DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/24 & 07/14/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites “The device of claim 13, the operations further comprising: transmitting a dynamic indication; and enabling a particular resource for at least one of transmission or reception of data.” which recites that the device transmits a dynamic indication.
However, Claim 13 from which claim 18 is dependent upon recites “… receive, while the device is in a radio resource control connected state, from a serving cell …” and based on Applicant’s Specification, [0298] that recites “FIG. 26 illustrates example steps in a method, carried out at a UE 110 in RRC Connected state, for receiving signals in a shared TN/NTN carrier. …”, the claimed device appears to be directed towards a UE.
In addition, based on the Applicant’s Specification, [0255] that recites “The UE 110 may also receive a dynamic indication that acts to enable a particular carrier or a particular BWP for transmission and/or reception of data. …” and as there appears to be no other indication in the applicant’s specification that the UE transmits a dynamic indication to enable a particular resource, the examiner believes that the recited claim limitations of “transmitting a dynamic indication” in claim 18 is a typographical error and should instead recite “receiving” instead of the currently recited “transmitting” (i.e. “The device of claim 13, the operations further comprising: receiving a dynamic indication; and enabling a particular resource for at least one of transmission or reception of data.”) and will be interpreted as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-11, 13, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0357238 herein after referenced as Zhou) in view of Shin et al. (US Patent Publication 2013/0176952 herein after referenced as Shin).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 13, Zhou discloses:
A method, comprising: and A device, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor caused, by executing the instructions, to performing operations including: receiving, by a device in a radio resource control connected state, from a serving cell in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) using resources in a bandwidth part (Zhou, [0249] discloses The wireless device (i.e. reads on by a device) may monitor the first PDCCH (i.e. reads on in a PDCCH) and the at least one second PDCCH to detect (i.e. reads on receiving) one or more DCIs e.g., when the wireless device is in RRC connected mode (i.e. reads on in a radio resource control connected state) or the wireless devices switches from RRC idle state to RRC connected state; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP (i.e. reads on using resources in a bandwidth part) of a first serving cell (i.e. reads on from a serving cell) indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device; Zhou, [0232] discloses A wireless device may receive a PDCCH message and/or a PDSCH message in a DL BWP; Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0254] discloses The first active DL BWP may be configured with a first number of control resource sets and/or a second number of search spaces. The second active DL BWP may be configured with a third number of control resource sets, and/or a fourth number of search spaces; Zhou, [0116] discloses A first bandwidth part of a carrier may have a different frequency location and/or a different bandwidth from a second bandwidth part of the carrier; Zhou, [0085] discloses The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like, at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314; Zhou, [0403] discloses Although examples are described above, features and/or steps of those examples may be combined, divided, omitted, rearranged, revised, and/or augmented in any desired manner Various alterations, modifications, and improvements will readily occur to those skilled in the art).
of a first downlink carrier of a first carrier (Zhou, [0354] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit DCI on a first active BWP of a first CC (i.e. reads on of a first downlink carrier of a first carrier) for a second active BWP of a second CC, indicating downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, for example, if cross-carrier scheduling and multiple BWPs are configured. By monitoring the first CC for downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, control channel resources on the second CC and the battery usage of the wireless device may be reduced; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP of a first serving cell indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device; Zhou, [0143] discloses A wireless device may use an indicated DL BWP and an indicated UL BWP on a secondary cell as a respective first active DL BWP and first active UL BWP on a secondary cell or carrier, for example, if a base station configures a wireless device with a first active DL BWP and a first active UL BWP on a secondary cell or carrier; Zhou, [0073] discloses This serving cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell PCell. In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier PCC. In the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC).
one of: a scheduling assignment for reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the PDSCH using first resources in a first bandwidth part of a downlink carrier of a second carrier(Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule (i.e. reads on a scheduling assignment) a second PDSCH 2412A (i.e. reads on for reception of a PDSCH) of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2 (i.e. reads on using first resources in a first bandwidth part of a downlink carrier of a second carrier), for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0354] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit DCI on a first active BWP of a first CC for a second active BWP (i.e. reads on of a first bandwidth part) of a second CC (i.e. reads on of a downlink carrier of a second carrier), indicating downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, for example, if cross-carrier scheduling and multiple BWPs are configured. By monitoring the first CC for downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, control channel resources on the second CC and the battery usage of the wireless device may be reduced; Zhou, [0254] discloses The first active DL BWP may be configured with a first number of control resource sets and/or a second number of search spaces. The second active DL BWP may be configured with a third number of control resource sets, and/or a fourth number of search spaces).
(EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a scheduling grant for a transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the PUSCH using second resources in a second bandwidth part of an uplink carrier of the second carrier type,”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
wherein the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier (Zhou, [0345] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit the DCI, via the scheduling cell to indicate cross-carrier scheduling for the first cell e.g., if the value of the first indicator in the configuration parameters is set to true. Cross-carrier scheduling may comprise sending e.g., transmitting DCI, via a PDCCH signal (i.e. reads on wherein the PDCCH includes) on the scheduling cell, comprising a CIF value (i.e. reads on a field) associated with the first cell being set to indicate a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first cell; Zhou, [0362] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit, to one or more wireless devices, DCI on the first active BWP 3316 and/or on the second active BWP 3318. The DCI may comprise at least one of a CIF and/or a BWP ID. The DCI may comprise one or more fields that indicate one or more actions, such as a downlink assignment, an uplink grant, a PDCCH order, a configured grant activation/deactivation e.g., activation or deactivation, and/or configured assignment activation/deactivation e.g., activation or deactivation. The DCI may indicate one or more actions on the third active BWP 3326 and/or the fourth active BWP 3328, for example, based on the BWP ID and the first CIF value (i.e. reads on a field) indicating the second component carrier CC.sub.M 3320 (i.e. reads on indicating the second carrier); Zhou, [0344] discloses one or more DCIs include a carrier indicator field CIF).
Zhou discloses performing cross carrier scheduling wherein a first carrier is utilized to schedule a second carrier but fails to explicitly recite that said first carrier belongs to a first carrier type and the second carrier belongs to a second carrier type and therefore fails to disclose “a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type” and “a downlink carrier of a second carrier type” and “wherein the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier type.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shin discloses:
a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type; a downlink carrier of a second carrier type; (Shin, [0280] discloses When a WTRU is configured with an extension carrier(s), each extension carrier may have an associated legacy e.g., backward compatible carrier which may be configured for the WTRU. The legacy carrier may be associated with multiple extension carriers configured for the WTRU. The individual extension carrier may be cross-carrier scheduled with the associated legacy carrier. For example, as in R-10, for a given extension carrier, the CIF carrier indicator field in the corresponding PDCCH transmitted on the associated legacy carrier (i.e. reads on a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type) may be used for supporting cross-carrier scheduling for the extension carrier (i.e. reads on a downlink carrier of a second carrier type); Shin, [0088] discloses whether the control signaling received on PDCCH pertains to the uplink component carrier or to the downlink component carrier (i.e. reads on downlink carrier) may be related to the format of the DCI decoded by the WTRU. The DCI formats may be used to control the WTRUs communication on the uplink component carrier and/or on the downlink component carrier of the cell on which the WTRU is connected; Shin, [0137] discloses "Extension carrier" may refer to a carrier e.g., a supplementary carrier on which the WTRU may operate. An extension carrier may be referred to as an additional carrier or carrier type (i.e. reads on second carrier type), a new R11 carrier, or a future release carrier; Shin, [0283] discloses For a given extension carrier, PDSCH transmission on the extension carrier may be cross-carrier scheduled from PDCCH on the associated legacy carrier e.g., only on the associated legacy carrier; Shin, [0139] discloses The WTRU may perform at least one of the following for a SCell configured as an extension carrier: (1) the WTRU may receive downlink transmissions SCell DL e.g., on PDSCH; (2) the WTRU may perform uplink transmissions SCell UL e.g., on PUSCH; Shin, [0133] discloses In addition to, for example, the LTE R8+ scheduling using one PDCCH for a pair of UL and DL carriers, cross-carrier scheduling may also be supported on the PDCCH of a serving cell e.g., the PCell, which may allow the network to provide PDSCH assignments and/or PUSCH grants for any other serving cell e.g., a SCell. When cross-carrier scheduling is used, a 3-bit Carrier Indicator Field hereafter CIF may be used to address the concerned Scel; Shin, [0195] discloses Downlink resource allocation with carrier segments may be described herein. When a WTRU may be configured with one or more carrier segment(s) for a given legacy cell; Shin, [0280] discloses When a WTRU is configured with an extension carrier(s), each extension carrier may have an associated legacy e.g., backward compatible carrier which may be configured for the WTRU. The association may be provided for the WTRU e.g., via RRC signaling as part of the configuration information for the extension carrier. The legacy carrier may be associated with multiple extension carriers configured for the WTRU; Shin, [0387]-[0388] discloses Another possibility may be to specify means for a WTRU to use extensions, such as carrier segments, allowing transmissions in an extended range of the PRBs. Extension carriers may additionally be used to increase spectral efficiency of aggregated resources and discloses The methods described herein may be useful in enabling a WTRU to use carrier segments and/or extension carriers; Shin, [0343] discloses A WTRU e.g., legacy may be prevented from acquiring a carrier of a New Carrier Type NCT. NCTs may be supported for CA where a carrier of the NCT may be linked e.g., associated with a legacy carrier e.g., a PCell).
