DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bogineni et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0195521).
Regarding claim 1. Bogineni teaches a method (Bogineni, the Abstract), comprising:
serving a wireless communication device using a wireless network slice that has a slice requirement (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: slice with low-latency support);
controlling the wireless network slice with a network function (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: a network slice is configured and supported by a network);
transferring characteristics of other network functions to the wireless communication device, wherein the wireless communication device selects one of the other network functions based on the slice requirement and the characteristics of the other network functions (Bogineni, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [68], [70]-[73]: a RAN portion and a core network portion with a data network portion at a RAN edge that supports the low latency service level agreement slice); and
controlling the wireless network slice with the selected one of the other network functions in response to the selection by the wireless communication device (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [68], [70]-[73]: executing traffic associated with a session through the supported low latency network slice).
Regarding claim 8. Bogineni teaches a method (Bogineni, the Abstract), comprising:
a source network function authenticating a wireless communication device, and in response, transferring authentication tokens to the wireless communication device (Bogineni, Fig. 2, pp [41], [51]-[52]: authentication server AUSF 235 authenticates the UE);
the source network function controlling a wireless network slice that has a slice requirement (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: a network slice is configured and supported by a network);
the wireless network slice serving the wireless communication device in response to the control of the source network function (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: a network slice is configured and supported and controlled by a network);
target network functions receiving the authentication tokens from the wireless communication device, and in response, authenticating the wireless communication device (Bogineni, Fig. 2, pp [41], [51]-[52]: server AUSF 235 authenticates the UE);
in response to authenticating the wireless communication device, the target network functions transferring network function characteristics to the wireless communication device, wherein the wireless communication device selects one of the target network functions based on the slice requirement and the network function characteristics (Bogineni, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [68], [70]-[73]: a RAN portion and a core network portion with a data network portion at a RAN edge that supports the low latency service level agreement slice); and
the selected one of the target network functions controlling the wireless network slice in response to the selection by the wireless communication device (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [68], [70]-[73]: executing traffic associated with a session through the supported low latency network slice); and
the wireless network slice serving the wireless communication device in response to the control of the selected one of the target network functions (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [68], [70]-[73]: executing traffic associated with a session through the supported low latency network slice).
Regarding claim 14. Bogineni teaches a wireless communication system (Bogineni, the Abstract), comprising:
a wireless network slice to serve a wireless communication device, wherein the wireless network slice has a slice requirement (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: slice with low-latency support);
a source network function to control the wireless network slice (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [70]-[73]: a network slice is configured and supported by a network);
target network functions to transfer network function characteristics to the wireless communication device, wherein the wireless communication device selects one of the target network functions based on the slice requirement and the network function characteristics (Bogineni, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [68], [70]-[73]: a RAN portion and a core network portion with a data network portion at a RAN edge that supports the low latency service level agreement slice); and
the selected one of the target network functions to control the wireless network slice in response to the selection by the wireless communication device (Bogineni, Fig. 4, pp [68], [70]-[73]: executing traffic associated with a session through the supported low latency network slice).
Regarding claim 2. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the slice requirement comprises enhanced processing to maintain a low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]).
Regarding claim 3. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the slice requirement comprises enhanced handover processing (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]).
Regarding claim 4. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein:
the characteristics for the other network functions comprise an enhanced processing characteristic to maintain a low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]); and
the selected one of the other network functions has the enhanced processing characteristic to maintain the low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]).
Regarding claim 5. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein:
the characteristics for the other network functions comprise an enhanced handover processing characteristic (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]); and
the selected one of the other network functions has the enhanced handover processing characteristic (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]).
Regarding claim 6. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the wireless network slice comprises an augmented reality slice (Bogineni, pp [8], [24]).
Regarding claim 7. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the other network functions comprise Access and Mobility Management Functions (AMFs) (Bogineni, pp [41], [49]).
Regarding claim 9. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 8 wherein the target network functions comprise Access and Mobility Management Functions (AMFs) (Bogineni, pp [41], [49]).
Regarding claim 10. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 8 wherein the wireless network slice comprises a low-latency slice (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]).
Regarding claim 11. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 8 wherein:
the slice requirement comprises enhanced processing for a low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]); and
the selected one of the target network functions has the enhanced processing for the low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]).
Regarding claim 12. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 8 wherein:
the slice requirement comprises enhanced processing for an augmented-reality service (Bogineni, pp [8], [24]); and
the selected one of the target network functions has the enhanced processing for the augmented-reality service (Bogineni, pp [8], [24]).
Regarding claim 13. Bogineni teaches the method of claim 8 wherein:
the slice requirement comprises enhanced handover processing (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]); and
the selected one of the target network functions has the enhanced handover processing (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]).
