DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on November 15th, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference numbers 3000 and 3003 in Figure 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 0031 line 10, there appears to be a typographical error regarding the phrase “block 108”. It is suggested that this phrase be corrected to “block 1008” for the purpose of improving clarity.
In Paragraph 0032 line 12, there appears to be a typographical error regarding the phrase “one”. It is suggested that this phrase be corrected to “once” for the purpose of improving clarity.
In Paragraph 0036 line 5, there appears to be a typographical error regarding the phrase “block 2002”. It is suggested that this phrase be corrected to “block 2003” for the purpose of improving clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 10 line 3, there appears to be a typographical error regarding the phrase “first robotic to”. It is suggested that this phrase be corrected to “first robotic arm to” for the purpose of improving clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second arm portions" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A first and second arm portion is not recited in claim 1, which claim 3 is dependent. The first and second arm portions are first recited in claim 2. As such, for the purposes of examination, claim 3 will be examined as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second arm portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A first and second arm portion is not recited in claim 1, which claim 4 is dependent. The first and second arm portions are first recited in claim 2. As such, for the purposes of examination, claim 4 will be examined as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the fingers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The fingers are not recited in claim 4, which claim 6 is dependent. The fingers are first recited in claim 5. As such, for the purposes of examination, claim 6 will be examined as being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the fingers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The fingers are not recited in claim 1, which claim 7 is dependent. The fingers are first recited in claim 5. As such, for the purposes of examination, claim 7 will be examined as being dependent on claim 5.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the second arm portion " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A first and second arm portion is not recited in claim 1, which claim 8 is dependent. The first and second arm portions are first recited in claim 2. As such, for the purposes of examination, claim 8 will be examined as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4176982 A1 ("Kim") in view of US 2019/0390396 A1 ("Kwak") in further view of US 11939720 B2 ("AlHaffar") in further view of US 2023/0048063 A1 ("Guinan")
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a machine, comprising (Kim: Figure 1, Abstract, “A clothing classification apparatus is disclosed. The clothing classification apparatus comprises: a first roller; a second roller arranged to face the first roller; a driving device rotating the first and second rollers in different directions; sensors for sensing positions of clothes in each of the upper and lower areas of the first and second rollers; and a processor for controlling the driving device so that the clothes repeatedly move between the first and second rollers a predetermined number of times when the clothes are placed on the first and second rollers, wherein the processor controls the driving device to change the rotational directions of the first and second rollers when it is confirmed that the clothes pass through the upper or lower area on the basis of results of the sensing by the sensors.”, ¶ 0033, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a clothing organizing apparatus 1 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include at least one grip device 100, a clothing classification apparatus 200, a moving device 300, and a folding device 400, a discharge plate 500, a processor 600, a camera 700, and a memory 800.”):
an enclosure (Kim: Figure 1. The cited figure clearly shows that the system is contained within an enclosure.);
robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items (Kim: Figure 1 first grip device 110, second grip device 120, third rail 114, ¶ 0034, “The at least one grip device 100 may grip and move clothing. The grip device 100 may include a first grip device 110 and a second grip device 120 having a structure symmetric to each other.”, ¶ 0036, “The first rail 112 may be disposed horizontally along a Y-axis direction, and one end of the first rail 112 may be connected to the second rail 113 disposed vertically. The second rail 113 may be connected to the third rail 114 disposed horizontally along an X-axis direction. The first rail 112 may vertically move upward and downward along the second rail 113, and the second rail 113 may move in the X-axis direction along the third rail 114.”, ¶ 0037, “The first gripper 111 may be rotatably connected to the first rail 112 on an X-Y plane, and move in the Y-axis direction along the first rail 112. That is, according to the movement of the first and second rails 112 and 113 and the movement and rotation of the first gripper 111, the first gripper 111, which has three linear degrees of freedom (X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis) orthogonal to each other and a rotational degree of freedom in one direction, may easily perform a clothing gripping operation at any point in the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0038, “The second grip device 120 may have a structure symmetric to the first grip device 110 with respect to an X-Z plane. That is, like the first gripper 111, a second gripper 121 of the second grip device 120 may freely move to any point within the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0040, “The first and second grippers 111 and 121 may grip different regions of clothing, and may rotate the clothing by moving to cross each other if necessary.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system comprises multiple robotic arms that are configured to grasp clothing. Furthermore, the cited passages and figures clearly show that the arms are attached to a top rail of the enclosure (third rail 114).);
baskets for storing the clothing items (Kim: Figure 1 clothing box 20, ¶ 0041, “Thefirstgripper111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”);
a folding platform above the baskets, comprising (Kim: Figure 1 folding device 400, ¶ 0046, “The folding device 400 may include a plurality of rotatable plates to fold clothing provided in a predetermined shape by the grip device 100.”);
a central board with one side coupled with a sidewall of the machine (Kim: Figure 14 central board 410 11a, ¶ 0047, “The folding device 400 may be movable upward or downward along a guide rail 11 disposed vertically. Accordingly, the folding device 400 may avoid interference with the grip device 100 that is movable inside the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0048, “The folding device 400 may be rotatably connected to the guide rail 11 through a connection member 11 a. Specifically, the connection member 11a may connect a bottom surface of the folding device 400 and the guide rail 11, and be rotated on a horizontal plane (X-Y plane) by a motor (not shown).”, ¶ 0129, “Referring to FIG. 14, the folding device 400 may include a main plate 410 disposed horizontally, a first folding plate 420 rotatably connected to a left side of the main plate 410, a second folding plate 430 rotatably connected to a right side of the main plate 410, and a third folding plate 440 rotatably connected to a front side of the main plate 410.”, ¶ 0132, “In addition, the main plate 410 may have a fixed region 41 Oa and a rotatable region 41 Ob rotatably connected to the fixed region 41 Oa. Specifically, the rotatable region 41 Ob of the main plate 410 may move folded clothing to an upper surface of the discharge plate 500 by rotating about the AY axis toward the discharge plate 500.”. The cited passages and figure clearly show that the folding platform is rotatably coupled to a side panel (i.e. guide rail 11)); and
one folding board attached with each of three free sides of the central panel (Kim: Figure 14 first folding plate 420, second folding plate 430, third folding plate 440, ¶ 0129, “Referring to FIG. 14, the folding device 400 may include a main plate 410 disposed horizontally, a first folding plate 420 rotatably connected to a left side of the main plate 410, a second folding plate 430 rotatably connected to a right side of the main plate 410, and a third folding plate 440 rotatably connected to a front side of the main plate 410.”);
a processor, configured to control movement of each of the robotic arms (Kim: ¶ 0051, “The processor 600 may control overall operations of the clothing organizing apparatus 1. To this end, the processor 600 may include a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP). Alternatively, the processor 600 may be implemented by at least one general processor, digital signal processor, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), system on chip (SoC), microcomputer (MICOM), driver IC, or the like.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”); and
configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms (Kim: ¶ 0056, “The processor 600 may receive information regarding a shape and a location of clothing detected by the camera 700 and the sensors 270 of the clothing classification
apparatus 200, and analyze the received information to determine the location, the size, the shape, and the type of the clothing. Specifically, the processor 600 may determine the size, the shape, the type, and the like of the clothing by recognizing the clothing through a clothing recognition algorithm, and determine the location of the clothing based on clothing depth information.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system is configured to identify the type of clothing.).
Kim does not teach three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items;
two or more baskets for storing the clothing items;
a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine;
one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel;
an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms.
Kwak, in the same field of endeavor, teaches three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items (Kwak: Figure 5 first robot arm 330 second robot arm 340 third robot arm 350, ¶ 0101, “According to a first embodiment of the present disclosure, as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 8, a robot 300 includes first and second guide bars 310 and 320, second and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350, first, second and third grippers 330G, 340G and 350G, an image sensor 370, and a controller 380.”);
an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms (Kwak: ¶ 0051, “Referring to FIG. 2, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”, ¶ 0095, “The robot 100a may perform the above-described operations by using the learning model composed of at least one artificial neural network. For example, the robot 100a may recognize the surrounding environment and the objects by using the learning model, and may determine the operation by using the recognized surrounding information or object information. The learning model may be learned directly from the robot 100a or may be learned from an external device such as the AI server 200.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”).
