at least Figure 6A or 6B, clearly illustrated, and Paragraph 0054).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641