DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications filed 11/15/2024 (claimed foreign priority date 11/15/2023):
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Legend: “Under BRI” = “under broadest reasonable interpretation;”
“[Prior Art/Analogous/Non-Analogous Art Reference] discloses through the invention” means “See/read entire document;” Paragraph [No..] = e.g., Para [0005] = paragraph 5; P = page, e.g., p4 = page 4; C = column, e.g. c3 = column 3;
L = line, e.g., l25 = line 25; l25-36 = lines 25 through 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1.1 Claims 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
1.1.1 Claim 11 recites the limitations/features “[method for autonomous operation of a healthcare robot, comprising] … returning to a home location or proceeding to a next task;” “obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities” that are not supported or found in the specification. The specification is completely silent about any autonomous operation of healthcare robot for returning to any home location or proceeding to next task, or any obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “returning to a home location or proceeding to a next task;" “obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities” are not given a patentable weight and withdrawn from consideration, and hence claim 11 will be interpreted as the following:
“11. A method for autonomous operation of a healthcare robot, comprising:
receiving a task input via a user interface or wireless network connection;
authenticating a user for cargo access if the task involves cargo transport;
planning a navigation route to a specified destination;
autonomously navigating to the destination while avoiding obstacles
performing the specified task at the destination, wherein the task comprises at least one of:
delivering or retrieving cargo;
facilitating a televisit; or
capturing images for AI-based classification
1.1.2 Claim 13 recites the limitations/features “optional SMS authentication and unlocking the cargo compartment if both RFID and PIN authentication are successful” that are not supported or found in the specification. The specification is completely silent about any optional SMS authentication and unlocking the cargo compartment if both RFID and PIN authentication are successful.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “optional SMS authentication and unlocking the cargo compartment if both RFID and PIN authentication are successful” are not given a patentable weight and withdrawn from consideration, and hence claim 13 will be interpreted as the following: “13. The method of claim 11, wherein authenticating a user for cargo access comprises: detecting an RFID card; prompting for PIN entry on a touchscreen interface
1.1.3 Claims 12-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 11, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
2.1 Claim 10-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
2.1.1 Regarding claim 10, the phrases “[a diameter] of approximately 12.5 inches;” “[areas] as narrow as 33 inches wide" render the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "approximately;" “as narrow as”), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “a diameter of approximately 12.5 inches;” “areas as narrow as 33 inches wide" are not given a patentable weight, and hence claim 10 will be interpreted as the following: “10. The robot system of claim 1, wherein the cylindrical body has a diameter and/or dimensions desired/needed for with regulatory requirements for the particular practical application where the autonomous robot system has been programmed and is operative for use.”
2.1.2 Claim 11 recites the limitations/features “[method for autonomous operation of a healthcare robot, comprising] … returning to a home location or proceeding to a next task;” “obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities,” which is unclear what they are and/or why or how these method steps are being established/originated/approached/executed, etc., or what those obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities are, which renders the claim indefinite. Clarification is required because the specification is completely silent about any autonomous operation of healthcare robot for returning to any home location or proceeding to any next task, or what or where any home location is, or what any next task would be, or whether there is a command for any next task, or the autonomous robot is being configured in advance to get to any next command, or what those obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities, or what those path deviation capabilities are, or what, or how, which renders the claim indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “returning to a home location or proceeding to a next task;" “obstacles exhibiting path deviation capabilities” are not given a patentable weight and withdrawn from consideration, and hence claim 11 will be interpreted as the following:
“11. A method for autonomous operation of a healthcare robot, comprising:
receiving a task input via a user interface or wireless network connection;
authenticating a user for cargo access if the task involves cargo transport;
