Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by ZHENG et al. (Patent NO. CN 220873669 (U); hereinafter Zheng; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng teaches a formation capacity-grading apparatus (See Fig. 1-Fig. 6 and Fig. below), comprising:
a probe assembly (See [0010]-[0011]) comprising
a plurality of probe sets (sets 50 and 60 in Fig. 3; See [0059]),
wherein the plurality of probe sets are detachably connected (probes can be connected detachably on 40; See [0060]) and are configured to form and grade a capacity of a battery (See [0060], [0063]);
a support apparatus (support apparatus 10 in Fig. 1; See [0072]) located on one side of the probe assembly and configured to support the probe assembly and replace the plurality of probe sets (10 supports 40/41/42 to make flexible connection of probes 50 and 60; See [0072], [0080], [0091]-[0094]); and
a pressing platform (20 in Fig. 1; See [0061]), wherein a height of the pressing platform is adjustable in a direction the probe assembly points towards the support apparatus (height of 20 is adjusted; See [0061], [0066], [0070], [0080]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the support apparatus comprises a first moving assembly (533, 42 and 421; See [0094]-[0096]), the first moving assembly comprises: an adjustment assembly (533; See [0095]-0096]), a connecting portion (42; See [0096]), and a plurality of second telescopic apparatuses (421; See [0095]-0096]), wherein one end of the connecting portion is connected to the adjustment assembly (42 and 533 are connected to each other in Fig. 5; See [0094]-[0096]), two ends of the connecting portion in a preset direction are respectively connected to ends of the second telescopic apparatuses (two ends of 42 are connected to 421 in Fig. 5; See [0094]-[0096]), another ends of the second telescopic apparatuses point towards the probe assembly (end of 533 is connected to probe assembly 50 in Fig. 4), the adjustment assembly is configured to drive the connecting portion to make the second telescopic apparatus telescopic, and the preset direction is a length direction of the probe assembly (533 is connected to drive 30 to drive all components to preset direction; See [0061], [0066], [0070], [0080]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising at least one probe module connected to the probe assembly (one probe module 50 in connected to probe assembly in Fig. 1), wherein the probe sets are distributed in a row (probes 50 are in a row in Fig. 4) along the preset direction in the probe module (30 drive probes 50, 60 to preset direction; See [0061], [0066], [0070], [0080]), one end of the probe module in the preset direction is connected to the probe assembly through a buckle structure (buckle structure 531; See [0095]), and the adjustment assembly is further configured to open the buckle structure (See [0095]-[0096]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the support apparatus further comprises a second moving assembly (41, 43, 61, 46; See [0099]), the second moving assembly comprises: a plurality of fixing assemblies 61, 41; See [0099](), a first guide rail (43; See [0099]), and a plurality of rotatable assemblies (46; See [0099]-[0100]), the fixing assemblies are movably arranged on the first guide rail, the fixing assemblies are connected to the rotatable assemblies, the rotatable assemblies are in one-to-one correspondence to the fixing assemblies (al components are connected to each other; See [0099]-[0100]);
wherein the support apparatus further comprises a first substrate (first substrate 51 in Fig. 5) and a second substrate (second substrate 53 in Fig. 5), the first substrate is located on one side of the first guide rail and is configured to fix the first guide rail (51 is connected to first guide rail 43 in Fig. 5), two ends of the first substrate in the preset direction are connected to the rotatable assemblies (See [0106]-[0110]);
the second substrate is located on a side of the first guide rail away from the first substrate (second substrate 53 is located away from 51 to 43 in Fig. 5), and two ends of the second substrate in the preset direction are connected to the rotatable assemblies (See [0106]-[0110]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 4, wherein each rotatable assembly (43; See [0108]) comprises a first moving portion (413; See [0108]) and a second moving portion (414; See [0108]), one end of the first moving portion is connected to an end of the first substrate in the preset direction (See [0108]), another end of the first moving portion is connected to a center-of-gravity position of the second moving portion, one end of the second moving portion is connected to the fixing assemblies (See [0106]-[0108]), and another end of the second moving portion is connected to an end of the second substrate in the preset direction (See [0106]-[0108]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the support apparatus further comprises a plurality of limiting structures (64, 45; See [0099]-[0100]), a second guide rail (46; See [0099]), and a support assembly (41; See [0099]), the limiting structures are respectively located on the second substrate and at two ends of the second guide rail (64, 45 are located on second substrate 53 with 46; See [0099]-[0100]), the limiting structures are configured to limit the support assembly, and the support assembly is located on the second guide rail (See [0100]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first guide rail is arranged on the first substrate (first guide rail 43 is on first substrate 51 in Fig. 5), the fixing assemblies are screw nuts sleeved on the connecting portion (See [0082], [0113]), and are connected to the first guide rail, the fixing assemblies slides on the first guide rail and drives the rotatable assemblies to move left and right during the sliding (See [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first moving portion (413; See [0108]) and the second moving portion (414; See [0108]) are connected through a combination of a rotation pin and a bearing (See [0109]), and the rotatable assemblies and the second substrate cooperatively support the probe assembly (See [0109]-[0110]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the limiting structure (64, 45; See [0099]-[0100]) comprises a first limiting block (64; See [0099]-[0100]) and a second limiting block (45; See [0099]-[0100]) that are located at two ends of the second guide rail (46; See [0099]), respectively, when the support assembly slides on the second guide rail, the first limiting block and the second limiting block limit the support assembly and prevent the support assembly from detaching from the second guide rail (See [0099]-[0108]]).
