DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits : This application a CON of 18/361,499 filed 07/28/2023 now PAT 12184434, 18/361,499 is a CON of 17/966648 filed 10/14/2022 now PAT 11764910, 17/228,371 filed 04/12/2021 now PAT 11509429, 17/228,371 is a CON of 16/324,072 filed 02/07/2019 now PAT 11005607, and 16/324,072 is a 371 of PCT/EP2017/069301 07/31/2017 and claimed priority of EP 16183360.3 filed 08/09/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024, 11/15/2024, 4/2/2025, is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 12, 184, 434 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1-20 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1-20 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18949737
Patent 12,184,434
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the time gap is configurable, separately from the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
5. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
8. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 6, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
8. The user equipment according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
5. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
10. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the user equipment to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the user equipment.
10. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the user equipment to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the user equipment.
11. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other user equipments, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other user equipments indicating radio resources reserved by the other user equipments for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other user equipments for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other user equipments from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
11. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other user equipments, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other user equipments indicating radio resources reserved by the other user equipments for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other user equipments for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other user equipments from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
12. A method comprising the following steps performed by a user equipment: performing a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performing one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
12. A method comprising the following steps performed by a user equipment: performing a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performing one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the time gap is configurable, separately from the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the user equipment or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the user equipment either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the user equipment or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the user equipment either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
19. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
16. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the step of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
18. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the user equipment or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the user equipment or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
19. The method according to claim 18, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
18. The method according to claim 17, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-20 of 12, 184, 434.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 11, 764, 910 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1-20 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1-20 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18949737
Patent 11,764,910
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the time gap is configurable, independently of the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
5. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
8. The user equipment according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 6, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
5. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
8. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
10. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the user equipment to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the user equipment.
10. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the user equipment to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the user equipment.
11. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other user equipments, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other user equipments indicating radio resources reserved by the other user equipments for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other user equipments for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other user equipments from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
11. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other user equipments, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other user equipments indicating radio resources reserved by the other user equipments for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other user equipments for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other user equipments from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
12. A method comprising the following steps performed by a user equipment: performing a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performing one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
12. A method comprising the following steps performed by a user equipment: performing a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performing one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the time gap is configurable, independently of the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the user equipment or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the user equipment either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the user equipment or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the user equipment either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
16. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the step of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
18. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the user equipment or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the user equipment or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
19. The method according to claim 18, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
18. The method according to claim 17, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
19. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-20 of 11, 764, 910.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 11, 005, 607 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1-20 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 71-20 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18949737
Patent 11,005,607
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
1. A transmitting device for transmitting data via a sidelink interface to one or more receiving devices, wherein the transmission of the data comprises a first transmission of the data and, after the first data transmission, one or more retransmissions of the data, the transmitting device comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure so as to acquire information about radio resources usable for the transmitting device to transmit data at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation and after data becomes available for transmission, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing the first transmission of the data, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window before the data became available for transmission, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, determines, based on the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, a retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, and performs the one or more data retransmissions at the retransmission timing, wherein the time gap is configurable, independently of the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to the one or more receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
2. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
3. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
4. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
6. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
7. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
8. The user equipment according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
8. The transmitting device according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
9. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
5. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
5. The transmitting device according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
10. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the user equipment to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the user equipment.
10. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein a data resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency radio resources available for the transmitting device to perform data transmissions, the data resource pool being divided into time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions and into time-frequency radio resources available for performing data retransmissions, wherein the processor, when in operation, selects, during the autonomous radio resource allocation, time-frequency radio resources to be used for performing the first data transmission among the time-frequency radio resources available for performing first data transmissions, wherein the plurality of time-frequency radio resources of the data resource pool is divided in the time domain between time-frequency radio resources for first data transmissions and for data retransmissions, and wherein the division of the data resource pool is preconfigured or configured by a radio base station controlling the transmitting device.
11. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other user equipments, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other user equipments indicating radio resources reserved by the other user equipments for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other user equipments for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other user equipments from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
11. The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein the receiver and processor, in the resource sensing procedure, performs: in order to determine radio resources that are reserved by other transmitting devices, monitoring for scheduling assignments transmitted by other transmitting devices indicating radio resources reserved by the other transmitting devices for a later point in time, and measuring a received signal energy in radio resources so as to identify radio resources that are used by other transmitting devices for transmission, wherein the autonomous radio resource allocation comprises excluding the radio resources reserved by other transmitting devices from the plurality of transmission radio resources.
