DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference character td (para. [0037])
Reference characters RA1, RA2, RC (para. [0056)
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes a limitation “…at least two external electrodes disposed on each of the third surface and the fourth surface…”. This language is vague and may be interpreted as
there being at least two external electrodes total, one of which is on the third surface and one of which is on the fourth surface, or
there being at least four external electrodes total, with two external electrodes on the third surface and two external electrodes on the fourth surface.
As claimed subject matter would not be shown in the drawings for the second interpretation, the examiner is interpreting the limitation according to the first interpretation.
Claim 1 introduces “external electrodes” which is later referred to as “the external electrode” in claim 4. This creates a lack of antecedent basis. Claims 5-6 are objected to as they depend on claim 4.
Claim 4 includes a first limitation “…a first connection portion in contact with at least one of the external electrodes…” and later recites a second limitation “…a second connection portion in contact with the external electrode”. As there is no support elsewhere for the connection to be different for the third surface and the fourth surface, the second limitation is being read as a typo and should read “…a second connection portion in contact with at least one of the external electrodes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. CN 114005676 A (hereafter referred to as Lu).
Figure 1: Examiner annotated Fig. 6 of Lu showing the length of the body portion in the second direction (lb-), the connection portion in the second direction (lc), the width of the body portion in the third direction (wb), and the connection portion in the third direction (wc) of the T-shaped internal electrodes.
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (20 – Fig. 3 para. [n0040]) including: a dielectric layer (23 – Fig. 4 para. [n0040]); an internal electrode layer (22A, 22B – Fig. 6 paras. [n0040] and [n0053]) and a floating electrode layer alternately arranged in a first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (22C – Figs. 2 & 4 para. [n0040]); a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in the first direction; a third surface and a fourth surface connected to the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other in a second direction; and a fifth surface and a sixth surface connected to the first surface to the fourth surface and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 3 shows a body with a parallelepiped shape); and at least two external electrodes respectively disposed on the third surface and the fourth surface (24A, 24B – Fig. 2 para. [n0040]), wherein the internal electrode layer includes a first electrode pattern connected to the third surface (22A – Fig. 6 para. [n0053]), and a second electrode pattern spaced apart from the first electrode pattern in the third direction and connected to the fourth surface (22B – Fig. 6 para. [n0053]), the floating electrode layer includes a third electrode pattern spaced apart from the third surface and the fourth surface (22C – Fig. 2), the first electrode pattern includes a first connection portion in contact with one of the external electrodes on the third surface (connection portion – Figure 1 shown above), and a first body portion that extends from the first connection portion in the second direction (body portion – Figure 1 shown above) and having a length in the second direction longer than the first connection portion (Figure 1 shown above clearly shows lc << lb) and a width in the third direction narrower than the first connection portion (Figure 1 shown above; para. [n0053] discloses that the internal electrode is T-shaped, inherently making wb < wc), and the second electrode pattern includes a second connection portion in contact with one of the external electrodes on the fourth surface (connection portion – Figure 1 shown above), and a second body portion that extends from the second connection portion in the second direction (body portion – Figure 1 shown above) and having a length in the second direction longer than the second connection portion (Figure 1 shown above clearly shows lc << lb) and a width in the third direction narrower than the second connection portion (Figure 1 shown above; para. [n0053] discloses that the internal electrode is T-shaped, inherently making wb < wc).
Regarding claim 10, Lu discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9, wherein the first electrode pattern is spaced apart from the fourth surface, and the second electrode pattern is spaced apart from the third surface (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Lu discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9, wherein the first electrode pattern and the second electrode pattern are spaced apart from the fifth surface and the sixth surface, and the third electrode pattern is spaced apart from the fifth surface and the sixth surface (Fig. 2; para. [n0053] discloses that 22A and 22B of Fig. 6 may be spaced apart from the fifth surface and the sixth surface).
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9, wherein corners of the first and second body portions have a round shape, and corners of the third electrode pattern have a round shape (para. [n0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu view of Lee et al. US 2016/0111216 A1 (hereafter referred to as Lee).
Figure 2: Examiner annotated Fig. 2 of Lu showing the fourth and fifth internal electrodes after modification of Lu with Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses:
A multilayer electronic component, comprising: a body (20 – Fig. 3 para. [n0040]) including: a dielectric layer (23 – Fig. 4 para. [n0040]); an internal electrode layer (22A, 22B – Fig. 6 paras. [n0040] and [n0053]) and a floating electrode layer alternately arranged in a first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (22C – Figs. 2 & 4 para. [n0040]); a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in the first direction; a third surface and a fourth surface connected to the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other in a second direction; and a fifth surface and a sixth surface connected to the first surface to the fourth surface and opposing each other in a third direction (Fig. 3 shows a body with a parallelepiped shape); and at least two external electrodes disposed on each of the third surface and the fourth surface (24A, 24B – Fig. 2 para. [n0040]), wherein the internal electrode layer includes a first electrode pattern connected to the third surface (22A – Fig. 6 para. [n0053]), and a second electrode pattern spaced apart from the first electrode pattern in the third direction and connected to the fourth surface (22B – Fig. 6 para. [n0053]), and the floating electrode layer includes a third electrode pattern spaced apart from the third surface and the fourth surface (22C – Fig. 2). Lu fails to disclose a fourth electrode pattern spaced apart from the third electrode pattern and connected to the third surface, and a fifth electrode pattern spaced apart from the third electrode pattern and connected to the fourth surface.
