Claims 1-20 are now pending in the application under prosecution and have been examined.
In the response to this Office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220206691 (LEE et al) in view of US 8954381 B1 ( NAAMAD) and further in view of US 20120166724 A1 (SMITH).
With respect to claim 13, LEE teaches a system comprising: a memory device controller
[storage system comprising storage arrays 102A-B may provide persistent data storage, Fig. 1A, 1C, 1D, 2D] comprising
a first control circuit and a second control circuit
(storage array to include one or more storage array controllers 110A-D)[Par. 0040-0041; Par 0277-0280];
a first memory zone comprising a first memory unit associated with the first control circuit and a second memory unit associated with the first control circuit
(storage array comprising storage drives 171A-F referred to as storage devices or resources in the form of non-volatile Random Access Memory (‘NVRAM’) devices with the storage array controller 110A-D configured to connect the NVRAM storage devices 171A-F) [Par. 0042-0044; Par. 0277-0280); (FIG. 1A show storage array where storage array controllers 110A-D are communicatively coupled to one or more storage drives 171A-F and to NVRAM devices that are included as part of a storage array 102A-B) [Par. 0049-0051]; storage drive 171A-F being zoned storage devices with a zoned namespace on the zoned storage device can be addressed by groups of blocks that are grouped, the group or zone size being settable or dynamically sized with differing defined membership and differing characteristic levels [Par. 0059; Par. 0277-0279].
LEE fails to specifically teach a second memory zone comprising a third memory unit associated with the second control circuit (featuring storage donation from one storage set to another storage set). However, NAAMAD teaches a multi-tiered storage system comprising a plurality of storage tiers (Tier1, TIER2, TIER3, Fig. 4); a plurality of physical devices, wherein each of the plurality of storage tiers includes a different portion of the plurality of physical devices, in which storage movement or reallocation is performed (Fig. 6, FIG. 8A) by: (1) designating a donor tier and a receiver tier; (2) calculating data movement criteria including one or more goal criteria including availability goal and a storage capacity goal (Fig. 14); and (3) allocating a first storage portion to a first storage tier, a second storage portion to the first set that would have been allocated to a second data tier is allocated to the first storage tier, i.e., moving storage portion (unused amount of physical storage) from donor tier to receiving tier (Fig. 14) [Col. 3, Line 31 to Col. 4, Line 39; Col. 11, Line 55 to Col. 12, Line 58].
Neither LEE nor NAAMAD explicitly teaches the second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit. However, US 20120166724 A1 (SMITH) teaches storage controller device for active-active RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) functionality for a DAS (Direct Attached Storage) RAID system having a plurality of storage controllers connected to an expander system, a plurality of physical storage devices (PDs) to said expander system, wherein said expander system supports SAS zoning, and zoning of said DAS RAID system is configured such that there is a plurality of separate and unique PD subset zones, each PD subset zone of said plurality of PD subset zones is zoned in with one storage controller of said plurality of storage controllers, and each unique subset of PDs does not have cross-membership of PDs with another subset of PDs zone in with a different PD subset zone, i.e., a separate and distinct subset of the overall group of PDs for each separate storage controller [Abstract; Par. 0002-0004; Par. 0032-0033] where, on each storage controller, for VDs that do not correspond to a zoned in PD for the storage controller, the VD has remote access to the corresponding PD by sending I/O requests to the storage controller that does have local access to the corresponding PD, i.e., the storage controller with local access to each PD maintains access to and control of the PD by handling the I/O requests from the other storage controllers in the comprehensive zone for the PD [Fig. 6; Par. 0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the storage system of LEE by applying the storage allocation donation, as taught by NAAMAD, in order to optimize the amount of storage in each tier based on need / workload and possibly other criteria when performing a cost benefit analysis, as taught by NAAMAD [Col. 16, Lines 4-54]. it would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the combined storage system of LEE and NAAMAD and include the feature, as recited, second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit, taught by SMITH, in order to provide ability to segregate and manage physical device traffic on the SAS buses interconnecting the physical devices and restrict visibility of each subset of PDs to the specific storage controller that manage control of and access to the particular subset of PDs, as taught by SMITH [Par. 0016-0017].
