DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/949018 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 11/15/24
Specification
2.The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims 1, 11 and 20 recite “…first information …” A first information is vague. It can be many things including a packet, message, etc.
Claim 5 recites… the first information further comprises second information…
It is unclear how the first information consists of the second information.
Claim 11 recites… if the first timer expires, the terminal device performs or does not perform a target operation, wherein the target operation comprises one or more of following operations.
Claim 12 recites… if the first timer is associated with one or more TAGs…
The use of the term if can be seen as the rest of the limitation does not necessarily need to occur. An option is to replace it with when.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN(CN107105496A) herein referred to as CN
Regarding claim 1, CN teaches a terminal device, comprising a transceiver, a memory, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to send and receive information through the transceiver, to cause the terminal to execute the method comprising:
receiving first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate timing advances TAs of one or more transmitting and receiving points TRPs. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).) page 18 paragraph [0006] Fig. 11 explains…. the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention, selecting network by the terminal side transmitting point, initiating to obtain uplink timing advance process to the network side according to the need. network side estimating terminal target transmission point of the timing advance, and notifying the terminal of the timing advance information.)
Regarding 2, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 1, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the first information comprises a TA of a first timing advance group TAG, and the first TAG is associated with the one or more TRPs. (see CN Fig.4, 5 page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number)….)
Regarding 3, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 2, as described above. CN further teaches wherein an association relationship between the first TAG and the one or more TRPs is determined based on configuration information of a network device. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).)
Regarding 4, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 3, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the configuration information of the network device is configuration information of a serving cell of the terminal device, wherein configuration information of each serving cell of the terminal device comprises identities of a plurality of TAGs, and the identities of the plurality of TAGs are separately associated with a plurality of TRPs. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).)
Regarding 5, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 2, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the first information further comprises second information used to indicate an identity of the first TAG. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).)
Regarding 6, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 5, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the second information is the identity of the first TAG; or the second information is bitmap information used to indicate the identity of the first TAG. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).)
Regarding 7, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 1, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the first information comprises a TA of a first TRP. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).) page 18 paragraph [0006] Fig. 11 explains…. the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention, selecting network by the terminal side transmitting point, initiating to obtain uplink timing advance process to the network side according to the need. network side estimating terminal target transmission point of the timing advance, and notifying the terminal of the timing advance information.)
Regarding 10, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 1, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the method further comprises: starting or restarting, by the terminal device, a first timer based on the first information, wherein the first timer is used to maintain validity of the TAs of the one or more TRPs. (see CN page 11 paragraph [0005]…. Specifically, if the target transmission point transmission characteristic (such as frequency, position) changes, or while changing the target transmission point, restarting the timing advance amount obtaining process. the following example will be described terminal side trigger timing advance update is carried out. step one: the terminal side determines TA update is needed, a trigger condition for the terminal position change, the target TP changes, TAT is overtime; step two: the terminal initiating timing advance acquisition process and updating the currently stored timing advance amount and the TA timer….receiving the returned to the network side for bringing a message of uplink timing advance amount after starting timing advance timer, when receiving a new timing advance restart the timing advance timer, then initiates the obtaining request uplink timing advance amount of the timing advance timer is overtime;)
Regarding 12, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 10, as described above. CN further teaches wherein if the first timer is associated with one or more TAGs, the target operation is performed for one or more of following objects:
all serving cells of the terminal device;
a TRP associated with each of the one or more TAGs;
a serving cell in which the TRP associated with each of the one or more TAGs is located; or a serving cell associated with at least one TAG. (see CN page 11 paragraph [0005]…. Specifically, if the target transmission point transmission characteristic (such as frequency, position) changes, or while changing the target transmission point, restarting the timing advance amount obtaining process. the following example will be described terminal side trigger timing advance update is carried out. step one: the terminal side determines TA update is needed, a trigger condition for the terminal position change, the target TP changes, TAT is overtime; step two: the terminal initiating timing advance acquisition process and updating the currently stored timing advance amount and the TA timer….receiving the returned to the network side for bringing a message of uplink timing advance amount after starting timing advance timer, when receiving a new timing advance restart the timing advance timer, then initiates the obtaining request uplink timing advance amount of the timing advance timer is overtime;)
Regarding 13, CN taught the terminal device according to claims 10, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the first timer is associated with one or more TAGs; or the first timer is associated with one or more TRPs. (see CN page 11 paragraph [0005]…. Specifically, if the target transmission point transmission characteristic (such as frequency, position) changes, or while changing the target transmission point, restarting the timing advance amount obtaining process. the following example will be described terminal side trigger timing advance update is carried out. step one: the terminal side determines TA update is needed, a trigger condition for the terminal position change, the target TP changes, TAT is overtime; step two: the terminal initiating timing advance acquisition process and updating the currently stored timing advance amount and the TA timer….)
Regarding 14, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 2, as described above. CN further teaches wherein a TAG in the first information comprises a primary timing advance group PTAG and/or a secondary timing advance group STAG. (see CN Fig.4, 5 page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number)… In an implementation, the target transmission point (or target transmission point group of the transmission point) TP interaction with the current TA and TA information.)
