Detailed Action
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “several” in claim 20 is an ambiguous term which renders the claim indefinite. The word “several” can mean “more than one,” yet it can also mean “more than two but fewer than many.” See Several, adj., definition 2, Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/several. Consequently, both the lower and upper bounds of the word are unclear: it is unclear whether the minimum is two (definition 2a) or three (definition 2b), and if it’s three, then the maximum is unclear, since definition 2b says that the upper limit is “fewer than many”—another undefined quantity.
Since neither the claim nor the specification standard for ascertaining the requisite number of sensors, and since one of ordinary skill in the art familiar with the plain meaning of the word “several” would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention, claim 20 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
I. Gilman discloses at least claims 1–6, 10–15, and 18
Claims 1–6, 10–15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0026098 A1 (“Gilman”).
Claim 1
Gilman discloses:
An in-vehicle infotainment system, comprising a processor and a memory,
“FIG. 6 illustrates an example electronic device 600 in which the embodiments may be implemented. The electronic device 600 can include a processor 620 [and] memory 604.” Gilman ¶ 55. As shown throughout the figures (labeled as devices 100, 150, 200, 300, or 400, for example), the electronic device is a standard sized mobile device (i.e., a “smart phone” handset), see Gilman ¶¶ 2, 4, 22, and is thus usable within a vehicle as described in claim 1. The electronic device is not only usable within a vehicle, but also, usable with an “automobile” to control certain functions thereof. See Gilman ¶ 43. In addition to controlling automobile functions, the electronic device also provides multimedia functions (Gilman ¶ 39), location services (Gilman ¶ 40), and social media updates (Gilman ¶ 41)—all of which falls under the broadly claimed category of “infotainment.”
Gilman’s electronic device falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “in-vehicle infotainment system” because claim 1 does not yet require the prior art to a vehicle per se, nor does claim 1 require a system that is somehow mounted or integral with a vehicle.
This claim construction is justified for several reasons. First, the doctrine of claim differentiation tells us that “[w]hen different words or phrases are used in separate claims, a difference in meaning is presumed.” Nystrom v. TREX Co., Inc., 424 F.3d 1136, 1143 (Fed. Cir. 2005).1 Unlike claim 1, sister claim 19 explicitly requires “[a] vehicle” with an in-vehicle infotainment system programmed with identical instructions. Since the vehicle is part of claim 19, there is a presumption that the “vehicle” is not a required element of claim 1.
This is reinforced by the presence of several dependent claims that require vehicle- and driving-specific functions and structures (e.g., claims 7–9), because “the presence of a dependent claim that adds a particular limitation gives rise to a presumption that the limitation in question is not present in the independent claim.” Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2005). This is further reinforced by the presence of several claims that are clearly directed to specific non-vehicle functionality (e.g., claims 3, 4, 6, 10 and 14), since “if a dependent claim reads on a particular embodiment of the claimed invention, the corresponding independent claim must cover that embodiment as well.” Littelfuse, Inc. v. Mersen USA EP Corp., 29 F. 4th 1376, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2022).
All of the foregoing is further enhanced by the Federal Circuit’s “repeated[]” reminders that, at claim construction, “a description of the environment in which a claimed invention operates” must be “distinguished” from “a limitation on the claimed invention itself.” Nazomi Communications, Inc., v. Nokia Corp., 739 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed Cir. 2014) (citing Silicon Graphics, Inc. v. ATI Technologies, Inc., 607 F.3d 784, 794-95 (Fed. Cir. 2010) and Advanced Software Design Corporation v. Fiserv, Inc., 641 F.3d 1368, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2011)). In other words, given that everything in the claim language points to the in-vehicle infotainment system and the vehicle being two different categories of infringement, any mention of a “vehicle” in claim 1 is merely a description of the environment in which the claimed computer system operates, and cannot be read as a limitation.
the memory storing instructions executable by the processor, that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform steps comprising:
The memory 604 stores computer-readable code that is executed by the processor 620 to implement the user interface described in Gilman’s disclosure. Gilman ¶ 59.