wherein the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier type (Shin, [0276]-[0279] discloses A L1 indicator regarding the type of the carrier may be signaled to the WTRU, for example, in the PDCCH corresponding to the carrier. For example, a flag bit(s) (i.e. reads on a field) indicating the type of the carrier (i.e. reads on indicating the second carrier type) may be included in the PDCCH (i.e. reads on the PDCCH includes) for the concerned carrier and discloses Depending on the DCI format in PDCCH and/or transmission mode TM or combination of the DCI format and TM used for the concerned carrier, the WTRU may identify/derive the type of the carrier. For example, if the WTRU is configured with TM x in the carrier and/or DCI format y for the carrier, the WTRU may consider that the carrier is of a given carrier type e.g., extension carrier. A new DCI format(s) and/or a new TM(s) may be defined/supported for extension carriers and discloses Once the e.g., R-11 WTRU knows about the type of the configured carrier e.g., using one or a combination of the above embodiments, it may perform some PHY functions e.g., PHY procedures with the carrier, accordingly, but may also avoid unnecessary operation(s). For example, if the WTRU is configured with an extension carrier not carrying PBCH, PSS/SSS, PDCCH, and/or CRS, then it may skip any operation(s) e.g., some PHY procedures associated with the PHY channel(s)/signal(s) not transmitted in the concerned carrier. If some control/system information and/or measurement/synchronization information used for the concerned carrier may not be available from the carrier due to the absence of some PHY channel(s)/signal(s), then the WTRU may obtain/acquire the information/parameter(s) from another carrier e.g., PCell or the linked carrier).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Shin for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilizing the cross carrier scheduling with legacy systems in order to provide backward compatibility (Shin, [0280]) and to be able to identify the type of carrier in order to perform the correct configuration to utilize and skip any unnecessary operations (Shin, [0276]-[0279]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier as taught by Zhou) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier, wherein the first carrier and the second carrier are different types that may be implemented within the same cell or different cells and wherein the PDCCH also indicates the type of the carrier as taught by Shin) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier (i.e. as taught by both Zhou & Shin) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 16, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 13, (see claim 13).
wherein the resources in the bandwidth part of the first downlink carrier of the first carrier type comprise at least one of frequency resources, wherein the first resources in the first bandwidth part of the downlink carrier of the second carrier type comprise at least one of first frequency resources, (Zhou, [0116] discloses A first bandwidth part of a carrier may have a different frequency location and/or a different bandwidth from a second bandwidth part of the carrier; Zhou, [0354] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit DCI on a first active BWP of a first CC for a second active BWP of a second CC, indicating downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, for example, if cross-carrier scheduling and multiple BWPs are configured. By monitoring the first CC for downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, control channel resources on the second CC and the battery usage of the wireless device may be reduced. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “time resources or” or “first time resources or” and “and wherein the second resources in the second bandwidth part of the uplink carrier of the second carrier type comprise at least one of second time resources or second frequency resources”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 18, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The device of claim 13, the operations further comprising: (see claim 13) .
receiving a dynamic indication; and responsive to the receiving the dynamic indication, enabling a particular resource for at least one of (Zhou, [0331] discloses A base station and/or a wireless device may dynamically switch/activate/deactivate a BWP based on one or more fields of one or more DCIs; Zhou, [0108] discloses The downlink CSI-RS 522 may be used for a wireless device to acquire channel state information. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated and/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of a CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically; Zhou, [0119] discloses A base station may allocate Configured Scheduling CS resources for down link transmission to a wireless device. The base station may send e.g., transmit DCI via a PDCCH addressed to a Configured Scheduling-RNTI CS-RNTI activating the CS resources; Zhou, [0297] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit second DCI based on second DCI format e.g., different from the existing DCI format indicating SBWP activation/deactivation. The second DCI format may comprise at least one of: a BWP indicator; and/or a second field indicating activation or deactivation of an SBWP; Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0232] discloses A wireless device may receive a PDCCH message and/or a PDSCH message in a DL BWP; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP of a first serving cell indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “transmission or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 6, (see claim 6).
wherein the particular resource comprises (Zhou, [0331] discloses A base station and/or a wireless device may dynamically switch/activate/deactivate a BWP based on one or more fields of one or more DCIs; Zhou, [0297] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit second DCI based on second DCI format e.g., different from the existing DCI format indicating SBWP activation/deactivation. The second DCI format may comprise at least one of: a BWP indicator; and/or a second field indicating activation or deactivation of an SBWP; Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0232] discloses A wireless device may receive a PDCCH message and/or a PDSCH message in a DL BWP; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP of a first serving cell indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device; Shin, [0283] discloses For a given extension carrier, PDSCH transmission on the extension carrier may be cross-carrier scheduled from PDCCH on the associated legacy carrier e.g., only on the associated legacy carrier. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “the uplink carrier of the second carrier type, the downlink carrier of the second carrier type or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 6, (see claim 6).
