DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 06/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2022/0193997 - of record) in view of Boniface (US 2021/0300061 - of record).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a three-dimensional object printing apparatus (100) (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising:
a first head unit (300) including a first liquid discharge head that discharges a first liquid (see Fig. 1; [0026]); a second head unit including a second liquid discharge head that discharges a second liquid (see [0040]); and
a movement mechanism (200) configured to move the first head unit (300) with respect to a three-dimensional workpiece (W) in a first state in which the first head unit is mounted and configured to move the second head unit with respect to the workpiece in a second state in which the second head unit is mounted (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4;[0027-0029]),
Nakamura does not explicitly teach wherein the first head unit and the second head unit are attachable to and detachable from the movement mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor, printing devices, Boniface teaches an installation (1) for printing and/or coating surfaces of part (2) (see Fig. 2; [0034]), comprises a movement mechanism (4) configured to move a first head (6) with respect to a three-dimensional surface of the part (2) in a first state in which the first head unit is mounted and configured to move a second printhead (7) with respect to the part in a second state, and wherein the first head unit and the second head unit are attachable to and detachable from the movement mechanism (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11; [0034-0040], [0042] and [0044]). Boniface discloses that the two detachable printing heads are monochromatic or bi-chromatic printing heads allows for printing different colors (see [0026], [0051] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the three dimensional-apparatus as taught by Nakamura in view of Boniface with a configuration wherein the first head unit and the second head unit are attachable to and detachable from the movement mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Boniface above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide detachable printheads allow for quick swapping between different materials or colors without requires bulky multi-head assembly (see [0043] and [0048] of Boniface).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the first head unit includes a first ink tank (410) in which the first liquid is stored, and the second head unit includes a second ink tank in which the second liquid is stored (see Fig. 1; [0040] and [0045] of Nakamura ).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, further comprising: a liquid supply mechanism (400) configured to supply the first liquid to the first ink tank (410) and to supply the second liquid to the second ink tank, wherein the liquid supply mechanism supplies the first liquid to the first ink tank in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and supplies the second liquid to the second ink tank in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism (200) (see Fig. 1; [0045-0046] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the first head unit (300) includes a first pressure adjustment section (valve 320) configured to adjust a pressure applied to the first liquid to be supplied from the first ink tank to the first liquid discharge head, and the second head unit includes a second pressure adjustment section (valve 320) configured to adjust a pressure applied to the second liquid to be supplied from the second ink tank to the second liquid discharge head (see Fig. 1; [0040] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the movement mechanism (200) includes an irradiation section (330) configured to emit energy for curing the first liquid (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 5; [0035-0037] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the first head unit includes an irradiation section (330) configured to emit energy for curing the first liquid (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 5 and 7A; [0126] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the movement mechanism (200) includes a first heating section (330) configured to heat the first liquid, and the first heating section heats the first liquid in the first state in which the first head unit is mounted (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 5 and 7A-7B; [0035-0037] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, further comprising: a second heating section (330) configured to heat the second liquid, wherein the second heating section heats the second liquid in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism (200) (see Fig. 1; [0035-0037] and [0040] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the first head unit includes a third heating section configured to heat the first liquid, and the second head unit includes a fourth heating section configured to heat the second liquid (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 5 and 7A-7B; [0126] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, wherein the first head unit (300) includes a first drive circuit (620) configured to generate a first drive signal for driving the first liquid discharge head, and a first battery (520) configured to store power to be supplied to the first drive circuit (see Fig. 2;[0056] and [0059] of Nakamura), and the second head unit includes a second drive circuit configured to generate a second drive signal for driving the second liquid discharge head, and a second battery configured to store power to be supplied to the second drive circuit (see Fig. 1; [0040], [0059] and [0062]) of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura in view of Boniface further teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus, further comprising: a data transmission section (control module section (500) which receives print data (Img) from a computer (700) and control signals (D3)) capable to be configured to transmit print data to the first drive circuit and the second drive circuit, wherein the data transmission section transmits the print data to the second drive circuit in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and the second drive circuit supplies the second drive signal to the second liquid discharge head based on the print data when the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism (see Fig. 2;[0053-0054], [0057] and [0063] of Nakamura).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US2022/0193997 – of record) in view of Boniface (US 2021/0300061 – of record) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2016/0271871).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura in view of Boniface teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus as discussed in claim 10 above.
Nakamura in view of Boniface does not teach the apparatus further comprising: a power supply mechanism configured to supply power to the first battery and the second battery, wherein the power supply mechanism supplies power to the first battery in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and supplies power to the second battery in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism.