in response to a system desktop of the in-vehicle infotainment system being activated, presenting a first state of a first resource; and
By way of background, Gilman discloses an enhancement to existing electronic devices 100, 150 (FIG. 1), which include the baseline functionality of displaying a home screen with several icons 122, 176 in response to activating a home button or home region. Gilman ¶¶ 22 and 26. In Gilman’s enhancement (electronic device 200, FIG. 2A) starts with this baseline feature, but then further provides, at the home screen, “an identification region 220 that can be configured to display information, icons or graphics, notifications, and any other type of visual data.” Gilman ¶ 30.
in response to an application being launched, presenting a second state of the first resource and at least partially overlaying it on an interface of the application.
In response to “the device initiating 905 an application,” the device “identifies 910 a first interface screen associated with the application and displayed on a user interface of the device,” and then “displays 915 an information region that overlays the first interface screen, the information region including a first set of information associated with the first interface screen.” Gilman ¶ 73. Thus, rather than displaying the content corresponding to the home screen, the information region now displays content and options corresponding to the currently running application, e.g., as shown in FIG. 5A. Gilman ¶ 54.
Claim 2
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the step of presenting a second state of the first resource comprises:
in response to the application being launched, determining a type of the launched application and/or current system records; and
In response to “the device initiating 905 an application,” the device “identifies 910 a first interface screen associated with the application and displayed on a user interface of the device.” Gilman ¶ 73.
determining the second state based on the determined type and/or the current system records.
Then, the device “displays 915 an information region that overlays the first interface screen, the information region including a first set of information associated with the first interface screen.” Gilman ¶ 73.
Claim 3
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 2, wherein the type comprises at least one or more of the following:
navigation type, shopping type, instant messaging type, social media type, audio type, video type, game type, or tool type.
The FIG. 5A example given before was for an application that provides information and functions during a round of golf, see Gilman ¶ 52, so it at least falls within the broadly claimed scope of “game type” or “tool type.” In addition, the golf application causes the identification region 520 to provide “a navigation function [and] a social function,” so the navigation type and social media type elements of this claim are also met.
Apart from the golf application, other applications that utilize the identification region include “text messaging (SMS), emailing, calling, interacting via social networks, and/or others” (i.e., the instant messaging type, and more of the social media type). Gilman ¶ 45. The identification region user interface also works in conjunction with “a music application,” Gilman ¶ 39, which falls within the scope of “audio type” (as does the aforementioned calling application).
Yet another application that utilizes the identification region is an application that “identif[ies] an offer related to the store 305, and can modify whatever is displayed in an identification region 320 to display the offer within the identification region 320.” Gilman ¶ 41. This falls within the scope of the claimed “shopping type.”
Claim 4
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the steps further comprise:
in response to confirming that a user achieves a specified achievement, changing the first state and/or the second state.
“In some cases, the information in the identification region 520 can update based on a user location, for example, if the electronic device detects that the user is playing a different hole or detects that the user is approaching a specific part of a golf hole (e.g., bunker, green, etc.).” Gilman ¶ 53.
Claim 5
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 4, wherein the step of confirming that a user achieves a specified achievement comprises:
receiving an event achievement instruction that informs a user/vehicle of the completion of a specified event and/or identifying that the user/vehicle achieves the specified achievement based on system records.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of “user/vehicle” is that they are alternatives. Gilman discloses claim 5 for at least the user alternative: “In some cases, the information in the identification region 520 can update based on a user location, for example, if the electronic device detects that the user is playing a different hole or detects that the user is approaching a specific part of a golf hole (e.g., bunker, green, etc.).” Gilman ¶ 53.
Claim 6
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 4, wherein the step of changing the first state and/or the second state comprises:
providing one or more of the following to the first state and/or the second state of the first resource: changing digital accessories, changing overall or local colors, and/or changing overall or local shapes.
“The device updates 925 the information region to overlay the second interface screen and to include a second set of information associated with the second interface screen. More particularly, the device can dynamically replace the first set of information with the second set of information in response to the interface screen changing. For example, in the golf application, the information region can update to include information about the second golf hole instead of the first golf hole.” Gilman ¶ 74.
