DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, claims 1-4 and 8-10 in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/22/2026.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a first connection apparatus”, “a second connection apparatus” and “a target angle” in claim 1;
“a first target area” and “a second target area” in claim 3.
“wherein: in response to the electronic device being in the first device attitude… a contact position between the second body and the carrier surface” in claim 3.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “…the target member is in a first state… the target member is in a second state…”, which should have been “... the target member is in the first state… the target member is in the second state…”
Claim 4 recites “a second device attitude”, which should have been “the second device attitude” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first connection apparatus”, “a second connection apparatus” and “a target member” in claims 1-4 and 8-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 (112f invoked) recites “a first connection apparatus” and “a second connection apparatus”. However, the specification nor the drawing support enough structure to provide the function of providing a first damping force and a second damping force. While specification does mention “elastic piece damping shaft assemblies” can be used, this is just another generic placeholder without specifying the exact structure. Since neither the specification nor the drawing provide the exact structure of the first connection apparatus and the second connection apparatus, these terms fail to comply with the written description.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 depends on claim 1.
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “satisfies a target angle”. This is unclear since it’s not a common term in the art. It is also unclear regarding “wherein: in response to the electronic device being in a first device attitude, the third body relative to a plane formed by the first body and the second body satisfies a target angle, and the target member is in a first state”. Examiner will interpret that target angle is defined by an angle formed between the third body relative to a plane formed by the first body and the second body.
Claim 1 further recites “in response to the electronic device being in a second device attitude, a plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body satisfies the target angle, and the target member is in a second state and is configured to be used to support the second device attitude.” However, this limitation change the definition of the target angle to be defined by an angle formed between a plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body. This is confusing, are there two target angles? If so, applicant should clearly define a first target angle and a second target angle.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 depends on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “wherein: in response to the electronic device being in the second device attitude, the target angle is an angle formed by the display area of the display”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the display area”. This should have been “a display area”. Furthermore, it’s unclear what is an angle formed by a display area. Angle should be measured between two surfaces, but only a display area is given in this limitation. Furthermore, didn’t claim 1 already defined that second device attitude means “a plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body”? Thus, it’s unclear what this limitation is claiming.
Furthermore, Claim 2 also recites “…and in response to the electronic device being in the second device attitude, the target angle is an angle formed by the display area of the display assembly with the input surface of the first body”. Firstly, applicant already mentioned “in response to the electronic device being in the second device attitude” in the earlier limitation, so this is repeating and confusing. Secondly, angle should be formed between two surfaces. It’s unclear what applicant meant by “with”. Thirdly, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the input surface”.
Since claim 2 have too many indefinite issues. It cannot be examined at this time.
Claim 8 recites “the target member expands relative to the second body”. Based on the specification and drawing. The target member 5 do not “expand” relative to the second body 2, rather, one end of the target member 5 moves away from the second body 2. This is shown in Fig. 11. Since the target member do not actually “expands relative” to the second body, the limitation is indefinite. Further clarification is required.
Claims 9-10 depends on claim 8.
Claim 9 recites “the target member and the second body are closed and connected”. However, claim 8 clearly mentioned the target member “expands” or in other word “one end of the target member moves away”. Thus, claim 9 is contradicting with claim 8. Based on the specification, examiner will assume the limitation is “wherein: in response to the target member being in the first state, the target member and the second body are closed and connected.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2025/0076930).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Zhang discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a first body (200);
a second body (120) connected to the first body via a first connection apparatus (400), the first connection apparatus providing a first damping force for a rotation of the first body relative to the second body (not explicit, but inherent in order to provide different steady viewing angle of 130);
a third body (110) connected to the second body via a second connection apparatus (140), the second connection apparatus providing a second damping force for a rotation of the third body relative to the second body (not explicit, but inherent in order to provide different viewing angle of 130);
a display assembly (130) connected to the second body and the third body; and
a target member (300) having a first state (Fig. 2) and a second state (Figs. 7-8) different from the first state;
wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in a first device attitude (Fig. 2), the third body relative to a plane formed by the first body and the second body satisfies a target angle, and the target member is in the first state (as shown in Figs. 1-2);
in response to the electronic device being in a second device attitude (Figs. 7-8), a plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body satisfies the target angle, and the target member is in the second state and is configured to be used to support the second device attitude (as shown in Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the electronic device to claim 1, and Zhang further discloses wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in the first device attitude, a first target area is formed by a contact position between the first body and a carrier surface and a contact position between the second body and the carrier surface (as shown in Figs. 1-2); and
in response the electronic device being in the second device attitude, a second target area is formed by a contact position between the target member in a second state and the carrier surface and a contact position between the first body and the carrier surface (as shown in Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the electronic device according to claim 3, and Zhang further discloses wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in the second device attitude, when the target angle of the plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body is larger, the second target area is larger (self-explanatory from Figs. 7-8 by rotating 300 at different angle).
