DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/15/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Lin et al.(hereinafter, “Lin”; 12660036).
In response to claim 1,
Lin teaches a method comprising: processing a beam-specific configuration of a serving beam, the beam-specific configuration received from a base station (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam is equated to a beam specific configuration, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3 ) is explicitly teaches using a beam-specific configuration of a serving beam, column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19,gNB is equated to a base station, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly teaches receiving from a base station and processing by a user equipment (UE), using each beam with an ON/OFF dynamic signal in order to best match a corresponding traffic demand is interpreted as processing a beam specific configuration by the UE that is received from the base station); and
performing, by a user equipment (UE), a downlink (DL) reception or an uplink (UL) transmission on the serving beam based on the beam-specific configuration of the serving beam (column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19, DRX is equated to downlink reception and DTX is equated to uplink transmission on the serving beam, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly receiving or performing by the user equipment (UE) based on the beam-specific configuration of the serving beam).
In response to claim 2,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific configuration includes: a configuration associated with a beam-specific discontinuous transmission (DTX) (column 10, line 63 to column 11, line 19 teaches using a DTX cycle);
a configuration of a beam-specific discontinuous reception (DRX) (column 10, line 63 to column 11, line 19 teaches using a DRX cycle);
a configuration associated with a beam-specific DTX and a beam-specific DRX (column 10, line 63 to column 11, line 19 teaches using a DRX and DTX cycle); or a configuration including an active duration and a non-active duration associated with the UL transmission or the DL reception on the serving beam.
In response to claim 3,
Lin teaches further comprising: determining a UE capability parameter associated with supporting the beam-specific configuration (column 17, lines 11-45, predict compilation time for a serving packet is equated to a UE capability parameter associate with the beam specific configuration, predicating the compilation for downlink packets by each UE is interpreted as determining); and
generating a signal to transmit the UE capability parameter to the base station (column 17, lines 11-45, reporting is equated to generating, reporting the prediction back to the gNB teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 4,
Lin teaches further comprising: processing an activation command associated with the beam-specific configuration (column 11, lines 5-19, dynamic “ON” signal is equated to an activation command associated with the beam-specific configuration, column 11, lines 40-49, monitoring a PDCCH by the UE is interpreted as receiving or processing); and
processing a deactivation command associated with the beam-specific configuration (column 11, lines 5-19, dynamic “OFF” signal is equated to an activation command associated with the beam-specific configuration, column 11, lines 40-49, monitoring a PDCCH by the UE is interpreted as receiving or processing).
In response to claim 5,
Lin teaches wherein: the activation command is included in a first downlink control information (DCI) and the deactivation command is included in a second DCI (column 11, lines 5-19, using a DCI by the gNB doe sending ON/OFF dynamic signal explicitly teaches this limitation); or the activation command is included in a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and the deactivation command is included in a second MAC CE.
In response to claim 6,
Lin teaches wherein the serving beam is a first beam (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, beam 1 is equated to a first beam, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) is read as using a serving beam is a first beam), and
the method further comprises: switching from the first beam to a second beam (column 9, lines 21-51 is read as using a first beam or a second beam (based on traffic demands), column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19, gNB is equated to a base station, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly teaches switching by the UE); and
determining that the beam-specific configuration is not valid (column 10, lines 5-25, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is interpreted as determining a beam specific configuration (traffic matrices described on column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20) is not valid).
In response to claim 7,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific configuration is a first beam-specific configuration(column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are interpreted as using a beam specific configuration for the first beam), and
the method further comprises: processing a dedicated signaling or a group common signaling having a second beam-specific configuration (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, beam 2 is equated to a dedicated signaling and a second beam, traffic matrices of each beam are interpreted as using a second beam specific configuration, column 10, lines 5-25, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is also interpreted as processing a dedicated signaling).
In response to claim 8,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific configuration is a first beam-specific configuration (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are interpreted as using a first beam specific configuration), and
the method further comprises: processing a reconfiguration signaling including a second beam-specific configuration (column 10, lines 5-25, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is also interpreted as processing a reconfiguration signaling including a second beam-specific configuration).