Regarding Claim 13, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the support apparatus further comprises a positioning assembly (40; See [0117]), a surface of the pressing platform (surface of 90; See [0117]-[0118]) comprises a ferromagnetic material positioning region (it in inherent property of ferromagnetic material for suction vapor; See [0116]-[0119]), and the positioning assembly is magnetically fixed to the positioning region (See [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the probe module has two fixed regions at two ends thereof (probe module 50 has two fixed region 54 in Fig. 4; See [0094]), one fixed region is connected to the probe assembly through a buckle structure (buckle structure 51, 53 in fig. 4-Fig. 5; See [0094]-[0100]), and the buckle structure comprises a buckle and a hole in the fixed region (buckle 51 and hole where 53 is inserted to 51 in Fig. 5; See [0094]-[0106]).
Regarding Claim 15, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 7, wherein each probe set is configured to detect a battery (See [0121]), one of the two probes is configured to detect a positive electrode of the battery (See [0010]-[0011]), and another of the two probes is configured to detect a negative electrode of the battery (See [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding Claim 18, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a power apparatus (See [0063]), wherein the power apparatus includes a cylinder (cylinder body; See [0081]) and a guide post guide sleeve (guide post is piston rod; See [0081]) that are provided between the pressing platform and the probe assembly (See [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Lee et al. (Pub NO. US 2024/0097289 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 7, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the probe sets comprises two probes (See [0064]), each probe has a current probe (See [0056]) to detect battery (See [0121]).
Zheng is silent about a voltage probe, the current probe comprises a current sampling line and a first voltage sampling line, the voltage probe is configured to detect a voltage of the battery, the current sampling line is configured to detect a current of the battery, and the first voltage sampling line is configured to detect a tab voltage.
Lee teaches a voltage probe (332 in Fig. 8), the current probe (current probe 145 in Fig. 4; See [0032], [0086], [0105]) comprises a current sampling line and a first voltage sampling line (See the current and voltage sampling lines of 144 in Fig. 4; See [0022], [0086]), the voltage probe is configured to detect a voltage of the battery (See [0022]), the current sampling line is configured to detect a current of the battery (See [0032]), and the first voltage sampling line is configured to detect a tab voltage of the battery (See [0029]-[0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using a voltage probe, the current probe comprises a current sampling line and a first voltage sampling line, the voltage probe is configured to detect a voltage of the battery, the current sampling line is configured to detect a current of the battery, and the first voltage sampling line is configured to detect a tab voltage, as taught by Lee in order for achieving a battery module having a cell-unit monitoring structure and a monitoring system (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zheng in view of Lee teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 7. Zheng further teaches a plurality of power detection modules electrically connected to the probe sets (See [0063]-[0064]), wherein the power detection modules are in one-to-one correspondence to the probe sets (See [0063]).
Zheng is silent about further comprising first voltage sampling lines, the current sampling lines, and the voltage probes of the probe sets.
Lee teaches a voltage probe (145 in Fig. 4; See [0029]-[0032], [0086]), the current probe (145 in Fig. 4; See [0032]) comprises first voltage sampling lines, the current sampling lines, and the voltage probes of the probe sets (sampling lines of 144 detects voltage of battery 140 in Fig. 4; See [0029]-[0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using first voltage sampling lines, the current sampling lines, and the voltage probes of the probe sets, as taught by Lee in order for achieving a battery module having a cell-unit monitoring structure and a monitoring system (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 16, Zheng in view of Dove teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 7. Lee teaches wherein a second voltage sampling line is led out from the voltage probe and is configured to detect a real voltage of the battery (sampling lines144 is led out from the voltage probe 145 and is configured to detect a real voltage of the battery 140 in Fig. 4; See [0029]-[0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using a second voltage sampling line is led out from the voltage probe and is configured to detect a real voltage of the battery, as taught by Lee in order for achieving a battery module having a cell-unit monitoring structure and a monitoring system (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 19, Zheng teaches a probe set detection method applied to the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 1. Zheng is silent about the method comprising: an acquisition step: acquiring a contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery; a determination step: determining whether the contact resistance value is less than or equal to a resistance threshold; sending an early warning signal when it is determined that the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold, wherein the early warning signal is used to represent that the probe set is abnormal; and repeating the acquisition step and the determination step at least once after a preset period of time when it is determined that the contact resistance value is less than or equal to the resistance threshold until the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold.