With respect to claim 1, LEE teaches method for memory pool management
(flash storage array implementing a process managing the storages across the flash storage array) [Par. 0059-0060], the method comprising:
receiving, by a first control circuit of a memory device controller, a first request to create a first logical memory space, the first control circuit being associated with a first memory zone
(initialization of a zoned storage device forming (a control plane) logical group of storage associated with storage device controller 119A-D, management of the control plane and the storage plane being treated independently, presenting a logical device by a storage array controller; the logical device specifying structure forming entities grouped into storage, which is a storage node ) [Par. 0114-0117; Par. 0075-0076; Par. 0098-0102]; (based on the specified structure, identifying location or address space featuring medium address space and physical flash locations, addressing series of address-space transformations or mapping across an entire storage system) [Par. 00102-0103; Par. 0114-0118].
LEE teaches process of dynamically mapping storage of zoned until the zone reaches capacity, i.e., the system to free up the zone's allocated space where a zone sized to different capacity or allocation in different locations of the zoned storage device, e.g., as the zoned storage device being internal maintained by reallocating available storage [Par. 0061-0064; Par. 0282-0284]; but fails to specifically detail storage availability and unavailability, specifically based on:
determining, by the first control circuit, that a second memory unit of the first memory zone is occupied, sending, by the first control circuit, a memory-donation request to a second control circuit of the memory device controller, the second control circuit being associated with a second memory zone; and
based on determining, by the second control circuit, that a third memory unit of the second memory zone is available, allocating, by the second control circuit, the third memory unit to the first logical memory space.
However, NAAMAD teaches a multi-tiered storage system comprising a plurality of storage tiers (Tier1, TIER2, TIER3, Fig. 4); a plurality of physical devices, wherein storage may be allocated for thin devices in chunks or data portions of a particular size as needed rather than allocate all storage necessary for the thin device's entire capacity (Fig. 6, FIG. 8A) by: (1) designating a donor tier and a receiver tier; (2) tracking storage availability and unavailability by calculating data movement criteria including one or more goal criteria including availability goal and a storage capacity goal (Fig. 14; Col. 18, Lines 4-40); and (3) allocating a first storage portion to a first storage tier, a second storage portion to the first set that would have been allocated to a second data tier is allocated to the first storage tier, i.e., moving storage portion (e.g system may relocate a chunk from a flash storage pool to a SATA storage pool or unused amount of physical storage relocated) from donor tier to receiving tier (Fig. 14) [Col. 3, Line 31 to Col. 4, Line 39; Col. 11, Line 55 to Col. 12, Line 58].
Neither LEE nor NAAMAD explicitly teaches the second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit. However, US 20120166724 A1 (SMITH) teaches storage controller device for active-active RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) functionality for a DAS (Direct Attached Storage) RAID system having a plurality of storage controllers connected to an expander system, a plurality of physical storage devices (PDs) to said expander system, wherein said expander system supports SAS zoning, and zoning of said DAS RAID system is configured such that there is a plurality of separate and unique PD subset zones, each PD subset zone of said plurality of PD subset zones is zoned in with one storage controller of said plurality of storage controllers, and each unique subset of PDs does not have cross-membership of PDs with another subset of PDs zone in with a different PD subset zone, i.e., a separate and distinct subset of the overall group of PDs for each separate storage controller [Abstract; Par. 0002-0004; Par. 0032-0033] where, on each storage controller, for VDs that do not correspond to a zoned in PD for the storage controller, the VD has remote access to the corresponding PD by sending I/O requests to the storage controller that does have local access to the corresponding PD, i.e., the storage controller with local access to each PD maintains access to and control of the PD by handling the I/O requests from the other storage controllers in the comprehensive zone for the PD [Fig. 6; Par. 0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the storage system of LEE by applying the storage allocation donation, as taught by NAAMAD, in order to optimize the amount of storage in each tier based on need / workload and possibly other criteria when performing a cost benefit analysis, as taught by NAAMAD [Col. 16, Lines 4-54]. It would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the combined storage system of LEE and NAAMAD and include the feature, as recited, second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit, taught by SMITH, in order to provide ability to segregate and manage physical device traffic on the SAS buses interconnecting the physical devices and restrict visibility of each subset of PDs to the specific storage controller that manage control of and access to the particular subset of PDs, as taught by SMITH [Par. 0016-0017].