Lee discloses a fourth electrode pattern spaced apart from the third electrode pattern and connected to the third surface (150 – Fig. 3B para. [0047]), and a fifth electrode pattern spaced apart from the third electrode pattern and connected to the fourth surface (160 – Fig. 3B para. [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floating electrode layer of Lu by including the fourth and fifth internal electrode of Lee in order to reduce the acoustic noise of the electronic component of Lu (para. [0050] of Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Lu as modified by Lee further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode pattern is spaced apart from the fourth surface, and the second electrode pattern is spaced apart from the third surface (Fig. 6 of Lu).
Regarding claim 3, Lu as modified by Lee further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode pattern, the second electrode pattern the third electrode pattern, the fourth electrode pattern, and the fifth electrode pattern are spaced apart from the fifth surface and the sixth surface of the body (Figure 2 shown above. Paragraph [n0053] of Lu discloses that 22A and 22B of Fig. 6 may be spaced apart from the fifth surface and the sixth surface).
Regarding claim 4, Lu as modified by Lee further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode pattern includes a first connection portion in contact with at least one of the external electrodes on the third surface (connection portion – Figure 1 shown above), and a first body portion that extends from the first connection portion in the second direction (body portion – Figure 1 shown above) and having a length in the second direction longer than the first connection portion (Figure 1 shown above clearly shows lc << lb) a width in the third direction narrower than the first connection portion (Figure 1 shown above; para. [n0053] of Lu discloses that the internal electrode is T-shaped, inherently making wb < wc), and the second electrode pattern includes a second connection portion in contact with the external electrode on the fourth surface (connection portion – Figure 1 shown above), and a second body portion that extends from the second connection portion in the second direction (body portion – Figure 1 shown above) and having a length in the second direction longer than the second connection portion (Figure 1 shown above clearly shows lc << lb) and a width in the third direction narrower than the second connection portion (Figure 1 shown above; para. [n0053] of Lu discloses that the internal electrode is T-shaped, inherently making wb < wc).
Regarding claim 6, Lu as modified by Lee further discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 4, wherein corners of the first and second body portions have a round shape, and corners of the third electrode pattern have a round shape (para. [n0044] of Lu).
Regarding claim 7, Lu as modified by Lee discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1. Lu fails to disclose wherein the dielectric layer includes Ba and Ti.
Lee discloses wherein the dielectric layer includes Ba and Ti (para. [0028]). Furthermore, Lee discloses that barium titanate is a high-k ceramic material, which is beneficial for increasing capacitance per unit volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the barium titanate of Lee as the material of the dielectric layer of Lu to obtain a capacitor with a desired capacitance. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Lu discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9. Lu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric layer includes Ba and Ti.
Lee discloses wherein the dielectric layer includes Ba and Ti (para. [0028]). Furthermore, Lee discloses that barium titanate is a high-k ceramic material, which is beneficial for increasing capacitance per unit volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the barium titanate of Lee as the material of the dielectric layer of Lu to obtain a capacitor with a desired capacitance. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Lee and further in view of Seo et al. US 2013/0027843 A1 (hereafter referred to as Seo).
Regarding claim 8, Lu as modified by Lee discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1. Lu fails to disclose wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 20 µm or more. Lee fails to disclose wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 20 µm or more.
Seo discloses wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 15 µm or more (para. [0046]), overlapping with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the electronic component of Lu as modified by Lee to have a dielectric thickness of 15 μm or more in order to increase the number of ceramic grains and increase the breakdown voltage of the component (para. [0046] of Seo).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Seo.
Regarding claim 15, Lu discloses:
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 9. Lu fails to discloses wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 20 µm or more.
Seo discloses wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layer is 15 µm or more (para. [0046]), overlapping with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the electronic component of Lu to have a dielectric thickness of 15 μm or more in order to increase the number of ceramic grains and increase the breakdown voltage of the component (para. [0046] of Seo).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding the limitations of claims 5 and 12, the prior art does not specifically disclose wherein a second directional distance by which the first body portion and the fourth surface are spaced apart from each other is referred to as LM1 and a second directional distance by which the first body portion and the second connection portion are spaced apart from each other is referred to as L1, and when a second directional distance by which the second body portion and the third surface are spaced apart from each other is referred to as LM2 and a second directional distance by which the second body portion and the first connection portion are spaced apart from each other is referred to as L2, L1/LM1 satisfies 1/8 or more and 1/3 or less, and L2/LM2 satisfies 1/8 or more and 1/3 or less. The drawings of Lu cannot be used for these limitations as proportions of features in drawings that are not explicitly to scale cannot be used to anticipate. Furthermore, prior cannot be found that provides a motivation for having L1/LM1 and L2/LM2 fall within the range of 1/8 or more and 1/3 or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP S6325718 Y2: Fig. 7 includes a floating electrode layer and T-shaped internal electrode layer
JP 2000049036 A: Fig. 6
US 2021/0183569 A1: Figs. 2A/B, 5A/B
US 2021/0082620 A1: Figs. 18, 19
US 9779859 B2: Fig. 3
JP 2000311830 A: Fig. 1
JP S6325716 Y2: Fig. 7
JP S6325717 Y2: Fig. 6
US 6473292 B1: col. 4 lines 14-21
US 2021/0183577 A1: Fig. 10
US 2015/0014035 A1: 152, 153 – Fig. 8C paras. [0069] and [0075]
US 2013/0100576 A1: Figs. 2, 5A and Table 1
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847