DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed 9/16/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 9/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 2,
The phrase “wherein the control unit is configured to detect the magnetic field acting on the device externally based on determining the conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction” on the last two lines is indefinite. At issue is that it is unclear whether any conductance is determined, it is unclear what device performs and such feature, and it is unclear if this feature is part of what the control unit is configured to do or a method step. No device is claimed to be configured to or otherwise capable of determining the conductance, but the above phrase expressly relies upon such a determination. It is therefore unclear how such feature should be treated. MPEP 2173.05(p)(II) further explains that it is indefinite to recite method steps of using an apparatus inside an apparatus claim. As such, to the extent that this phrase is intended to be a method step, it is indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting this phrase to mean that it is the control unit that is configured to determine the conductance, and based on that determination, it is configured to detect the magnetic field.
As to Claim 5,
The phrase “first respective intermediate layer” on line 4 is indefinite. At issue here is that applicant does not call such a layer an “intermediate” layer in Claim 1 with reference to the initially recited layer stack, and merely calls it a “layer” as seen on lines 2-3. As such, the difference and relationship between this “layer” of Claim 1 and the “intermediate layer” of Claim 5 are unclear, because applicant in Claim 5 is expressly claiming that the layer stack, as part of the plural layer stacks, includes such a layer but where this layer is differently recited from the layer of Claim 1.
The phrase “a first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks” on line 2 and the phrase “a second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks” on line 11 is indefinite.
Reciting that the stacks are from “1 to n” reasonably means the stacks can be “1,” but 1 stack is not a plurality of stacks. The claim however expressly states the it includes a first plurality of stacks and a second plurality of stacks. This phrase is indefinite, because it is unclear how may stacks are required in the first or second “plurality” of stacks. A plurality would require at least two, and thus the plurality of stacks cannot reasonably be from “1 to n” and would need to be either from “2 to n” or simple “n” stacks where “n” is greater than 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting that the plurality stacks are just that, a plurality, and therefore require at least two stacks for each respective first and second plurality of layer stacks.
As to Claim 15,
The phrase “the time varying signal is a time-variant input signal with temporally varying polarity” on lines 1-2 is indefinite. All signals are “temporary” in that they are not permanently generated. Here, any signals applied to the stacks are temporary, even if it is a continuous alternating signal. As such, the metes and bounds of this phrase are unclear, because it is unclear when a signal would not be considered temporary in the context of the invention. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting any varying signal applied to the stack to be temporary as it will be turned off at some point.
As to Claims 9, 11, 12, 13, and 14,
These claims stand rejected for incorporating and reciting the above rejected subject matter of their respective parent claim(s) and therefore stand rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Li) (CN 112082579 A).
The cited paragraphs come from the provided English machine translation of the above document.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
As to Claims 1 and 16,
Li discloses A device, comprising:
a layer stack comprising a ferromagnetic layer (4), at least one magnetic reference layer (2), and a layer (3) arranged between the ferromagnetic layer and the at least one magnetic reference layer (Paragraph [0036]), (Figures 2 and 4a), wherein the layer has a magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraph [0036]),
wherein the at least one magnetic reference layer has a fixed first magnetization direction (Paragraph [0036] / note this a property of reference or pinning layers),
wherein the ferromagnetic layer has a variable second magnetization direction (Paragraph [0036] / note this a property of free layers); and
wherein the variable second magnetization direction is variable relative to the fixed first magnetization direction based on a spin orbit torque effect (Paragraph [0036] / note this a property of free layers);
a spin orbit torque conductor (5) arranged on a first side of the layer stack (Figure 1), (Paragraph [0036]), the first side being adjacent to the ferromagnetic layer (Figure 1); and
an electrical conductor (15) arranged on a second side of the layer stack situated opposite the first side of the layer stack (Figure 4a) ,(Paragraph [0050]),;
a control unit (computer) configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with a time-variant input signal and configured to feed in a read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor, such that the read-out current passes through the layer stack in order to generate a voltage drop across the magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0025],[0050]), (Figure 4a / note current I2 and applied Vcc and note that this current is reasonably caused by the computer),
wherein the control unit (computer) is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at least in time intervals simultaneous with the read-out current between a conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Paragraphs [0025],[0043],[0058] / note resistance is found which is then used to measure the magnetic field, and determining a resistance includes determining a conductance as they are merely reciprocals of each other, and note the current is a bipolar current I2 = ±I, and note that any measuring is while and in response to the signal is being applied),
wherein the control unit is configured to detect a magnetic field acting on the device externally based on the time-variant input signal and the read-out current (Paragraph [0025]).