With respect to claim 20, LEE teaches device comprising: a processing circuit associated with a first control circuit and a second control circuit
(a storage system, comprising storage memory array establishing storage group; associated with storage array controller) [Fig. 1A, 1C, 1D, 2D; Fig. 14; Par. 0288; Par. 0059-0060]; and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, based on being executed by the processing circuit, cause the processing circuit to perform
(tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions thereupon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method comprising) [Par. 0313]:
receiving, with a first control circuit associated with a first memory zone, a request to create a first logical memory space; based on determining that a first memory unit, at a first physical address range of the first memory zone is available, allocating the first memory unit to the first logical memory space
(initialization of a zoned storage device forming (a control plane) logical group of storage associated with storage device controller 119A-D, management of the control plane and the storage plane being treated independently, maintaining or presenting a map of addressable storage, a logical device by a storage array controller; the map or logical device specifying structure forming entities grouped into storage, which is a storage node ) [Par. 0114-0117; Par. 0075-0076; Par. 0098-0102];
(based on the specified structure, identifying location or maintaining address space featuring allocation of medium address space and physical flash locations, identifying zone that is in full state to defining addressable space transformations or allocating free storage across an entire storage system) [Par. 0063-0066; 00102-0103; Par. 0114-0118 ;Par. 00284-0286] forming storage groups based on various sizes, e.g., the composition of resiliency groups can change with sone reset or reassigned as part of maintenance) [Par. 00284-0286]; and
LEE teaches process of dynamically mapping storage of zoned i=until the zone reaches capacity, i.e., the system to free up the zone's allocated space where a zone sized to different capacity or allocation in different locations of the zoned storage device, e.g., as the zoned storage device being internal maintained by reallocating available storage [Par. 0067-0069; Par. 0282-0284].; but fails to specifically detail storage availability and unavailability, specifically based on:
determining that a second memory unit of the first memory zone is occupied, sending a memory-donation request from the first control circuit to a second control circuit associated with a second memory zone; and
determining that a third memory unit of the second memory zone is available, allocating the third memory unit to the first logical memory space, the third memory unit corresponding to a third physical address range that is separated from the first physical address range.
However, NAAMAD teaches a multi-tiered storage system comprising a plurality of storage tiers (Tier1, TIER2, TIER3, Fig. 4); a plurality of physical devices, wherein storage may be allocated for thin devices in chunks or data portions of a particular size as needed rather than allocate all storage necessary for the thin device's entire capacity (Fig. 6, FIG. 8A) by: (1) designating a donor tier and a receiver tier; (2) tracking storage availability and unavailability by calculating data movement criteria including one or more goal criteria including availability goal and a storage capacity goal (Fig. 14; Col. 18, Lines 4-40); and (3) allocating a first storage portion to a first storage tier, a second storage portion to the first set that would have been allocated to a second data tier is allocated to the first storage tier, i.e., moving storage portion (e.g system may relocate a chunk from a flash storage pool to a SATA storage pool or unused amount of physical storage relocated) from donor tier to receiving tier (Fig. 14) [Col. 3, Line 31 to Col. 4, Line 39; Col. 11, Line 55 to Col. 12, Line 58].
