Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an enterprise Mobile Device Management (MDM) control system configured to”, “auditor configured to”, “validation logic configured to”, “remediator configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein et al. (US 2019/0342336) hereafter Finkelstein in view of RBAC-SC: Role-based Access Control Using Smart Contract by Cruz et al. hereafter Cruz and further in view of Hubbard et al. (US 2017/0013047) hereafter Hubbard.
21. Finkelstein discloses a system comprising:
a control system configured to selectively control actions on and access to personal information by a web browser based on a combination of signals from a plurality of authorization control modules (para 44; figs 1 and 2 and corresponding text);
an auditor configured to retrieve website personal information and privacy settings in response to a signal indicating navigation to the website by the web browser (para 27; fig 2, 202-204 and corresponding text);
validation logic configured to:
(a) perform a first comparison of the website personal information by the auditor against first blockchain records (fig 2, 206-208 and corresponding text);
(b) generate a first alert on condition that the first comparison indicates a first incongruity (fig 2, 208 and corresponding text);
(c) perform a second comparison of website privacy settings website second blockchain records encoding personal privacy settings and enterprise privacy settings (fig 2, 210 and corresponding text);
(d) generate a second alert on condition that the second comparison indicates a second incongruity (fig 2, 210 and corresponding text);
(e) perform a third comparison of the website privacy settings against third blockchain records encoding personal privacy regulations and enterprise privacy regulations for a jurisdiction (fig 2, 212 and corresponding text);
(f) generate a third alert on condition that the third comparison indicates a third incongruity (fig 2, 212 and corresponding text);
(g) harmonize and prioritize control settings for the personal information based on the first comparison, the second comparison, and the third comparison (fig 1, 120, combined control signal is harmonized from multiple sources and prioritized control settings);
a remediator configured to generate an ameliorative action for the personal information on the website response to one or more of the first alert, the second alert, and the third alert (fig 2, 214 and corresponding text; para 50).
Finkelstein does not explicitly disclose (h) constrain actions on the personal information based on fourth blockchain records comprising enterprise role policies encoded as digital contract entitlements. However, in an analogous art, Cruz discloses role-based access control using smart contract including constrain actions on the personal information based on fourth blockchain records comprising enterprise role policies encoded as digital contract entitlements (page 12244, section IV). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Finkelstein with the implementation of Cruz in order to allow for a trans-organizational RBAC and verify user-role assignments in a secure manner (page 12244, section IV, overview).
Finkelstein and Cruz do not disclose an enterprise Mobile Device Management (MDM). However, in an analogous art, Hubbard discloses electronic data distribution including mobile device management (para 61-63). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Finkelstein and Cruz with the implementation of Hubbard in order to secure, monitor, manage and enforce policies on employee’s mobile devices (para 61-63).
22. Finkelstein, Cruz, and Hubbard disclose the system of claim 21, wherein at least some of the authorization control modules are associated with particular partitions of one or more mobile computing devices (Finkelstein, para 15-22).
23. Finkelstein, Cruz, and Hubbard disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the fourth blockchain records further comprise jurisdiction-specific digital contract entitlements (Finkelstein, para 31, 47).
24. Finkelstein, Cruz, and Hubbard disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the constrained actions comprise sales, licensing, and sharing actions on the personal information (Finkelstein, para 39-41, 51, 53-54).
25. Finkelstein, Cruiz, and Hubbard disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the auditor is further configured to: harmonize and prioritize the control settings for the personal information based on a device-monitor-determined role of a person operating the web browser (Cruz, page 12244, section IV).
27. Finkelstein, Cruz, and Hubbard disclose the he system of claim 21, wherein the auditor is implemented as an artificial intelligence bot agent (Hubbard, para 46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439