DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on April 15, 2025,
Claim 1, 3-5, 8-9, and 11-14 are amended.
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 have been examined this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/19/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horvath et al (WO 2018/094520 A1) in view of Rowitch (US 2014/0253383 A1) and Sanders et al (US 2018/0073707 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Horvath teaches an interior positioning system for tracking spatial position of communication devices within a remote location, the interior positioning system comprising [0065-0067 for safety device is configured to track the location of the mine workers, and comprises electrical components such as wireless signal receivers and transmitters that integrate with a wireless network]:
a radio frequency network distributed through said remote location [0078 for a mine with leaky feeder infrastructure uses Bluetooth (BT) beacons communicating with the safety-helmet system for location tracking];
a plurality of beacons spaced-apart from one another throughout said remote location [0078 for a mine with leaky feeder infrastructure uses Bluetooth (BT) beacons communicating with the safety-helmet system for location tracking],
which when received by a nearby communication device is communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device [0078 for ow power beacons can be installed throughout the mine with tight spacing to increase location resolution];
and a tracking controller being communicatively coupled to said radio frequency network [0073 for the control center identifies a mine worker located closest to the emergency situation using the location tracking functionality of the safety device],
receiving said beacon identifier communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device [0077-0078 for Wi-Fi networks use received signal strength indication (RSSI) strength to determine relative location. For example, routers are distributed throughout a mine].
Horvath fails to explicitly teach each of said beacons locally emitting a corresponding beacon identifier, said tracking controller having a processor and a memory having stored thereon tracking data associating each of said beacon identifiers to respective spatial coordinates, and instructions that when executed by said processor perform the steps of: and determining spatial coordinates of said communication device by cross referencing said received beacon identifier to said tracking data.
Rowitch has devices for configuring a beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations of mobile devices (abstract) and teaches each of said beacons locally emitting a corresponding beacon identifier [0039 for a beacon signal modulated by a unique identifier e.g., MAC address and a location of the beacon transmitter],
said tracking controller having a processor and a memory having stored thereon tracking data associating each of said beacon identifiers to respective spatial coordinates, and instructions that when executed by said processor perform the steps of [0033 for indoor positioning operations may include radio heatmaps, locations and identities of transmitters with means to overlay (processor), 0057]:
and determining spatial coordinates of said communication device by cross referencing said received beacon identifier to said tracking data [0033 for receive positioning assistance data for indoor positioning operations from servers for mobile device].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the identifier calculations as taught by Rowitch for the purpose of modulating a transmitted signal with particular information (Rowitch, 0039).
Horvath fails to explicitly teach the plurality of beacons powered using electrical power drawn from said radio frequency network.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches the plurality of beacons powered using electrical power drawn from said radio frequency network [0076 for leaky feeder coax cable provides the power for the system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provides pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 14, Horvath teaches a method of tracking position of communication devices within a remote location having a radio frequency network distributed therethrough, the method comprising [0065-0067 for safety device is configured to track the location of the mine workers, and comprises electrical components such as wireless signal receivers and transmitters that integrate with a wireless network]:
using a plurality of beacons spaced-apart within said remote location [0078 for a mine with leaky feeder infrastructure uses Bluetooth beacons communicating with the safety-helmet system for location tracking],
upon a communication device receiving at least one of said locally transmitted beacon identifiers [0078 for BT beacons],
communicating said received beacon identifier via said radio frequency network [0078 for ow power beacons can be installed throughout the mine with tight spacing to increase location resolution];
and using a tracking controller [0067, 0078];
receiving said beacon identifier communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device [0078 for signals to the surface].
Horvath fails to explicitly teach locally transmitting corresponding beacon identifiers nearby; accessing tracking data associating each of said beacon identifiers to respective spatial coordinates, and determining spatial coordinates of said communication device by cross referencing said received beacon identifier to said tracking data.