As to Claim 2,
Li discloses a magnetic moment is established in the ferromagnetic layer, based on the spin orbit torque effect (Paragraphs [0043],[0046] / when no external field is present), and, in reaction to the time-variant input signal , oscillates symmetrically around a zero position of the magnetic moment (Paragraphs [0043],[0046] / note that given the similarities between the structure of Li and applicant, this is a property of the system, and further note that the application of a bipolar current would reasonably cause a symmetrical change about the rest or zero position as the current swings from peak to peak), wherein a deviation of the magnetic moment from the zero position of the magnetic moment results when the magnetic field acting on the device externally is present (Paragraphs [0043],[0046]), and wherein a conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction changes depending on the deviation of the magnetic moment from the zero position (Paragraph [0046]), and wherein the control unit is configured to detect the magnetic field acting on the device externally based on determining the conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0025],[0046],[0058]).
As to Claim 3,
Li discloses the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor.
an electrical conductor (15) arranged on a second side of the layer stack situated opposite the first side of the layer stack (Figure 4a) ,(Paragraph [0050]), and wherein the control unit is configured to feed in a read-out current between the electrical conductor and the first spin orbit torque conductor such that the read-out current passes vertically through the layer stack in order to generate a voltage drop across the magnetic tunnel junction and in so doing to determine the conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0025],[0050]), (Figure 4a / note current I2 and applied Vcc and note that this current is reasonably caused by the computer).
As to Claim 5,
Li discloses a first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks (see above figure), including the layer stack, wherein each layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a first respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, and a first respective intermediate layer arranged between the first respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the first respective intermediate layer has a first respective magnetic tunnel junction (Figure 1), (Paragraph [0036]), wherein individual layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the spin orbit torque conductor (Figure 4a); a second spin orbit torque conductor (see above figure); and a second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, wherein each layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a second respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, and second respective intermediate layer arranged between the second respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the second respective intermediate layer has a second respective magnetic tunnel junction (Figure 1), (Paragraph [0036]), and wherein individual layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the second spin orbit torque conductor (Figure 4a), wherein n is an integer greater than 1 (Figure 4a)
As to Claim 15,
Li discloses the time varying signal is a time-variant input signal with temporary varying polarity (Figure 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Li) (CN 112082579 A) in view of Wang et al. (Wang2) (US 2019/0295617).
As to Claim 3,
Li does not disclose the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor.
Wang2 discloses the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Paragraphs [0077],[0091]), (Figure 14B / note Vbias).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Li to include the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor as taught by Wang2 in order to advantageously generate a signal fast enough to allow the device to provide more information about the magnetic field being sensed and be able to detect any changes in that magnetic field at a faster rate.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2018/0166197) in view of Wang et al. (Wang2) (US 2019/0295617).
As to Claims 1 and 16,
Wang discloses A device, comprising:
a layer stack comprising a ferromagnetic layer (28), at least one magnetic reference layer (32), and a layer (30) arranged between the ferromagnetic layer and the at least one magnetic reference layer (Paragraph [0079]), (Figures 2 and 8), wherein the layer has a magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraph [0079]),
wherein the at least one magnetic reference layer has a fixed first magnetization direction (Paragraph [0083]),
wherein the ferromagnetic layer has a variable second magnetization direction (Paragraph [0079]), and
wherein the variable second magnetization direction is variable relative to the fixed first magnetization direction based on a spin orbit torque effect (Paragraph [0079]);
a spin orbit torque conductor (26) arranged on a first side of the layer stack (Figure 2), (Paragraph [0079]), the first side being adjacent to the ferromagnetic layer (Figure 2); and
wherein a control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at least in time intervals simultaneous with the read-out current between a conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Paragraph [0103] / note that a control unit must exist to apply the bipolar current and measure the resistance, and that such features must be performed simultaneously because a current needs to be applied to the device for it to function and allow for measurements),
wherein the control unit is configured to detect a magnetic field acting on the device externally based on the time-variant input signal and the read-out current (Paragraph [0103] / note that by measuring the Hall resistance under application of an applied external magnetic field and how it changes based on the applied external magnetic field, the magnetic field is being detected).
Wang does not disclose
an electrical conductor arranged on a second side of the layer stack situated opposite the first side of the layer stack;
a control unit configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with a time-variant input signal and configured to feed in a read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor, such that the read-out current passes through the layer stack in order to generate a voltage drop across the magnetic tunnel junction,
wherein a control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at least in time intervals simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor.