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, Zhang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, and Zhang further discloses wherein:
the target member is connected to the second body (as shown in Figs. 5-8);
in response to the target member being in the first state, the target member contacts the second body (see Figs. 1-4 and 10-11); and
in response to the target member being in the second state, the target member expands relative to the second body (see Figs. 5-8 where one end of 300 moves away from the second body 120).
Regarding claim 9 as best understood, Zhang discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, and Zhang further discloses wherein: in response to the target member being in the first state, the target member and the second body are closed and connected (see Figs. 1-4 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, and Zhang further discloses wherein an expanded angle between the target member and the second body is linked with the target angle of the second device attitude (as shown in Figs. 7-8).
Claims 1, 3-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Collins et al. (US 2020/0371563; hereinafter “Collins”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Collins discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-22) comprising:
a first body (118);
a second body (104+112) connected to the first body via a first connection apparatus (116, 152), the first connection apparatus providing a first damping force ([0034]: “…friction hinge…”) for a rotation of the first body relative to the second body;
a third body (102) connected to the second body via a second connection apparatus (110, 150), the second connection apparatus providing a second damping force ([0034]: “…friction hinge…”) for a rotation of the third body relative to the second body;
a display assembly (106+108) connected to the second body and the third body; and
a target member (120, 120a) having a first state (120 shown in Figs. 2-6) and a second state (120a shown in Fig. 17) different from the first state;
wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in a first device attitude (position of Figs. 2-6), the third body relative to a plane formed by the first body and the second body satisfies a target angle, and the target member is in the first state (Figs. 2-6);
in response to the electronic device being in a second device attitude (Fig. 11-13), a plane formed by the third body and the second body (102+104 in a plane in Figs. 11-13) relative to the first body satisfies the target angle, and the target member is in the second state and is configured to be used to support the second device attitude (note 102+104 in a plane from Figs. 11-13, 16 can have 120a rotate and support as shown in Fig. 17; [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Collins discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in the first device attitude, a first target area is formed by a contact position between the first body and a carrier surface and a contact position between the second body and the carrier surface (as shown in Figs. 2-6); and
in response the electronic device being in the second device attitude, a second target area is formed by a contact position between the target member in a second state and the carrier surface and a contact position between the first body and the carrier surface (as shown in Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Collins discloses the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein:
in response to the electronic device being in the second device attitude, when the target angle of the plane formed by the third body and the second body relative to the first body is larger, the second target area is larger (note again that 102+104 in a plane from Figs. 12, 13, 16 can have 120a rotate at different angle and support as shown in Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, Collins discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, and Collins further discloses wherein:
the target member is connected to the second body (as shown in Figs. 2-5);
in response to the target member being in the first state, the target member contacts the second body (as shown in Figs. 2-5); and
in response to the target member being in the second state, the target member expands relative to the second body (as shown in Figs. 11-13; note again 102+104 in a plane from Figs. 11-13, 16 can have 120a rotate and support as shown in Fig. 17; [0093]).
Regarding claim 9 as best understood, Collins discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, and Collins further discloses wherein: in response to the target member being in the first state, the target member and the second body are closed and connected (see Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 10, Collins discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, and Collins further discloses wherein an expanded angle between the target member and the second body is linked with the target angle of the second device attitude (as shown in Figs. In Figs. 11-13, 16; note again 102+104 in a plane from Figs. 11-13, 16 can have 120a rotate and support as shown in Fig. 17; [0093]).
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841