DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions Analysis
Claim 1 and 12 recite “transmitting, by the wireless device” whereas claim 7 and 18 recites “acquiring, by the network node”.
At present, the Examiner does not consider these recitations to impose an undue burden on examination. However, should the claim be amended during prosecution such that the respective limitations are directed to different embodiments or otherwise result in distinct inventions, the Examiner may impose a restriction requirement pursuant to the applicable restriction practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, 7, 11, 12 and 18, applicant is claiming “….. idle state as the paging occasion index ….”. It is not clear what applicant mean by “as the” and make the claim language vague and indefinite and does not explain if any weight should be given to the limitation followed by “as the”.
Dependent claim does not overcome the deficiency of the independent claim as a whole.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of Patent No. US 12150092 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in pending application are transparently found in Patent No. US 12150092 B2 with obvious wording variation. For example, compare Claim 1 of pending application with claim 1 and 3 of Patent No. US 12150092 B2, they both recite
A method of information transmission, comprising (An information transmission method, comprising):
transmitting, by a wireless device (transmitting, by a first communication node),
a paging capability indication information (a paging capability indication information indicating a paging capability of the first communication node) indicating that the wireless device supports using a paging occasion index (claim 3, indication information indicating that the second communication node supports computing the paging occasion index) in an idle state as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state (that comprises a capability of computing a paging occasion index in the inactive state by using a discontinuous reception cycle of the first communication node in an idle mode)
Further, analyzing and comparing dependent claims 2-6 of the pending application with claims 2, 4-6 of Patent No. US 12150092 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
Similarly, analyzing and comparing independent claims 7, 12 and 18 of the pending application including its dependent claims with claims 7, 12, 18 including its dependent claims of Patent No. US 12150092 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
Note the issued claims of Patent No. US 12150092 B2 are narrower in scope such that the claimed limitations as recited in pending application are encompassed by Patent No. US 12150092 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example using measurement received from a mobile device, transmitting from the source relay node to a donor access node.
The apparatus and the method claim 1, 12 recites limitation, “transmitting, by a wireless device, a paging capability indication information indicating that the wireless device supports using a paging occasion index in an idle state as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state” and then claim 7 and 18 recites “acquiring, by a network node, a paging information that comprises paging capability indication information, of a wireless device, indicating that the wireless device is configured to use a paging occasion index in an idle state as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state; and determining a paging occasion according to the paging information and capability information of the network node”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception.
Claim 1 and 12 recites transmitting, by a wireless device, a paging capability indication information. The transmitting step recited in the claim is no more than an abstract idea of human activity. The Federal Circuit concluded that "[s]tanding alone, the act of providing someone an additional set of information without disrupting the ongoing provision of an initial set of information is an abstract idea," observing that the district court "pointed to the nontechnical human activity of passing a note to a person who is in the middle of a meeting or conversation as further illustrating the basic, longstanding practice that is the focus of the [patent ineligible] claimed invention." 896 F.3d at 1344-45, 127 USPQ2d at 1559 (See MPEP 2106.04 (a) (2) II (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
Claim 7 and 18 recites “acquiring, by a network node, a paging information; and determining a paging occasion according to the paging information and capability information of the network node”. The acquiring step and determining step recited in the claim is no more than the mental step of collecting and comparing known information which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitations recited in the claim such that the claim amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Further, dependent claims do not add any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and do not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. Pub. No. US 20220225237 A1 in view of 3GPP TS 38.304 V15.3.0 title User Equipment (UE) procedures in Idle mode and RRC Inactive state (2019-03)
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches a method of information transmission (fig. 4A), comprising:
transmitting by a wireless device (fig. 4A Step 410 and Para 68, the UE may transmit capability information i.e., transmitting by a wireless device), a paging capability indication information (Para 68 and fig. 4A Step 410, capability information ) indicating that the wireless device supports using a paging occasion index (Para 68, capability information) in an idle state (Para 50, the capability information further indicates a minimum gap between a first message scheduling a page and a second message carrying the page; and/or means for monitoring, while in an inactive or idle state i.e., in idle state).
He teaches that a paging reception configuration in which a UE in an idle or inactive mode monitors a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH) during a PO within a paging frame configured for the UE to determine whether a page is scheduled for the UE during the PO (Para 60).
He does not specifically teach
paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1-3 teaches that The UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle. A PO is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions and can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol) where paging DCI can be sent (TS38.213 [4]). The UE initiates RRC Connection Resume procedure upon receiving RAN initiated paging. If the UE receives a CN initiated paging in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE moves to RRC_IDLE and informs NAS i.e., paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of He with the method of 3GPP TS 38.304 so as to reduce power consumption (See 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1).