Wang2 discloses
an electrical conductor (66) arranged on a second side of the layer stack situated opposite the first side (side with (54)) of the layer stack (Figure 4), (Paragraphs [0057], [0058]);
a control unit (write controller and read-out circuitry) configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor (52) with a time-variant input signal and configured to feed in a read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Figure 4), (Paragraph [0090]), such that the read-out current passes through the layer stack in order to generate a voltage drop across the magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraph [0061]),
wherein a control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at least in time intervals simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Paragraph [0091] / note measurements are made while applying a voltage), and an electrical conductor (66) arranged on a second side of the layer stack (Figure 4) situated opposite the first side (side with (54)) of the layer stack (Figure 4), (Paragraphs [0057], [0058]), and wherein
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang to an electrical conductor arranged on a second side of the layer stack situated opposite the first side of the layer stack;
a control unit configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with a time-variant input signal and configured to feed in a read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor, such that the read-out current passes through the layer stack in order to generate a voltage drop across the magnetic tunnel junction,
wherein a control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at least in time intervals simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor as taught Wang2 in order to advantageously tune the device to a desired sensitivity to be able to obtain am efficient MTJ device having ultralow energy consumption (Paragraph [0037]).
As to Claim 2,
Wang discloses a magnetic moment is established in the ferromagnetic layer, based on the spin orbit torque effect (Paragraph [0079] / note the magnetic moment at rest is considered the zero position), and, in reaction to the time-variant input signal , oscillates symmetrically around a zero position of the magnetic moment (Paragraphs [0079],[0103] / note that given the similarities between the structure of Wang and applicant, this is a property of the system, and further note that the application of a bipolar current would reasonably cause a symmetrical change about the rest or zero position as the current swings from peak to peak), wherein a deviation of the magnetic moment from the zero position of the magnetic moment results when the magnetic field acting on the device externally is present (Paragraphs [0079],[0103]), and wherein a conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction changes depending on the deviation of the magnetic moment from the zero position (Paragraphs [0079],[0103]), and wherein the control unit is configured to detect the magnetic field acting on the device externally based on determining the conductance of the magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0079],[0103]).
As to Claim 3,
Wang does not disclose the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor.
Wang2 discloses the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor (Paragraphs [0077],[0091]), (Figure 14B / note Vbias).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang to include the control unit is configured to feed the spin orbit torque conductor with the time-variant input signal at time intervals greater than 0.1 nanosecond (ns) simultaneous with the read-out current between the electrical conductor and the spin orbit torque conductor as taught by Wang2 in order to advantageously generate a signal fast enough to allow the device to provide more information about the magnetic field being sensed and be able to detect any changes in that magnetic field at a faster rate.
As to Claim 4,
Wang does not disclose the time-variant input signal is an alternating electric current that is greater than the read-out current flowing through the layer stack by a factor of 100 to 10000.
Wang2 discloses that ranges of input signal values and read out current values are used (Paragraph [0090] thereby demonstrating that such a feature is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang in view of Wang2 to include optimizing the values of the input signal and current to therefore include the time-variant input signal is an alternating electric current that is greater than the read-out current flowing through the layer stack by a factor of 100 to 10000 given the above disclosure of Wang2 in order to advantageously achieve a desired ratio of input to output current to therefore achieve a desired level of sensitivity for the device.
As to Claim 15,
Wang discloses the time varying signal is a time-variant input signal with temporally varying polarity (Paragraph [0103]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2018/0166197) in view of Wang et al. (Wang2) (US 2019/0295617) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Wang et al. (Wang3) (US 2018/0366172 A1).
As to Claim 5,
Wang in view of Wang2 does not disclose a first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, including the layer stack, wherein each layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a first respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, and a first respective intermediate layer arranged between the first respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the first respective intermediate layer has a first respective magnetic tunnel junction, wherein individual layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the spin orbit torque conductor; a second spin orbit torque conductor; and a second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, wherein each layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a second respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, and second respective intermediate layer arranged between the second respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the second respective intermediate layer has a second respective magnetic tunnel junction, and wherein individual layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein n is an integer greater than 1.