Claim 10
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the steps further comprise:
in response to receiving a notification signal indicating that the application is running in a backstage, changing the first state or the second state.
As shown in FIGS. 2A–2C, while at the home screen (as opposed to the screen of an open application), “the identification region 220 can update the information in response to the electronic device 200 receiving or detecting a communication or notification, either locally or via a network connection.” Gilman ¶ 39. This “communication or notification” includes several of the signals described in dependent claim 11, see Gilman ¶ 40, and thus falls within the scope of the claimed notification signal. See Littelfuse, Inc. v. Mersen USA EP Corp., 29 F. 4th 1376, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (“if a dependent claim reads on a particular embodiment of the claimed invention, the corresponding independent claim must cover that embodiment as well.”).
Claim 11
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 10, wherein the notification signal indicating that the application is running in the backstage includes at least one or more of the following:
preset location markers-based GPS positioning notification signal, schedule-based time notification signal, incoming call signal, weather change signal, forward traffic congestion signal, or disaster warning signal.
“In further cases, the identification region 220 can update the information in response to the electronic device 200 being in a proximity to a physical object, such as a business, individual, automobile, and/or other object. More particularly, the electronic device 200 can identify its location, such as via a Global Positioning System (GPS) chip embedded therein, and determine that it is located in a proximity to coordinates or an address associated with the physical object. In other cases, the electronic device can detect the presence of the physical object via an established communication such as, for example, a near field communication (NFC), contactless smart chip, a Bluetooth® network, a wireless local area network (WLAN), or other communication channels or networks, or other sensing or communication devices or components.” Gilman ¶ 40.
As another example, “if the electronic device 200 receives an incoming phone call, the electronic device 200 can modify the identification region 220 to indicate the incoming call and display one or more selectable options to respond to the incoming call.” Gilman ¶ 39.
As yet another example, “if the application is a weather application, then the displayed information can include current conditions, various forecasts, radar maps, and/or other textual or graphical information.” Gilman ¶ 62.
Claim 12
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the step of presenting a first state of a first resource comprises:
presenting the first state of the first resource in a floating manner that does not completely obscure the application.
“The application can also display an identification region 520 overlaying the first interface screen 540.” Gilman ¶ 52.
Claim 13
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 2, wherein the step of determining the second state based on the determined type and/or the current system records comprises:
adding corresponding digital accessories or assigning image changes or action changes to the first state of the first resource based on the determined type and/or the current system records to generate the second state.
“The device updates 925 the information region to overlay the second interface screen and to include a second set of information associated with the second interface screen. More particularly, the device can dynamically replace the first set of information with the second set of information in response to the interface screen changing. For example, in the golf application, the information region can update to include information about the second golf hole instead of the first golf hole.” Gilman ¶ 74.
Claim 14
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 13, wherein the steps further comprise:
in response to detecting a change in running state of the application, adding different digital accessories or assigning different image changes or action changes to the second state.
“According to embodiments, the information in the identification region 520, as well as the indications 530 of a set of functions associated with the identification region 520, can update based on switches among underlying interface screens. Particularly, the interface screens can change if the application enters a different mode or operating state (e.g., setup, game play, round review, etc.), or the interface screens can change within the same mode or operating state. For example, if the application switches from the first interface screen 540 (corresponding to a setup mode) to the second interface screen 545 (corresponding to a game play mode), then the information and set of indications 530 associated with the identification region 520 can change to indicate information and functions associated with the second interface screen 545.” Gilman ¶ 54.
Claim 15
Gilman discloses the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the steps further comprise:
in response to detecting a preset operation on the first resource in any interface, changing the first state or the second state.
“In some embodiments, the identification region 220 can display additional or secondary information in response to the display screen 210 detecting a selection of the identification region 220 by the user 225. Advantageously, a user is able to gauge or view the additional or secondary information without having to initiate any applications or perform other gestures with the display screen 210. For example, as shown in FIG. 2C, if the application corresponding to the information in the identification region 220 is a stock application, then the identification region 220 can modify to display specific stock quotes and other associated information.” Gilman ¶ 35.
