DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/15/24.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 1 and 11, it appears that “N=Qn+1-1” should be “N=(Q^(n+1))-1”.
In regards to claims 1 and 11, it appears that “the current delivered” should be “a current delivered”.
Claims 2-10 an d 12-15 are objected to, based on their dependency of an objected to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et a. (US20170302195, hereinafter Ye).
Regarding Claim 1, Ye discloses a multilevel inverter for converting a direct current (DC) voltage into an alternate current (AC) voltage or an AC voltage into a DC voltage, including at least one phase (fig. 8, 9, 19 implemented with fig. 14), comprising: - a positive input terminal (A1), a negative input terminal (A4), and an output terminal for the at least one phase (A5, A51, A52, A53); - a set of capacitors (C11, (C12+C21), C22) including N capacitors connected in series between both input terminals and connected together through intermediate points (A2, A3), two extreme capacitors of the N capacitors being directly connected to one of the two input terminals, N being an integer so that N=Qn+1-1, Q being an integer equal or greater than two, and n being an integer equal or greater than one; - the inverter having N+1 levels, - a balancing device ( ¶126-130 and inductor when implemented with fig. 14) connected between both input terminals and the intermediate points, and configured to balance the voltage on the terminals of each of the capacitors of the set of capacitors regardless of the DC voltage and the current delivered on the positive and negative input terminals and regardless of the AC voltage and current delivered by the phase, for the output terminal (A5), a switching module (module of Q1-Q6) for switching the DC voltage and being able to convert the DC voltage on the positive and negative input terminals into the AC voltage on the output terminal , or for switching the AC voltage on the output terminal and being able to convert the AC voltage into the DC voltage on the positive and negative input terminals, each switching module comprising: input connections (A1-A4), each input connection being connected to one of the two input terminals or to one of the intermediate points, and supply lines (Q1; Q2-Q4-Q5; Q3-Q4-Q5; Q6), each supply lines connecting an input connection to the output terminal and comprising a plurality of switches connected together in series, characterized in that a set of switches (Q5-Q6) of the plurality of switches of a first supply line (Q2-Q4-Q5) connected to a first input connection (A2) is shared at least with a second supply line (Q3-Q4-Q5) connected to a second input connection (A3) so that a first current flowing from the first input connection to the respective output terminal (A5) and a second current flowing from the second input connection to the respective output terminal flow through the set of switches (Q4-Q5) of the plurality of switches.
Regarding Claim 2, Ye discloses (fig. 8, 9, 19)a command circuit configured for switching the switches of each switching module to minimize the voltage at the ends of each switch when the said switch is open (1901, ¶223-231).
Regarding Claim 9, Ye discloses (fig. 8, 9, 19) wherein Q is greater or equal than three (fig. 8), N+1 being further the number of input connections and the number of supply lines (fig. 8), switches of the switching module comprising unidirectional switches and bidirectional switches (switches of fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 10, Ye discloses (fig. 8, 9, 19 implemented with fig. 14) the balancing device comprises two switching modules and an inductor, each input connection of the two switching modules of the balancing device being connected to one of the two input terminals or to one of the intermediate points, the output terminal of each switching module of the balancing device being connected to an end of the inductor (¶179).
Regarding method claim 11, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose: “...wherein Q is equal to two, N+1 being further the number of input connections and the number of supply lines, each switching module comprising (N+1)*log(N+1)/log(2) switches, each supply lines comprising N switches..” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose: “...wherein Q is equal to two, N+1 being further the number of input connections and the number of supply lines, each switching module comprising log(N+1)/log(2)*(N+1) switches, each supply lines comprising N switches.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10277144, Soeiro; Thiago-Batista et al. discloses a four-level power converter.
US 11831233, Gazit; Meir et al. discloses a multilevel converter circuit and method with discrete voltage levels
US 20100328977, Asplund; Gunnar discloses a method for controlling a voltage source converter and a voltage converting apparatus
US 20150288284, LAVIEVILLE; Jean-Paul discloses a multi-level power converter.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838