Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 24, 2025 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-59) in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 60 requires “positioning and aligning transmission coil over an implanted receiving coil”, which is limited to an implanted system and thus cannot be practiced with a materially different product. This traversal is found persuasive. Accordingly, the restriction requirement is withdrawn and claims 1-69 will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 8, 16, 23-25, 29, 30, 39-41, 43, 46, 51-53, 57 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The following elements are recited in the claims without proper support in either the specification or the drawings:
Claims 4 and 39: One or more electrodes placed in an array and mounted on a flat surface;
Claims 5 and 40: Receiving coil having a diameter of 1-50 mm (para. 31 states 5-50 mm);
Claims 6 and 4: One or more electrodes having a length of 1-10 mm (para. 32 states 2-10 mm);
Claims 8 and 43: an RF switch to multiplex signals to the transmission coil;
Claims 16 and 46: One or more electrodes having an exposed tip diameter of 0.1 mm to 5 mm;
Claims 23 and 51: Integrated with electronic medical records systems and patient management software;
Claims 24 and 52: Implanted system comprises bioresorbable materials;
Claims 15 and 53: External transmission coil adheres to the skin using an adhesive or tape;
Claims 29 and 57: The external control system enters a power saving sleep mode when not actively transmitting power; and
Claims 30 and 58: The external control system interfaces with interventional imaging systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0214914).
In regard to claims 33, 34, 37 and 52-55, Tang et al. teach a wireless radio frequency lesioning device 502 comprised of an implanted receiving coil 504 having electrodes 506, 506 operably connected to the receiving coil 504 to deliver thermal energy to a target, such as a nerve (see Figs. 5A and 5B and para. 0084). Tang et al. also teach external system 1100 that can include a transmitter 1102 that can include transmitting coils 1104, a radiofrequency generator 1106 for providing an RF signal to transmitting coil 1104, a processor 1108, memory 1110 and a user interface 1112 (see Fig. 11 and para. 0110). Transmitter 1102 is linked via a wireless power link 1120 to a wireless RFL device, such as device 502 (see para. 0110). Memory 1110 can include any suitable storage device that can be used to store instructions that can be used by processor 1108 to present information and/or receive user input using user interface 1112 to control operation of RF generator 1106 and to receive signals from transmitting coil 1104 (to measure impedance, etc.) (see para. 0112). Tang et al. teach that the transmitting coil impedance can be measured and demodulated in real time and used to calculate the tissue temperature (see para. 0083). Tang et al. also teach that if it determined that the tissue has reached a temperature of 55 degrees C, the RF signal is inhibited from being applied to the transmitting coil (see para. 0034). In regard to claims 35 and 36, Tang et al. teach temperature sensor 406 located near the electrodes 306, 308 that may be thermistors (see Fig. 4 and paras. 0081-0082). In regard to claims 38, 39, 41 and 46, see Figs. 5A and 5B and paras. 0085-0087. In regard to claim 40, see para. 0084. In regard to claims 42 and 43, see paras. 0076-0077. In regard to claims 44, 45 and 47, see para. 0074. In regard to claims 48-51, see paras. 0086 and 0111. In regard to claims 56-59, see paras. 0102-0106.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-15, 17-22, 26-28, 31, 32 and 60-69 are allowed.
Claims 4-6, 8, 16, 23-25, 29 and 30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the invention as recited in claims 1-32 and 60-69 of the instant application. Specifically, the closest prior art, Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0214914), does not teach, inter alia, “when it is determined that the reflected impedance is within a defined range and the maintaining the power at a constant level for a determined time period when the reflected impedance is below the range then reducing the power and monitoring the reflected impedance rise to ensure cooling” as recited in independent claim 1 and “if reflected impedance is greater than a first threshold, increase power by set amount every interval, if the reflected impedance is between a second threshold and the first threshold, then reducing the power increase amount by a set amount and reducing the time interval and if reflected impedance is below the second threshold, holding the power constant; maintaining a constant power for the time period once reflected impedance is equal to or below the threshold, and reducing power and monitoring impedance rise to ensure cooling before removing transmission coil” as recites in independent claim 60. Tang et al. teach using a singular threshold of 55 degrees C to determine whether to continue treatment or stop treatment (see para. 0034). Tang et al. do not teach checking for more than one threshold or maintaining the power at a constant level for a predetermined time period then reducing the power and monitoring the reflected impedance rise to ensure cooling.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794