The Application number 18/9494,872 filed on 11/15/2024 has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US 11,956,234 hereinafter Ha) in view of Grover et al. (US 2025/0337727 hereinafter Grover).
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at the on-premises computing system and from a user device, a second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. receiving at the second device from the first device an authentication code);
presenting, by the on-premises computing system and to the cloud service portal, at least a portion of the first authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. sending by the second device the authentication code to the cloud server) and at least a portion of the second authentication payload; and
establishing a secured connection between the cloud service portal and the on-premises computing system for accessing services via the cloud service portal in response to a successful validation of the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. registering or establish a secured connection between the second device and the cloud server based on the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload).
Ha does not explicitly disclose receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload and presenting at least a portion of the second authentication payload.
However, Grover discloses receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload (FIG. 4, ¶ [0036]-[0037], [0057]-[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ha and Grover in order to provide enhanced security of the sensitive information (Grover, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first authentication payload comprises a pre-registration payload, wherein the pre-registration payload is derived at the cloud service portal based on a set of user credentials and a successful authentication of the user device (Ha, col. 13, lines 16-35; Grover, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the on-premises computing device automatically registers with the cloud service portal in response to receiving the pre-registration payload (Ha, col. 10, lines 17-28; Grover, ¶ [0057]-[0059], [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first authentication payload originates at the cloud service portal, and wherein the first authentication payload is routed through the user device to be received at the on-premises computing system (Ha, col. 7, lines 7-57; Grover, ¶ [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first authentication payload comprises a certificate, wherein the certificate associates the software package with the user device (Grover, ¶ [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second authentication payload comprises a multi-factor authentication (“MFA”) payload that is generated, during an installation of the software package on the on-premises computing system, at the user device based on an authentication token, a successful MFA authentication, and the first authentication payload, wherein the authentication token is received from one of the cloud service portal and an MFA server associated with the cloud service portal (Ha, col. 7, lines 7-57; Grover, ¶ [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 6, wherein a request is sent, during the installation of the software package, to one of the cloud service portal and the MFA server associated with the cloud service portal, to create an MFA challenge that sends the authentication token to the user device (Ha, col. 7, lines 7-57; Grover, ¶ [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving one or more additional authentication payloads from the user device based on a context associated with the user device, wherein the one or more additional authentication payloads are derived at the user device based on one or more additional authentication tokens received from another user device, wherein the another user device is trusted by the on-premises computing system; and presenting the one or more additional authentication payloads along with the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload to the cloud service portal to access the services via the cloud service portal (Ha, col. 6, lines 43-62; Grover, ¶ [0052], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload to the cloud service portal comprises binding the first authentication payload with the second authentication payload (Ha, col. 7, lines 7-57; Grover, ¶ [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the software package is customized based on a user of the user device and/or an organization (Grover, ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Ha in view of Grover discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the authentication token comprises a one-time password (“OTP”) (Grover, FIG. 1, ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ha discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor (FIG. 1-2); and
non-transitory computer readable storage media storing code, the code being executable by the processor to perform operations comprising (FIG. 1-2):
receiving, at the on-premises computing system and from a user device, a second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. receiving at the second device from the first device an authentication code);
presenting, by the on-premises computing system and to the cloud service portal, at least a portion of the first authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. sending by the second device the authentication code to the cloud server) and at least a portion of the second authentication payload;
establishing a secured connection between the cloud service portal and the on-premises computing system for accessing services via the cloud service portal in response to a successful validation of the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. registering or establish a secured connection between the second device and the cloud server based on the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload).
Ha does not explicitly disclose receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload and presenting at least a portion of the second authentication payload.
However, Grover discloses receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload (FIG. 4, ¶ [0036]-[0037], [0057]-[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ha and Grover in order to provide enhanced security of the sensitive information (Grover, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 8 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 20, Ha discloses a system comprising:
a cloud service portal (FIG. 1-2); and
an on-premises computing system in communication with the cloud service portal, the on-premises computing system comprising a processor and non-transitory computer readable storage media, wherein the on-premises computing system is configured to (FIG. 1-2):
receive, at the on-premises computing system and from a user device, a second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. receiving at the second device from the first device an authentication code), present, by the on-premises computing system and to the cloud service portal, at least a portion of the first authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. sending by the second device the authentication code to the cloud server) and at least a portion of the second authentication payload, and establish a secured connection between the cloud service portal and the on-premises computing system for accessing services via the cloud service portal in response to a successful validation of the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload (FIG. 1-4, col. 7, lines 7-57; i.e. registering or establish a secured connection between the second device and the cloud server based on the first authentication payload and the second authentication payload).
Ha does not explicitly disclose receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload and presenting at least a portion of the second authentication payload.
However, Grover discloses receiving, at an on-premises computing system and from a cloud service portal a software package for installation at the on-premises computing system, wherein the software package comprises a first authentication payload (FIG. 4, ¶ [0036]-[0037], [0057]-[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ha and Grover in order to provide enhanced security of the sensitive information (Grover, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435