Neither LEE nor NAAMAD explicitly teaches the second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit. However, US 20120166724 A1 (SMITH) teaches storage controller device for active-active RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) functionality for a DAS (Direct Attached Storage) RAID system having a plurality of storage controllers connected to an expander system, a plurality of physical storage devices (PDs) to said expander system, wherein said expander system supports SAS zoning, and zoning of said DAS RAID system is configured such that there is a plurality of separate and unique PD subset zones, each PD subset zone of said plurality of PD subset zones is zoned in with one storage controller of said plurality of storage controllers, and each unique subset of PDs does not have cross-membership of PDs with another subset of PDs zone in with a different PD subset zone, i.e., a separate and distinct subset of the overall group of PDs for each separate storage controller [Abstract; Par. 0002-0004; Par. 0032-0033] where, on each storage controller, for VDs that do not correspond to a zoned in PD for the storage controller, the VD has remote access to the corresponding PD by sending I/O requests to the storage controller that does have local access to the corresponding PD, i.e., the storage controller with local access to each PD maintains access to and control of the PD by handling the I/O requests from the other storage controllers in the comprehensive zone for the PD [Fig. 6; Par. 0035] I/O requests issued by a server to VDs that are remote and are owned by a storage controller not associated with the remote server are redirected through the SAS topology to the storage controller that is local to the VD being accessed [Par. 0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the storage system of LEE by applying the storage allocation donation, as taught by NAAMAD, in order to optimize the amount of storage in each tier based on need / workload and possibly other criteria when performing a cost benefit analysis, as taught by NAAMAD [Col. 16, Lines 4-54]. it would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the combined storage system of LEE and NAAMAD and include the feature, as recited, second control circuit being configured to manage the second memory zone such that requests, by the first control circuit, to access the second memory zone are sent to the second control circuit, taught by SMITH, in order to provide ability to segregate and manage physical device traffic on the SAS buses interconnecting the physical devices and restrict visibility of each subset of PDs to the specific storage controller that manage control of and access to the particular subset of PDs, as taught by SMITH [Par. 0016-0017].
The combination is proper because:
NAAMAD teaches the system in accordance with such techniques would have the flexibility to relocate individual chunks as desired to different devices in the same as well as different pools or storage tiers [Col. 18, Lines 23-33]
SMITH teaches I/O requests issued by a server to VDs that are remote and are owned by a storage controller not associated with the remote server are redirected through the SAS topology to the storage controller that is local to the VD being accessed [Par. 0017; Par. 0035].
With respect to claims 2 and 18, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein: the determining that the first memory unit is available comprises reading, by a memory-map manager of the first control circuit, a first memory map associated with the first memory zone; and the determining that the third memory unit is available comprises reading, by a memory-map manager of the second control circuit, a second memory map associated with the second memory zone (different storage tiers with associated technologies of the tiers; the performance obtained for each storage tier based on observed or collected data; creation of logical group; determining what data portions should be located in each of the different storage tiers such as for data movement optimizations; the event there is an insufficient amount of free of unused storage in the target tier, processing may also include displacing or relocating other data currently stored on a physical device of the target tier; NAAMAD’s; Col. 16, Lines 15-35; Col. 18, Lines 4-33) (opening or making physical storage held by that zone as available by maintaining a map address range that directly maps addresses flash drives for allocation) [LEE’s Par. 0066-0067].
-
With respect to claim 3, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management , wherein the determining that the second memory unit is occupied comprises reading, by a memory-map manager of the first control circuit, a first memory map associated with the first memory zone (maintaining mapping indicating a full or closed state indicating zone being unavailable after writes have been written to the entirety of the zone) [LEE’s Par. 0063; Pat. 0066-0067].
With respect to claim 4, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management , wherein the first request to create the first logical memory space is associated with a performance target (retrieving data and metadata from storage array and providing data to computing devices monitoring and reporting of disk utilization and performance; LEE’s Par.0040); (different storage tiers with associated technologies of the tiers; the performance obtained for each storage tier based on observed or collected data; creation of logical group; determining what data portions should be located in each of the different storage tiers such as for data movement optimizations; NAAMAD’s Col. 16, Lines 15-35; Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30].
With respect to claim 5, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, further comprising: determining, by the first control circuit, that the first memory unit comprises a characteristic associated with providing the performance target; and determining, by the second control circuit, that the third memory unit comprises the characteristic associated with providing the performance target (maintaining predictive maintenance by continuously evaluating characteristics and training and updating model parameters in order to evaluate model accuracy; LEE’s Par. 0175-0176); (different storage tiers with associated technologies of the tiers; the performance obtained for each storage tier based on observed or collected data; creation of logical group; determining what data portions should be located in each of the different storage tiers such as for data movement optimizations; NAAMAD’s Col. 16, Lines 15-35; Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30].
