DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by von Spiegel (US 2021/0141222) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a display system, in at least figures (1-3); comprising: a replicator (fig. 2) arranged to receive spatially modulated light (L3) and replicate the spatially modulated light (L3) to form a plurality of replicas (L4) of the spatially modulated light (L3) by waveguiding (Fig. 2 element 5) between a reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 51) and a transmissive-reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 52), the transmissive-reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 52) forming an output surface (Fig. 2, element 52) for the plurality of replicas (L4) of the spatially modulated light (L3); and a light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22) located in the optical path of the plurality of replicas (L4) of the spatially modulated light (L3) downstream from the output surface (Fig. 2, element 52) of the replicator (fig. 2) and arranged to provide a first compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of a curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) downstream from the light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22), wherein the first compensation ([0022]) is a function of the position on the output surface (Fig. 2, element 52) and is arranged to only partially counteract the curvature of the optical component (fig. 1; element 31).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the spatially modulated light (L3) is a holographic wavefront (SB1) and the replicator (fig. 2) is arranged to form a plurality of replicas (L4) of the holographic wavefront (SB1).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22) comprises a lens (71), optionally a Fresnel lens (71), further optionally wherein the lens (71) is a film (24), optionally with a thickness of less than 5 mm, such as less than 2 mm, less than 1 mm or less than 0.5 mm ([0053]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the first compensation ([0022]) has an opposite lensing effect ([0022]) to that of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the first compensation ([0022]) is a negative optical power and/or wherein the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) has a positive optical power.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); comprising: a processor ([0046]; image generator) arranged to determine a hologram of an image ([0046]; image generator) and a lens (71) function that provides a second compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) downstream from the light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22), wherein the second compensation ([0022]) is arranged to only partially counteract the curvature of the optical component (24); and a display device (fig. 1) arranged to spatially modulate light (L3) in accordance with a diffractive pattern ([0007]) displayed thereon, wherein the diffractive pattern ([0007]) comprises the hologram and the lens (71) function.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the lens (71) function is a pixelated lens (71) function.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the second compensation ([0022]) is a negative optical power ([0053]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the diffractive pattern ([0007]) comprises a superposition ([0003]) or sum of the hologram and the lens (71) function.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); comprising a viewer tracking system arranged to determine a position within an eye-box and correlate said position with a sub-area of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) and a position on the output surface (Fig. 2, element 52) of the replicator (fig. 2), wherein the first and second compensation ([0022]) compensate for the curvature of the sub-area of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the first compensation ([0022]) and the second compensation ([0022]) collectively provide a full compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the first compensation ([0022]) is 2 to 10 times the second compensation ([0022]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the first compensation ([0022]) provides a virtual image offset correction ([0054]; offset) in the range of 75% to 99% and the second compensation ([0022]) provides a virtual image offset correction ([0054]; offset) in the range of 1% to 25%.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein a magnitude of the first and/or second compensation ([0022]) is such that a spacing of each of the plurality of replicas (L4) at a viewing plane of the display system (Fig. 1) is at least half the size of a human pupil ([0005-0006]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the spacing is controlled at least in part by each compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the spacing of each of the plurality of replicas (L4) is greater than or approximately equal to the size of a human pupil (61).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) is such that a footprint of the viewing pupil on the display device (Fig. 1) encompasses at least 50 pixels ([0051]) of the display device, optionally 50 to 75 pixels ([0051]) or alternatively optionally 100 pixels ([0051]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) is such that a footprint of the viewing pupil (61) on the display device (fig. 1) is substantially symmetrical.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a light apparatus, in at least (Figs. 1-3); wherein the compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of the curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) is such that a footprint of the viewing pupil (61) on the display device (Fig. 1) has an area with an aspect ratio in the range of 1:1 to 1:1.25 ([0005]-[0006]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches a method of processing spatially modulated light (L3), the method comprising: receiving spatially modulated light (L3) at a replicator (fig. 2), the replicator (fig. 2) having a reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 51) and a transmissive-reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 52), the transmissive-reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 52) forming an output surface (Fig. 2, element 52); replicating the spatially modulated light (L3) to form a plurality of replicas (L4) of the spatially modulated light (L3) by waveguiding (Fig. 2 element 5) the spatially modulated light (L3) between the reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 51) and the transmissive-reflective surface (Fig. 2, element 52), the plurality of replicas (L4) of the spatially modulated light (L3) being output from the replicator (fig. 2) at the output surface (Fig. 2, element 52); and receiving the plurality of replicas (L4) at a light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22); and providing, via the light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22), a first compensation ([0022]) for the curvature of a curved optical component (fig. 1; element 31) downstream from the light control device (Fig. 5 element 71, 22), wherein the first compensation ([0022]) is a function of the position on the output surface (Fig. 2, element 52) and is arranged to only partially counteract the curvature of the optical component (24).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872