Kim teaches a machine a machine, comprising: an enclosure; robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; baskets for storing the clothing items; a folding platform above the baskets, comprising; a central board with one side coupled with a sidewall of the machine; and one folding board attached with each of three free sides of the central panel; a processor, configured to control movement of each of the robotic arms; and configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms. Kim does not teach three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms. Kwak teaches three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim with three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms taught in Kwak. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim already teaches the use of multiple robotic arms (in the case of Kim, there are two arms). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily modify the machine in Kim with one or more additional arms as taught in Kwak according to methods known in the art. Additionally, such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. Kim also teaches a method of determining the type of clothing based, in part, on visual data and using a clothing recognition algorithm. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the recognition algorithm taught in Kim with the use of the AI identification algorithm taught in Kwak. Such a modification would require the simple substitution of one known algorithm for another and would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required for either modification. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim with three or more robotic arms each having one end connected to a top panel of the enclosure and an opposite end connected a hand configured to grab and release one or more clothing items; an artificial intelligence (AI) system, configured to identify each item grabbed by at least one of the robotic arms taught in Kwak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kim in view of Kwak does not teach two or more baskets for storing the clothing items;
a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine;
one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel;
AlHaffar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine (AlHaffar: Figures 2-4, Column 4 lines 11-26, “Notably, when folding panels 124 are in the lowered or retracted position, they may at least partially define a folding surface 130 that is generally configured for receiving laundry articles 122. More specifically, according to the illustrated embodiment, folding panels 124 may be seated on top 104 of cabinet 102 when in the lowered position. Thus, folding panels 124 and fixed panel 126 may define a large horizontal folding surface 130 upon which laundry articles 122 may be placed. According to exemplary embodiments the present subject matter, one or more instructional pat terns, positioning features, or clothing guides may be printed or integrated onto folding surface 130, e.g., to instruct the user as to the proper initial position of a laundry articles 122 to be folded. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 1, laundry article 122 may be a shirt that is oriented with its collar positioned that the rear of fixed panel 126.”, Column 4 lines 39-49, “In order to facilitate the folding process, folding panels 124 may be manipulated relative to fixed panel 126, e.g., such that portions of laundry article 122 are folded onto fixed panel 126 in a desired sequence to facilitate proper folding. According to the illustrated embodiment, each folding panel 124 is mechanically coupled on a single side to fixed panel 126 by a mechanical hinge 136. In this manner, each folding panel 124 may pivot relative to fixed panel 126 between a lowered position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) in a raised position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2 for the lower and right-side folding panels 124).”. The cited passages clearly show that the central board is fixed to a side of the machine with a hinge.);
one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel (AlHaffar: Column 4 lines 39-49, “In order to facilitate the folding process, folding panels 124 may be manipulated relative to fixed panel 126, e.g., such that portions of laundry article 122 are folded onto fixed panel 126 in a desired sequence to facilitate proper folding. According to the illustrated embodiment, each folding panel 124 is mechanically coupled on a single side to fixed panel 126 by a mechanical hinge 136. In this manner, each folding panel 124 may pivot relative to fixed panel 126 between a lowered position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) in a raised position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2 for the lower and right-side folding panels 124).”. The cited passages clearly show that the folding boards are fixed to the center board with hinges.);
Kim in view of Kwak teaches a machine with a folding platform above the baskets, comprising: a central board with one side coupled with a sidewall of the machine; and one folding board attached with each of three free sides of the central panel. Kim in view of Kwak does not teach a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine; one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel. AlHaffar teaches a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine; one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak with a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine; one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel taught in AlHaffar. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak teaches that the side boards are rotatably coupled to the central board and that the central board is rotatably coupled to the sidewall of the enclosure, but the specific type of connection is not specified. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to simply substitute the connections of the boards of the folding device taught in Kim in view of Kwak with known type of connection (i.e. hinges) taught in AlHaffar according to methods known in the art. Such a simple substitution of one known connection type for another would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak with a central board with one side hinged with a sidewall of the machine; one folding board hinged with each of three free sides of the central panel taught in AlHaffar with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of a one known connection type for another.
Kim in view of Kwak in further view AlHaffar does not teach two or more baskets for storing the clothing items.
Guinan, in the same field of endeavor teaches two or more baskets for storing the clothing items (Guinan: Figure 2, ¶ 0034, “Further, the device 100 comprises two clothes baskets, a top basket 102 and a bottom basket 104 secured together. Each clothes basket 102, 104 comprises at least one side wall 106, a bottom base component 108, and an open top 110 which forms a receptacle. Additionally, if the clothes basket 102, 104 is not round, but rather square or rectangular in shape, then the at least one side wall 106 comprises two sets of opposing side walls, a first set of opposing side walls 112 and a second set of opposing side walls 114. Further, each basket 102, 104 can be approximately between 30-35 inches in height, preferably approximately 32 inches in height, and approximately between 20-28 inches in width, preferably approximately 24 inches in width. Typically, both baskets 102, 104 are the same height and size, but do not need to be, in some embodiments, the baskets 102, 104 comprise differing heights and sizes.”, ¶ 0038, “FIG. 2 illustrates a perspective view of another embodiment of the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 of the present invention. In this embodiment, the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 comprises a lid 200 to keep clothes 202 secure in the basket device 100. The lid 200 would be the same shape and size as the open top 110 of the clothes basket 102, 104. The lid 200 would be secured to the clothes basket 102 or 104 via a hinge, a strap, etc., or any other suitable connecting means 204 that allows the lid 200 to be opened and closed. The lid 200 would typically be manufactured of the same material as the clothes baskets 102, 104, but doesn't need to be, and in some embodiments, the lid 200 can be manufactured from different material than the clothes baskets 102, 104.”. The cited passages clearly teach two clothes baskets.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view AlHaffar teaches a machine comprising baskets for storing the clothing items. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar does not teach two or more baskets for storing the clothing items. Guinan teaches two or more baskets for storing the clothing items. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar with two or more baskets for storing the clothing items taught in Guinan. Furthermore, the machine in view of Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar teaches one basket for storing unfolded clothing and a platform for storing the folded clothing (Kim: ¶ 0050, “The discharge plate 500 may be disposed horizontally to allow clothing folded by the folding device 400 to be placed thereon. The discharge plate 500 may move upward or downward because its bottom surface is supported by X-shaped links. Accordingly, the clothing folded by the folding device 400 may be easily placed on the discharge plate 500 that may have various heights.”). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily substitute the platform for storing the folded clothing for a second basket taught in Guinan. Such a substitution would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: two or more baskets for storing the clothing items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar with two or more baskets for storing the clothing items taught in Guinan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the hands further includes two or more fingers for grabbing at least one clothing item in either one of the baskets (Kwak: Figure 5 first gripper 330G, second gripper 340G, third gripper 350G, ¶ 0110, “Each of the first, second, and third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G, which has a pair of fingers which is able to be open or closed may be grip the clothes A or the hanger B.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein the fingers include straight or curved pins operable to open and close to grab the clothing items (Kwak: Figure 5 first gripper 330G, second gripper 340G, third gripper 350G, ¶ 0110, “Each of the first, second, and third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G, which has a pair of fingers which is able to be open or closed may be grip the clothes A or the hanger B.”. The fingers taught in the cited paragraphs and figures are clearly curved.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches further comprising a plurality of cameras to capture images of clothing items grabbed by the robotic arms (Kim: ¶ 0053, “The camera 700 may capture an image of clothing gripped by the grip device 100. For example, the camera 700 may be implemented by a 3D camera or a depth camera.”, Kwak: ¶ 0113, “An image sensor 370 may be a vision camera which may be positioned at upper portions or lower portions of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to photograph the shape of the clothes A jigged by the first and second grippers 330G and 340G at the same height.”, AlHaffar: Column 5 lines 45-63, “According to the illustrated embodiment, camera assembly 160 includes a single camera 162 that is mounted above folding surface 130 along the vertical direction V and in view of folding surface 130. However, it should be appreciated that according to alternative embodiments, camera assembly 160 may include any suitable number, type, and configuration of cameras or systems of imaging devices for obtaining images of the laundry articles 122, e.g., for obtaining multiple views of laundry article 122 to facilitate an improved folding process as described below.”).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the AI system comprises an image processor and a database storing characteristics of a plurality of clothing items (Kwak: ¶ 077, “The memory 230 may include a model storage unit 231. The model storage unit 231 may store a learning or learned model ( or an artificial neural network 23 la) through the learning processor 240.”, ¶ 0078 , “The learning processor 240 may learn the artificial neural network 23 la by using the learning data. The learning model may be used in a state of being mounted on the AI server 200 of the artificial neural network, or may be used in a state of being mounted on an external device such as the AI device 100.”, ¶ 0080, “The processor 260 may infer the result value for new input data by using the learning model and may generate a response or a control command based on the inferred result value.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”).
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-8, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4176982 A1 ("Kim") in view of US 2019/0390396 A1 ("Kwak") in further view of US 11939720 B2 ("AlHaffar") in further view of US 2023/0048063 A1 ("Guinan") in further view of US 11298829 B2 ("Bixby")
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the robotic arms comprising: a first arm portion rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel (Kwak: Figure 5, ¶ 0105, “The first, second, and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 have the structures in which a plurality of links L are connected with each other by a plurality of joints J and may be provided on opposite surfaces of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to be lifted.”, ¶ 0109, “End portions of the first to third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 may move with a preset degree of freedom, but may move the preset degree of freedom of '6'. A separate driving motor (not illustrated) may be provided at each joint J of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350, and the end portions of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 and the first, second, and third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G provided in the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 may be moved to desired positions in the final stage according to the operation of each driving motor.”. The cited passages clearly shows that each joint has a motor configured to cause said joint to rotate. One of ordinary skill in the would recognize that the joint at the base of the robot arm allows for rotation about a plane parallel to the panel said robot arm is coupled to.); and
a second arm portion (Figure 5, ¶ 0105, “The first, second, and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 have the structures in which a plurality of links L are connected with each other by a plurality of joints J and may be provided on opposite surfaces of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to be lifted.”. The robot arm clearly includes multiple links and clearly comprises a second arm portion.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and
a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion.
Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel (Bixby: Column 20 lines 10-44, “In one implementation, each of the two or more lifters 6100a-d includes an associated arm 6110a-d. In implementations, each associated arm 6110 has no joints. In some implementations, one or more of the associated arms 6110a-d comprises one or more joints. In alternative implementations, one or more of the two or more lifters comprises a stationary vertical riser (not shown) along which a gripper translates up and down. In still yet other implementations, one or more of the two or more lifters comprises a rotatable riser (not shown) along which a gripper translates bidirectionally.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the first portion of the robot arms can be configured to extend and retract.); and
a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion (Bixby: Column 22 lines 12-33, “In implementations, each one of the arms 6ll0a-d is an extendable arm comprising a fully extended length of between about 0.25 m and 4 m ( e.g., 0.25 m, 0.5 m, 1.0 m, 1.25 m, 1.5 m, 1.75 m, 2.0 m, 2.25 m, 2.5 m, 2.75 m, 3.0 m, 3.25 m, 3.5 m, 3.75 m, 4.0 m). In examples, the extendable arm can include at least one of one or more flexible joints (e.g., a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist) and two or more telescoping sections (not shown).”. The cited passages clearly show that the second portion of the arm is configured to extend and retract.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the robotic arms comprising: a first arm portion rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second portion. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion. Bixby teaches a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan already teaches a robot arm with multiple portions and motors that provide multiple degrees of freedom to each robot arm. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the robot arms such that each portion extends and retracts as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. This modification would have required the addition of a known type of joint (i.e. a linear joint to facilitate expansion and retraction) to a system that is readily configurable for such an addition.. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine wherein each robot arm comprises: a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with a first arm portion extendable and retractable and rotatable about a point on a plane in parallel with the top panel; and a second arm portion extendable from and retractable towards the first arm portion taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the hand is pivotally connected to the opposite end of the corresponding second arm portion (Kim: ¶ 0111, “Separate driving motors (not illustrated) may be interposed between end portions of the first to third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 and the first to third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G, and the first to third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G may be rotated about end portions of the first to third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 depending on the operations of the driving motors.”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other.
Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other (Bixby: Column 22 lines 12-33, “In implementations, each one of the arms 6ll0a-d is an extendable arm comprising a fully extended length of between about 0.25 m and 4 m ( e.g., 0.25 m, 0.5 m, 1.0 m, 1.25 m, 1.5 m, 1.75 m, 2.0 m, 2.25 m, 2.5 m, 2.75 m, 3.0 m, 3.25 m, 3.5 m, 3.75 m, 4.0 m). In examples, the extendable arm can include at least one of one or more flexible joints (e.g., a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist) and two or more telescoping sections (not shown).”. The cited passages clearly show that the second portion of the arm is configured with telescoping segments.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the robotic arms comprising: a first arm portion and a second arm portion. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other. Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan already teaches a robot arm with multiple portions and motors that provide multiple degrees of freedom to each robot arm. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the robot arms such that the second portion includes a telescoping segments as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. This modification would have required the addition of a known type of joint (in this case a telescopic joint) to a system that is readily configurable for such an addition.. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each of the second arm portions includes a plurality of segments telescoped with each other taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach wherein each the fingers includes one or more bendable segments joined with each other (Figure 9A overmold 6108a-b, Column 23 line 43 – Column 24 line 3, “In implementations, as shown in FIGS. 9A-F, each gripper 6105 comprises at least two actuatable fingers 6107a-b. In implementations, the at least two actuatable fingers comprise an overmold 6l08a-b comprising a durometer of between about 40 A to 90 A. For example, the overmold can comprise at least one of a polymer or copolymer including at least one of a rubber, a thermoplastic elastomer, (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), thermoplastic vulcanizates (TPV), and silicone. The overmold provides protection of the encapsulated fingers and any delicate fabrics of the deformable laundry article 10. Additionally, having a soft fingertip enables finer grasping or grabbing of deformable laundry articles 10 from a surface, such as the conveyor 6030. In implementations, a gripping surface of each finger of a gripper 6105a-d comprises a textured surface, e.g., ribs, bumps, ridges, and/or other protuberance, for assisting with gripping the fabric of an article with some degree of friction and/or perturbation. Additionally or alternatively, an outside surface ( e.g., opposite the gripping surface) of each finger of a gripper 6105a-d comprises a smooth surface for preventing the fabric of an article from sticking to an outside surface of the gripper 6105a-d.”. The cited passages and images clearly show that the fingertips of each finger on the grippers is comprised of a flexible segment (i.e. the overmold 6108 on the fingertips)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combined the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each the fingers includes one or more bendable segments joined with each other taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because having a flexible segment enables finer grasping or grabbing of deformable laundry articles (Bixby: Column 23 line 43 – Column 24 line 3, “Additionally, having a soft fingertip enables finer grasping or grabbing of deformable laundry articles 10 from a surface, such as the conveyor 6030.”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the second arm portion is movable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets (Kim: ¶ 0041, “The first gripper 111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”, ¶ 0116, “Referring to FIGS. 11 F and 11 G, the processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to re-grip one region adjacent to the predetermined region of the clothing placed on the folding device 400, and place the regripped clothing on the folding device 400 in the predetermined shape.”, ¶ 0117, “The clothing may be finally placed on the folding device 400 by the grip device 100 in a state where its back side faces upward. Specifically, the first and second grippers 111 and 121 may rotate the re-gripped clothing by moving to cross each other, and then place the regripped clothing in a state where the back surface thereof faces upward.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the robotic arms are configured to move from the folding board to the box containing the clothing and back.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets.
wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets (Bixby: Column 20 lines 10-44, “In one implementation, each of the two or more lifters 6100a-d includes an associated arm 6110a-d. In implementations, each associated arm 6110 has no joints. In some implementations, one or more of the associated arms 6110a-d comprises one or more joints. In alternative implementations, one or more of the two or more lifters comprises a stationary vertical riser (not shown) along which a gripper translates up and down. In still yet other implementations, one or more of the two or more lifters comprises a rotatable riser (not shown) along which a gripper translates bidirectionally.”, Column 22 lines 12-33, “In implementations, each one of the arms 6ll0a-d is an extendable arm comprising a fully extended length of between about 0.25 m and 4 m ( e.g., 0.25 m, 0.5 m, 1.0 m, 1.25 m, 1.5 m, 1.75 m, 2.0 m, 2.25 m, 2.5 m, 2.75 m, 3.0 m, 3.25 m, 3.5 m, 3.75 m, 4.0 m). In examples, the extendable arm can include at least one of one or more flexible joints (e.g., a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist) and two or more telescoping sections (not shown).”).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches a machine comprising: wherein each of the second arm portion is movable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets. Bixby teaches wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the arms taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan are already configured to move from the folding board to the clothes basket and back, and each robot arm has multiple portions and motors that provide multiple degrees of freedom to each robot arm. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the robot arms such that the second portion includes expands and retracts to the clothes basket from the folding board as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. This modification would have required the addition of a known type of joint (in this case a linear joint that facilitates expansion and retraction) to a system that is readily configurable for such an addition.. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each of the second arm portion is extendable and retractable between a rest position above the folding platform and a bottom of each of the baskets taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches wherein the processor is configured to: control a first robotic arm to grab clothing items from one of the baskets (Kim: ¶ 0041, “The first gripper 111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”);
control the first robotic to lift the clothing items to a predetermined height (Kwak: ¶ 0129, “Regarding the process that the robot spreads the clothes according to the present disclosure, as illustrated in FIG. 9A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs one clothes A of a plurality of clothes, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift clothes jigged by the first gripper 330G.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cited passage teaches that the clothing gripped by the first arm is raised to an arbitrary predetermined height.);
control the cameras to capture images of the clothing items (Kim: ¶ 0053, “The camera 700 may capture an image of clothing gripped by the grip device 100. For example, the camera 700 may be implemented by a 3D camera or a depth camera.”);
control the second robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the clothing item and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height (Kwak: ¶ 0130, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9B, the second robot arm 340 is moved down, the second gripper 340G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the first griper 330G, and then the second robot arm 340 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G as illustrated in FIG. 9C.”); and
control the first robotic arm to release (Kwak: ¶ 0131, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9D, in the state that the first gripper 330G releases the clothes A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the first gripper 330G as illustrated in FIG. 9E.”).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras;
Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras (Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to use image data of the clothing captured by a plurality of cameras to determine the lowest point of the clothing.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches a machine wherein the processor is configured to: control a first robotic arm to grab clothing items from one of the baskets; control the first robotic to lift the clothing items to a predetermined height; control the cameras to capture images of the clothing items; control the second robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the clothing item and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and control the first robotic arm to release. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras. Bixby teaches locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan is already configured to capture image data regarding the clothing and determine the position, type of clothing, and other information from this image data. The system is additionally configured to be controlled based on this image data and processing of said image data. The machine can therefore be modified to identify the lowest point of the clothing based on image data as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The modification would have yielded the predictable result of a machine locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm based on images captured by one or more of the cameras taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the processor is configured to: control the cameras to capture images of the clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm (Kwak: ¶ 0113, “An image sensor 370 may be a vision camera which may be positioned at upper portions or lower portions of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to photograph the shape of the clothes A jigged by the first and second grippers 330G and 340G at the same height.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system is configured to capture an image of the clothing when grasped by the second arm.);
locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm based on images captured by the one or more camera (Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to use image data of the clothing captured by a plurality of cameras to determine the lowest point of the clothing.);
control the first arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item (Kwak: ¶ 0131, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9D, in the state that the first gripper 330G releases the clothes A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the first gripper 330G as illustrated in FIG. 9E.”); and
identify a type of the clothing item using the AI system (Kim: ¶ 0056, “The processor 600 may receive information regarding a shape and a location of clothing detected by the camera 700 and the sensors 270 of the clothing classification apparatus 200, and analyze the received information to determine the location, the size, the shape, and the type of the clothing. Specifically, the processor 600 may determine the size, the shape, the type, and the like of the clothing by recognizing the clothing through a clothing recognition algorithm, and determine the location of the clothing based on clothing depth information.”, Kwak: ¶ 0051, “Referring to FIG. 2, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”, ¶ 0095, “The robot 100a may perform the above-described operations by using the learning model composed of at least one artificial neural network. For example, the robot 100a may recognize the surrounding environment and the objects by using the learning model, and may determine the operation by using the recognized surrounding information or object information. The learning model may be learned directly from the robot 100a or may be learned from an external device such as the AI server 200.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the processor is configured to: locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by both the first and second robotic arms (Kwak: ¶ 0132, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9F, if the first and second grippers 330G and 340G lift opposite sides of the clothes A, the above-described image sensor 370 (see FIG. 8) photographs the lowest part of the clothes A, and the controller 380 (see FIG. 8) receives thee photographed image to determine whether the clothes A is spread.”, ¶ 0133, “The first and second robot arms 330 and 340 are moved such that the end portions of the first and second robot arms 330 and 340 are spread from each other, and the image sensor 370 (see FIG. 8) photographs the lowest part of the clothes A in the state that the clothes A jigged by the first and second grippers 330G and 340G are pulled on both sides. In this case, whether the clothes A is spread may be more exactly determined.”, Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”);
control a third robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the first and second (Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”); and
rotate the remaining clothing item for the cameras to capture images from a plurality of viewing angles (Bixby: Column 48 lines 44-63, “As described previously, in implementations, the controller 6005 can instruct one or more engaged grippers rotate the shared gripper axis AS to at least one of translate and rotate the suspended article before a low point grab by an available gripper. For example, the series of sequential schematics of boxes Gl-G3 of FIG. 35 depict a top down schematic view of the conveyor 6030 and work area 6032 of a repositioning robot 6000 comprising four lifters 6l00a-d disposed about the conveyor 6030. In an initial grip, as shown in box G1, a first lifter 6100b hoisted the article 10 in the work volume, shown projected on the conveyor 6030 as the work area 6032, and moved to the center of the work area 6032. Based on a pre-determined clockwise (CW) direction for subsequent grips and axis rotation, gripper 6105a of an available lifter 6100a gripped the article 10 and hoisted the article to the suspension height of the first engaged gripper 6105b. In implementations, the first lifter 6100b may have rotated or translated the first engaged gripper 6105 to align the first shared axis AS1 parallel to an x-axis Lux of the coordinate space.”, Column 49 lines 61-67, “The method 1100 can further iteratively comprise performing the detecting S1146, identifying S1147, instructing S1148-S1149, translating and/or rotating, and disengaging S1150 steps until at least one of determining 1140 a match of the output signal to the data indicative of one or more repositioned laundry articles and reaching S1155 a threshold timeout.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint. As described previously with regard to implementations, the direction of rotation of a shared axis and direction of a next available gripper of a "next lifter" can be predetermined ( e.g., CCW, CW). The controller 6005 can determine 1265 whether a grab by the "next lifter" 6100b was missed, and instruct the gripper 6105b of the previous grasp to release 1270 the grab, essentially executing a standard release routine of opening the gripper 6105b and moving down and/or back from the suspension height. Based on determining a missed state, the controller 6005 will execute the following steps which will attempt again to grab the low point if the "next arm" 6110 missed the grabbing the low point.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system is configured rotate the clothing and capture images of the clothing with each rotation.).
Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan teaches gripping the clothing with the first and second gripper and capturing an image of the lowest point of the clothing. Bixby teaches determining the lowest point of the clothing from image data and causing an additional gripper to grasp the lowest point. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to modify Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan such that the system determines the lowest point and grips the lowest point with a third gripper as taught in Bixby when the clothing is held by the first two grippers as in Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combination of Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the processor is configured to: control the folding platform to swing to a folding position from a rest position (Kim: ¶ 0047, “The folding device 400 may be movable upward or downward along a guide rail 11 disposed vertically. Accordingly, the folding device 400 may avoid interference with the grip device 100 that is movable inside the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0048, “The folding device 400 may be rotatably connected to the guide rail 11 through a connection member 11 a. Specifically, the connection member 11a may connect a bottom surface of the folding device 400 and the guide rail 11, and be rotated on a horizontal plane (X-Y plane) by a motor (not shown).”. The cited passages clearly show that the folding device can be moved into position.);
control the robotic arms to place the clothing item identified by the AI system on the central board (Kim: ¶ 0056, “The processor 600 may receive information regarding a shape and a location of clothing detected by the camera 700 and the sensors 270 of the clothing classification apparatus 200, and analyze the received information to determine the location, the size, the shape, and the type of the clothing. Specifically, the processor 600 may determine the size, the shape, the type, and the like of the clothing by recognizing the clothing through a clothing recognition algorithm, and determine the location of the clothing based on clothing depth information.”, ¶ 0112, “Referring to FIGS. 11 D and 11 E, the processor 600 may determine whether the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its front side or back side, and depending on a determination result, decide moving directions of the first and second grippers 111 and 121 to place the clothing on the folding device 400 in a state where the front side of the clothing faces upward.”, ¶ 0113, “Specifically, when it is determined that the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its front side, as illustrated in FIG. 11 D, the processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to drop the clothing onto the folding device 400 by moving the first and second grippers 111 and 121 in an X1 direction. Conversely, when it is determined that the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its back side, as illustrated in FIG. 11 E, the processor may control the grip device 100 to drop the clothing onto the folding device 400 by moving the first and second grippers 111 and 121 in an X2 direction.”, Kwak: ¶ 0051, “Referring to FIG. 2, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”, ¶ 0095, “The robot 100a may perform the above-described operations by using the learning model composed of at least one artificial neural network. For example, the robot 100a may recognize the surrounding environment and the objects by using the learning model, and may determine the operation by using the recognized surrounding information or object information. The learning model may be learned directly from the robot 100a or may be learned from an external device such as the AI server 200.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the type of clothing and place the clothing on the folding device based on the type of clothing identified. Figures 11F-G, 12A-D, and 13A-D, and ¶ 0116-0127 describes how different types of clothing are placed on the folding device.); and
control the side folding boards to fold portions of the clothing item outside of the central board over the central board (Kim: Figures 15A-D, ¶ 0132, “In addition, the main plate 410 may have a fixed region 41 Oa and a rotatable region 41 Ob rotatably connected to the fixed region 41 Oa. Specifically, the rotatable region 41 Ob of the main plate 410 may move folded clothing to an upper surface of the discharge plate 500 by rotating about the AY axis toward the discharge plate 500.”, ¶ 0135, “Referring to FIG. 15A, the short-sleeved top S may be placed on the folding device 400 in a state where its back side faces upward. Thereafter, the first and second folding plates 420 and 430 may rotate about the AX1 and AX2 axes, respectively, toward the main plate 410. Accordingly, both sleeves of the short-sleeved top S may be folded toward a body portion.”, ¶ 0136, “Referring to FIG. 15B, the third folding plate 440 may rotate about the AY axis toward the main plate 410. Accordingly, the short-sleeved top S may be folded in the horizontal direction. Then, the folding of the short sleeved top S may be completed in a substantially rectangular shape.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the processor is configured to align a predetermined portion of the clothing item with a predetermined position of the central board (Kim: ¶ 0108, “Referring to FIGS. 11 A and 11 B, a sleeve region S1 or a bottom hem region S2 of the short-sleeved top S may be led as an initial grip point by the clothing classification apparatus 200. Thereafter, the sleeve region S1 of the short-sleeved top S classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 may be gripped by the first gripper 111, and when the first gripper 111 moves up ward, the short-sleeved top S may sag down long due to gravity.”, ¶ 0109, “At this time, the second gripper 121 may grip the bottom hem region S2, which is a lowermost region, of the clothing gripped by the first gripper 111. Meanwhile, one region of the clothing gripped by each of the first and second grippers 111 and 121 is not limited thereto, and the regions gripped by the first and second grippers 111 and 121 may be reverse.”, ¶ 0110, “Referring to FIG. 11 C, when the second gripper 121 moves to be disposed horizontally with respect to the first gripper 111 and the clothing spreads, the camera 700 may easily capture an image of a predetermined region of the clothing. The predetermined region of the short-sleeved top S may be a neck line S3, but is not limited thereto.”, ¶ 0112, “Referring to FIGS. 11 D and 11 E, the processor 600 may determine whether the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its front side or back side, and depending on a determination result, decide moving directions of the first and second grippers 111 and 121 to place the clothing on the folding device 400 in a state where the front side of the clothing faces upward.”, ¶ 0113, “Specifically, when it is determined that the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its front side, as illustrated in FIG. 11 D, the processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to drop the clothing onto the folding device 400 by moving the first and second grippers 111 and 121 in an X1 direction. Conversely, when it is determined that the clothing in the image captured by the camera 700 is shown as its back side, as illustrated in FIG. 11 E, the processor may control the grip device 100 to drop the clothing onto the folding device 400 by moving the first and second grippers 111 and 121 in an X2 direction.”. See also Figures 11A-G, 12A-D, and 13A-D, ¶ 0107-0127. The cited figures and passages of Kim describes the process by which specific portions of different types of clothing are aligned with a predetermined position on the folding platform.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4176982 A1 ("Kim") in view of US 2019/0390396 A1 ("Kwak") in further view of US 11939720 B2 ("AlHaffar") in further view of US 2023/0048063 A1 ("Guinan") in further view of KR 102077452 B1 ("Kim Moon")
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan does not teach wherein each of the side folding boards includes a rough surface to prevent a clothing item from slipping during folding.
