DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/15/2024, 11/15/2024, 4/1/2025, 8/27/2025, 10/23/2025 and 9/3/2026 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al (Matsumura), US 2021/0282168.
Matsumura is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, Matsumura teaches the invention including a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
A processor (pp. 0269, 0271, 0274) configured to:
Receive configuration information from a network, wherein the configuration information comprises a first beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) resource set associated with a first TRP of a cell, and a second BFD RS resource set associated with a second TRP of the cell, wherein the first TRP and a second TRP are associated with the same cell (pp. 0081);
detect a beam failure for the first TRP of the cell based on measurements associated with the first BFD RS resource set being below a threshold (pp. 0037, 0039, 0087); and
send a report to the network, wherein the report comprises an indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell and an indication of a selected candidate beam RS for use in beam failure recovery (BFR) (pp. 0037, 0039-0049, 0142, 0144).
As per claim 2, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
Receive configuration information that comprises an indication of first candidate beam RS set for BFR for the first TRP of the cell and an indication candidate beam RS set for BFR for the second TRP of the cell (pp. 0108-0111, 0122-0123); and
Select the candidate beam RS for use in BFR from the first candidate beam RS set for BFR for the first TRP of the cell (pp. 0108, 0116-0117, 0130).
As per claim 4, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR comprises an identifier of the selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR (pp. 0130).
As per claim 5, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the report further comprises an indication of the cell associated with the beam failure for the first TRP (pp. 0037, 0039-0049).
As per claim 6, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell comprises an identifier that indicates the first TRP (pp. 0130).
As per claim 7, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell comprises an identifier associated with the first BFD RS resource set associated with the first TRP of the cell (pp. 0039, 0098, 0103, 0130).
As per claim 8, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Matsumura further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
Detect a beam failure for the second TRP of the cell based on measurement associated with the second BFD RS resource set being below the threshold (pp. 0037, 0039, 0087, 0107-0111); and
Wherein the report comprises an indication of the beam failure for the second TRP of the cell and an indication of a second selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR (pp. 0037, 0039-0049, 0142-0143).
As per claim 9, Matsumura teaches the invention including a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
Receiving configuration information from a network, wherein the configuration information comprises a first beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) resource set associated with a first TRP of a cell, and a second BFD RS resource set associated with a second TRP of the cell, wherein the first TRP and a second TRP are associated with the same cell (pp. 0081);
detecting a beam failure for the first TRP of the cell based on measurements associated with the first BFD RS resource set being below a threshold (pp. 0037, 0039, 0087); and
sending a report to the network, wherein the report comprises an indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell and an indication of a selected candidate beam RS for use in beam failure recovery (BFR) (pp. 0037, 0039-0049, 0142, 0144).
As per claim 10, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the method further comprises:
Receiving configuration information that comprises an indication of first candidate beam RS set for BFR for the first TRP of the cell and an indication candidate beam RS set for BFR for the second TRP of the cell (pp. 0108-0111, 0122-0123); and
Selecting the candidate beam RS for use in BFR from the first candidate beam RS set for BFR for the first TRP of the cell (pp. 0108, 0116-0117, 0130).
As per claim 12, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR comprises an identifier of the selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR (pp. 0130).
As per claim 13, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the report further comprises an indication of the cell associated with the beam failure for the first TRP (pp. 0037, 0039-0049).
As per claim 14, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell comprises an identifier that indicates the first TRP (pp. 0130).
As per claim 15, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the indication of the beam failure for the first TRP of the cell comprises an identifier associated with the first BFD RS resource set associated with the first TRP of the cell (pp. 0039, 0098, 0103, 0130).
As per claim 16, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9. Matsumura further teaches wherein the method comprises:
Detecting a beam failure for the second TRP of the cell based on measurement associated with the second BFD RS resource set being below the threshold (pp. 0037, 0039, 0087, 0107-0111); and
Wherein the report comprises an indication of the beam failure for the second TRP of the cell and an indication of a second selected candidate beam RS for use in BFR (pp. 0037, 0039-0049, 0142-0143).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al, US 2021/0282168, in view of Chin et al, US 2021/0050901.
Chin is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 3, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Matsumura does not teach wherein the processor is configured to select the candidate beam RS for the first TRP from the first candidate beam RS set indicated for the first TRP of the cell based on a measurement value, the candidate beam RS having a highest measurement value of the candidate beams RSs of the first candidate beam RS set. Chin teaches to select the candidate beam RS for the first TRP from the first candidate beam RS set indicated for the first TRP of the cell based on a measurement value, the candidate beam RS having a highest measurement value of the candidate beams RSs of the first candidate beam RS set (pp. 0050, 0071, 0405). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Matsumura and Chin in order to select the candidate beam with the highest RSRP to ensure high beam quality and minimize further beam failure.
As per claim 11, Matsumura teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Matsumura does not teach wherein the method comprises selecting the candidate beam RS for the first TRP from the first candidate beam RS set indicated for the first TRP of the cell based on a measurement value, the candidate beam RS having a highest measurement value of the candidate beams RSs of the first candidate beam RS set. Chin teaches to select the candidate beam RS for the first TRP from the first candidate beam RS set indicated for the first TRP of the cell based on a measurement value, the candidate beam RS having a highest measurement value of the candidate beams RSs of the first candidate beam RS set (pp. 0050, 0071, 0405). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Matsumura and Chin in order to select the candidate beam with the highest RSRP to ensure high beam quality and minimize further beam failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng, US 2019/0379506
Zhou et al, US 11,950,287
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
September 22, 2026