12. A method comprising the following steps performed by a user equipment: performing a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performing one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
12. A method for a transmitting device for transmitting data via a sidelink interface to one or more receiving devices, wherein the transmission of the data comprises a first transmission of the data and, after the first data transmission, one or more retransmissions of the data, the method comprising the following steps performed by the transmitting device: performing a resource sensing procedure so as to acquire information about radio resources usable for the transmitting device to transmit data at a later point in time, after data becomes available for transmission, performing an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing the first transmission of the data, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window before the data became available for transmission, determining a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data, performing the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, determining, based on the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, a retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, and performing the one or more data retransmissions at the transmission retransmission timing, wherein the time gap is configurable, independently of the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to the one or more receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the user equipment or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the user equipment either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the method comprises determining one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the transmitting device or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the transmitting device either randomly or based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of: transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifies the determined data transmission timing pattern.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
15. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, and the method comprises the steps of: determining data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined or being preconfigured, and determining the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
17. The method according to claim 12, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, wherein the method comprises the step of: determining for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
18. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the user equipment or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
18. The method according to claim 12, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the method comprises the steps of: determining a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determining the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, determining which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the information acquired by the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the transmitting device or being preconfigured, and transmitting one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmitting the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
19. The method according to claim 18, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
19. The method according to claim 18, comprising transmitting a scheduling assignment that indicates the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
20. The method according to claim 12, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-20 of 11, 005, 607.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA).
Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusively beyond the term of a patent.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 11, 509, 429 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1- 9 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1-9 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18949737
Patent 11,509,429
1. A user equipment, comprising: a receiver and a processor, which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time, wherein the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data, based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window, and the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data; and a transmitter, which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation, performs the first data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
1. An integrated circuit configured to control operation of a transmitting device for transmitting data via a sidelink interface to one or more receiving devices, wherein the data transmission includes an initial data transmission and one or more data retransmissions, the integrated circuit comprising: receiving circuitry, which, in operation, performs a resource sensing procedure to acquire information about radio resources usable by the transmitting device; control circuitry, which, in operation, responsive to data becoming available for transmission, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window for the initial data transmission, based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window before the data becoming available for transmission, and determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a data transmission timing; and transmitting circuitry, which, in operation, performs the initial data transmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, determines, based on the data transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern and a time gap between the initial data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, a data retransmission timing, and performs the one or more data retransmissions at the retransmission timing, wherein the time gap is configurable, independently of the determined data transmission timing pattern, and is made known to the one or more receiving devices, and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
2. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
2. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the control circuitry, in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions is determined by the control circuitry or is preconfigured, and determines the data transmission timing pattern either randomly or based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
3. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
3. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting circuitry, in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the initial data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern.
4. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window for performing the one or more data retransmissions by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern as well as the data retransmission candidates to be used for the data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
4. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one data transmission, wherein the control circuitry, in operation, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window by repeating the determined data transmission timing pattern a plurality of times within the transmission window, determines which of the data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing the one or more data retransmissions, depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions is determined by the control circuitry or is preconfigured, and determines the data transmission timing pattern and which of the data retransmission candidates are to be used based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window.
5. The user equipment according to claim 4, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates which data transmission timing pattern among the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns defines the retransmission timing for performing the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the data transmission timing pattern is encoded as a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
5. The integrated circuit according to claim 4, wherein the transmitting circuitry, in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time-frequency radio resources for the initial data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern, and wherein the scheduling assignment further includes a bitmap, wherein bits of the bitmap are respectively associated with one of the plurality of repeated data transmission timing patterns.
6. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the processor from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the processor, when in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the first data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
6. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the initial data transmission or using frequency radio resources determined by the control circuitry from the frequency radio resources used for the initial data transmission based on a frequency hopping pattern, or wherein the control circuitry, in operation, determines for the one or more data retransmissions whether to use the same frequency radio resources as for the initial data transmission or to use frequency radio resources following the frequency hopping pattern, based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the transmitting circuitry, in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for the one or more data retransmissions.
7. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the first data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmission based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one indicated data transmission of the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the determined preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the first data transmission, wherein data retransmission candidates are defined within the transmission window for performing one or more of the data retransmissions, by repeating the data transmission timing pattern and by then identifying the timing position given by the one indicated data transmission per repeated data transmission timing pattern, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines which data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining data retransmissions, based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, the total number of data transmissions being determined by the processor or being preconfigured, and wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits one data retransmission at the determined preferred transmission timing, and transmits the remaining data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
7. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the determined data transmission timing pattern indicates only one transmission, wherein the control circuitry, in operation, determines a preferred transmission timing, after the initial data transmission timing, for one of the one or more data retransmissions based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window, determines the data transmission timing pattern such that the one transmission indicated by the data transmission timing pattern coincides with the preferred transmission timing when the data transmission timing pattern is repeated a plurality of times within the transmission window with respect to the timing of the initial data transmission, determines data retransmission candidates within the transmission window by repeating the data transmission timing pattern, and determines which of the data retransmission candidates are to be used for performing remaining ones of the one or more data retransmissions, based on the information acquired in the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window and depending on a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions is determined by the control circuitry or is preconfigured, and wherein the transmitting circuitry, in operation, performs the one of the one or more data retransmissions at the preferred transmission timing, and performs the remaining ones of the one or more data retransmissions at the retransmission candidates determined to be used.
8. The user equipment according to claim 7, wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to the frequency radio resources for the first data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the first data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the processor based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the first data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the user equipment for determining frequency radio resources used for transmitting the one or more data retransmissions.
8. The integrated circuit according to claim 6, wherein the transmitting circuitry, in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating frequency radio resources for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, as an offset with respect to frequency radio resources for the initial data transmission, and wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using the same frequency radio resources as used for the initial data transmission or the same frequency radio resources as used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, or wherein the remaining data retransmissions are performed using frequency radio resources determined by the control circuitry based on a frequency hopping pattern from the frequency radio resources used for the initial data transmission or from the frequency radio resources used for the data retransmission at the preferred transmission timing, and wherein the scheduling assignment further indicates whether or not a frequency hopping pattern is used by the transmitting device for determining frequency radio resources used for the one or more data retransmissions.
9. The user equipment according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the first data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the first data transmission.
9. The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission timing pattern has a length of a plurality of bits, and each bit of the data transmission timing pattern indicates whether or not a transmission of the data is to be performed at a transmission timing associated with the respective bit position, and wherein the data transmission timing pattern is positioned in the timing window with respect to the initial data transmission so as to also indicate or not indicate the initial data transmission.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-9 of 11, 509, 429.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA).
Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusively beyond the term of a patent.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sartori et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0334760), in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0381999), and further in view of Kim530 et al (US provisional 62/357393, prov393, published as US Pub. No.:2019/0174530).
As per claim 1, Sartori disclose A user equipment (see Fig.4, UE 134), comprising:
a receiver (see Fig.4, Fig.9, Network interface 284, see para. 0063) and a processor(see Fig.9, central processing unit (CPU) 274), which in operation, perform a resource sensing procedure about radio resources usable for the user equipment to transmit data via a sidelink interface at a later point in time (see para. 0030, resource selection method for device-centric D2D mode has a sensing phase and a transmission phase. In the sensing phase, the transmitting UE measures the available D2D resources, such as resource blocks and/or subframes), wherein
the processor, in operation, performs an autonomous radio resource allocation to select time-frequency radio resources within a transmission window to be used for performing a first transmission of the data (see para. 0031, scheduling assignments), based on a result of the resource sensing procedure during a sensing window(see para, 0030-0031, in the transmission phase, based on the occupancy of the resources, the transmitting UE determines the fraction of time it will transmit D2D data), and
the processor, in operation, determines a data transmission timing pattern among a plurality of data transmission timing patterns, each data transmission timing pattern indicating a transmission timing for performing one or more transmissions of data (see para. 0031-0034, the transmitting UE may defer transmission or use a small number of resources. When transmitting, the transmitting UE pseudo-randomly selects a D2D resource among the available resources. The transmitting UE may transmit data or scheduling assignments. Transmission on pseudo-random selected resources does not totally avoid contention, but reduces the probability of collisions by transmitting on the resources which are less crowded. The pseudo-random selection of resources exhibits statistical randomness, but which are generated by a deterministic causal process (e.g., procedure, function)); and
a transmitter (see Fig.9, see para. 0063, network interface 284 provide wireless communication via one or more transmitters/transmit antennas), which is coupled to the processor and which, in operation,
performs the first data transmission (see para. 0031, 0057, in the transmission phase, based on the occupancy of the resources, the transmitting UE determines the fraction of time it will transmit D2D data, the transmitting UE transmit data or scheduling assignments, and the transmitting UE 224 transmits data to receiving UE 226 using D2D resources) and performs one or more data retransmissions (see para. 0042, 0055-0058, when the data transmission is not successful, the transmitting UE may re-transmit the data to the receiving UE, the retransmission may be based on the resource availability, the transmitting UE is more likely to retransmit data when the transmission probability is high).