Kim Moon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the side folding boards includes a rough surface to prevent a clothing item from slipping during folding (Kim Moon: ¶ 0021, “ In addition, the seating portion 100 may be provided with a material such as rubber, fabric on the top so that the clothing can be stably placed to increase the friction force.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan with wherein each of the side folding boards includes a rough surface to prevent a clothing item from slipping during folding taught in Kim Moon with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of a known material for another. The boards of the folding board taught in Kim in view of Kwak in view of AlHaffar in further view of Guinan do not specify a material type. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be easily able to substitute the material for a rough one as taught in Kim Moon. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4176982 A1 ("Kim") in view of US 2019/0390396 A1 ("Kwak") in further view of US 2023/0048063 A1 ("Guinan") in further view of US 11298829 B2 ("Bixby")
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a machine, comprising (Kim: Figure 1, Abstract, “A clothing classification apparatus is disclosed. The clothing classification apparatus comprises: a first roller; a second roller arranged to face the first roller; a driving device rotating the first and second rollers in different directions; sensors for sensing positions of clothes in each of the upper and lower areas of the first and second rollers; and a processor for controlling the driving device so that the clothes repeatedly move between the first and second rollers a predetermined number of times when the clothes are placed on the first and second rollers, wherein the processor controls the driving device to change the rotational directions of the first and second rollers when it is confirmed that the clothes pass through the upper or lower area on the basis of results of the sensing by the sensors.”, ¶ 0033, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a clothing organizing apparatus 1 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include at least one grip device 100, a clothing classification apparatus 200, a moving device 300, and a folding device 400, a discharge plate 500, a processor 600, a camera 700, and a memory 800.”):
two or more robotic arms, each comprising (Kim: Figure 1 first grip device 110, second grip device 120, ¶ 0034, “The at least one grip device 100 may grip and move clothing. The grip device 100 may include a first grip device 110 and a second grip device 120 having a structure symmetric to each other.”, ¶ 0036, “The first rail 112 may be disposed horizontally along a Y-axis direction, and one end of the first rail 112 may be connected to the second rail 113 disposed vertically. The second rail 113 may be connected to the third rail 114 disposed horizontally along an X-axis direction. The first rail 112 may vertically move upward and downward along the second rail 113, and the second rail 113 may move in the X-axis direction along the third rail 114.”, ¶ 0037, “The first gripper 111 may be rotatably connected to the first rail 112 on an X-Y plane, and move in the Y-axis direction along the first rail 112. That is, according to the movement of the first and second rails 112 and 113 and the movement and rotation of the first gripper 111, the first gripper 111, which has three linear degrees of freedom (X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis) orthogonal to each other and a rotational degree of freedom in one direction, may easily perform a clothing gripping operation at any point in the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0038, “The second grip device 120 may have a structure symmetric to the first grip device 110 with respect to an X-Z plane. That is, like the first gripper 111, a second gripper 121 of the second grip device 120 may freely move to any point within the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0040, “The first and second grippers 111 and 121 may grip different regions of clothing, and may rotate the clothing by moving to cross each other if necessary.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system comprises multiple robotic arms that are configured to grasp clothing.):
a hand portion joined with a second end of the second arm portion (Kim: ¶ 0035, “The first grip device 110 may include a first grip per 111 and first to third rails 112, 113, and 114.”, ¶ 0038, “The second grip device 120 may have a structure symmetric to the first grip device 110 with respect to an X-Z plane. That is, like the first gripper 111, a second gripper 121 of the second grip device 120 may freely move to any point within the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the gripper of each are is functionally a hand.);
baskets (Kim: Figure 1 clothing box 20, ¶ 0041, “Thefirstgripper111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”); and
a processor, configured to control Kim: ¶ 0051, “The processor 600 may control overall operations of the clothing organizing apparatus 1. To this end, the processor 600 may include a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP). Alternatively, the processor 600 may be implemented by at least one general processor, digital signal processor, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), system on chip (SoC), microcomputer (MICOM), driver IC, or the like.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”:
a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items (Kim: ¶ 0041, “The first gripper 111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”);
the system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item (Kim: ¶ 0056, “The processor 600 may receive information regarding a shape and a location of clothing detected by the camera 700 and the sensors 270 of the clothing classification
apparatus 200, and analyze the received information to determine the location, the size, the shape, and the type of the clothing. Specifically, the processor 600 may determine the size, the shape, the type, and the like of the clothing by recognizing the clothing through a clothing recognition algorithm, and determine the location of the clothing based on clothing depth information.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system is configured to identify the type of clothing.).
Kim does not teach a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point;
a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and
two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine; and
a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets;
one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm;
a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and
the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby;
the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm;
the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and
the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item.
Kwak, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Kwak: Figure 5, ¶ 0105, “The first, second, and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 have the structures in which a plurality of links L are connected with each other by a plurality of joints J and may be provided on opposite surfaces of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to be lifted.”, ¶ 0109, “End portions of the first to third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 may move with a preset degree of freedom, but may move the preset degree of freedom of '6'. A separate driving motor (not illustrated) may be provided at each joint J of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350, and the end portions of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 and the first, second, and third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G provided in the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 may be moved to desired positions in the final stage according to the operation of each driving motor.” The cited passages clearly shows that the arms comprise a first portion that extends along a first direction and rotates about a point (i.e. the joint at the base) and a second portion attached to the first arm potion that extends in a perpendicular direction.); and
a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets (Kwak: ¶ 0129, “Regarding the process that the robot spreads the clothes according to the present disclosure, as illustrated in FIG. 9A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs one clothes A of a plurality of clothes, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift clothes jigged by the first gripper 330G.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cited passage teaches that the clothing gripped by the first arm is raised to an arbitrary predetermined height.);
a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height (Kwak: ¶ 0130, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9B, the second robot arm 340 is moved down, the second gripper 340G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the first griper 330G, and then the second robot arm 340 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G as illustrated in FIG. 9C.”); and
the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby (Kwak: ¶ 0131, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9D, in the state that the first gripper 330G releases the clothes A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the first gripper 330G as illustrated in FIG. 9E.”);
the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item (Kwak: ¶ 0131, “Thereafter, as illustrated in FIG. 9D, in the state that the first gripper 330G releases the clothes A, the first robot arm 330 is moved down, the first gripper 330G jigs the lowest part of the clothes A jigged by the second gripper 340G, and the first robot arm 330 is moved up to lift the clothes A jigged by the first gripper 330G as illustrated in FIG. 9E.”); and
the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item (Kwak: ¶ 0051, “Referring to FIG. 2, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”, ¶ 0095, “The robot 100a may perform the above-described operations by using the learning model composed of at least one artificial neural network. For example, the robot 100a may recognize the surrounding environment and the objects by using the learning model, and may determine the operation by using the recognized surrounding information or object information. The learning model may be learned directly from the robot 100a or may be learned from an external device such as the AI server 200.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”).
Kim teaches a machine, comprising: two or more robotic arms, each comprising: a hand portion joined with a second end of the second arm portion; baskets; a processor, configured to control: a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items; the system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item. Kim does not teach a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item. Kwak teaches a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capability required to have modified the machine taught in Kim with a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item taught in Kwak. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim is already configured to use image data to identify a type of clothing using a clothing recognition algorithm, grasp the clothing and bring it out of the basket, and grasp the clothing with a second arm. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the machine with a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item taught in Kwak according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combined the machine taught in Kim with a first arm portion extending along a first direction and rotatable about a point; a second arm portion with a first end joined with of the first arm portion and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first robotic arm to extend into one of the baskets to grab clothing items therefrom and lift the clothing items to a height above the baskets; a second robotic arm to grab the lowest point and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and the control robotic arm to release the clothing items grabbed thereby; the first robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the remaining clothing item and lift the lowest point of the remaining clothing item; and the AI system to identify a type of the remaining clothing item taught in Kwak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kim in view of Kwak does not teach two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine;
one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm;
the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm.
Guinan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine (Guinan: Figure 2, ¶ 0034, “Further, the device 100 comprises two clothes baskets, a top basket 102 and a bottom basket 104 secured together. Each clothes basket 102, 104 comprises at least one side wall 106, a bottom base component 108, and an open top 110 which forms a receptacle. Additionally, if the clothes basket 102, 104 is not round, but rather square or rectangular in shape, then the at least one side wall 106 comprises two sets of opposing side walls, a first set of opposing side walls 112 and a second set of opposing side walls 114. Further, each basket 102, 104 can be approximately between 30-35 inches in height, preferably approximately 32 inches in height, and approximately between 20-28 inches in width, preferably approximately 24 inches in width. Typically, both baskets 102, 104 are the same height and size, but do not need to be, in some embodiments, the baskets 102, 104 comprise differing heights and sizes.”, ¶ 0038, “FIG. 2 illustrates a perspective view of another embodiment of the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 of the present invention. In this embodiment, the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 comprises a lid 200 to keep clothes 202 secure in the basket device 100. The lid 200 would be the same shape and size as the open top 110 of the clothes basket 102, 104. The lid 200 would be secured to the clothes basket 102 or 104 via a hinge, a strap, etc., or any other suitable connecting means 204 that allows the lid 200 to be opened and closed. The lid 200 would typically be manufactured of the same material as the clothes baskets 102, 104, but doesn't need to be, and in some embodiments, the lid 200 can be manufactured from different material than the clothes baskets 102, 104.”. The cited passages clearly teach two clothes baskets. Additionally, the baskets are design to be moved.).