wherein the receiving the dynamic indication comprises: reading a second field in downlink control information carried by the PDCCH (Zhou, [0331] discloses A base station and/or a wireless device may dynamically switch/activate/deactivate a BWP based on one or more fields of one or more DCIs; Zhou, [0297] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit second DCI based on second DCI format e.g., different from the existing DCI format indicating SBWP activation/deactivation. The second DCI format may comprise at least one of: a BWP indicator; and/or a second field indicating activation or deactivation of an SBWP; Zhou, [0108] discloses The downlink CSI-RS 522 may be used for a wireless device to acquire channel state information. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated and/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of a CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically; Zhou, [0119] discloses A base station may allocate Configured Scheduling CS resources for down link transmission to a wireless device. The base station may send e.g., transmit DCI via a PDCCH addressed to a Configured Scheduling-RNTI CS-RNTI activating the CS resources).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
receiving a dynamic indication; and responsive to the receiving the dynamic indication, disabling a particular resource for at least one of reception of data (Zhou, [0331] discloses A base station and/or a wireless device may dynamically switch/activate/deactivate a BWP based on one or more fields of one or more DCIs; Zhou, [0108] discloses The downlink CSI-RS 522 may be used for a wireless device to acquire channel state information. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated and/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of a CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically; Zhou, [0119] discloses A base station may allocate Configured Scheduling CS resources for down link transmission to a wireless device. The base station may send e.g., transmit DCI via a PDCCH addressed to a Configured Scheduling-RNTI CS-RNTI activating the CS resources; Zhou, [0297] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit second DCI based on second DCI format e.g., different from the existing DCI format indicating SBWP activation/deactivation. The second DCI format may comprise at least one of: a BWP indicator; and/or a second field indicating activation or deactivation of an SBWP; Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0232] discloses A wireless device may receive a PDCCH message and/or a PDSCH message in a DL BWP; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP of a first serving cell indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “transmission or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the receiving the dynamic indication comprises reading a second field in downlink control information carried by the PDCCH (Zhou, [0331] discloses A base station and/or a wireless device may dynamically switch/activate/deactivate a BWP based on one or more fields of one or more DCIs; Zhou, [0297] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit second DCI based on second DCI format e.g., different from the existing DCI format indicating SBWP activation/deactivation. The second DCI format may comprise at least one of: a BWP indicator; and/or a second field indicating activation or deactivation of an SBWP; Zhou, [0108] discloses The downlink CSI-RS 522 may be used for a wireless device to acquire channel state information. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated and/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of a CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically; Zhou, [0119] discloses A base station may allocate Configured Scheduling CS resources for down link transmission to a wireless device. The base station may send e.g., transmit DCI via a PDCCH addressed to a Configured Scheduling-RNTI CS-RNTI activating the CS resources).
Regarding claim 11 and claim 19, Zhou discloses:
A method, comprising: and An apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor caused, by executing the instructions, to perform operations including: transmitting, from a serving cell to a device in a radio resource control connected state, in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) using resources in a bandwidth part (Zhou, [0249] discloses The wireless device (i.e. reads on to a device) may monitor the first PDCCH (i.e. reads on in a PDCCH) and the at least one second PDCCH to detect (i.e. reads on transmitting) one or more DCIs e.g., when the wireless device is in RRC connected mode (i.e. reads on in a radio resource control connected state) or the wireless devices switches from RRC idle state to RRC connected state; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP (i.e. reads on using resources in a bandwidth part) of a first serving cell (i.e. reads on from a serving cell) indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device; Zhou, [0232] discloses A wireless device may receive a PDCCH message and/or a PDSCH message in a DL BWP; Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0254] discloses The first active DL BWP may be configured with a first number of control resource sets and/or a second number of search spaces. The second active DL BWP may be configured with a third number of control resource sets, and/or a fourth number of search spaces; Zhou, [0116] discloses A first bandwidth part of a carrier may have a different frequency location and/or a different bandwidth from a second bandwidth part of the carrier; Zhou, [0072] discloses The base station 1, 120A, may comprise at least one communication interface 320A e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, a wired modem, and/or the like, at least one processor 321A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323A that may be stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A; Zhou, [0403] discloses Although examples are described above, features and/or steps of those examples may be combined, divided, omitted, rearranged, revised, and/or augmented in any desired manner Various alterations, modifications, and improvements will readily occur to those skilled in the art).
of a first downlink carrier of a first carrier (Zhou, [0354] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit DCI on a first active BWP of a first CC (i.e. reads on of a first downlink carrier of a first carrier) for a second active BWP of a second CC, indicating downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, for example, if cross-carrier scheduling and multiple BWPs are configured. By monitoring the first CC for downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, control channel resources on the second CC and the battery usage of the wireless device may be reduced; Zhou, [0349] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit one or more DCIs on a first active resource e.g., BWP of a first serving cell indicating cross-carrier scheduling of a second active resource e.g., BWP of a second serving cell, for example, if resource e.g., BWP operation is supported by a base station and a wireless device; Zhou, [0143] discloses A wireless device may use an indicated DL BWP and an indicated UL BWP on a secondary cell as a respective first active DL BWP and first active UL BWP on a secondary cell or carrier, for example, if a base station configures a wireless device with a first active DL BWP and a first active UL BWP on a secondary cell or carrier; Zhou, [0073] discloses This serving cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell PCell. In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier PCC. In the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC).