Regarding Claim 2, He teaches wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4a UE).
Regarding Claim 3, He teaches further comprising: receiving, from a network node, a capability information indicating that the network node supports computing the paging occasion index in the inactive state based on the paging occasion index of the wireless device in the idle state (Para 70).
Regarding Claim 4, He teaches wherein the network node is a base station (BS) in a network (Fig. 4a, base station.
Regarding Claim 5, He teaches further comprising: monitoring, by the wireless device in the inactive state, at least one paging occasion (Para 60).
Regarding Claim 6, He teaches further comprising: determining the paging occasion index based on at least one of 1) a number of paging times broadcast in the capability information, or 2) a discontinuous reception cycle of the wireless device (Para 60).
Regarding Claim 7, He teaches a method of information transmission (fig. 4A), comprising:
acquiring, by a network node, a paging information that comprises paging capability indication information, of a wireless device, indicating that the wireless device is configured to use a paging occasion index in an idle state (Para 68);
and determining a paging occasion according to the paging information and capability information of the network node (Para 60).
He does not specifically teach
paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1-3 teaches that The UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle. A PO is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions and can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol) where paging DCI can be sent (TS38.213 [4]). The UE initiates RRC Connection Resume procedure upon receiving RAN initiated paging. If the UE receives a CN initiated paging in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE moves to RRC_IDLE and informs NAS i.e., paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of He with the method of 3GPP TS 38.304 so as to reduce power consumption (See 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1).
Regarding Claim 8, He teaches wherein the network node is a base station (BS) in a network (Fig. 4A base station).
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4A UE).
Regarding Claim 10, He teaches further comprising: broadcasting the capability information of the network node (Para 71).
Regarding Claim 11, He teaches wherein the capability information broadcast by the network node comprises capability indication information for using the paging occasion index of the wireless device in the idle state as the paging occasion (Para 70).
He does not specifically teach
paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1-3 teaches that The UE monitors one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle. A PO is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions and can consist of multiple time slots (e.g. subframe or OFDM symbol) where paging DCI can be sent (TS38.213 [4]). The UE initiates RRC Connection Resume procedure upon receiving RAN initiated paging. If the UE receives a CN initiated paging in RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE moves to RRC_IDLE and informs NAS i.e., paging occasion as the paging occasion index in an inactive state and in the idle state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of He with the method of 3GPP TS 38.304 so as to reduce power consumption (See 3GPP TS 38.304 Chapter 7 Sec 7.1 Discontinuous Reception for paging Para 1)
Regarding Claim 12, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and further teaches a communication apparatus (Fig. 4A UE and also see Fig. 7 and Para 106, UE), comprising one or more processors (Para 107 and fig. 7 Unit 720, processor) configured to: transmit (Para 108, he processing system 710 may be coupled to a transceiver 730. The transceiver 730 is coupled to one or more antennas 735. The transceiver 730 provides a means for communicating with various other apparatuses over a transmission medium), by a wireless device (Fig. 4A and Fig. 7 UE).
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 and further teaches a communication apparatus, comprising one or more processors (fig. 2 Unit 240) configured to: acquire, by a network node (fig. 2 Unit 130).
Regarding Claim 19, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li Pub. No. US 20240163052 A1 - INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD AND APPARATUS, COMMUNICATION DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
Koskela et al. Pub. No. US 20240039669 A1 - REFERENCE SIGNAL TRANSMISSION
Li Pub. No. US 20230319718 A1 - METHOD, AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE FOR POWER SAVING
Li Pub. No. US 20220110091 A1 - PAGING METHOD, DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
Nader et al. Pub. No. US 20230354198 A1 - Network node for communicating with wireless devices, has processing circuitry for providing wake up signal for transmission in downlink control channel, and radio interface in communication with processing circuitry
Zheng et al. Pub. No. US 20220053421 A1 - COMMUNICATION METHOD, APPARATUS, AND SYSTEM
Siomina et al. Pub. No. US 20210212153 A1 - Methods of Reliable Paging Transmission Under UE EDRX
Ou et al. Pub. No. US 20200396591 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MULTIPLE-USIM DEVICE IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Astrom et al. Pub. No. US 20190342833 A1 - Support for a Wireless Device with a Wake-Up Receiver
EP 3893540 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DETERMINING CONFIGURATION PARAMETERS, AND TERMINAL
3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting#111-e R3-210338 25 January – 5 February 2021
3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #111-e R3-210339 25 January – 5 February 2021
3GPP TS 38.304 V16.3.0 (2020-12)
On the Flexible and Performance-Enhanced Radio Resource Control for 5G NR networks - 2019
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647