Kim in view of Kwak teaches a machine comprising baskets for storing the clothing items. Kim in view of Kwak does not teach two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine. Guinan teaches two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak with two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine taught in Guinan. Furthermore, the machine in view of Kim in view of Kwak in further view of AlHaffar teaches one basket for storing unfolded clothing and a platform for storing the folded clothing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily substitute the platform for storing the folded clothing for a second basket taught in Guinan. Additionally, said baskets can be easily modified to be transported as taught in Guinan. Such a substitution would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak with two or more baskets, each being configured to move in and at least partially out of the machine taught in Guinan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan does not teach one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm;
the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm.
Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm (Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to use image data of the clothing captured by a plurality of cameras to determine the lowest point of the clothing.);
the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm (Bixby: Column 8 lines 33-36, “In examples, the controller is further configured to analyze the received output signal to determine that a lowest edge of the deformable laundry article is suspended above the conveyor.”, Column 54 lines 1-30, “If the article 10 is determined to be aloft by one arm 1240 within the work volume ( e.g., lifted above the conveyor 6030) and gripped by the one gripper 6105a of the associated arm 6110a, the controller 6005 instructs one or more sensors 6l28a-d, 6040a-b to take 1245 a 3D photograph of the article aloft (e.g., dangling) in the work volume 6035. From this, the controller 6005 executes an algorithm to determine 1250 a lowpoint of the article based on the 3D photograph. In implementations, the lowpoint can be the lowest detectable point. Additionally or alternatively, the lowpoint can be one or more points on the article in a lowest 25% or less of the article. The controller 6005 determines 1225, based on the 3D photograph, a of the lowest point on the article 10, either to the left or the right of an axis between the base of the arm 6110a and the gripper 6015a, and based on the determined direction, instructs a "next arm" 6110b of a "next lifter" 6100b to engage its associated gripper 6105b with the lowpoint.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to use image data of the clothing captured by a plurality of cameras to determine the lowest point of the clothing.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan teaches a machine wherein the processor is configured to: control a first robotic arm to grab clothing items from one of the baskets; control the first robotic to lift the clothing items to a predetermined height; control the cameras to capture images of the clothing items; control the second robotic arm to grab the lowest point of the clothing item and lift the lowest point to the predetermined height; and control the first robotic arm to release: and control the first arm to grasp the lowest point. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan does not teach locate one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm; the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm. Bixby teaches locate one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm; the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan with locate one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm; the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan is already configured to capture image data regarding the clothing and determine the position, type of clothing, and other information from this image data. The system is additionally configured to be controlled based on this image data and processing of said image data. The machine can therefore be modified to identify the lowest point of the clothing based on image data as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The modification would have yielded the predictable result of a machine locate one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm; the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan with locate one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the clothing items grabbed by the first robotic arm; the one or more cameras to locate a lowest point of the remaining clothing item grabbed by the second robotic arm taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a machine, comprising ((Kim: Figure 1, Abstract, “A clothing classification apparatus is disclosed. The clothing classification apparatus comprises: a first roller; a second roller arranged to face the first roller; a driving device rotating the first and second rollers in different directions; sensors for sensing positions of clothes in each of the upper and lower areas of the first and second rollers; and a processor for controlling the driving device so that the clothes repeatedly move between the first and second rollers a predetermined number of times when the clothes are placed on the first and second rollers, wherein the processor controls the driving device to change the rotational directions of the first and second rollers when it is confirmed that the clothes pass through the upper or lower area on the basis of results of the sensing by the sensors.”, ¶ 0033, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a clothing organizing apparatus 1 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include at least one grip device 100, a clothing classification apparatus 200, a moving device 300, and a folding device 400, a discharge plate 500, a processor 600, a camera 700, and a memory 800.”)):
an enclosure, comprising a top panel, bottom panel, and four side panels (Kim: Figure 1. The cited figure clearly shows that the system is contained within an enclosure.);
at least a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items (Kim: Figure 1 clothing box 20, ¶ 0041, “Thefirstgripper111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”);
robotic arms each comprising (Kim: Figure 1 first grip device 110, second grip device 120, third rail 114, ¶ 0034, “The at least one grip device 100 may grip and move clothing. The grip device 100 may include a first grip device 110 and a second grip device 120 having a structure symmetric to each other.”, ¶ 0036, “The first rail 112 may be disposed horizontally along a Y-axis direction, and one end of the first rail 112 may be connected to the second rail 113 disposed vertically. The second rail 113 may be connected to the third rail 114 disposed horizontally along an X-axis direction. The first rail 112 may vertically move upward and downward along the second rail 113, and the second rail 113 may move in the X-axis direction along the third rail 114.”, ¶ 0037, “The first gripper 111 may be rotatably connected to the first rail 112 on an X-Y plane, and move in the Y-axis direction along the first rail 112. That is, according to the movement of the first and second rails 112 and 113 and the movement and rotation of the first gripper 111, the first gripper 111, which has three linear degrees of freedom (X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis) orthogonal to each other and a rotational degree of freedom in one direction, may easily perform a clothing gripping operation at any point in the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0038, “The second grip device 120 may have a structure symmetric to the first grip device 110 with respect to an X-Z plane. That is, like the first gripper 111, a second gripper 121 of the second grip device 120 may freely move to any point within the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0040, “The first and second grippers 111 and 121 may grip different regions of clothing, and may rotate the clothing by moving to cross each other if necessary.”):
a hand for grabbing the clothing items stored in the first basket and placing the clothing items into the second basket (Kim: ¶ 0038, “The second grip device 120 may have a structure symmetric to the first grip device 110 with respect to an X-Z plane. That is, like the first gripper 111, a second gripper 121 of the second grip device 120 may freely move to any point within the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0041, “The first gripper 111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”);
a folding platform for folding the clothing items (Kim: Figure 1 folding device 400, ¶ 0046, “The folding device 400 may include a plurality of rotatable plates to fold clothing provided in a predetermined shape by the grip device 100.”);
a processor configured to control the four robotic arms to (Kim: ¶ 0033, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a clothing organizing apparatus 1 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may include at least one grip device 100, a clothing classification apparatus 200, a moving device 300, and a folding device 400, a discharge plate 500, a processor 600, a camera 700, and a memory 800.”)):
grab one or more clothing items from the first basket (Kim: ¶ 0041, “The first gripper 111 may grip an upper most one of a plurality of pieces of clothing accommodated in a clothing box 20 and move the gripped piece of clothing to the clothing classification apparatus 200. A groove 20a may be formed in one side of the clothing box 20. Accordingly, the first rail 112 may easily grip the clothing stored in the clothing box 20 without interfering with the clothing box 20.”, ¶ 0052, “The processor 600 may control the grip device 100 to move clothing from the clothing box 20 to the clothing classification apparatus 200, control the grip device 100 to move the clothing classified by the clothing classification apparatus 200 to the folding device 400, and control the folding device 400 to fold the clothing placed on the folding device 400.”);
select and grab only one of the clothing items (Kim: ¶ 0086, “Meanwhile, in a case where a plurality of pieces of clothing Care dropped onto the upper sides of the first and second rollers 210 and 220 in a tangled state, as the first and second rollers are driven, only one piece of the clothing C may be left between the first and second rollers 210 and 220, and the other pieces of the clothing C may be drop downward of the first and second rollers 210 and 220 and move to a predetermined point along with the moving device 300.”, ¶ 0088, “Accordingly, the grip device 100 may quickly grip an initial grip point of the clothing C. The initial grip point that varies depending on the type of clothing will be described in detail below.”. As is clear from the cited passages, the system is configured to select and grab only a single piece of clothing.); and
configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item (Kim: ¶ 0053, “The camera 700 may capture an image of clothing gripped by the grip device 100. For example, the camera 700 may be implemented by a 3D camera or a depth camera.”, ¶ 0056, “The processor 600 may receive information regarding a shape and a location of clothing detected by the camera 700 and the sensors 270 of the clothing classification
apparatus 200, and analyze the received information to determine the location, the size, the shape, and the type of the clothing. Specifically, the processor 600 may determine the size, the shape, the type, and the like of the clothing by recognizing the clothing through a clothing recognition algorithm, and determine the location of the clothing based on clothing depth information.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system is configured to identify the type of clothing.).
Kim does not teach at least a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items;
four robotic arms each comprising:
an upper arm radially extending from a pivot;
a lower arm extendable into the baskets; and
an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item.