Claim 18
Claim 18 recites exactly the same method that the system of claim 1 performs as at least part of its normal operation. Indeed, apart from hardware itself, claim 18 is much broader than claim 1, because “[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” MPEP § 2111.04 (subsection II.). Claim 18 consists of conditional limitations with unmet conditions precedent.
In any case, since the system of claim 1 performs the method of claim 18 for its normal operation, the method is inherent to the system, and the prior art’s disclosure of the system necessarily discloses the method. See MPEP § 2112.02. Claim 18 is therefore rejected over all of the findings provided in claim 1.
II. Boblett discloses at least claims 1 and 18–20.
Claims 1 and 18–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0096051 A1 (“Boblett”).
Claim 1
Boblett discloses:
An in-vehicle infotainment system,
“FIG. 1 provides a block diagram of an exemplary interface system 100 that includes touch-screen 101 and is suitable for use with the invention.” Boblett ¶ 34. “[P]referably the display is mounted within the vehicle’s central console, thus providing access to the data on the screen as well as the displayed system controls to both the driver and the passenger seated in the passenger front seat.” Boblett ¶ 33.
comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing instructions executable by the processor, that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform steps comprising:
“In system 100, display 101 is coupled to a system controller 103. Controller 103 includes a graphical processing unit (GPU) 105, a central processing unit (CPU) 107, and memory 109.” Boblett ¶ 34. This combination of hardware enables the display 101 to provide a GUI for launching programs. See Boblett ¶¶ 34–36.
in response to a system desktop of the in-vehicle infotainment system being activated, presenting a first state of a first resource; and
“In accordance with the invention, when a user selects an application within taskbar 201, [] by touching the selected application if the GUI is a touch-screen . . . the user is presented with a visual cue that represents the possible windows in which the application may be launched.” Boblett ¶ 39.
in response to an application being launched, presenting a second state of the first resource and at least partially overlaying it on an interface of the application.
“[A]s the user drags the icon of the application to be launched over the miniature windows of the visual cue (i.e., mini-windows 301 and 303), the application will appear in a semi-transparent state as an overlay on the corresponding window (i.e., windows 215 and 217). Therefore when icon 213 is first selected and the user has not moved the icon out of upper visual cue window 301, the phone application will be visible over the browser application as illustrated in FIG. 10.” Boblett ¶ 42. Additionally, FIG. 10 further discloses that the visual cue at least partially overlays window 215 while it is displaying the rendering of the phone application. See Boblett FIG. 10.
Claim 18
Claim 18 recites exactly the same method that the system of claim 1 performs as at least part of its normal operation. Indeed, apart from hardware itself, claim 18 is much broader than claim 1, because “[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” MPEP § 2111.04 (subsection II.). Claim 18 consists of conditional limitations with unmet conditions precedent.
In any case, since the system of claim 1 performs the method of claim 18 for its normal operation, the method is inherent to the system, and the prior art’s disclosure of the system necessarily discloses the method. See MPEP § 2112.02. Claim 18 is therefore rejected over all of the findings provided in claim 1.
Claim 19
Boblett discloses:
A vehicle, comprising an in-vehicle infotainment system and a display for presenting the in-vehicle infotainment system,
“FIG. 1 provides a block diagram of an exemplary interface system 100 that includes touch-screen 101 and is suitable for use with the invention.” Boblett ¶ 34. “[P]referably the display is mounted within the vehicle’s central console, thus providing access to the data on the screen as well as the displayed system controls to both the driver and the passenger seated in the passenger front seat.” Boblett ¶ 33.
wherein the in-vehicle infotainment system comprises a processor and a memory, the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform steps comprising:
“In system 100, display 101 is coupled to a system controller 103. Controller 103 includes a graphical processing unit (GPU) 105, a central processing unit (CPU) 107, and memory 109.” Boblett ¶ 34. This combination of hardware enables the display 101 to provide a GUI for launching programs. See Boblett ¶¶ 34–36.
in response to a system desktop of the in-vehicle infotainment system being activated, presenting a first state of a first resource; and
“In accordance with the invention, when a user selects an application within taskbar 201, [] by touching the selected application if the GUI is a touch-screen . . . the user is presented with a visual cue that represents the possible windows in which the application may be launched.” Boblett ¶ 39.
in response to an application being launched, presenting a second state of the first resource and at least partially overlaying it on an interface of the application.