one of: a scheduling assignment for a transmission of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the PDSCH using first resources in a first bandwidth part of a downlink carrier of a second carrier (Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule (i.e. reads on a scheduling assignment) a second PDSCH 2412A (i.e. reads on for reception of a PDSCH) of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2 (i.e. reads on using first resources in a first bandwidth part of a downlink carrier of a second carrier), for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP; Zhou, [0354] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit DCI on a first active BWP of a first CC for a second active BWP (i.e. reads on of a first bandwidth part) of a second CC (i.e. reads on of a downlink carrier of a second carrier), indicating downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, for example, if cross-carrier scheduling and multiple BWPs are configured. By monitoring the first CC for downlink assignments and/or uplink grants on the second active BWP of the second CC, control channel resources on the second CC and the battery usage of the wireless device may be reduced; Zhou, [0254] discloses The first active DL BWP may be configured with a first number of control resource sets and/or a second number of search spaces. The second active DL BWP may be configured with a third number of control resource sets, and/or a fourth number of search spaces).
(EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a scheduling grant for a transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the PUSCH using second resources in a second bandwidth part of an uplink carrier of the second carrier type,”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
wherein the serving cell including at least one carrier of the first carrier (Zhou, [0074] discloses A first carrier that is activated may indicate that a cell (i.e. reads on wherein the serving cell including) comprising the first carrier (i.e. reads on at least one carrier of the first carrier) is activated; Zhou, [0136] discloses If a wireless device is configured with a secondary carrier (i.e. reads on at least one carrier of the second carrier) on a primary cell (i.e. reads on wherein the serving cell including), the wireless device may be configured with an initial BWP for random access procedure on a secondary carrier; Zhou, [0113] discloses A base station and a wireless device may communicate with multiple component carriers CCs, for example, if configured with CA. Different component carriers may have different bandwidth and/or different subcarrier spacing, for example, if CA is supported. A base station may send e.g., transmit a first type of service to a wireless device via a first component carrier. The base station may send e.g., transmit a second type of service to the wireless device via a second component carrier).
the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier (Zhou, [0345] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit the DCI, via the scheduling cell to indicate cross-carrier scheduling for the first cell e.g., if the value of the first indicator in the configuration parameters is set to true. Cross-carrier scheduling may comprise sending e.g., transmitting DCI, via a PDCCH signal (i.e. reads on wherein the PDCCH includes) on the scheduling cell, comprising a CIF value (i.e. reads on a field) associated with the first cell being set to indicate a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first cell; Zhou, [0362] discloses A base station may send e.g., transmit, to one or more wireless devices, DCI on the first active BWP 3316 and/or on the second active BWP 3318. The DCI may comprise at least one of a CIF and/or a BWP ID. The DCI may comprise one or more fields that indicate one or more actions, such as a downlink assignment, an uplink grant, a PDCCH order, a configured grant activation/deactivation e.g., activation or deactivation, and/or configured assignment activation/deactivation e.g., activation or deactivation. The DCI may indicate one or more actions on the third active BWP 3326 and/or the fourth active BWP 3328, for example, based on the BWP ID and the first CIF value (i.e. reads on a field) indicating the second component carrier CC.sub.M 3320 (i.e. reads on indicating the second carrier); Zhou, [0344] discloses one or more DCIs include a carrier indicator field CIF).
Zhou discloses performing cross carrier scheduling wherein a first carrier is utilized to schedule a second carrier but fails to explicitly recite that said first carrier belongs to a first carrier type and the second carrier belongs to a second carrier type and therefore fails to disclose “a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type” and “a downlink carrier of a second carrier type” and “wherein the serving cell including at least one carrier of the first carrier type and at least one carrier of the second carrier type, the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier type.”