Wang3 discloses a first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks (see above figure), including the layer stack, wherein each layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a first respective ferromagnetic layer (26) (Figure 2), at least one first respective magnetic reference layer (34) (Figure 2), and a first respective intermediate layer (32) arranged between the first respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one first respective magnetic reference layer (Figures 2,5), wherein the first respective intermediate layer has a first respective magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0047],[0060]), wherein individual layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the spin orbit torque conductor (see above figure / note the current will flow in the direction 102 or 104 extends); a second spin orbit torque conductor (another of 102 or 104); and a second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks (see above figure), wherein each layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a second respective ferromagnetic layer (26), at least one second respective magnetic reference layer (34), and second respective intermediate layer (32) arranged between the second respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one second respective magnetic reference layer (Figures 2, 5), (Paragraphs [0040],[0047], [0060]), wherein the second respective intermediate layer has a second respective magnetic tunnel junction (Paragraphs [0047], [0060]), and wherein individual layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein n is an integer greater than 1 (see above figure).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wang in view of Wang2 to include a first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, including the layer stack, wherein each layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a first respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, and a first respective intermediate layer arranged between the first respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one first respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the first respective intermediate layer has a first respective magnetic tunnel junction, wherein individual layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the spin orbit torque conductor; a second spin orbit torque conductor; and a second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, wherein each layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks includes a second respective ferromagnetic layer, at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, and second respective intermediate layer arranged between the second respective ferromagnetic layer and the at least one second respective magnetic reference layer, wherein the second respective intermediate layer has a second respective magnetic tunnel junction, and wherein individual layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are arranged one behind another in a series along a current flow direction in the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein n is an integer greater than 1 as taught by Wang3 in order to advantageously provide redundant sensing in case one layer stack becomes damage or no longer properly detects a magnetic field, and in order to be add additional features such as being able to detect a gradient of the magnetic field and not just the magnetic field itself.
As to Claim 11,
Wang in view of Wang2 does not disclose the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor are arranged in terms of cardinal number from 1 to n in a first direction along the spin orbit torque conductor, and wherein the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor are arranged in terms of cardinal number from 1 to n in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, along the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein a respective first layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor is electrically cross-coupled, in each case from 1 to n, to a respective second layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor, and wherein the respective first layer stack and the respective second layer stack, in each case from 1 to n, are associated with a same cardinal number.
Wang3 discloses the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor are arranged in terms of cardinal number from 1 to n in a first direction along the spin orbit torque conductor, and wherein the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor are arranged in terms of cardinal number from 1 to n in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, along the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein a respective first layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor is electrically cross-coupled, in each case from 1 to n, to a respective second layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor, and wherein the respective first layer stack and the respective second layer stack, in each case from 1 to n, are associated with a same cardinal number.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 12, 13, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 9,
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 9 is the inclusion of the control unit is configured to apply the time-variant input signal with temporally varying polarity to the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein the time-variant input signal at the second spin orbit torque conductor is fed in oppositely to the time-variant input signal at the spin orbit torque conductor, such that the first and the second signal-carrying directions of the time-variant input signal in the spin orbit torque conductor and the second spin orbit torque conductor, respectively, are directed oppositely to one another in each case. It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
As to Claim 11,
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 11 is the inclusion of wherein the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor are arranged in terms of cardinal number from 1 to n in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, along the second spin orbit torque conductor, wherein a respective first layer stack of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor is electrically cross-coupled, in each case from 1 to n, to a respective second layer stack of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor, and wherein the respective first layer stack and the respective second layer stack, in each case from 1 to n, are associated with a same cardinal number. It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
As to Claim 12,
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 12 is the inclusion of the control unit is configured to carry out a differential measurement of output signals of a plurality of layer stacks in order to determine the magnetic field), wherein carrying out the differential measurement includes: applying a first read-out current to one or more layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the spin orbit torque conductor, the first read-out current generating a first output signal representing a conductance of the one or more layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, and applying a second read-out current to one or more layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks of the second spin orbit torque conductor, the second read- out current generating a second output signal representing a conductance of the one or more layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, wherein the one or more layer stacks of the first plurality of 1 to n layer stacks are cross-coupled to the one or more layer stacks of the second plurality of 1 to n layer stacks, and wherein the control unit is configured to combine at least the first output signal and the second output signal with one another to determine a total output signal and, based on the total output signal, to determine the magnetic field. It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 1) US 2021/0193912 A1 to Gupta et al. which discloses a dual magnetic tunnel junction stack where a bottom face of the stack is connected to a conductor supporting current induced magnetic polarization switching for the first magnetic tunnel junction by spin-orbit torque; and 2) US 2019/0334080 A1 to Ahmed et al. which discloses an MTJ stack of two MTJs using the spin-orbit torque (SOT) effect.
DAVID M. SCHINDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/DAVID M SCHINDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858