In response to claim 9,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific configuration is a first beam-specific configuration (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are interpreted as using a first beam specific configuration), and
the method further comprises: processing a second beam-specific configuration of a second beam (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are also interpreted as using a first beam specific configuration, column 10, lines 5-25, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is also interpreted as processing a second beam-specific configuration of a second beam); and
processing one or more commands to deactivate the first beam-specific configuration, and to activate the second beam-specific configuration (column 10, line 63 to column 11, line 19, a DCI with a beam ID is equated to a one or more commands, configuring a DRX/DTX cycle by a gNB using a DCI with beam ID is interpreted as the UE receive or process processing one or more commands to deactivate the first beam-specific configuration, and to activate the second beam-specific configuration).
In response to claim 10,
Lin teaches wherein: the one or more commands are included in one or more downlink control information (DCIs);or one or more medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs) (column 10, line 63 to column 11, line 19, a DCI with a beam ID is equated to one or more downlink control information (DCIs)); or the one or more command are received using the first beam.
In response to claim 11,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific configuration is a first beam-specific configuration (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are interpreted as using a first beam specific configuration), and
the method further comprises: processing a second beam-specific configuration of the second beam (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, traffic matrices of each beam are also interpreted as using a second beam specific configuration, column 10, lines 5-25, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is also interpreted as processing a second beam-specific configuration of a second beam); and
determining that a measurement of the second beam is larger than a measurement of the first beam (fig. 3, element 300, column 9, lines 20-51,a beam with long ON period is interpreted as a larger beam, and a beam with a short ON duration is equated to a short beam, column 10, lines 5-25, the described embodiment is interpreted by the examiner as beam 2 or second beam can be larger than beam 1 or first beam, identifying a best beam for using by the UE based on a measuring strength of a reference signal is interpreted as determining that a measurement of the second beam is larger than a measurement of the first beam),
wherein said switching from the first beam to the second beam is based on said determining that the measurement of the second beam is greater than the measurement of the first beam (column 10, line 62 to column 11, line 27 and lines 40-49, transmitting by the gNB a DCI with ON/OFF cycles using a beam ID explicitly teaches the UE switches from one beam to another beam based the ON/OFF cycles that has been adjusted based on the measured reference signal described on column 10, lines 5-25).
In response to claim 15,
Lin teaches an apparatus comprising: processing circuitry to (column 5, lines 4-26, base station is equated to an apparatus, this section teaches using a processor):
generating a beam-specific access barring indication associated with a serving beam (using three different beams (beams 1, beams 2, and beams 3 ) is explicitly teaches using a serving beam, column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19, a DRX or DTX cycle is equated to barring indication associate with the serving beam, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly teaches generating a beam-specific access barring indication associated with a serving beam); and
perform a downlink (DL) transmission or an uplink (UL) reception based on the beam-specific access barring indication (column 10 line 63 to column 1, lines 19, DRX is equated to downlink transmission, DTX is equated to uplink reception, using a DRX/DTX pattern explicitly teaches this limitation); and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry to enable communication (column 4, lines 46-67, set of antenna elements are equated to an interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry to enable communication).
In response to claim 16,
Lin teaches wherein the beam-specific access barring indication includes a beam-specific cell barred indication, a beam-specific cell barred network energy saving (NES) indication, or a beam-specific user access control (UAC) indication (column 10, line 51 to column 11, line 21, using a beam ID is interpreted as using a beam-specific access barring indication that includes a beam-specific cell barred indication).
In response to claim 17,
Lin teaches wherein the serving beam is a first serving beam (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) is explicitly teaches using a beam-specific configuration of a serving beam), and
the beam-specific access barring indication is a first beam-specific access barring indication (column 10, line 51 to column 11, line 21, using a beam ID is interpreted as using a first beam-specific access barring indication), and
the processing circuitry is further to: generate a second beam-specific access barring indication associated with a second beam (column 10, line 51 to column 11, line 21,providing an illustration of DCI and using a beam ID with the DCI read as generating (the DCI) with a beam ID, using a beam ID is interpreted as using a first beam-specific access barring indication).