Although Sartori disclose transmitter, which in operation, performs the first data transmission or scheduling assignments;
Sartori however does not explicitly disclose performs the first data transmission using “the selected time-frequency radio resources”, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern;
Kim however disclose A transmitting device (see Fig.15a-b, UE1) a transmitter (see Fig.15a-b, EE1 with a transmitter), which in operation, performs a first data transmission using “a selected time-frequency radio resources”, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern (see para. 0008-0009, 0439-0449, the UE include resources allocated in relation to D2D data transmission in SA contents and transmit the SA contents to D2D reception UE so that the D2D reception UE is aware of a resource region in which D2D data is received, and the SA resource-related parameter are used to designate the absolute locations (e.g., time and frequency indices) of D2D data resources, and resource allocation information included in SA contents are used to provide notification of the relative locations of D2D data resources / performs the first data transmission/retransmission using the selected time-frequency radio resources, see also para. 0312-0318, the UE transmits and receives discovery messages based on discovery resources selected after one discovery period (after P=10 seconds in the example of FIG. 16) and transmits and receives discovery messages periodically according to a random resource hopping pattern in a subsequent discovery period, see also Fig.36, para. 0605-0612, Number and pattern of retransmissions: information about the number and pattern of retransmissions / retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality to perform a first data transmission using “a selected time-frequency radio resources”, and performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a combination of the transmission timing indicated by the determined data transmission timing pattern, as taught by Kim, in the system of Sartori, so that power consumption of UE are reduced because D2D control information and D2D data are separately transmitted and received and blind decoding is applied to only D2D control information, see Kim, paragraphs 26-28.
The combination of Sartori and Kim however does not explicitly disclose a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern.
Kim530 however disclose performs one or more data retransmissions at a retransmission timing based on a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions (see para. 0451-0452, the retransmission count (e.g., N_rpt) used for V2V and/or V2X communication is indicated by Time-Resource Pattern of Transmission (T-RPT) field and included in a new field indicating the message set or the existing DCI (e.g., DCI format 5), see also Fig.20, Fig21, para. 0519-0526, Fig.21b, para. 0527-0536, method 2 relates to a method for applying T-RPT pattern after a predetermined timing gap from the DCI transmission timing, not the SA transmission timing, FIG. 21 illustrates another method for determining a transmission timing of data using T-RPT pattern proposed in the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 21a, an eNB transmits DCI to a transmission UE on subframe (SF) #n, and the transmission UE transmits data to a reception UE by applying the T-PRT pattern on SF #(n+m) (e.g., m=4)), and wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern (see Fig.21a, Fig.21b, para. 0521-0536, In FIG. 21a, the timing gap k (k=5, 6, . . . ) between DCI and SA transmission timings may be indicated to a UE through RRC signaling, or predefined, or forwarded through a DCI field (e.g. T-RPT offset field), in the case that the m value corresponding to the T-RPT timing gap is identical to the k value defined in the method 1 described above, method 1 and method 2 operate in the same manner, that is, data is (re)transmitted on the same timing. Prov393, Fig.3-1, 3-2, page 4-5, 7-9, per page 5 -6, as in Figure 3-2(c), in an instance right after twice data (re)transmissions associated with the first SA are completed or an instance spaced apart by a given offset, the second SA may be transmitted (in this case, the twice data (re)transmission associated with the first SA is completed, and the second SA is transmitted at an instance spaced apart by an offset of 0 TTI). In this case, the given offset size may be indicated through RRC signaling or may be pre-defined and may be delivered through a physical channel (e.g., DCI), a T-RPT pattern is applied from a given timing gap from a DCI transmission instance: This is a method of transmitting DCI in an SF (subframe) #n and transmitting a T-RPT pattern in an SF #(n+m) (e.g., m=4) as in Figure 3-2. In this case, the m value may be indicated through RRC signaling and may be pre-defined and may be delivered through a DCI field (e.g., T-RPT offset field) and page 9, a timing gap value {length} is determined using the T-RPT value of SA. In this case, assuming that the location of each of bits of the T-RPT indicate a relative timing gap from a transmission instance, when a specific bit(s) is set to 1, this may mean that data is transmitted at an instance spaced apart from SA at a corresponding TTI. An instance first having 1 in the TRPT pattern may be considered to be a timing gap between the SA and the (first, or associated) data transmission instance. For example, if an instance first having 1 in the T-RPT pattern is the first bit (e.g., MSB bit), SA and data may be considered to be transmitted at the same instance, that is, SA and data are FDMed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a time gap between the first data transmission and the one or more data retransmissions, wherein the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by a length of the determined data transmission timing pattern, as taught by Kim530, in the system of Sartori and Kim, so that when some or all of pieces of time-frequency resource allocation information of SA transmission can be aware or is indicated by an eNB or can be estimated (e.g., if SA is transmitted after a specific timing offset from a DCI transmission location, information on the time resource of SA transmission does not need to be included in DCI.), the size of the field indicating an SA resource can be reduced, see Kim530, para. 0417, prov393, page 2.
