Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence on 07/07/2026. Applicant’s argument, filed on 07/07/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-6, and 8 are pending.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, rejection is withdrawn based on the arguments/claim amendments submitted on 07/07/2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection is withdrawn based on the arguments/claim amendments submitted on 07/07/2026.
The application filed on 11/15/2024 is a CON of 18/498,597 10/31/2023 PAT 12231610, which is a CON of 18/314,965 05/10/2023 PAT 11902668, which is a CON of 17/579,225 01/19/2022 PAT 11696035, which is a CON of 17/027,154 09/21/2020 PAT 11483476, which is a CON of 16/372,287 04/01/2019 ABN, CON of PCT/KR2017/011138 10/10/2017. applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(a)-(d). Claimed foreign priority to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0127887 10/04/2016, KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0129386 10/06/2016, KOREA, and REPUBLIC OF 10-2017-0090616 07/17/2017. The certified copy of priority has been filed on 11/26/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the 07/07/2026 Remarks have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of reference being used in the current rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 8 and similar dependent claims are rejected on the ground of obvious type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Conflicting Patent PAT US 12,219,262 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the Conflicting Patent and is covered by the Patent since the Patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, below is a list of limitations that perform the same function, however, different terminology may be used in both sets to describe the limitations, as follows, Claim 1 is used as an example to analyze the common subject matter:
Conflicting Patent No. US 12,219,262 B2
Instant Application:-18/949,072
1. An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: deriving a size of a subblock based on a size of a current block; partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock, wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on depth information, and wherein the depth information indicates the number of partitioning times of the current block; and performing inverse-transformation for the subblock, wherein a binary tree partitioning is allowed for the current block having a width different from a height, wherein the binary tree partitioning is not allowed for the current block having the width identical to the height, and wherein the binary tree partitioning is representative of a division type to divide one current block into two subblocks.
1. An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: deriving a size of a subblock based on a size of a current block; partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock; and performing inverse-transformation for the subblock, wherein depth information indicating the number of partitioning times for the current block is obtained from a bitstream.
US 12,219,262 B2, hereinafter ‘262, discloses all the elements of claim 1 but ‘262 does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section wherein the partitioning of the current block is performed based on depth information.
However, Park et al. from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the partitioning of the current block is performed based on depth information ([0087], [0101]-[0101], [0135]-[0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘262 to incorporate the teachings of Park to efficiently process video information (Park, [0022]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
As demonstrated, the claim of US patent US 12,219,262 B2 anticipate the features of the claim of instant application 18/949,072. Similar rejections can be presented for US 12,192,522 B2, US 12,167,139 B2, US 12,028,503 B2, and US 11,297,309 B2.
A nonstatutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope or filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-5 refer to "An image decoding method”, Claim 6 refers to "An image encoding method”, and Claim 8 refers to "A method of transmitting a bit stream”. Claims 6, and 8 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 1-5, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 1-5, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system. It is requested to keep the scope of all the independent claims similar for advancing the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20150172714 A1), hereinafter Wu, in view of Lee et al. (US 20180255295 A1), hereinafter Lee, further in view of Ikai et al. (US 20170134750 A1), hereinafter Ikai, further in view of Park et al. (US 20180139453 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: deriving a size of a subblock based on a size of a block ([0011], [0023]); partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the subblock; for the current block is obtained from a bitstream ([0015]-[0016]).
Wu discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Wu does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section size of a current block; and performing inverse-transformation for the subblock,.
However, Lee from the same or similar endeavor teaches size of a current block ([0105]-[0107] , [0120], [0174], [0205]); wherein depth information indicating the number of partitioning times (Fig. 3); and performing inverse-transformation for the subblock ([0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate the teachings of Lee to enhance coding efficiency (Lee, [0020]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Wu in view of Lee discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section based on the size of the subblock.
However, Ikai from the same or similar endeavor teaches based on the size of the subblock ([0127], [0155]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Ikai to improve processing for segmentation (Ikai, [0008]-[0010]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section wherein the partitioning of the current block is performed based on depth information.
However, Park et al. from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the partitioning of the current block is performed based on depth information ([0087], [0101]-[0101], [0135]-[0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai to incorporate the teachings of Park to efficiently process video information (Park, [0022]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai further in view of Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in case the current block is square, a quadtree partitioning is performed for the current block, and wherein the quadtree partitioning is representative of a division type to divide one current block into four subblocks (Wu, [0011]-[0016], Lee, [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai further in view of Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on a predetermined index for a partitioning, and wherein, in case the current block is a 4Nx4N block, the current block is not partitioned, or the current block is partitioned into four 2Xx2N subblocks, or the current block is partitioned into sixteen NxN subblocks (Wu, [0011]-[0016], [0023], Lee, [0105]-[0108], [0120], [0174], [0205]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai further in view of Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selection information indicating whether a partitioning shape for transformation of the current block is determined adaptively is obtained from a bitstream, and wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on the selection information (It’s obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Lee further in view of Ikai further in view of Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the partitioning the current block is performed differently according to whether a prediction mode of the current block is an inter mode or an intra mode (It’s obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 6, and 8, See Examiner’s Note. Seo et al. (US 20190058881 A1), [0133], depth information is known from the HEVC specification, [0140]-[0154], Rejection is not relied on Seo but presented as a reference for ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487