DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Priority
The claim for priority from KR 10-2023-0159095 filed on 16 November 2023 is duly noted.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4: “a CAN data frame” is unclear if it relates to “a CAN data frame” (claim 1, lines 2-3) and should read –the CAN data frame–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a communication unit, an attack-type classification unit, a filtering unit in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160104936 A and Kim hereinafter) in view of Matsubayashi et al. (US 2023/0247035 A1 and Matsubayashi hereinafter).
As to claims 1 and 14, Kim discloses a system and method for detecting vehicle intrusion, the system and method having:
receiving a CAN data frame (page 1, lines 2-3);
analyzing the CAN data frame through a pre-learned intrusion detection systems (IDS) model to classify an attack-type of the CAN bus (page 3, lines 30-31, 39-40).
Kim fails to specifically disclose:
filtering the classified attack type based on a pre-established rule.
Nonetheless, this feature is well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Kim, as taught by Matsubayashi.
Matsubayashi discloses a system and method for attack detection, the system and method having:
filtering the classified attack type based on a pre-established rule (0019; 0020).
Given the teaching of Matsubayashi, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Matsubayashi by filtering the attack type based on a rule. Matsubayashi recites motivation by disclosing that filtering attacks based on rules aids in improving the detection accuracy of attacks (0009). It is obvious that the teachings of Matsubayashi would have improved the teachings of Kim by filtering attack types based on rules in order to improve detection accuracy of attacks.
As to claims 2 and 15, Kim discloses:
wherein the attack type comprises at least one of a DoS (Denial-of-Service) attack, a spoofing attack, and a fuzzy attack (page 5, lines 27-28).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses:
wherein the filtering comprises accumulatively counting the number of attacks by message ID of the corresponding CAN data frame whenever the classified attack type is the DoS attack (page 5, lines 27-28).
As to claim 13, Kim discloses:
A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for performing the method of claim 1 (page 1, line 22 – page 2, line 4).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Matsubayashi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (WO 2023/121148 A1 and Choi hereinafter).
As to claim 9, Kim in view of Matsubayashi fails to specifically disclose:
wherein the filtering comprises, even if the CAN data frame is classified as normal in the classifying, if the message ID of the corresponding CAN data frame is not included in a message ID set of normal data prepared in advance for real-time control of a vehicle, finally determining the attack type of the corresponding CAN data frame as a fuzzy attack.
Nonetheless, this feature is well known in the art and would have been an obvious modification of the teachings disclosed by Kim in view of Matsubayashi, as taught by Choi.
Choi discloses a system and method for adversarial feature selection considering attack function of vehicle CAN, the system and method having:
wherein the filtering comprises, even if the CAN data frame is classified as normal in the classifying, if the message ID of the corresponding CAN data frame is not included in a message ID set of normal data prepared in advance for real-time control of a vehicle, finally determining the attack type of the corresponding CAN data frame as a fuzzy attack (page 3, lines 15-17).
Given the teaching of Choi, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the teachings of Kim in view of Matsubayashi with the teachings of Choi by determining a fuzzy attack. Choi recites motivation by disclosing that determining the attack type can aid in classifying the attack (page 3, lines 14-20). It would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Choi to the teachings of Kim in view of Matsubayashi by determining the attack type as a fuzzy attack in order to aid in classifying the attack.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iyengar et al. (US 2015/0281272 A1) discloses a system and method for HTTP-body DoS attack prevention with adaptive timeout.
Kim et al. (JP 2025066622 A) discloses a system and method for controller area network intrusion detection.
Lee et al. (US 2024/0031404 A1) discloses a system and method for counterattack against hacked node in CAN bus physical layer.
Murphy et al. (US 2023/0315852 A1) discloses a system and method for threat mitigation.
Conclusion
/SARAH SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431