In the same filed of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Lee teaches 3D printer (10), comprises a print head (100) detachable to a moving mechanism (200), wherein the detachable head includes a power source such as one or more battery; and the printer head (100) may be powered by both the battery and an external power source such as a cable from the 3D printer (see Fig. 8; [0031] and [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the three dimensional-apparatus as taught by Nakamura and Boniface in view of Lee with a power supply mechanism configured to supply power to the first battery and the second battery, wherein the power supply mechanism supplies power to the first battery in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and supplies power to the second battery in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Lee above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow head units to be pre-charge while not in use ensures continuous operation of the 3D printing apparatus without interruptions for battery replacement or recharging.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US2022/0193997 – of record) in view of Boniface (US 2021/0300061 – of record) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Nakamura (US 2022/0288846).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura in view of Boniface teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus as discussed in claim 1 above.
Nakamura in view of Boniface does not teach the apparatus further comprising a maintenance mechanism configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head and the second liquid discharge head, wherein the maintenance mechanism performs maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and performs maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Nakamura’846 teaches a three-dimensional object printing apparatus, comprises a movement mechanism (2) configured to move ahead unit (3) with respect to a three-dimensional work (W) (see Fig. 1;[0019-0020] and [0031-0032]); a maintenance unit (4) configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head and the second liquid discharge head, wherein the maintenance mechanism performs maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and performs maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 3-4; [0036] and [0071-0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the three dimensional-apparatus as taught by Nakamura’997 and Boniface in view of Nakamura’846 with a maintenance mechanism configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head and the second liquid discharge head, wherein the maintenance mechanism performs maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in a state in which the first head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism, and performs maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in a state in which the second head unit is not mounted on the movement mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Nakamura’846 above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would effectively perform maintenance using both the cap portion and the wiper portion (see [0043] and [0121] of Nakamura’846).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura in view of Boniface teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus as discussed in claim 1 above.
Nakamura in view of Boniface does not teach a maintenance mechanism configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in the first state in which the first head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism and to perform maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in the second state in which the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Nakamura’846 teaches a three-dimensional object printing apparatus, comprises a movement mechanism (2) configured to move ahead unit (3) with respect to a three-dimensional work (W) (see Fig. 1;[0019-0020] and [0031-0032]); a maintenance unit (4) configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in the first state in which the first head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism and to perform maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in the second state in which the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 3-4; [0036] and [0071-0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the three dimensional-apparatus as taught by Nakamura’997 and Boniface in view of Nakamura’846 with a maintenance mechanism configured to perform maintenance on the first liquid discharge head in the first state in which the first head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism and to perform maintenance on the second liquid discharge head in the second state in which the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Nakamura’846 above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would effectively perform maintenance using both a cap portion and a wiper portion (see [0043] and [0121] of Nakamura’846).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US2022/0193997 – of record) in view of Boniface (US 2021/0300061 – of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takei (US 2024/0075736).
Regarding claim 20,
Nakamura in view of Boniface teaches the three-dimensional object printing apparatus as discussed in claim 1 above.
Nakamura in view of Boniface does not teach the apparatus further comprising an acquisition section configured to acquire error information indicating a mounting error when the first head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism and a mounting error when the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism; and a correction section configured to correct a path along which the movement mechanism moves based on the mounting errors indicated by the error information.
In the same field of endeavor, Printing devices, Takei teaches inkjet printing apparatus (100) includes printing head (2) mounted on a carriage (3) functions as a mounting unit, a control circuit (4000) determines whether detaching/attaching the heads (2) has been performed (see Figs. 1-2 and 8;[0033],[0035] and [0052-0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the three dimensional-apparatus as taught by Nakamura and Boniface in view of Takei with an acquisition section configured to acquire error information indicating a mounting error when the first head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism and a mounting error when the second head unit is mounted on the movement mechanism; and a correction section configured to correct a path along which the movement mechanism moves based on the mounting errors indicated by the error information as such is known in the art of ink jet printing devices given the discussion of Takei above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would ensure mounting errors are detected and corrected to maintain precision and avoid operational issues (see [0052-0053] of Takei).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Russell (US 7,291,002) teaches an apparatus (10) for producing three-dimensional objects, comprises a plurality replaceable head units (18) and a moving mechanism configured to the head units with respect to a rotary build table (12) (see Fig. 1; column 6, lines 9-25 and column 10, lines 24-25).
Hasegawa (US 2022/0266521) teaches a three-dimensional object printing apparatus (1) including a plurality of print heads and a moving mechanism (3) configured to move the printheads with respect to a workpiece (W) (see Figs. 1-4;[0079]).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743