DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gulati (US 2020/0033442).
Claim 1: Gulati discloses A node, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination (para 0007, 0090, 0168, 0173) configured to:
transmit or receive, via the one or more transceivers, a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018), wherein the FMCW waveform configuration indicates:
a first slope of a first frequency change from a first frequency to a second frequency (para 0013, 0014, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
a second slope of a second frequency change from the second frequency to a third frequency (para 0014, 0015, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
transmit or receive, via the one or more transceivers, an FMCW waveform based on the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018)
Claim 2: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration comprises a first parameter indicating a first real number corresponding to the first slope and a second parameter indicating a second real number corresponding to the second slope (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 3: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates that the first frequency change and the second frequency change occur during different time segments (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 4: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates that the second frequency is held constant during a time segment from the first frequency change to the second frequency change (para 0106-0111 “chirp duration”)
Claim 5: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates one or more time segments (para 0106-0111 “chirp duration”)
Claim 6: Gulati discloses a start time of each time segment of the one or more time segments, an end time of each time segment of the one or more time segments, or any combination thereof is aligned with: an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol boundary; an OFDM slot boundary; or any combination thereof (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 7: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates: a start time of each time segment of the one or more time segments; an end time of each time segment of the one or more time segments; a duration of each time segment of the one or more time segments; the first frequency; the second frequency; the third frequency; or any combination thereof (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 8: Gulati discloses the one or more time segments comprise: a first time segment, before the first frequency change occurs, during which the FMCW waveform has the first frequency; a second time segment, in which the first frequency change from the first frequency to the second frequency occurs; a third time segment, after the first frequency change occurs and before the second frequency change occurs, during which the FMCW waveform has the second frequency; a fourth time segment, in which the second frequency change from the second frequency to the third frequency occurs; a fifth time segment, after the second frequency change occurs, during which the FMCW waveform has the third frequency; or any combination thereof (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 9: Gulati discloses the first time segment of the FMCW waveform is used for automatic gain control adjustment, radio frequency retuning, or any combination thereof (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 10: Gulati discloses the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to retune a radio frequency chain of the node during the third time segment (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 11: Gulati discloses a duration of the third time segment is greater than a retuning gap, of the node, for switching from the first slope to the second slope (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 12: Gulati discloses the third time segment, the fifth time segment, or any combination thereof, are used for: phase noise (PN) correction; channel estimation; tracking of time offset; frequency offset; radio frequency retuning; or any combination thereof (para 0070, 0071, 0087-0089, 0106-0111)
Claim 13: Gulati discloses the first frequency, the second frequency, and the third frequency are each within a sub-band of a bandwidth part (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 14: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform is received in a first frequency range comprising the first frequency, the second frequency, and the third frequency (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 15: Gulati discloses one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration of a plurality of frequency ranges, wherein the FMCW waveform configuration is associated with each of the plurality of frequency ranges (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 16: Gulati discloses each of the plurality of frequency ranges is: a sub-band of an active bandwidth part; a virtual carrier associated with flexible spectrum integration (FSI); a carrier associated with carrier aggregation (CA); a carrier group associated with dual connectivity (DC); or any combination thereof (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 17: Gulati discloses the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to sweep the plurality of frequency ranges to receive one or more FMCW waveforms based on the configuration of the plurality of frequency ranges (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 18: Gulati discloses the configuration of the plurality of frequency ranges indicates to sweep the plurality of frequency ranges to receive one or more FMCW waveforms based on the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0106-0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 19: Gulati discloses the configuration of the plurality of frequency ranges is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control control element (MAC CE), or a downlink control information (DCI). (para 0081)
Claim 20: Gulati discloses the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to receive, via the one or more transceivers, two or more FMCW waveforms based on the FMCW waveform configuration, wherein: the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to receive, via the one or more transceivers, the FMCW waveform in a first frequency range; and the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to receive, via the one or more transceivers, a second FMCW waveform in a second frequency range, simultaneous to receiving the FMCW waveform in the first frequency range (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0106-0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 21: Gulati discloses the two or more FMCW waveforms further comprise: a third FMCW waveform in a third frequency range, received after receiving the FMCW waveform and the second FMCW waveform; and a fourth FMCW waveform in a fourth frequency range, received simultaneous to the third FMCW waveform (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0106-0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 22: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform is received with a single radio frequency chain, a single voltage controlled oscillator (VCO), a single phase-locked loop (PLL), or any combination thereof (fig 4, fig 15 element 1513)
Claim 23: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform is received based on application of a matched filter to the received FMCW waveform based on the FMCW waveform configuration, the first slope, the second slope, or any combination thereof (para 0088, 0131, 0132)
Claim 24: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates a cell, and the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to detect a presence of the cell based on receiving the FMCW waveform having the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0061, 0063, 0074)
Claim 25: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform is multiplexed with one or more of, a control signal, data, a reference signal, or any combination thereof (para 0087)
Claim 26: Gulati discloses A method of wireless communication performed by a node comprising:
transmitting or receiving a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform configuration, (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018), wherein the FMCW waveform configuration indicates:
a first slope of a first frequency change from a first frequency to a second frequency (para 0013, 0014, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
a second slope of a second frequency change from the second frequency to a third frequency (para 0014, 0015, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
transmit or receive an FMCW waveform based on the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018)
Claim 27: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration comprises a first parameter indicating a first real number corresponding to the first slope and a second parameter indicating a second real number corresponding to the second slope (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 28: Gulati discloses the FMCW waveform configuration indicates that the first frequency change and the second frequency change occur during different time segments (para 0012, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10)
Claim 29: Gulati discloses A node, comprising: means for transmitting or receiving a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018), wherein the FMCW waveform configuration indicates:
a first slope of a first frequency change from a first frequency to a second frequency (para 0013, 0014, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
a second slope of a second frequency change from the second frequency to a third frequency (para 0014, 0015, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
transmit or receive an FMCW waveform based on the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018)
Claim 30: Gulati discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions (para 0009) that, when executed by a node, cause the node to:
transmit or receive a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018), wherein the FMCW waveform configuration indicates:
a first slope of a first frequency change from a first frequency to a second frequency (para 0013, 0014, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
a second slope of a second frequency change from the second frequency to a third frequency (para 0014, 0015, 0017, 0018, 0075, 0091, 0111, 0121, 0122, fig 7A, 7B, 10); and
transmit or receive an FMCW waveform based on the FMCW waveform configuration (para 0005-0007, 0013-0018)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648