With respect to claims 6 and 15, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein: the first memory unit comprises a first memory type; and the third memory unit comprises a second memory type that is different from the first memory type ((different storage tiers with associated technologies of the tiers; the performance obtained for each storage tier based on observed or collected data; creation of logical group; NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A; Col. 16, Lines 15-35) establishing one or more resiliency groups with storage class memory featuring data access of various types of data) [LEE’s Par. 0035; Par. 0283; Par. 0087].
With respect to claims 7 and 19, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein: the first control circuit comprises a first control core and a second control core; the first request to create the first logical memory space is processed by the first control core; and a second request to create a second logical memory space is processed by the second control core ((NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A; Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30 ); establishing groups of various sizes, numbers of members or membership .with portion of a storage drive having a designated type of flash memory storage, generalizing, a portion of storage memory of the designated type of characteristic level set to a specified group) [LEE’s Par. 0283-0285].
With respect to claims 8 and 14, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein the allocating of the first memory unit to the first logical memory space comprises updating, by a first control core of the first control circuit, a first memory map of the first control circuit with a property of the first memory unit (((NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A-8B; Col. 16, Lines 15-35; the event there is an insufficient amount of free of unused storage in the target tier, processing may also include displacing or relocating other data currently stored on a physical device of the target tier); LEE’s Par. 0286-0288]..
With respect to claims 9 and 16, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein the allocating of the third memory unit to the first logical memory space comprises updating, by a second control core of the second control circuit, a second memory map of the second control circuit with a property of the third memory unit ((NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A-8B; Col. 16, Lines 15-35; the event there is an insufficient amount of free of unused storage in the target tier, processing may also include displacing or relocating other data currently stored on a physical device of the target tier)
(storage group transitioning from larger resiliency groups to smaller resiliency groups and transitioning from smaller to larger, or from larger to smaller resiliency groups data reliability needs) [LEE’s Par. 0286-0287].
With respect to claim 10, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein the third memory unit corresponds to a third physical address range that is separated from the first physical address range (NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A); (storage system establishing resiliency group that has storage drives with another type of storage memory, or portions of storage drives with size, membership, characteristic level of redundancy set independently for each resiliency group, on an individual basis, and can differ between the first and second resiliency groups) [LEE’s Par. 0293-0294].
With respect to claim 11, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, further comprising: receiving, by the first control circuit, a read request for a data location associated with the first logical memory space; determining, by the first control circuit, that the data location is located outside of the first memory zone; forwarding, by the first control circuit, the read request to the second control circuit; and reading, by a memory controller of the second control circuit, data associated with the read request from the second memory zone ((NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A; Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30 ); storage system establishing resiliency group that has storage drives with another type of storage memory, or portions of storage drives with size, membership, characteristic level of redundancy set independently for each resiliency group, on an individual basis, and can differ between the first and second resiliency groups with data stripe having the characteristic level of redundancy of similar resiliency group accessed across the members of the third resiliency group) [LEE’s Par. 0293-0295].
With respect to claim 12, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, further comprising: receiving, by the first control circuit, a write request for a data location associated with the first logical memory space; determining, by the first control circuit, that the data location is located outside of the first memory zone; forwarding, by the first control circuit, the write request to the second control circuit; and writing, by a memory controller of the second control circuit, data associated with the write request to the second memory zone [(NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A; Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30 ); storage system establishing resiliency group that has storage drives with another type of storage memory, or portions of storage drives with size, membership, characteristic level of redundancy set independently for each resiliency group and can differ between the first and second resiliency groups with membership characteristics of the resiliency groups settable on each individual group in the storage system; and performing data accesses of data stripes in accordance with the staging region, the stable region, the resiliency groups) [LEE’s Par. 0295-0298].