In a related field of endeavor, Shin discloses:
a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type; a downlink carrier of a second carrier type (Shin, [0280] discloses When a WTRU is configured with an extension carrier(s), each extension carrier may have an associated legacy e.g., backward compatible carrier which may be configured for the WTRU. The legacy carrier may be associated with multiple extension carriers configured for the WTRU. The individual extension carrier may be cross-carrier scheduled with the associated legacy carrier. For example, as in R-10, for a given extension carrier, the CIF carrier indicator field in the corresponding PDCCH transmitted on the associated legacy carrier (i.e. reads on a first downlink carrier of a first carrier type) may be used for supporting cross-carrier scheduling for the extension carrier (i.e. reads on a downlink carrier of a second carrier type); Shin, [0088] discloses whether the control signaling received on PDCCH pertains to the uplink component carrier or to the downlink component carrier (i.e. reads on downlink carrier) may be related to the format of the DCI decoded by the WTRU. The DCI formats may be used to control the WTRUs communication on the uplink component carrier and/or on the downlink component carrier of the cell on which the WTRU is connected; Shin, [0137] discloses "Extension carrier" may refer to a carrier e.g., a supplementary carrier on which the WTRU may operate. An extension carrier may be referred to as an additional carrier or carrier type (i.e. reads on second carrier type), a new R11 carrier, or a future release carrier; Shin, [0283] discloses For a given extension carrier, PDSCH transmission on the extension carrier may be cross-carrier scheduled from PDCCH on the associated legacy carrier e.g., only on the associated legacy carrier; Shin, [0139] discloses The WTRU may perform at least one of the following for a SCell configured as an extension carrier: (1) the WTRU may receive downlink transmissions SCell DL e.g., on PDSCH; (2) the WTRU may perform uplink transmissions SCell UL e.g., on PUSCH; Shin, [0133] discloses In addition to, for example, the LTE R8+ scheduling using one PDCCH for a pair of UL and DL carriers, cross-carrier scheduling may also be supported on the PDCCH of a serving cell e.g., the PCell, which may allow the network to provide PDSCH assignments and/or PUSCH grants for any other serving cell e.g., a SCell. When cross-carrier scheduling is used, a 3-bit Carrier Indicator Field hereafter CIF may be used to address the concerned Scel).
wherein the serving cell including at least one carrier of the first carrier type and at least one carrier of the second carrier type, (Shin, [0195] discloses Downlink resource allocation with carrier segments may be described herein. When a WTRU may be configured with one or more carrier segment(s) (i.e. reads on and at least one carrier of the second carrier type) for a given legacy cell (i.e. reads on serving cell including at least one carrier of the first carrier type); Shin, [0280] discloses When a WTRU is configured with an extension carrier(s), each extension carrier (i.e. reads on and at least one carrier of the second carrier type) may have an associated legacy e.g., backward compatible carrier (i.e. reads on at least one carrier of the first carrier type) which may be configured for the WTRU. The association may be provided for the WTRU e.g., via RRC signaling as part of the configuration information for the extension carrier. The legacy carrier may be associated with multiple extension carriers configured for the WTRU; Shin, [0387]-[0388] discloses Another possibility may be to specify means for a WTRU to use extensions, such as carrier segments, allowing transmissions in an extended range of the PRBs. Extension carriers may additionally be used to increase spectral efficiency of aggregated resources and discloses The methods described herein may be useful in enabling a WTRU to use carrier segments and/or extension carriers; Shin, [0343] discloses A WTRU e.g., legacy may be prevented from acquiring a carrier of a New Carrier Type NCT. NCTs may be supported for CA where a carrier of the NCT may be linked e.g., associated with a legacy carrier e.g., a PCell; Shin, [0134] discloses "Carrier segment" may refer a set of physical resource blocks on which the WTRU may operate. A WTRU may be configured with one or more carrier segment(s) for a given serving cell; Shin, [0316] discloses If the extension carrier and the associated serving cell are transmitted from different transmission points e.g., RRH, different delay propagation characteristics may result. The WTRU may not use the extension carrier timing synchronization obtained through the associated serving cell).
the PDCCH includes a field indicating the second carrier type (Shin, [0276]-[0279] discloses A L1 indicator regarding the type of the carrier may be signaled to the WTRU, for example, in the PDCCH corresponding to the carrier. For example, a flag bit(s) (i.e. reads on a field) indicating the type of the carrier (i.e. reads on indicating the second carrier type) may be included in the PDCCH (i.e. reads on the PDCCH includes) for the concerned carrier and discloses Depending on the DCI format in PDCCH and/or transmission mode TM or combination of the DCI format and TM used for the concerned carrier, the WTRU may identify/derive the type of the carrier. For example, if the WTRU is configured with TM x in the carrier and/or DCI format y for the carrier, the WTRU may consider that the carrier is of a given carrier type e.g., extension carrier. A new DCI format(s) and/or a new TM(s) may be defined/supported for extension carriers and discloses Once the e.g., R-11 WTRU knows about the type of the configured carrier e.g., using one or a combination of the above embodiments, it may perform some PHY functions e.g., PHY procedures with the carrier, accordingly, but may also avoid unnecessary operation(s). For example, if the WTRU is configured with an extension carrier not carrying PBCH, PSS/SSS, PDCCH, and/or CRS, then it may skip any operation(s) e.g., some PHY procedures associated with the PHY channel(s)/signal(s) not transmitted in the concerned carrier. If some control/system information and/or measurement/synchronization information used for the concerned carrier may not be available from the carrier due to the absence of some PHY channel(s)/signal(s), then the WTRU may obtain/acquire the information/parameter(s) from another carrier e.g., PCell or the linked carrier).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Shin for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilizing the cross carrier scheduling with legacy systems in order to provide backward compatibility (Shin, [0280]) and to be able to identify the type of carrier in order to perform the correct configuration to utilize and skip any unnecessary operations (Shin, [0276]-[0279]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier as taught by Zhou) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier, wherein the first carrier and the second carrier are different types that may be implemented within the same cell or different cells and wherein the PDCCH also indicates the type of the carrier as taught by Shin) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of cross carrier scheduling utilizing a PDCCH of a first carrier to schedule transmissions on a second carrier (i.e. as taught by both Zhou & Shin) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 2, 12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0357238 herein after referenced as Zhou) in view of Shin et al. (US Patent Publication 2013/0176952 herein after referenced as Shin) and further in view of YU et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0064629 herein after referenced as Yu629).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 14, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 13, (see claim 13).