Rowitch has devices for configuring a beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations of mobile devices (abstract) and teaches locally transmitting corresponding beacon identifiers nearby [0039 for a beacon signal modulated by a unique identifier e.g., MAC address and a location of the beacon transmitter],
accessing tracking data associating each of said beacon identifiers to respective spatial coordinates [0033 for indoor positioning operations may include radio heatmaps, locations and identities of transmitters with means to overlay (processor), 0057]:
and determining spatial coordinates of said communication device by cross referencing said received beacon identifier to said tracking data [0033 for receive positioning assistance data for indoor positioning operations from servers for mobile device].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the identifier calculations as taught by Rowitch for the purpose of modulating a transmitted signal with particular information (Rowitch, 0039).
Horvath fails to explicitly teach drawing electrical power from said radio frequency network and using said drawn power.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches drawing electrical power from said radio frequency network and using said drawn power [0076 for leaky feeder coax cable provides the power for the system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provides pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 2, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said beacons are battery-less.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said beacons are battery-less [0076 for leaky feeder coax cable provides the power for the system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provide pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 3, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said radio frequency network has a powering link supplying electrical direct-current (DC) power to said beacons.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said radio frequency network has a powering link supplying electrical direct-current (DC) power to said beacons [0059 for controlled by the leaky feeder communications system that delivers 2-way communications and data with 0076 for leaky feeder coax cable provides the power for the system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provides pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 4, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said powering link includes a power injector injecting said electrical DC power to said powering link.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said powering link includes a power injector injecting said electrical DC power to said powering link [0063 for leaky feeder coax cable providing the positive DC electrical pole to the LED lighting assembly. Source voltage can be derived from the communications system or through a separate source].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to make electrical contact with one or more electrical shield strands that run the length of the leaky feeder coax cable (Sanders, 0063).
Regarding Claim 5, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said power injector injects a DC power supplying component to said powering link.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said power injector injects a DC power supplying component to said powering link [0063 for leaky feeder coax cable providing the positive DC electrical pole to the LED lighting assembly. Source voltage can be derived from the communications system or through a separate source].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to make electrical contact with one or more electrical shield strands that run the length of the leaky feeder coax cable (Sanders, 0063).
Regarding Claim 6, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said direct current power supplying component includes a negative tension.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said direct current power supplying component includes a negative tension [0063 for leaky feeder coax cable providing the positive DC electrical pole to the LED lighting assembly. Source voltage can be derived from the communications system or through a separate source].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to make electrical contact with one or more electrical shield strands that run the length of the leaky feeder coax cable (Sanders, 0063).
Regarding Claim 7, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said negative tension is below at least minus 5 VDC.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said negative tension is below at least minus 5 VDC [0080].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to make electrical contact with one or more electrical shield strands that run the length of the leaky feeder coax cable (Sanders, 0063).
Regarding Claim 8, Horvath fails to explicitly teach at least one of said beacons has a power supplying port for supplying power to at least one of said communication device and an external device.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches s at least one of said beacons has a power supplying port for supplying power to at least one of said communication device and an external device [0082 for critical situations by connecting a charging adaptor to the screw assembly to allow personnel to keep critical batteries charged].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to make electrical contact with one or more electrical shield strands that run the length of the leaky feeder coax cable (Sanders, 0063).
Regarding Claim 9, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said beacons have an operating software being updatable via said radio frequency network, said updating being performed by modulating a power supplied by said radio frequency network.
Rowitch has devices for configuring a beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations of mobile devices (abstract) and teaches said beacons have an operating software being updatable via said radio frequency network, said updating being performed by modulating a power supplied by said radio frequency network [0049 for data signal recovered at demodulator may be used to program a processor].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the identifier calculations as taught by Rowitch for the purpose of modulating a transmitted signal with particular information (Rowitch, 0039).
Regarding Claim 11, Horvath teaches said radio frequency network has a leaky cable at least some of said beacons drawing the electrical power being from said leaky cable [0077-0078 for Wi-Fi networks use received signal strength indication (RSSI) strength to determine relative location. For example, routers are distributed throughout a mine].
Regarding Claim 12, Horvath teaches said radio frequency network has a plurality of radio frequency antennas distributed within said remote location, at least some of said beacons drawing the electrical power from said radio frequency antennas [0077-0078].