As per claim 3 the combination of Sartori, Kim and Kim530 disclose the user equipment according to claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a scheduling assignment indicating the selected time- frequency radio resources for the first data transmission and identifying the determined data transmission timing pattern (see para. 0342, 0425-0438, resource pools are allocated through an SIB, and UE is notified of (time-frequency resources) detailed resource allocation information (SA resources and D2D data resources) through a dynamic control signal within the allocated resource range, see also Fig.22-25, para. 0014, 0463-0473, Fig.30-33, para. 0539-0544).
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sartori et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0334760), in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0381999), in view of Kim530 et al (US provisional 62/357393, prov393, published as US Pub. No.:2019/0174530) and further in view of ZTE (Discussion on T-RPT Scheme for Mode 1 and Mode 2, R1-143135, IDS submitted 4/2/2025).
As per claim 2, the combination of Sartori, Kim and Kim530 disclose the user equipment according to claim 1.
Sartori further disclose wherein the data transmission timing pattern is determined by the processor either randomly or based on the result of the resource sensing procedure during the sensing window (see para. 0031, when transmitting, the transmitting UE pseudo-randomly selects a D2D resource among the available resources. The transmitting UE may transmit data or scheduling assignments. Transmission on pseudo-random selected resources does not totally avoid contention, but reduces the probability of collisions by transmitting on the resources which are less crowded. The pseudo-random selection of resources exhibits statistical randomness, but which are generated by a deterministic causal process (e.g., procedure, function)).
The combination of Sartori, Kim and Kim530 however does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and the processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured.
ZTE however disclose wherein a plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and a processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured (see section 2, Fig.9, "T-RPT in the SA indicates: Transmission interval(s) between transmission of multiple MAC PDUs, Number of transmissions of a given MAC PDU (if more than one value is possible), and resources for transmission of each MAC
PDU, T-RPT has no more than 256 values, the one or more data retransmissions are performed within a time span defined by the length of the one determined data transmission timing pattern, see also Section 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a plurality of data transmission timing patterns indicate different numbers of data transmissions, and a processor, when in operation, determines one data transmission timing pattern among data transmission timing patterns corresponding to a total number of transmissions to be performed for the data, wherein the total number of transmissions to be performed for the data is determined by the processor or is preconfigured, as taught by ZTE, in the system of Sartori, Kim and Kim530, so that "transmission interval", "number of transmission of a given TB" and "the resource for transmission of each TB" are indicated in T-RPT and the number of TBs transmitted in a SA period equals to SA period divided by transmission interval K as illustrated in figure 1, see ZTE, para. 0417, Section 2.
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 15-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al (US Pub. No.:2015/0215903) - see Fig.9, para. 0135, 0208-0214, the eNB, in addition to a gap pattern and/or time pattern, provide the WTRU with a specific resource configuration (e.g., frequency and/or time, for example by specifying subframe(s) and/or PRB(s)) that the out-of-coverage WTRU transmits and/or receive with in-coverage WTRU, where for example, the frequency corresponds to the in-coverage resource pool. See also para. 0204, an out-of-coverage WTRU may determine and/or drive resource allocation. FIG. 8 is a diagram of an example of signaling that may be used for an out-of-coverage WTRU to determine and/or drive resource allocation. Resource allocation refers to a time, a gap pattern, and/or a time and/or frequency configuration for the link. See also para. 0208-0209.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469