DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/949,728 for a MODULAR CULINARY IMPLEMENT STORAGE SYSTEM, filed on 11/15/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conner (U.S. Pat. 5,850,784).
Regarding claim 1, Conner teaches a modular culinary storage system (see below) comprising: a tray; a utensil bucket; and a knife block comprising: a first front end member; a second front end member; a plurality of elongated members; a back-end member; and a plurality of dividers disposed between at least one of the first front end member, the second front end member, the plurality of elongated members, and the back-end member; the tray, configured to house at least one of the utensil bucket and the knife block.
[AltContent: textbox (Back-end member)][AltContent: textbox (Plurality of dividers)]
[AltContent: textbox (Utensil bucket)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Knife block)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Elongated member)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st
front end
member)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Elongated member)][AltContent: textbox (tray)]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd front end member)][AltContent: textbox (Elongated member)]
Regarding claim 13, Conner teaches of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dividers define a plurality of knife block compartments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner (U.S. Pat. 5,850,784) in view of Umholtz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2011/0120906).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 9, Conner teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach that the tray further comprises one or more magnetic tray members, the utensil bucket further comprises one or more magnetic utensil bucket members or the knife block further comprises one or more magnetic knife block members. Umholtz teaches a tray that comprises one or more magnetic tray members (300) in order to facilitate quick assembly of the system to other magnetic tray members. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the tray of Connor further comprising one or more magnetic tray members, the utensil bucket further comprising one or more magnetic utensil bucket members and the knife block further comprising one or more magnetic knife block members in order to provide a quick temporary connection to various members of the system, in view of Umholtz.
Regarding claim 12, Conner teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach that the tray further comprises a foot not traversing an entirety of the tray. Umholtz teaches that the tray further comprises a foot (170) not traversing an entirety of the tray in order to prevent a supporting surface from being scratched or damaged. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the tray of Connor further comprising a foot not traversing an entirety of the tray in order to prevent the tray from undesired movement and sliding, in view of Umholtz.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10, 11 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 12042070, 7934610, 7448506 (culinary systems)
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 February 7, 2026