“[A]s the user drags the icon of the application to be launched over the miniature windows of the visual cue (i.e., mini-windows 301 and 303), the application will appear in a semi-transparent state as an overlay on the corresponding window (i.e., windows 215 and 217). Therefore when icon 213 is first selected and the user has not moved the icon out of upper visual cue window 301, the phone application will be visible over the browser application as illustrated in FIG. 10.” Boblett ¶ 42. Additionally, FIG. 10 further discloses that the visual cue at least partially overlays window 215 while it is displaying the rendering of the phone application. See Boblett FIG. 10.
Claim 20
Boblett discloses the vehicle according to claim 19, further comprising
several different types of sensors that are communicably connected to the in-vehicle infotainment system and configured to provide vehicle operation data to the in-vehicle infotainment system.
“Controller 103 is coupled to a variety of different vehicle subsystems, including the vehicle subsystem controls and vehicle subsystem monitors that are to be accessed and/or viewed on display 101.” Boblett ¶ 34.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
I. Gilman and Kim teach claim 7.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gilman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/00324767 A1 (“Kim”).
Claim 7
Gilman teaches the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, wherein the steps further comprise:
in response to detecting a
As shown in FIG. 3C, “the electronic device 300 can determine its location and compare the location to that of the vehicle 335 to determine that the electronic device 300 is in proximity to the vehicle 335,” Gilman ¶ 42, and then, “[i]n response to the presence detection or the proximity determination, the electronic device 300 can display an indication of the automobile 335 in the identification region 320.” Gilman ¶ 43.
Gilman differs from the invention of claim 7 in that the “vehicle” is not a “second vehicle” (i.e., a vehicle other than the vehicle mentioned in claim 1), and such a vehicle is not part of a “designated group.”
Kim, however, teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
in response to detecting a second vehicle within a preset distance, changing the first state or the second state, wherein the second vehicle is included within a designated group range.
“Referring to FIG. 5, in operation 510, the vehicle may be configured to display a first object that corresponds to the vehicle and a second object that corresponds to an outside vehicle included in a platooning group including the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may be configured to display an icon of the vehicle and an icon of the outside vehicle on a touch screen display mounted therein.” Kim ¶ 45.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Gilman’s user interface by providing the platooning user interface features discussed in Kim’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to add Kim’s platooning user interface features to Gilman’s user interface because such features provide enhanced convenience for users who are traveling as a group. See Kim ¶¶ 4–5.
II. Gilman and Soma teach claims 8 and 9.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gilman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0357473 A1 (“Soma”).
Claim 8
Gilman teaches the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, and further teaches both (1) detecting the presence of a vehicle, and (2) changing the state of the vehicle, in response to a user’s command. See Gilman ¶¶ 43 and 46.
Gilman does not explicitly disclose in response to detecting a change in vehicle action, changing the first state or the second state (of the resource).
Soma, however, teaches an in-vehicle infotainment system (agent device 1, see Soma ¶ 18), programmed with steps that comprise:
in response to detecting a change in vehicle action, changing the first state or the second state.
Referring to FIGs. 4 and 5, agent device 1 monitors the traveling state of the vehicle X, Soma ¶¶ 57–58, and depending on the traveling state, determines an “emotion” of the vehicle along with presenting different agent images to the user that reflect the vehicle emotion. Soma ¶¶ 60–61 and 75.