Regarding claim 15. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 wherein the target network functions are to transfer the network function characteristics to the wireless communication device over N1 signaling (Bogineni, pp [20], [52]).
Regarding claim 16. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 wherein:
the source network function is to transfer authentication information to the wireless communication device (Bogineni, pp [51]-[52]); and
the target network functions are to receive the authentication information from the wireless communication device, and in response, transfer the network function characteristics to the wireless communication device (Bogineni, pp [51]-[52]).
Regarding claim 17. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 wherein:
the source network function is to transfer authentication information to the wireless communication device over N1 signaling (Bogineni, pp [20], [51]-[52]); and
the target network functions are to receive the authentication information from the wireless communication device, and in response, transfer the network function characteristics to the wireless communication device over additional N1 signaling (Bogineni, pp [20], [51]-[52]).
Regarding claim 18. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 further comprising:
a source access node to wirelessly exchange user data with the wireless communication device and exchange the user data with the wireless network slice (Bogineni, pp [35]-[37]);
the source access node to receive the network function characteristics from the target network functions and wirelessly transfer the network function characteristics to the wireless communication device (Bogineni, pp [70]-[73]);
the source access node to handover the wireless communication device to a target access node in response to a loss of received signal strength at the wireless communication device, wherein the wireless communication device selects the one of the target network functions in response to the loss of the received signal strength (Bogineni, pp [32], [38]-[39]); and
the target access node to accept the handover of the wireless communication device from the source access node and to wirelessly exchange additional user data with the wireless communication device and exchange the additional user data with the wireless network slice (Bogineni, pp [32], [38]-[39]).
Regarding claim 19. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 wherein:
the slice requirement comprises enhanced processing to maintain a low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]); and
the selected one of the target network functions has the enhanced processing to maintain the low-latency service (Bogineni, Fig. 1B, pp [30]-[31]).
Regarding claim 20. Bogineni teaches the wireless communication system of claim 14 wherein:
the slice requirement comprises enhanced handover processing (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]); and
the selected one of the target network functions has the enhanced handover processing (Bogineni, Fig. 1C-1D, pp [33]-[36]).
Relevant references to the claims but not used in the rejection above
Cooblall et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0344140), teaches a device may detect a communication session between a user equipment and a network. The device may cause, based on detecting the communication session, a set of queries to be transmitted to a plurality of control plane nodes of the network. The device may determine, based on a set of responses associated with the set of queries, respective characteristics for corresponding control plane nodes, of the plurality of control plane nodes. The device may determine, based on the respective characteristics, scores for the corresponding control plane nodes, wherein the scores are representative of respective capabilities of the corresponding control plane nodes to be used for the communication session. The device may select, based on the scores, a control plane node, from the plurality of control plane nodes, for the communication session. The device may configure the control plane node to perform a control operation for the communication session.
Li et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0079059), teaches slice on/off procedure regardless of the c-plane/u-plane topology in use, the proposed slice-specific RAN architecture inherently suggests the use of a slice on/off procedure. Some scenarios of slice on/off include: opening up a slice in a small cell underlying macro cell coverage; opening up a slice in a cell operating on a different frequency band (e.g. high frequency band, unlicensed band). The triggers for turning on a slice at an access point may include: traffic load of a slice goes beyond a certain threshold—e.g. such information may be obtained from the UEs trying to access the AP on the slice and/or indicated by the neighboring APs and/or by the network central controller and/or by the APs in the parent hierarchy, e.g., a macro cell. The number of active UEs operating on a slice goes beyond a certain threshold, e.g. such information may be obtained from the UEs trying to access the AP on the slice and/or by the neighboring APs, and/or by the APs in the parent hierarchy, e.g., a macro cell. In order to keep service continuality of a moving UE, where the US is moving across base-stations (e.g. Macro BSs), and is connected to a particular slice (or slices) on one base station, but the base station to which they are about to move (and handover) does not yet have any or all of the respective slices in operation thereon. In order to meet certain QoS requirement, such as low latency, ultra-reliability, etc., i.e. a QoS requirement is instigated that may be best/better served by a new slice for that QoS class. The slice-on procedure by different types of triggers. When triggered by the UE, the UE may send an indication on the intended slice during random access. Depending on the types of UE triggering, i.e., due to traffic load or due to QoS requirement, the slice-on procedures may be different. In the traffic-load motivated slice-on, the BS may only turn on the slice when it sees enough traffic coming. The UE access request may not always be accepted if the BS decide not to turn on the slice. In the QoS-motivated slice on, the BS may turn on the slice when have the QoS demand. The UE access request may be accepted given the requested QoS meet certain criterion. When triggered by the peer BS/AP, the peer BS/AP may send a triggering message to request slice on at the targeted BS.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644