Lee teaches regarding battery monitoring (See abstract) the method comprising: an acquisition step (See the steps in Fig. 6):
acquiring a contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery (step $110 and $120 for acquiring and inspection resistance value in Fig. 6; See [0098]-[0105]);
a determination step: determining whether the contact resistance value is less than or equal to a resistance threshold (See step $124 to $122, $126 in Fig. 6; See [0098]-[0105]);
sending an early warning signal when it is determined that the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold (at step $124 to $122, $126 going to $130 in Fig. 6),
wherein the early warning signal is used to represent that the probe set is abnormal (step $130 and $140 in Fig. 6; See [0098]-[0105]); and
repeating the acquisition step and the determination step at least once after a preset period of time when it is determined that the contact resistance value is less than or equal to the resistance threshold until the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold (repeating the step $124 to $122, $126 until it is determined in Fig. 6; See [0098]-[0105]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using an acquisition step: acquiring a contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery; a determination step: determining whether the contact resistance value is less than or equal to a resistance threshold; sending an early warning signal when it is determined that the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold, wherein the early warning signal is used to represent that the probe set is abnormal; and repeating the acquisition step and the determination step at least once after a preset period of time when it is determined that the contact resistance value is less than or equal to the resistance threshold until the contact resistance value is greater than the resistance threshold, as taught by Lee in order for achieving a battery module having a cell-unit monitoring structure and a monitoring system (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 20, Zheng in view of Lee teaches the method according to claim 19. Zheng further teaches wherein a battery detection module of the formation capacity-grading apparatus is electrically connected to probe of a probe set of the formation capacity-grading apparatus.
Zheng is silent about probe is electrically connected to a first voltage sampling line, a current sampling line, and a voltage probe; and acquiring the contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery comprises: acquiring a voltage and a current of a battery and a tab voltage of the battery that are detected by the probe set, wherein the tab voltage is collected by the battery detection module through the first voltage sampling line; obtaining a contact voltage between the probe and the battery according to the voltage and the tab voltage of the battery; and obtaining a contact resistance between the probe and the battery according to the contact voltage and the current.
Lee teaches regarding battery monitoring (See abstract) probe is electrically connected to a first voltage sampling line, a current sampling line, and a voltage probe (See the voltage sampling line, current sampling line 144 and probe 145 in Fig. 4; See [0086]); and acquiring the contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery comprises: acquiring a voltage and a current of a battery and a tab voltage of the battery that are detected by the probe set (See [0032], [0072], [0073]), wherein the tab voltage is collected by the battery detection module through the first voltage sampling line (See [0072], [0073]); obtaining a contact voltage between the probe and the battery according to the voltage and the tab voltage of the battery (See [0090]-[0091]); and obtaining a contact resistance between the probe and the battery according to the contact voltage and the current (See [0032], [0090]-[0091]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using the probe being electrically connected to a first voltage sampling line, a current sampling line, and a voltage probe; and acquiring the contact resistance value between the probe of the formation capacity-grading apparatus and the battery comprises: acquiring a voltage and a current of a battery and a tab voltage of the battery that are detected by the probe set, wherein the tab voltage is collected by the battery detection module through the first voltage sampling line; obtaining a contact voltage between the probe and the battery according to the voltage and the tab voltage of the battery; and obtaining a contact resistance between the probe and the battery according to the contact voltage and the current, as taught by Lee in order for achieving a battery module having a cell-unit monitoring structure and a monitoring system (Lee; [0002]).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Lee further in view of Dove et al. (Patent NO. US 5,736,838; hereinafter Dove).
Regarding Claim 17, Zheng in view of Lee teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 16. Zheng further teaches the detection module is connected to the probe sets (detection module 80 is connected to probe sets 50, 60; See [0089]-[0090]).
Zheng in view of Lee is silent about wherein the first voltage sampling line, the second voltage sampling line, the current sampling line, and the power detection module are integrated into a detection module.
Dove teaches wherein the first voltage sampling line, the second voltage sampling line, the current sampling line, and the power detection module are integrated into a detection module (all sampling lines and modules are integrated into detection module 306 in Fig. 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng and Lee by using the first voltage sampling line, the second voltage sampling line, the current sampling line, and the power detection module are integrated into a detection module, as taught by Dove in order to determine power factor (Dove; Col. 19, Lines 60-65).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Shi et al. (Pub NO. US 2023/0120241 A1; hereinafter Shi).
Regarding Claim 9, Zheng teaches the formation capacity-grading apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment assembly comprises the coupling drives the connecting portion to drive the second telescopic apparatus (coupling drive 30; See [0067]), so as to lift or lower the support apparatus (30 lifts the support 20; See [0066]-[0067]).
Zheng is silent about a coupling and a handwheel, by rotating the handwheel.
Shi teaches a coupling and a handwheel, by rotating the handwheel (See [0040], [0085]).
Therefore it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Zheng by using a coupling and a handwheel, by rotating the handwheel, as taught by Shi in order for achieving synchronous adjustment of distance and angle (Shi; [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henrici et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0054518 A1) discloses Sensor for Battery Cell.
Hopfner et al. (Patent NO. US 3,997,831) discloses Battery Checker.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858