With respect to claim 17, LEE, NAAMAD, and SMITH, combined, teach method for memory pool management, wherein the memory device controller is configured to perform: receiving, at the first control circuit, a first request to create a first logical memory space; based on determining, by the first control circuit, that the first memory unit is available, allocating, by the first control circuit, the first memory unit to the first logical memory space; based on determining, by the first control circuit, that the second memory unit is occupied, sending, by the first control circuit, a memory-donation request to the second control circuit; and based on determining, by the second control circuit, that the third memory unit is available, allocating, by the second control circuit, the third memory unit to the first logical memory space (different storage tiers with associated technologies of the tiers; the performance obtained for each storage tier based on observed or collected data; creation of logical group; determining what data portions should be located in each of the different storage tiers such as for data movement optimizations; determining data movements which seek to optimize goal criteria may take into account an acceptable limit or threshold with respect to an activity level of a storage tier; the event there is an insufficient amount of free of unused storage in the target tier, processing may also include displacing or relocating other data currently stored on a physical device of the target tier) [NAAMAD’s Fig. 6; 8A; Col. 16, Lines 15-35;Col. 18, Lines 4-33; Col. 17, Lines 15-30].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250225068 A1 (VITTORELLI et al) teaching memory controller subsystem comprising first and second memory controllers, where, in response to receiving a write request, each memory controller generates a respective first or second communication for storing the respective data to the respective memory address, where: one controller, in response to determining that a request comprises data indicating a memory address associated with the second memory controller, forward the received read request to the second memory controller.
US 20240319893 A1 (NIEMEYER et al) teaching operations comprising: providing a first storage pool which includes a donor storage pool having donor storage capacity; monitoring capacity usage of a second storage pool having a total usable storage capacity; detecting a potential out-of-space condition in the second storage pool as a function of the capacity usage monitoring of the second storage pool.
US 20230041362 A1 (BREWER) teaching first memory control circuit to read from or write to the first memory circuit; a second memory circuit, such as SRAM; a second memory control circuit adapted to read from the second memory circuit in response to a read request when the requested data is stored in the second memory circuit, and otherwise to transfer the read request to the first memory control circuit; predetermined atomic operations circuitry; and programmable atomic operations circuitry adapted to perform at least one programmable atomic operation.
US 20220019505 A1 (LEE et al) teaching plurality of storage controllers configured to initiate an action based on redundant copies of metadata, such that a source authority of one of the plurality of storage controllers receives a message, records the message redundantly throughout the plurality of storage controllers, and delivers the message to a destination authority of a further one of the storage controllers.
US 20220318156 A1 (BREWER) teaching apparatus comprising: a network on chip (NOC) interface to receive on a first virtual channel, from a processor, a memory request for a memory controller; a fabric interface configured to include the first virtual channel and a second virtual channel, connected to a scale fabric; and circuitry to: transmit the memory request toward the memory controller on the first virtual channel via the scale fabric; receive a response from the memory controller over the second virtual channel via the scale fabric; and relay the response to the processor over the second virtual channel.
K. Han and D. Shin, "Remap-Based Inter-Partition Copy for Arrayed Solid-State Drives," in IEEE Transactions on Computers, vol. 71, no. 7, pp. 1640-1654, 1 July 2022.
T. Le, Z. Zhang and Z. Zhu, "POMI: Polling-Based Memory Interface for Hybrid Memory System," 2021 IEEE 39th International Conference on Computer Design (ICCD), Storrs, CT, USA, 2021, pp. 447-455.
Y. Ou, N. Xiao and M. Lai, "A Scalable Multi-channel Parallel NAND Flash Memory Controller Architecture," 2011 Sixth Annual Chinagrid Conference, Dalian, China, 2011, pp. 48-53.
H. Erdem and A. Uner, "A multi-channel remote controller for home and office appliances," in IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics, vol. 55, no. 4, pp. 2184-2189, November 2009.
US 20210373956 A1 (KRASNER et al) teaching techniques for allocating resources in a system may include: monitoring, using a first proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller, a size of a pool of free shared resources of a first type; responsive to determining the size of the pool of the free shared resources is at least a minimum threshold, providing the size of the pool of free shared resources as an input to a second PID controller; monitoring, using the second PID controller, a total amount of resources of the first type that are available; determining, using the second PID controller and in accordance with one or more resource policies for one or more applications, a deallocation rate or amount; deallocating, using the second PID controller and in accordance with the deallocation rate or amount, resources of the first type; and allocating a least a first of the deallocated resources for use by one of the applications.