Regarding Claim 15 and 21, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said radio frequency network communicates with said beacons by modulating said power.
Rowitch has devices for configuring a beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations of mobile devices (abstract) and teaches teach said radio frequency network communicates with said beacons by modulating said power [0049 for data signal recovered at demodulator may be used to program a processor].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the identifier calculations as taught by Rowitch for the purpose of modulating a transmitted signal with particular information (Rowitch, 0039).
Regarding Claim 16, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said radio frequency network has a communication signal and a powering signal superposed to said communication signal.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said radio frequency network has a communication signal and a powering signal superposed to said communication signal [0059 for the leaky feeder communications system that delivers 2-way communications and data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provides pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 17, Horvath fails to explicitly teach said powering signal includes a direct current power supplying component, said direct current power supplying component having a negative tension.
Sanders has a method for using a LED lighting system to communicate an emergency, indicate a route/pathway and illuminate an area using an existing leaky feeder communications system (abstract) and teaches said powering signal includes a direct current power supplying component, said direct current power supplying component having a negative tension [0063 for negative DC pole].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the power calculations as taught by Sanders for the purpose to provides pressure on the barrel conductor to maintain conductivity (Sanders, 0076).
Regarding Claim 19, Horvath teaches upon communicating said received beacon identifier via said radio frequency network, said communication device further communicating a device identifier identifying said communication [0078 and 0101].
Regarding Claim 20, Horvath teaches upon communicating said received beacon identifier via said radio frequency network, said communication device further communicating sensor data indicative of data generated by a sensor of at least one of said communication device and an external device communicatively coupled to said communication device [0078, 0101].
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horvath et al (WO 2018/094520 A1) in view of Rowitch (US 2014/0253383 A1) and Sanders et al (US 2018/0073707 A1), as applied to Claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Mueller et al (US 2015/0140933 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Horvath fails to explicitly teach at least a given one of said beacons has a processor and a memory having stored thereon instructions that when executed by said processor perform the steps of: upon detecting that said given beacon is no longer in communication with said radio frequency network, generating an alert which when received by a nearby communication device is communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device.
Mueller has system for distributed management and maintenance of remote transmitters, or beacons, via a remotely hosted integrated software platform (abstract) and teaches at least a given one of said beacons has a processor and a memory having stored thereon instructions that when executed by said processor perform the steps of: upon detecting that said given beacon is no longer in communication with said radio frequency network [0026 for collect and store beacon meta-data, including the battery status of the beacon and most recent reporting date/time],
generating an alert which when received by a nearby communication device is communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device [0023-0026 for position flow tracking aids a corporation in gaining a further understanding regional trends in how in-store marketing is driving flow and popular paths consumers take through a specific store, among other observations to see if any specific stores have outlier performance and 0026 for an alert].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the tracking calculations as taught by Mueller for the purpose to determine if an alert should be issued that maintenance of beacon is required (Mueller, 0026).
Regarding Claim 18, Horvath fails to explicitly teach upon detecting that a given one of said beacons is no longer in communication with said radio frequency network, generating an alert which when received by a nearby communication device is communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device.
Mueller has system for distributed management and maintenance of remote transmitters, or beacons, via a remotely hosted integrated software platform (abstract) and teaches upon detecting that a given one of said beacons is no longer in communication with said radio frequency network, generating an alert which when received by a nearby communication device is communicated over said radio frequency network by said communication device [0023-0026 for position flow tracking aids a corporation in gaining a further understanding regional trends in how in-store marketing is driving flow and popular paths consumers take through a specific store, among other observations to see if any specific stores have outlier performance and 0026 for an alert].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the indoor positioning techniques, as disclosed by Horvath, further including the tracking calculations as taught by Mueller for the purpose to determine if an alert should be issued that maintenance of beacon is required (Mueller, 0026).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
White et al (US 8712690 A1) has a non-time of flight or time of arrival position location system for accurate determination of a user's location in an enclosed, indoor, or covered environment can include a number of beacons mounted in an arrangement within the environment.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648