wherein the field comprises(Shin, [0276] discloses A L1 indicator regarding the type of the carrier may be signaled to the WTRU, for example, in the PDCCH corresponding to the carrier. For example, a flag bit(s) indicating the type of the carrier may be included in the PDCCH for the concerned carrier).
Zhou in view of Shin discloses a field that comprises bits that indicates the type of the carrier but fails to explicitly recite that how many bits is included that indicates a specific type of carrier to be a non-terrestrial network and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the field comprises two bits and indicates that the second carrier type is one of a terrestrial network carrier type, a non-terrestrial network carrier type, or a shared carrier type”.
In a related field of endeavor, Yu629 discloses:
wherein the field comprises two bits and indicates that the second carrier type is one of (Yu629, [0090]-[0091] discloses In this manner, the NTN type is, e.g., 2 bit, and the NTN type is, e.g., GEO, LEO, etc. and discloses Based on this scheme, the network node may flexibly indicate to the electronic device whether the NTN exists in the backhaul link of the current cell through the indication information, the delay, or the NTN type; Yu629, [0007] discloses receiving a first message from a network node at a current cell, wherein the first message is configured to indicate whether a Non Terrestrial Network NTN exists in a backhaul link of the current cell; and performing a cell selection based on the first message. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a terrestrial network carrier type” and “or a shared carrier type”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou in view of Shin to incorporate the teachings of Yu629 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various alternate type of networks such as a non-terrestrial network NTN and to be able to flexibly indicate whether the NTN network exists (Yu629, [0090]-[0091]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit as taught by Shin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit, wherein the flag bit corresponds to two bits for indicating a non-terrestrial network NTN as taught by Yu629) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit (i.e. as taught by both Shin & Yu629) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 12 and claim 20, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 11, (see claim 11) and The apparatus of claim 19, (see claim 19).
wherein: the field comprises (Shin, [0276] discloses A L1 indicator regarding the type of the carrier may be signaled to the WTRU, for example, in the PDCCH corresponding to the carrier. For example, a flag bit(s) indicating the type of the carrier may be included in the PDCCH for the concerned carrier).
Zhou in view of Shin discloses a field that comprises bits that indicates the type of the carrier but fails to explicitly recite that how many bits is included that indicates a specific type of carrier to be a non-terrestrial network and therefore fails to disclose “wherein: the field comprises two bits and indicates that the second carrier type is one of a terrestrial network carrier type, a non-terrestrial network carrier type, or a shared carrier type; or the field comprises one bit and indicates that the second carrier type is one of the terrestrial network carrier type or the non-terrestrial network carrier type.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yu629 discloses:
wherein: the field comprises two bits and indicates that the second carrier type is one of (Yu629, [0090]-[0091] discloses In this manner, the NTN type is, e.g., 2 bit, and the NTN type is, e.g., GEO, LEO, etc. and discloses Based on this scheme, the network node may flexibly indicate to the electronic device whether the NTN exists in the backhaul link of the current cell through the indication information, the delay, or the NTN type; Yu629, [0007] discloses receiving a first message from a network node at a current cell, wherein the first message is configured to indicate whether a Non Terrestrial Network NTN exists in a backhaul link of the current cell; and performing a cell selection based on the first message. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a terrestrial network carrier type” and “or a shared carrier type; or the field comprises one bit and indicates that the second carrier type is one of the terrestrial network carrier type or the non-terrestrial network carrier type.”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou in view of Shin to incorporate the teachings of Yu629 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various alternate type of networks such as a non-terrestrial network NTN and to be able to flexibly indicate whether the NTN network exists (Yu629, [0090]-[0091]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit as taught by Shin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit, wherein the flag bit corresponds to two bits for indicating a non-terrestrial network NTN as taught by Yu629) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit (i.e. as taught by both Shin & Yu629) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0357238 herein after referenced as Zhou) in view of Shin et al. (US Patent Publication 2013/0176952 herein after referenced as Shin) and further in view of ZHAO (US Patent Publication 2023/0262681 herein after referenced as Zhao).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 15, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 13, (see claim 13).
wherein the field comprises (Shin, [0276] discloses A L1 indicator regarding the type of the carrier may be signaled to the WTRU, for example, in the PDCCH corresponding to the carrier. For example, a flag bit(s) indicating the type of the carrier may be included in the PDCCH for the concerned carrier).