Regarding 16, CN teaches a network device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to send and receive information through the transceiver, to cause the network device to execute the method comprising:
sending first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate timing advances TAs of one or more transmitting and receiving points TRPs. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).) page 18 paragraph [0006] Fig. 11 explains…. the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention, selecting network by the terminal side transmitting point, initiating to obtain uplink timing advance process to the network side according to the need. network side estimating terminal target transmission point of the timing advance, and notifying the terminal of the timing advance information.)
Regarding 17, CN taught the network device according to claim 16, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the first information comprises a TA of a first timing advance group TAG, and the first TAG is associated with the one or more TRPs. (see CN Fig.4, 5 page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number)….)
Regarding 18, CN taught the network device according to claim 17, as described above. CN further teaches wherein an association relationship between the first TAG and the one or more TRPs is determined based on configuration information of the network device. (see CN Fig.4, 5 page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number)… a receiving module 901, configured to receive terminal initiates to the network side for obtaining the uplink timing advance amount of request, the uplink timing advance is the terminal point to the target transmission needed to transmit data uplink timing advance quantity;….. In an implementation, the target transmission point (or target transmission point group of the transmission point) TP interaction with the current TA and TA information.)
Regarding 19, CN taught the network device according to claim 18, as described above. CN further teaches wherein the configuration information of the network device is configuration information of a serving cell of a terminal device, wherein configuration information of each serving cell of the terminal device comprises identities of a plurality of TAGs, and the identities of the plurality of TAGs are separately associated with a plurality of TRPs. (see CN Fig.4, 5 page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number)… a receiving module 901, configured to receive terminal initiates to the network side for obtaining the uplink timing advance amount of request, the uplink timing advance is the terminal point to the target transmission needed to transmit data uplink timing advance quantity;….. In an implementation, the target transmission point (or target transmission point group of the transmission point) TP interaction with the current TA and TA information.)
Regarding 20, CN teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate timing advances TAs of one or more transmitting and receiving points TRPs. (see CN page 11 last paragraph explains…the terminal selecting the target transmission point, confirming whether there is target transmission point (or target transmission point belongs to the TA group), if not, the network side initiating to obtain the target transmission point (or target transmission point timing advance TA group) process, specifically the current transmission point transmits a request message, the request message carries the target transmission point TP ID (transmission point) or TAG ID (transmission point group number).) page 18 paragraph [0006] Fig. 11 explains…. the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the invention, selecting network by the terminal side transmitting point, initiating to obtain uplink timing advance process to the network side according to the need. network side estimating terminal target transmission point of the timing advance, and notifying the terminal of the timing advance information.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN(CN107105496A) referred to as CN in view of JANG (WO2021162510A1)
Regarding 15, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 1, as described above. CN alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with JANG teaches wherein the first information is carried in a media access control protocol data unit MAC PDU or downlink control information DCI. (see Jang page 35 paragraph [0002] explains such individual DL transmission information configuration for each cell, TRP, and/or beam becomes a major factor in increasing the payload required for DL DCI transmission, which is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for transmitting DCI.) )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CN with JANG because JANG ‘s invention improves communication network performance( see Background ).
8. Claims 8, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN(CN107105496A) referred to as CN in view of CHEN (CN10824259A) referred to as CN2nd,
Regarding 8, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 7, as described above. CN alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN2nd teaches wherein the first information comprises information received by the terminal device in a random access procedure, and the first TRP is determined based on one or more of following:
a resource used in the random access procedure, wherein different resources correspond to different TRPs;
resource indication information of the resource used in the random access procedure, wherein the resource indication information of the resource comprises information indicating an identity of the first TRP;
a TRP to which first uplink data is to be sent, wherein the random access procedure is
triggered by that the first uplink data arrives but the terminal device is in an uplink out-of-synchronization state; or
a trigger manner of the random access procedure, wherein a cell corresponding to the random access procedure comprises a plurality of TRPs, and different trigger manners correspond to different TRPs in the plurality of TRPs. (See CN2nd page 6 paragraph [0004] explains …TRP/Beam-level reference signal information, TRP/Beam ID, the PRACH information of the random access resource of the TRP/Beam stage, TRP/Beam stage preamble sequence information….)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CN with CN2nd invention to improve signaling and transmission reliability ( see Background ).
Regarding 9, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 8, as described above. CN alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN2nd teaches wherein the resource in the random access procedure comprises a resource used for transmitting a message 1 in the random access procedure or a resource used for transmitting a message A in the random access procedure. (See CN2nd page 6 paragraph [0004] explains …TRP/Beam-level reference signal information, TRP/Beam ID, the PRACH information of the random access resource of the TRP/Beam stage, TRP/Beam stage preamble sequence information….)
Regarding 11, CN taught the terminal device according to claim 10, as described above. CN alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN2nd teaches wherein if the first timer expires, the terminal device performs or does not perform a target operation, wherein the target operation comprises one or more of following operations:
flushing a HARQ buffer;
notifying RRC to release an uplink resource;
maintaining a timing advance absolute value;
initiating a random access procedure; or
retransmitting data in the HARQ buffer by using a TRP whose TA is valid. (See CN2nd page 6 paragraph [0004] explains …TRP/Beam-level reference signal information, TRP/Beam ID, the PRACH information of the random access resource of the TRP/Beam stage, TRP/Beam stage preamble sequence information….)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CN with CN2nd invention improve signaling and transmission reliability ( see Background ).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478