“For example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which the traveling speed of the target vehicle X is included in a predetermined speed range (equal to or higher than a first speed higher than zero km/h and equal to or lower than a second speed equal to or higher than the first speed). Further, for example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which a longitudinal acceleration or a lateral acceleration of the target vehicle X is included in a predetermined acceleration range (equal to or higher than a first acceleration equal to or lower than zero km/h2 and equal to or lower than a second acceleration equal to or higher than zero km/h2) in which there is no sudden acceleration or sudden deceleration. Further, for example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which a direction of the target vehicle X is included within a predetermined angle range from a certain direction.” Soma ¶ 58.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Gilman’s user interface with Soma’s emotion-based display technique. One would have been motivated to improve Gilman’s user interface with Soma’s technique for the sake of “alleviating or eliminating a sense of discomfort of a user of a vehicle.” Soma ¶ 7.
Claim 9
Gilman and Soma teach the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 8, wherein the change in vehicle action includes at least one or more of the following:
change in vehicle speed/acceleration, change in vehicle direction, change in slope where the vehicle is located, change in vehicle lighting system, change in vehicle HVAC system, change in vehicle seat system, change in vehicle comfort system, change in window/sunroof position, change in vehicle wiper system, or vehicle starting/parking.
“For example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which the traveling speed of the target vehicle X is included in a predetermined speed range (equal to or higher than a first speed higher than zero km/h and equal to or lower than a second speed equal to or higher than the first speed). Further, for example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which a longitudinal acceleration or a lateral acceleration of the target vehicle X is included in a predetermined acceleration range (equal to or higher than a first acceleration equal to or lower than zero km/h2 and equal to or lower than a second acceleration equal to or higher than zero km/h2) in which there is no sudden acceleration or sudden deceleration. Further, for example, the predetermined traveling state may be a state in which a direction of the target vehicle X is included within a predetermined angle range from a certain direction.” Soma ¶ 58.
III. Gilman and Anttila teach claims 16 and 17.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gilman as applied to claims 16 and 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0083665 A1 (“Anttila”).
Claim 16
Gilman teaches the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose providing state attributes based on the “user identity characteristics” of the current user.
Anittila, however, teaches a system configured to perform steps that comprise:
detecting user identity characteristics of a current user;
“The user of the device can set the appearance, size and position of the menu A03, for example.” Anittila ¶ 64. The act of setting user preferences falls within the scope of detecting user identity characteristics because dependent claim 17 explictly lists “personal preferences” as one of the claimed “user identity characteristics.”
and based on the user identity characteristics, providing the user with state attributes of the first state and/or the second state of the first resource or several state attribute options.
“The position for the menu A03 can also be set to be at the most desirable position, based for example, on the space occupied by the primary image, or user preference.” Anittila ¶ 64.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Gilman’s user interface with Anittila’s enhancement of allowing the user to set his or her own preferences for the user interface. One would have been motivated to include Anittila’s user preference feature because a user interface that conforms to a user’s specific preferences is more intuitive to use than a one-size-fits-all approach.
Claim 17
Gilman and Anttila teach the in-vehicle infotainment system according to claim 16,
wherein the user identity characteristics include at least one or more of the following: age, gender, nationality, and personal preferences;
“The user of the device can set the appearance, size and position of the menu A03, for example.” Anittila ¶ 64.
and the state attribute options include at least one or more of the following: digital image style, display area size, activity area range, motion mode, or voice options corresponding to the first state and/or the second state.
“The position for the menu A03 can also be set to be at the most desirable position, based for example, on the space occupied by the primary image, or user preference.” Anittila ¶ 64.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Gilman’s user interface with Anittila’s enhancement of allowing the user to set his or her own preferences for the user interface. One would have been motivated to include Anittila’s user preference feature because a user interface that conforms to a user’s specific preferences is more intuitive to use than a one-size-fits-all approach.
Conclusion
Justin R. Blaufeld
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/Justin R. Blaufeld/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151
1 See also Helmsderfer v. Bobrick Washroom Equip., Inc., 527 F.3d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Tandon Corp. v. US Intern. Trade Com’n, 831 F. 2d 1017, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1987); and Applied Med. Res. Corp. v. U.S. Surgical Corp., 448 F.3d 1324, 1333 n.3 (Fed. Cir. 2006)