In response to claim 18,
Lin teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to (column 5, lines 26-64 teaches this limitation):
process area information associated with a beam index (column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) is explicitly teaches using beam area, column 10, line 51 to column 11, line 19, beam ID is equated to a beam index, DRX and DTX cycle with (a DCI) is equated to area information associate with the beam index, column 11, lines 40-49,moniroting a PDCCH by a UE explicitly teaches receiving or processing the area information associate with the beam index); and
perform a measurement associated with the beam index based on the area information (column 10, lines 5-25, measuring the strength of a reference signal for identifying a beat bema explicitly teaches this limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Lin et al.(hereinafter, “Lin”; 12660036) in view of Thangarasa et al. (hereinafter, “Thangarasa”; 12048002B2).
In response to claim 12,
Lin does not teach explicitly about claim 12.
Thangarasa in view of Lin teaches further comprising: generating an indicator to be transmit to the base station (column 17, line 55 to column 18, line 19, CSI-RS is equated to an indicator, selecting/reporting is equated to generating an indicator to be transmit to the base station),
wherein the indicator: includes a first index associated with the second beam-specific configuration or a second index associated with the second beam (column 15,line 61 to column 16, line 3, downlink received beams are interpreted as using multiple first beams or using a first beam, column 17, line 55 to column 18, line 19, candidate beam is equated to a second beam, CSI-RS is equated to a second index associated with the second beam); and
indicates said switching from the first beam to the second beam (column 17, line 55 to column 18, line 19, CSI-RS is equated to an indicator, selecting/reporting is equated to indicating, column 18, line 60 to column 10,line 11, performing a cell reselection as described in this section is read as switching from the first beam to the second beam).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for generating an indicator to be transmit to the base station, wherein the indicator: includes a first index associated with the second beam-specific configuration or a second index associated with the second beam and indicates said switching from the first beam to the second beam as taught by Thangarasa because it would allow using an unlicensed spectrum along with a licensed spectrum.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (hereinafter, “Lin”; 12660036) in view of DALSGAARD et al. (hereinafter, “DALSGAARD”; WO2021034313).
In response to claim 19,
Lin does not teach explicitly about claim 19.
DALSGAARD in view of Lin teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to (paragraphs 82-83 together teach this limitation):
generate a measurement result based on the area information (paragraphs 59-60, neighbor cell or cell is equated to an area, beam index (in paragraph 59) is equated to area information, paragraph 65, sending a measurement report to a gNB is read as generating a measurement result).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claim 13, this claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “performing a random-access procedure after said switching from the first beam to the second beam; and determining a beam change or a location change; and generating a measurement report associated with the second beam based on said determining the beam change or the location change.”
The closet prior art in the record Lin et al.’s (12660036) teaching on column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20 about using traffic matrices of each beam is equated to a beam specific configuration, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3 ) is explicitly teaches using a beam-specific configuration of a serving beam, his teaching on column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19, about using a gNB is equated to a base station, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly teaches receiving from a base station and processing by a user equipment (UE), using each beam with an ON/OFF dynamic signal in order to best match a corresponding traffic demand is interpreted as processing a beam specific configuration by the UE that is received from the base station, his teaching on column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19 about using a DRX is equated to downlink reception and DTX is equated to uplink transmission on the serving beam, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly receiving or performing by the user equipment (UE) based on the beam-specific configuration of the serving beam. He fails to teach the above cited limitations.
Claim 14 is objected, because it depends on claim 13.
As for dependent claim 20, this claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the area information includes a center and a radius and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: determine that a location of a user equipment (UE) is within a coverage area associated with the area information.”
The closet prior art in the record Lin et al.’s (12660036) teaching on column 8, line 62 to column 9, line 20 about using traffic matrices of each beam is equated to a beam specific configuration, using three different beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3 ) is explicitly teaches using a beam-specific configuration of a serving beam, his teaching on column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19, about using a gNB is equated to a base station, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly teaches receiving from a base station and processing by a user equipment (UE), using each beam with an ON/OFF dynamic signal in order to best match a corresponding traffic demand is interpreted as processing a beam specific configuration by the UE that is received from the base station, his teaching on column 10,line 63 to column 11, line 19 about using a DRX is equated to downlink reception and DTX is equated to uplink transmission on the serving beam, providing a DRX or a DTX cycle using a DCI flag explicitly receiving or performing by the user equipment (UE) based on the beam-specific configuration of the serving beam. He fails to teach the above cited limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20240235797……………. paragraphs 60-65 and 147.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466