Kwak, in the same field of endeavor, teaches four robotic arms each comprising (Kwak: Figure 7, Kwak: Figure 5 first robot arm 330 second robot arm 340 third robot arm 350, ¶ 0101, “According to a first embodiment of the present disclosure, as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 8, a robot 300 includes first and second guide bars 310 and 320, second and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350, first, second and third grippers 330G, 340G and 350G, an image sensor 370, and a controller 380.”, ¶ 0125, “According to the third embodiment of the present disclosure, the robot 300 may further include a fourth robot arm 360 and a fourth gripper 360G to transfer the hanger B having the clothes A, which is spread, to a folding unit (not illustrated) which is positioned outside the first and second guide bars 310 and 320.”):
an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm (Kwak: Figure 5, ¶ 0105, “The first, second, and third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 have the structures in which a plurality of links L are connected with each other by a plurality of joints J and may be provided on opposite surfaces of the first and second guide bars 310 and 320 to be lifted.”, ¶ 0109, “End portions of the first to third robot arms 330, 340, and 350 may move with a preset degree of freedom, but may move the preset degree of freedom of '6'. A separate driving motor (not illustrated) may be provided at each joint J of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350, and the end portions of the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 and the first, second, and third grippers 330G, 340G, and 350G provided in the first, second and third robot arms 330, 340 and 350 may be moved to desired positions in the final stage according to the operation of each driving motor.” The cited passages clearly shows that the arms comprise a first portion that extends along a first direction and rotates about a point (i.e. the joint at the base) and a second portion attached to the first arm potion.); and
an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item (Kwak: ¶ 0051, “Referring to FIG. 2, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180.”, ¶ 0095, “The robot 100a may perform the above-described operations by using the learning model composed of at least one artificial neural network. For example, the robot 100a may recognize the surrounding environment and the objects by using the learning model, and may determine the operation by using the recognized surrounding information or object information. The learning model may be learned directly from the robot 100a or may be learned from an external device such as the AI server 200.”, ¶ 0116, “The controller 380 may store reference images for determining the spreading state of clothes A according to the types of clothes A, may compare the lowest images of the clothes A received from the image sensor 370 with the reference images, and may determine the spreading sate of the clothes A.”).
Kim teaches a machine, comprising: an enclosure, comprising a top panel, bottom panel, and four side panels; at least a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items; robotic arms each comprising: a hand for grabbing the clothing items stored in the first basket and placing the clothing items into the second basket; a folding platform for folding the clothing items; a processor configured to control the four robotic arms to: grab one or more clothing items from the first basket; select and grab only one of the clothing items; and configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item. Kim does not teach four robotic arms each comprising: an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm; and an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item. Kwak teaches four robotic arms each comprising: an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm; and an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim with four robotic arms each comprising: an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm; and an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item taught in Kwak. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim already teaches the use of multiple robotic arms (in the case of Kim, there are two arms). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily modify the machine in Kim with one or more additional arms as taught in Kwak according to methods known in the art. Additionally, such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. Kim also teaches a method of determining the type of clothing based, in part, on visual data and using a clothing recognition algorithm. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the recognition algorithm taught in Kim with the use of the AI identification algorithm taught in Kwak. Such a modification would require the simple substitution of one known algorithm for another and would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required for either modification. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: four robotic arms each comprising: an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm; and an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim with four robotic arms each comprising: an upper arm radially extending from a pivot; a lower arm; and an artificial intelligence agent configured to identify a type of the only one clothing item taught in Kwak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kim in view of Kwak does not teach a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items; and
a lower arm extendable into the baskets.
Guinan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items (Guinan: Figure 2, ¶ 0034, “Further, the device 100 comprises two clothes baskets, a top basket 102 and a bottom basket 104 secured together. Each clothes basket 102, 104 comprises at least one side wall 106, a bottom base component 108, and an open top 110 which forms a receptacle. Additionally, if the clothes basket 102, 104 is not round, but rather square or rectangular in shape, then the at least one side wall 106 comprises two sets of opposing side walls, a first set of opposing side walls 112 and a second set of opposing side walls 114. Further, each basket 102, 104 can be approximately between 30-35 inches in height, preferably approximately 32 inches in height, and approximately between 20-28 inches in width, preferably approximately 24 inches in width. Typically, both baskets 102, 104 are the same height and size, but do not need to be, in some embodiments, the baskets 102, 104 comprise differing heights and sizes.”, ¶ 0038, “FIG. 2 illustrates a perspective view of another embodiment of the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 of the present invention. In this embodiment, the ergonomic clothes basket device 100 comprises a lid 200 to keep clothes 202 secure in the basket device 100. The lid 200 would be the same shape and size as the open top 110 of the clothes basket 102, 104. The lid 200 would be secured to the clothes basket 102 or 104 via a hinge, a strap, etc., or any other suitable connecting means 204 that allows the lid 200 to be opened and closed. The lid 200 would typically be manufactured of the same material as the clothes baskets 102, 104, but doesn't need to be, and in some embodiments, the lid 200 can be manufactured from different material than the clothes baskets 102, 104.”. The cited passages clearly teach two clothes baskets that have a lid that can be opened or closed.).
Kim in view of Kwak teaches a machine comprising baskets for storing the clothing items. Kim in view of Kwak does not teach a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items. Guinan teaches a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak with a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items taught in Guinan. Furthermore, the machine in view of Kim in view of Kwak teaches one basket for storing unfolded clothing and a platform for storing the folded clothing (Kim: ¶ 0050, “The discharge plate 500 may be disposed horizontally to allow clothing folded by the folding device 400 to be placed thereon. The discharge plate 500 may move upward or downward because its bottom surface is supported by X-shaped links. Accordingly, the clothing folded by the folding device 400 may be easily placed on the discharge plate 500 that may have various heights.”). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily substitute the platform for storing the folded clothing for a second basket taught in Guinan. Such a substitution would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine comprising: a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak a first basket for storing unfolded clothing items and a second basket for storing folded clothing items, wherein the first and second baskets are openable for loading and unloading the clothing items taught in Guinan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan does not teach a lower arm extendable into the baskets.
Bixby, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a lower arm extendable into the baskets (Bixby: Column 22 lines 12-33, “In implementations, each one of the arms 6ll0a-d is an extendable arm comprising a fully extended length of between about 0.25 m and 4 m ( e.g., 0.25 m, 0.5 m, 1.0 m, 1.25 m, 1.5 m, 1.75 m, 2.0 m, 2.25 m, 2.5 m, 2.75 m, 3.0 m, 3.25 m, 3.5 m, 3.75 m, 4.0 m). In examples, the extendable arm can include at least one of one or more flexible joints (e.g., a shoulder, an elbow, a wrist) and two or more telescoping sections (not shown).”. The cited passages clearly show that the lower arm is configured to extend and retract.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan teaches wherein each of the robotic arms comprising: an upper and lower arm. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan does not teach a lower arm extendable into the baskets. Bixby teaches a lower arm extendable into the baskets. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan with a lower arm extendable into the baskets taught in Bixby. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan already teaches a robot arm with multiple portions and motors that provide multiple degrees of freedom to each robot arm. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the robot arms such that each portion extends and retracts as taught in Bixby according to methods known in the art. This modification would have required the addition of a known type of joint (i.e. a linear joint to facilitate expansion and retraction) to a system that is readily configurable for such an addition.. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a machine wherein each robot arm comprises: a lower arm extendable into the baskets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan a lower arm extendable into the baskets taught in Bixby with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4176982 A1 ("Kim") in view of US 2019/0390396 A1 ("Kwak") in further view of US 2023/0048063 A1 ("Guinan") in further view of US 11298829 B2 ("Bixby") in further view of US 11939720 B2 ("AlHaffar")
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches further comprising a folding platform coupled with a sidewall (Kim: Figure 1 folding device 400, Figure 14 central board 410 11a, ¶ 0046, “The folding device 400 may include a plurality of rotatable plates to fold clothing provided in a predetermined shape by the grip device 100.”, ¶ 0047, “The folding device 400 may be movable upward or downward along a guide rail 11 disposed vertically. Accordingly, the folding device 400 may avoid interference with the grip device 100 that is movable inside the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0048, “The folding device 400 may be rotatably connected to the guide rail 11 through a connection member 11 a. Specifically, the connection member 11a may connect a bottom surface of the folding device 400 and the guide rail 11, and be rotated on a horizontal plane (X-Y plane) by a motor (not shown).”, ¶ 0129, “Referring to FIG. 14, the folding device 400 may include a main plate 410 disposed horizontally, a first folding plate 420 rotatably connected to a left side of the main plate 410, a second folding plate 430 rotatably connected to a right side of the main plate 410, and a third folding plate 440 rotatably connected to a front side of the main plate 410.”, ¶ 0132, “In addition, the main plate 410 may have a fixed region 41 Oa and a rotatable region 41 Ob rotatably connected to the fixed region 41 Oa. Specifically, the rotatable region 41 Ob of the main plate 410 may move folded clothing to an upper surface of the discharge plate 500 by rotating about the AY axis toward the discharge plate 500.”. The cited passages and figure clearly show that the folding platform is rotatably coupled to a side panel (i.e. guide rail 11)),
wherein the folding platform is positioned in a rest position out of a path where the robotic arms move before the type of the remaining clothing item is identified and positioned to a folding position above the baskets after the type of the remaining clothing item is identified (Kim: ¶ 0047, “The folding device 400 may be movable upward or downward along a guide rail 11 disposed vertically. Accordingly, the folding device 400 may avoid interference with the grip device 100 that is movable inside the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0115, “Thereafter, the folding device 400 may be rotated about an A3 axis along the horizontal plane by a motor401 to align the predetermined regions of the clothing in parallel to the rotation directions of the first and second grippers 111 and 121, such that the first and second grippers 111 and 121 easily grip the predetermined regions of the clothing.”. The cited passages clearly folding board is moved out of the path of the arms until such a time that a piece of clothing is ready to be folded.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby does not teach further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall.
