DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 27, “positioning and the protruding member” should read “positioning the protruding member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-5,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim(KR0122426Y1).
[claim 1] Lim teaches a compressor fixing device, comprising: a base(11); a protruding member(21) protruding from an upper surface of the base, longitudinally extending in a first direction(vertical direction), and having a concave portion(24) that is recessed inwardly; a buffering member(22); a support panel(41) having a through hole(receiving 21,22 in fig 4); and a clip member(30) including: a first region(32) in which a recess is formed as a fixing groove(34) that longitudinally extends in a second direction(horizontal direction), a second region(31) facing the first region and in which a fixing hole(33) is formed, and a third region(vertical leg joining 31 to 32 in fig 4) connecting the first region and the second region, wherein the clip member and the protruding member are configured such that the clip member is couplable to the protruding member by positioning the clip member such that the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the fixing groove is aligned with the concave portion(fig 3,4), and, with the clip member positioned such that the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the fixing groove is aligned with the concave portion, moving the clip member in the second direction such that the concave portion becomes fitted in the fixing groove, and the base, the protruding member, the buffering member, the support panel, and the clip member are configured to be assembled together to fix a compressor to a product and such that, when assembled together and fixing the compressor to the product(fig 4), the support panel is connected to the compressor, the protruding member penetrates the buffering member so as to be surrounded by the buffering member, a top of the protruding member and a top of the buffering member penetrate the through hole so that the buffering member is secured to the through hole, the clip member is coupled to the protruding member such that the top of the protruding member is inserted into the fixing groove and penetrates the fixing hole, the concave portion is fitted into the fixing groove, and a lower surface of the first region is in contact with the buffering member, and the base is secured to the product, so that the compressor is thereby fixed to the product(as seen in figure 4).
[claim 3] wherein the third region is connected to one end of the first region and one end of the second region, and the clip member has a U-shape in which the first region, the third region and the second region are sequentially connected(as seen in figure 4).
[claim 4] wherein the second region has a first end connected to the third region, and a second end that is opposite to the first end and is bent away from the first region(as seen in figure 4).
[claim 5] wherein the top of the protruding member has a cross-sectional region that decreases in an upward direction at a position corresponding to the second end of the second region(top of protruding member at 23).
[claim 7] wherein the buffering member has a cylindrical shape and has a hollow through the cylindrical shape, and the protruding member penetrates the buffering member through the hollow(fig 4).
[claim 8] wherein, when the base, the protruding member, the buffering member, the support panel, and the clip member are assembled together, the top of the protruding member protrudes past an upper portion of the buffering member(fig 4).
[claim 9] wherein the buffering member is made of an elastic material(fig 4).
[claim 10] wherein the buffering member includes a recess(engaging 41 in figure 4) formed along a perimeter of the buffering member, and when the base, the protruding member, the buffering member, the support panel, and the clip member are assembled together, the recess of the buffering member is secured to the through hole(fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim(KR0122426Y1) in view of Lokhande et al.(US10408526).
[claim 11] Lim teaches an appliance comprising: a compressor(12); and a compressor fixing device including: a base(11), a buffering member(22), a protruding member(21) protruding from an upper surface of the base(fig 4) so as to longitudinally extend in a vertical direction, and penetrating the buffering member so as to be surrounded by the buffering member, wherein the protruding member has a concave portion(24) that is recessed inwardly, a support panel(41) connected to the compressor and having a through hole(receiving 21 and 22 in figure 4), and a clip member(30) including a first region(32) in which a recess is formed as a fixing groove(34) that longitudinally extends in a horizontal direction, a second region(31) facing the first region and in which a fixing hole(33) is formed, and a third region(vertical leg joining 31 to 32 seen in figure 4) connecting the first region and the second region, wherein a top of the protruding member and a top of the buffering member penetrate the through hole such that the buffering member is secured to the through hole(fig 4), and the clip member is coupled to the protruding member such that the top of the protruding member is inserted into the fixing groove and penetrates the fixing hole, the concave portion is fitted into the fixing groove, and a lower surface of the first region is in contact with the buffering member(as seen in figure 4), wherein the clip member and the protruding member are configured such that the clip member is couplable to the protruding member by positioning the protruding member such that the protruding member longitudinally extends in the vertical direction, the fixing groove longitudinally extends in the horizontal direction, and the fixing groove is aligned with the concave portion, and, with the protruding member longitudinally extending in the vertical direction, the fixing groove longitudinally extending in the horizontal direction, and the fixing groove aligned with the concave portion, moving the clip member in the horizontal direction such that the concave portion becomes fitted in the fixing groove(fig 4). Lim however may not teach that the appliance is a dishwasher. Lokhande teaches a similar appliance with a compressor, and further teaches that compressors can be used in refrigerators and dishwashers(C2 L44-49). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the compressor and compressor fixing device of Lim in a dishwasher, as Lokhande teaches dishwashers use compressors, and this would provide a means for mounting a compressor in a dishwasher.
[claim 13] wherein the third region is connected to one end of the first region and one end of the second region, and the clip member has a U-shape in which the first region, the third region and the second region are sequentially connected(as seen in figure 4).
[claim 14] wherein the second region has a first end connected to the third region, and a second end that is opposite to the first end and is bent away from the first region(as seen in figure 4).
[claim 15] wherein the top of the protruding member has a cross-sectional region that decreases in an upward direction at a position corresponding to the second end of the second region(top of protruding member at 23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-5,7-11 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632