US 8,631,133 B1 (JONNALA et al) teaching method comprising: establishing a first virtual transport session, wherein the first virtual transport session communicatively couples a host data processing system and a target block-level storage device, and the first virtual transport session comprises a transport session established across the network between the host data processing system and the target block-level storage device; establishing a second virtual transport session, wherein the second virtual transport session communicatively couples the host data processing system and the target block-level storage device, and the second virtual transport session comprises the transport session.
US 11,379,388 B1 (BALAKRISHNAN et al) teaching flow control mechanism featuring a request credit control circuit coupled to a first command queue and a second command queue, and operates to track a number of outstanding request credits, the request credit control circuit issuing a request credit in response to a designated event based on a number of available entries of the first and second command queues.
US 20190272119 A1 (BREWER) teaching memory controller coupleable to a first memory circuit and including: a first memory control circuit to read from or write to the first memory circuit; a second memory circuit; a second memory control circuit adapted to read from the second memory circuit in response to a read request when the requested data is stored in the second memory circuit, and otherwise to transfer the read request to the first memory control circuit; predetermined atomic operations circuitry; and programmable atomic operations circuitry adapted to perform at least one programmable atomic operation, the second memory control circuit also transferring a received programmable atomic operation request to the programmable atomic operations circuitry and setting a hazard bit for a cache line of the second memory circuit.
US 20140359243 A1 (BYRD et al) teaching mechanism provided in a data processing system for volume placement across remote replication relationships applying a volume placement optimization to a source storage pool having at least one volume with a replication target in a target storage pool based on the workload performance data for each non-shared storage volume in the target storage pool.
US 12,056,365 B2 (KANNAN et al) teaching storage system havinga resiliency scheme to enhance storage system performance, the storage system composed of a RAID stripe mixing an ordering of portions of the RAID stripe, based on reliability differences across zones of the solid-state memory, each zone of the solid state memory corresponding to a type of solid state memory.
US 11,960,371 B2 (LEE et al) teaching plurality of storage controllers configured to initiate an action based on redundant copies of metadata, such that a source authority of one of the plurality of storage controllers receives a message, records the message redundantly throughout the plurality of storage controllers, and delivers the message to a destination authority of a further one of the storage controllers responsive to achieving a level of redundancy for the redundant copies of the metadata regarding the message provided, wherein at least one of the plurality of storage controllers comprises a zoned storage drive.
US 20200174672 A1 (AGETSUMA et al) teaching storage system comprising: a selection unit which selects a storage node required for setting a data protection level after conversion from the storage nodes on the basis of information related to a conversion of the data protection level; the storage node selected by the selection unit to manage data using the data protection level after conversion; a predetermined storage node including a control module which migrates data of a storage pool of which a data protection level is set; a first storage pool in which a first data protection level is set is provided, and a second storage pool in which a second data protection level is set is provided.
US 20250272227 A1 / US 11762764 B1 (KIRKPATRICK et al) teaching writing data in a storage system that including a first type of storage device and a second type of storage device, including: selecting, for one or more unprocessed write requests, a target storage device type from the first type of storage device and the second type of storage device; issuing a first group of write requests to the first type of storage device, the first group of write requests addressed to one or more locations selected in dependence upon an expected address translation to be performed by the first type of storage device; and issuing a second group of write requests to the second type of storage device, the second group of write requests addressed to one or more locations selected in dependence upon a layout of memory in the second type of storage device.
US 12405742 B2 (BERNAT et al) teaching storage system comprising: a storage controller to be operatively coupled to a plurality of storage devices, the storage controller comprising a processing device, the processing device configured to: transmit a command to relocate data from a first set of data blocks at the plurality of storage devices to a second set of data blocks at the plurality of storage devices while bypassing the storage controller, the command comprising address information associated with the second set of blocks to store the relocated data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/PIERRE MICHEL BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138