planning a navigation route to a specified destination;
autonomously navigating to the destination while avoiding obstacles
performing the specified task at the destination, wherein the task comprises at least one of:
delivering or retrieving cargo;
facilitating a televisit; or
capturing images for AI-based classification
2.1.3 Claim 13 recites the limitations/features “optional SMS authentication and unlocking the cargo compartment if both RFID and PIN authentication are successful,” which is unclear what it is and/or how these method steps are being established/originated/approached/executed, etc., which renders the claim indefinite. Additionally, these limitations/features are not supported or found in the specification, which renders the claim indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “optional SMS authentication and unlocking the cargo compartment if both RFID and PIN authentication are successful” are not given a patentable weight and withdrawn from consideration, and hence claim 13 will be interpreted as the following: “13. The method of claim 11, wherein authenticating a user for cargo access comprises: detecting an RFID card; prompting for PIN entry on a touchscreen interface
2.1.4 Claims 12-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 11, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
2.1.5 Regarding claim 16, the phrases “[a mobile base] less than 14 inches in diameter;” “[spaces] as narrow as 33 inches wide" render the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "less than;" “as narrow as”), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the limitations/features “[a mobile base] less than 14 inches in diameter;” “[spaces] as narrow as 33 inches wide" are not given a patentable weight, and hence claim 16 will be interpreted as the following:
“16. A healthcare robot system, comprising:
a mobile base with diameter and/or dimensions desired/needed for navigation in areas with regulatory requirements for the particular practical application where the healthcare robot system has been programmed and is operative for use;
an omnidirectional drive system integrated into the mobile base;
a cylindrical body mounted vertically on the mobile base;
a secure cargo compartment integrated into the cylindrical body;
a touchscreen user interface mounted on an upper portion of the cylindrical body;
a 360-degree LIDAR sensor for obstacle detection;
a depth camera for navigation and image capture;
a plurality of proximity sensors;
a web camera for televisits;
an onboard computer system; and
a wireless network interface;
wherein the robot system is configured to:
autonomously navigate in spaces with regulatory requirements for the particular practical application where the healthcare robot system has been programmed and is operative for use;
securely transport cargo between locations using multi-factor authenticated access;
facilitate televisits between remote healthcare providers and patients; and
perform AI-based image classification tasks when not actively navigating.
2.1.6 Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 11, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of JIAO (CN219081364U), further in view of Rieder (US20160328532), further in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594).
As per claim 1, CHENG discloses through the invention (see entire document) an autonomous robot system for use in healthcare or laboratory facilities (fig. 1-3, Para [0006, 0016, 0026]) comprising:
a mobile base with an omnidirectional drive system (fig. 1-3, Para [0015, 0024]);
a cargo compartment (fig. 1-2, abstract, Para [0006-0007, 0013, 0015-0016, 0021, 0024] – teaching various trays for medicine delivery);
a plurality of sensors for autonomous navigation, environment monitoring and obstacle avoidance (fig. 1-3, Para [0015, 0024] – teaching three sensors that work simultaneously to achieve multi-angle, omnidirectional movement).
CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing a generally cylindrical body mounted on the mobile base; a secure cargo compartment integrated into the cylindrical body; a touchscreen user interface mounted on an upper portion of the cylindrical body; a plurality of sensors for autonomous navigation, environment monitoring and obstacle avoidance; a camera system for facilitating televisits and image capture; an electronic locking system to facilitate secure transport of cargo transport using a multifactor authentication; an onboard computer system for controlling robot functions; a wireless communication interface; the robot system configured to autonomously navigate in space-restricted environments to securely transport cargo between locations, facilitate televisits, and perform AI-based image classification tasks.
However, JIAO discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-7, abstract, Para [0013, 0025, 0040, 0045] – teaching cylindrical robotic system for storing and delivering medical supplies.
Rieder, in turn, discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0013, 0026, 0029], claims 5, 8, 12, 16 – teaching LED touchscreen as a component of a telepresence medical technology platform that can be integrated into and used with medical hardware in … mobile design).
