DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 9731415 A2 to Raychem Limited (Raychem).
With regard to claim 1, Raychem discloses an end seal (Raychem, title, abstract) for a tubing bundle (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) comprising a canister (the collar 117 described at page 6, second paragraph is a cannister) having an opening at a first end (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above, the first end defines an opening) for the tubing bundle and a fitting plate (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) at a second end (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above, the fitting plate interfaces with the cannister at the second end), the fitting plate having at least one tube fitting (110 and as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) sized to form a seal with a tube carried by the tubing bundle (page 6, second paragraph).
With regard to claim 2, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the canister is tubular (as shown in the figures the cannister is the collar that has the shrink wrap sleeve attached to it).
With regard to claim 3, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the first end of the canister comprises a sleeve connector (the tubular portion of the canister provides the interface with the sleeve) having an outwardly protruding neck (the tapering portion of the cannister that receives the sleeve) forming the opening at the first end of the canister (as shown in annotated fig. 5 above).
With regard to claim 4, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the fitting plate is generally planar (shown in the figures) and is secured to the canister by screws (as described at page 26, first full paragraph, when the plate of Raychem is closed and bolted to the bulkhead the bolts are a type of screw and they effectively secure the plate closed around the tubing bundle).
With regard to claim 5, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the fitting plate is provided with openings, and wherein threaded fittings are held in the openings by nuts (as described at page 26, first full paragraph, when the plate of Raychem is closed and bolted to the bulkhead the bolts are a type of screw and they effectively secure the plate closed around the tubing bundle).
With regard to claim 6, Raychem discloses an end seal (Raychem, title, abstract) for a tubing bundle (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) comprising a canister (the collar 117 described at page 6, second paragraph is a cannister) having a sleeve connector (the tubular portion of the canister that provides the interface with the polymeric sleeve described below) at a first end, the sleeve connector having an outwardly protruding neck (the tapering portion of the cannister that receives the sleeve) forming an opening for the tubing bundle to enter the canister, and a polymeric sleeve (110 and as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) adhered to the protruding neck (page 6, second paragraph), the sleeve being shrinkable by the application of radiation to form a seal with the tubing bundle (claim 2. This claim limitation is considered a product by process limitation that does not further define the structure of the apparatus claimed as set forth in MPEP section 2113. Even so, the apparatus of Raychem includes holt melt adhesives or a thermoset polymer as demonstrated by claim 8).
With regard to claim 7, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 6 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the radiation is heat (claim 8).
With regard to claim 8, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 6 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sleeve comprises a heat-activated adhesive on its inner surface to adhere the sleeve to the neck and to the tubing bundle (claim 8).
With regard to claim 10, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 6 as set forth above, and further discloses comprising a fitting plate (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) at a second end of the canister, the fitting plate having at least one tube fitting sized to form a seal with a tube carried in the tubing bundle (in this configuration the gel material dispersed within the tubing bundle as described at page 3, first full paragraph “sealant material is provided which substantially blocks the interstices between the wires in the wiring bundle…”).
With regard to claim 11, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 10 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the fitting plate is secured to the second end of the canister with screws (as described at page 26, first full paragraph, when the plate of Raychem is closed and bolted to the bulkhead the bolts are a type of screw and they effectively secure the plate closed around the tubing bundle).
With regard to claim 12, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 11 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the canister comprises internal axially-extending ribs holding the screws (as shown in the figures the brackets are axially extending and allow the frame to be bolted to the bulkhead of the vehicle).
With regard to claim 13, Raychem discloses the end seal of claim 6 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the canister comprises external axially-extending cooling fins (311, fig. 10).
With regard to claim 14, Raychem discloses a method of assembling an end seal on a tubing bundle comprising at least one tube (“tubing bundle”, annotated fig. 5 above), the method comprising slipping a tubular canister (the collar 117 described at page 6, second paragraph is a cannister) onto an end of the tubing bundle (shown in the annotated fig. 5 above), the canister having a first open end and a second open end (shown with the tubing bundle extending through the open first and second ends of the canister), the second end of the canister facing the end of the tubing bundle (shown in annotated fig. 5 above), extending the tube from the tubing bundle through a fitting (shown in the figures) in a fitting plate (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above), and thereafter attaching the fitting plate to the canister and sealing the first end of the canister to the tubing bundle (page 6, first paragraph).
With regard to claim 15, Raychem discloses the method of claim 14 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the first end of the canister is sealed to the tubing bundle by a heat-shrinkable polymeric sleeve (page 6, first paragraph).
With regard to claim 16, Raychem discloses the method of claim 15 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sleeve is attached to the first end of the canister before the canister is slipped onto the tubing bundle (page 6, first paragraph).
With regard to claim 17, Raychem discloses an end seal kit (claim 39) adapted to be used with a plurality of tubing bundle sizes and a plurality of tubing bundle configurations (Raychem, page 1, first paragraph), the kit comprising a canister assembly comprising a tubular canister (as labeled in annotated fig. 5 above) sized to fit a largest tubing bundle of a range of sizes of tubing bundles (the device of Raychem is capable of performing the function of fitting a largest tubing bundle), a sleeve connector (the tubular portion of the canister that provides the interface with the polymeric sleeve described below) attached to a first end of the canister, and a heat shrinkable sleeve (as labeled in annotated fig. 4 above) attached to the sleeve connector, the sleeve having an expanded diameter sufficient to accept the largest tubing bundle of the range of sizes of tubing bundles (shown in annotated fig. 5 with the largest tubing bundle from a range shown) and having a shrink ratio of at least 3:1 (page 20, first full paragraph), and a fitting plate (annotated fig. 5 above) sized and configured to be sealed to a second end of the canister (page 6, second paragraph), the fitting plate comprising at least one sealable opening sized to accept a tube from the tubing bundle (shown in the figures and described at page 6, second paragraph).
With regard to claim 19, Raychem discloses the kit of claim 17 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sleeve has an adhesive on its inner surface (page 20, first full paragraph), the adhesive binding the sleeve to the sleeve adapter and forming a water-tight seal with the sleeve adapter (page 20).
With regard to claim 20, Raychem disclose the kit of claim 17 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the canister has axially-extending ribs (The brackets that interface with the bulkhead of the vehicle extend in an axial direction), the sleeve connector being attached to the canister by screws extending into the ribs (when bolted shut the frame encloses the tubing bundle), the fitting plate comprising screw holes (124/124/124) alignable with the ribs (shown in the annotated fig. 5 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9731415 A2 to Raychem Limited (Raychem).
With regard to claims 9 and 18, Raychem discloses the end seal of claims 6 and 17 respectively as set forth above, but fails to further disclose wherein the sleeve has a shrink ratio of at least 4:1.
Although the shrink ratio of the sleeve of Raychem has a shrink ration of 3:1, it is submitted that the greater contraction ability of the claimed sleeve is not a distinction from that disclosed by Raychem since there is nothing in the specification that makes the claim limitation critical (see specification 0036 “…heat shrink ratios of 3:1 or greater will accommodate a wide range of tubing bundle sizes. Ratios of 4:1 are preferred…”). There is nothing to indicate the claimed element creates a functionally distinct seal from that provided by a sleeve with a shrink ratio of 3:1. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make at least one end seal using all of the commercially available shrink wrap materials including ones with a shrink ratio of 4:1 to test for suitability for use in the field of intended use and to better understand potential supply sources for the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are of potential relevance: USPNs 2007/0143956, 2004/0080119, 2014/0373959, 5473718, 6978825 and 11137089.
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753