Zhou in view of Shin discloses a field that comprises bits that indicates the type of the carrier but fails to explicitly recite that how many bits is included that indicates a specific type of carrier to be a non-terrestrial network and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the field comprises one bit and indicates that the second carrier type is one of a terrestrial network carrier type or a non-terrestrial network carrier type.”
In a related field of endeavor, Zhao discloses:
wherein the field comprises one bit and indicates that the second carrier type is one of a terrestrial network carrier type or a non-terrestrial network carrier type (Zhao, [0177] discloses the cell type identification information corresponding to the preconfigured grant assistance information: for example, 1 bit is configured to indicate whether the non-terrestrial cell or the terrestrial cell; Zhao, [0181]-[0182] discloses the terminal receives uplink scheduling information and/or downlink scheduling information which is transmitted by the network device and aims at the non-terrestrial cell, where the uplink scheduling information and/or the downlink scheduling information are transmitted by the network device through the terrestrial cell and discloses the uplink scheduling information and/or the downlink scheduling information includes at least one of:; Zhao, [0184] discloses cell type identification information; [0190] discloses In practical applications, the terrestrial cell and the non-terrestrial cell may correspond to the same network device, or may correspond to different network devices).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou in view of Shin to incorporate the teachings of Zhao for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various alternate type of networks such as a non-terrestrial network NTN and to be able to indicate and differentiate as to which type of cell the grant information is directed towards (Zhao, [0177]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit as taught by Shin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit, wherein the flag bit corresponds to one bits for indicating a non-terrestrial network NTN as taught by Yu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of indicating a type of a second carrier using a flag bit (i.e. as taught by both Shin & Yu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0357238 herein after referenced as Zhou) in view of Shin et al. (US Patent Publication 2013/0176952 herein after referenced as Shin) and further in view of YU et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0338230 herein after referenced as Yu230).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 17, Zhou in view of Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 13, (see claim 13).
wherein at least one of the bandwidth part of the first downlink carrier of the first carrier type, the first bandwidth part of the downlink carrier of the second carrier type, (Zhou, [0255] discloses The base station may send e.g., transmit a second PDCCH 2402A via the BWP 1 to schedule a second PDSCH 2412A of a second active BWP e.g., a BWP 2, for example, if the BWP 2 is configured to be cross-BWP scheduled by the BWP 1. A wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCHs sent via the BWP 1 for at least one second BWP).
Zhou in view of Shin discloses the use of multiple different bandwidth parts but fails to explicitly recite a beam-specific bandwidth part and therefore fails to disclose
“wherein at least one of the bandwidth part of the first downlink carrier of the first carrier type, the first bandwidth part of the downlink carrier of the second carrier type, or the second bandwidth part of the uplink carrier of the second carrier type comprises a beam-specific bandwidth part”.
In a related field of endeavor, Yu230 discloses:
wherein at least one of the bandwidth part of the first downlink carrier of the first carrier type, the first bandwidth part of the downlink carrier of the second carrier type, (Yu230, [0071] discloses In some implementations, the concept of a BWP may be leveraged. A BWP refers to a small part of the full carrier bandwidth. For alleviating the inter-beam interference, one possibility is to introduce an association between a BWP and a beam. In some implementations, a base station e.g., a gNB may configure multiple non-overlapped BWPs and individual BWPs may be associated with individual satellite beams. For example, BWP #1 is associated with beam #1, BWP #2 is associated with beam #2, and so on. This beam-fixed BWP association may be configured to all UEs in a serving cell. When a UE moves to a new satellite beam, the gNB may trigger a DL command to change a satellite beam and a corresponding BWP simultaneously; Yu230, [0076] discloses a UE receives a PDCCH 502 in BWP #1 and the PDCCH 502 schedules a PDSCH 504 in BWP #2. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or the second bandwidth part of the uplink carrier of the second carrier type”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou in view of Shin to incorporate the teachings of Yu230 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various alternate type of networks such as a non-terrestrial network NTN and to alleviate inter-beam interference (Yu230, [0071]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Zhou, [0403]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving a PDCCH in a first BWP to schedule a PDSCH for a second BWP as taught by Zhou) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving a PDCCH in a first BWP to schedule a PDSCH for a second BWP, wherein the BWP is beam specific to alleviate inter-beam interference as taught by Yu230) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving a PDCCH in a first BWP to schedule a PDSCH for a second BWP (i.e. as taught by both Shin & Yu230) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MIAO et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0234764) discloses a system wherein a network side device sends a second PDCCH to the UE through the second carrier/second BWP, where the second PDCCH carries the indication information for scheduling a PDSCH or PUSCH on the first carrier/first BWP. Correspondingly, after receiving the second PDCCH, the UE receives the PDSCH or sends the PUSCH on the first carrier/first BWP according to the second PDCCH.
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645