AlHaffar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches machine further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall (AlHaffar: Figures 2-4, Column 4 lines 11-26, “Notably, when folding panels 124 are in the lowered or retracted position, they may at least partially define a folding surface 130 that is generally configured for receiving laundry articles 122. More specifically, according to the illustrated embodiment, folding panels 124 may be seated on top 104 of cabinet 102 when in the lowered position. Thus, folding panels 124 and fixed panel 126 may define a large horizontal folding surface 130 upon which laundry articles 122 may be placed. According to exemplary embodiments the present subject matter, one or more instructional pat terns, positioning features, or clothing guides may be printed or integrated onto folding surface 130, e.g., to instruct the user as to the proper initial position of a laundry articles 122 to be folded. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 1, laundry article 122 may be a shirt that is oriented with its collar positioned that the rear of fixed panel 126.”, Column 4 lines 39-49, “In order to facilitate the folding process, folding panels 124 may be manipulated relative to fixed panel 126, e.g., such that portions of laundry article 122 are folded onto fixed panel 126 in a desired sequence to facilitate proper folding. According to the illustrated embodiment, each folding panel 124 is mechanically coupled on a single side to fixed panel 126 by a mechanical hinge 136. In this manner, each folding panel 124 may pivot relative to fixed panel 126 between a lowered position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) in a raised position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2 for the lower and right-side folding panels 124).”. The cited passages clearly show that the central board is fixed to a side of the machine with a hinge.)
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches a machine with a folding platform above the baskets, comprising: a central board with one side coupled with a sidewall of the machine; and one folding board attached with each of three free sides of the central panel. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby does not teach further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall. AlHaffar teaches further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall taught in AlHaffar. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches that the central board is rotatably coupled to the sidewall of the enclosure, but the specific type of connection is not specified. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to simply substitute the connections of the boards of the folding device taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with known type of connection (i.e. hinges) taught in AlHaffar according to methods known in the art. Such a simple substitution of one known connection type for another would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with further comprising a folding platform hinged with a sidewall taught in AlHaffar with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of a one known connection type for another.
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side attached with the one of the side panels (Kim: Figure 14 central board 410 11a, ¶ 0047, “The folding device 400 may be movable upward or downward along a guide rail 11 disposed vertically. Accordingly, the folding device 400 may avoid interference with the grip device 100 that is movable inside the clothing organizing apparatus 1.”, ¶ 0048, “The folding device 400 may be rotatably connected to the guide rail 11 through a connection member 11 a. Specifically, the connection member 11a may connect a bottom surface of the folding device 400 and the guide rail 11, and be rotated on a horizontal plane (X-Y plane) by a motor (not shown).”, ¶ 0129, “Referring to FIG. 14, the folding device 400 may include a main plate 410 disposed horizontally, a first folding plate 420 rotatably connected to a left side of the main plate 410, a second folding plate 430 rotatably connected to a right side of the main plate 410, and a third folding plate 440 rotatably connected to a front side of the main plate 410.”, ¶ 0132, “In addition, the main plate 410 may have a fixed region 41 Oa and a rotatable region 41 Ob rotatably connected to the fixed region 41 Oa. Specifically, the rotatable region 41 Ob of the main plate 410 may move folded clothing to an upper surface of the discharge plate 500 by rotating about the AY axis toward the discharge plate 500.”. The cited passages and figure clearly show that the folding platform is rotatably coupled to a side panel (i.e. guide rail 11))
and three other sides attached with three side folding boards flipped over the central board (Kim: Figure 14 first folding plate 420, second folding plate 430, third folding plate 440, ¶ 0129, “Referring to FIG. 14, the folding device 400 may include a main plate 410 disposed horizontally, a first folding plate 420 rotatably connected to a left side of the main plate 410, a second folding plate 430 rotatably connected to a right side of the main plate 410, and a third folding plate 440 rotatably connected to a front side of the main plate 410.”, ¶ 0135, “Referring to FIG. 15A, the short-sleeved top S may be placed on the folding device 400 in a state where its back side faces upward. Thereafter, the first and second folding plates 420 and 430 may rotate about the AX1 and AX2 axes, respectively, toward the main plate 410. Accordingly, both sleeves of the short-sleeved top S may be folded toward a body portion.”, ¶ 0136, “Referring to FIG. 15B, the third folding plate 440 may rotate about the AY axis toward the main plate 410. Accordingly, the short-sleeved top S may be folded in the horizontal direction. Then, the folding of the short sleeved top S may be completed in a substantially rectangular shape.”).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby does not teach wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels
and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent.
AlHaffar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels (AlHaffar: Figures 2-4, Column 4 lines 11-26, “Notably, when folding panels 124 are in the lowered or retracted position, they may at least partially define a folding surface 130 that is generally configured for receiving laundry articles 122. More specifically, according to the illustrated embodiment, folding panels 124 may be seated on top 104 of cabinet 102 when in the lowered position. Thus, folding panels 124 and fixed panel 126 may define a large horizontal folding surface 130 upon which laundry articles 122 may be placed. According to exemplary embodiments the present subject matter, one or more instructional pat terns, positioning features, or clothing guides may be printed or integrated onto folding surface 130, e.g., to instruct the user as to the proper initial position of a laundry articles 122 to be folded. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 1, laundry article 122 may be a shirt that is oriented with its collar positioned that the rear of fixed panel 126.”, Column 4 lines 39-49, “In order to facilitate the folding process, folding panels 124 may be manipulated relative to fixed panel 126, e.g., such that portions of laundry article 122 are folded onto fixed panel 126 in a desired sequence to facilitate proper folding. According to the illustrated embodiment, each folding panel 124 is mechanically coupled on a single side to fixed panel 126 by a mechanical hinge 136. In this manner, each folding panel 124 may pivot relative to fixed panel 126 between a lowered position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) in a raised position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2 for the lower and right-side folding panels 124).”. The cited passages clearly show that the central board is fixed to a side of the machine with a hinge.)
and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent (AlHaffar: Column 4 lines 39-49, “In order to facilitate the folding process, folding panels 124 may be manipulated relative to fixed panel 126, e.g., such that portions of laundry article 122 are folded onto fixed panel 126 in a desired sequence to facilitate proper folding. According to the illustrated embodiment, each folding panel 124 is mechanically coupled on a single side to fixed panel 126 by a mechanical hinge 136. In this manner, each folding panel 124 may pivot relative to fixed panel 126 between a lowered position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) in a raised position (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2 for the lower and right-side folding panels 124).”, Column 5 line 64 – Column 6 line, “Notably, controller 156 of laundry folding appliance 100 (or any other suitable dedicated controller) may be communicatively coupled to camera assembly 160, associated lights, and other components of laundry folding appliance 100. As explained in more detail below, controller 156 may be programmed or configured for obtaining images using camera assembly 160, e.g., in order to identify the type of laundry article 122 being folded. Controller 156 may further be programmed or configured to determine the proper folding sequence for the identified garment and implementing the folding sequence using actuating assembly 140.”, Colum 7 lines 16-34, “Referring now to FIG. 6, method 200 includes, at step 210, obtaining one or more images of a folding surface of a laundry folding appliance using a camera assembly. For example, continuing the example from above, camera assembly 160 may capture images of folding surface 130 and/or laundry articles 122 positioned thereon prior to a folding process. As explained in more detail below, these images may be used to identify the laundry article 122 being folded to facilitate the determination of a proper folding sequence for those particular laundry articles 122. Step 210 may include obtaining a series of frames, a video, a still image from the video clip, or otherwise obtaining a still representation or photograph. It should be appreciated that the images obtained by camera assembly 160 may vary in number, frequency, angle, resolution, detail, etc. in order to improve the clarity of the laundry article 122. In addition, according to exemplary embodiments, controller 156 may be configured for illuminating the folding surface 130 with a light source just prior to obtaining images.”, Column 9 lines 3-16, “Other suitable image recognition processes, neural network processes, artificial intelligence ("AI") analysis techniques, and combinations of the above described or other known methods may be used while remaining within the scope of the present subject matter. For example, according to still other exemplary embodiments, the machine learning image recognition process comprises at least one key point detection or feature extraction. In this regard, the trained model may extract relevant features, such as a classification of the garment type, an image segmentation for shape, and/or key point detection to understand relevant corners or portions of laundry article 122. Notably, all this information may be obtained and stored for use in the clothing recommendation model, as will be described below.”. The cited passages clearly show that the folding boards are fixed to the center board with hinges. Additionally, the cited passages show that the system can use an AI agent to determine they type of clothing based on images and determine the folding sequence.).
Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches a machine with a folding platform, comprising: a central board with one side coupled with a sidewall of the machine; and one folding board attached with each of three free sides of the central panel. Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby does not teach wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent. AlHaffar teaches wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent taught in AlHaffar. Furthermore, the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby teaches that the side boards are rotatably coupled to the central board and that the central board is rotatably coupled to the sidewall of the enclosure, but the specific type of connection is not specified, an teaches the use of an AI agent in identifying the type of clothing. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to simply substitute the connections of the boards of the folding device taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with known type of connection (i.e. hinges) taught in AlHaffar according to methods known in the art. Such a simple substitution of one known connection type for another would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the machine taught in Kim in view of Kwak in further view of Guinan in further view of Bixby with wherein the folding platform includes a central board with one side hinged with the one of the side panels and three other sides hinged with three side folding boards flipped over the central board in a sequence based on the type identified by the artificial intelligence agent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of a one known connection type for another.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658