Rieder, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0016, 0021, 0032], claims 1 , 11 15 – teaching camera 26 provided together with a lockable robotic head 28 with a PDA 29 having a screen; audio-visual component built into PDA 29; monitor 20 used to access, display and enter patient data of other information; the PDA 29 as a terminal which includes the display screen to allow the user of the cart 10 to view a patient at a remote location and to audibly and visually interact with that patient.
Rieder, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-2, Para [0031, 0034, 0038] – teaching cart 10 that does include an on-board computer which enables the physician-side of the telepresence software of the present invention; table 30 that includes an on-board computer which enables the patient-side of the telepresence software of the present invention.
Rieder, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-2, Para [0022-0023, 0026, 0028] – teaching mobile terminal in accordance with the preferred embodiment of the present invention that includes a wireless communication unit; mobile terminal operating in a phone call mode, the display that generally provides a user interface (“UI”) or graphical user interface (“GUI”) which includes information associated with placing, conducting, and terminating a phone call; interface unit implemented to couple the mobile terminal with external devices; the interface unit that receives data from the external devices or is supplied with the power and then transfers the data or power to the respective elements of the mobile terminal or enables data within the mobile terminal to be transferred to the external device.
Skaaksrud, in turn, discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 18, Para [0431] – teaching mobility controller 1825 that receives the feedback sensor data from the proximity sensor(s) of sensors 1815 and responsively generate a change to at least one of the propulsion control signal and the steering control signal so as to avoid collisions and autonomously navigate along the movement path.
Skaaksrud, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in abstract, Para [0667, 0713, 0743, 0835, 0838] – teaching enhanced apparatus used in such methods described that a dispatched logistics operation for a deliverable item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server; multi-factor authentication implemented to enhance security… related to the transported pharmaceutical orders being fulfilled.
Skaaksrud, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0407, 0820-0821, 0842, 0903-0904, 0929, 0931, 0962, 0966, 0968, 0977] – teaching Artificial Intelligence platforms to detect and classify different types of objects in the environment; capturing sensor data from the payload monitoring sensors on the MAM and/or CSS, detecting when the ordered item is removed from within the CSS based upon the captured sensor data, which may be processed to transform the raw sensor data into usable data (e.g., a detected image of the ordered item using visual images of what is disposed within the modular cargo storage system); detecting, classifying, and avoiding objects (fixed and/or moving) while navigating.
Additionally, in regards to the fact that an excessive number of references has been combined, the Examiner kindly presents that “… reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention.” See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by JIAO, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to transport goods with advantages of convenience, speed, and saving manpower; to reduce human contact in hospitals by using delivery robots (see entire JIAO document, particularly Para [0002]);
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Rieder, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to allow a specialist physician or other healthcare provider to remotely provide patient care in hospitals, emergency departments (“ED”) and clinical program locations (see entire Rieder document, particularly Para [0002]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claims 2 and 17, CHENG further discloses through the invention (see entire document) omnidirectional drive system comprises three omni-wheels positioned 120° apart (fig. 2-3, Para [0015, 0024] – teaching three wheels 62 placed 120° apart for omnidirectional movement).
As per claim 4, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing plurality of sensors that comprises: a 360-degree LIDAR sensor; a depth camera; an IMU sensor; and a plurality of proximity sensors.
However, Skaaksrud discloses these limitations/features through the invention, particularly in Para [0121, 0406-0407, 0420, 0431, 0478, 0480, 0490, 3572, 3581-3582].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 5, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing access to the secure cargo compartment that requires multi-factor authentication.
However, Skaaksrud discloses these limitations/features through the invention, particularly in abstract, Para [0009-0012, 0210, 0399-0400, 0541-0545, 0552-0555, 0584-0586, 0644, 0648-0651].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 6, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing multi-factor authentication that comprises RFID card detection and PIN code entry on the touchscreen user interface.
However, Skaaksrud discloses these limitations/features through the invention, particularly in Para [0170, 0244, 0249, 0494, 0541, 0667].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claims 7 and 18, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing secure cargo compartment as modular and swappable to accommodate different cargo configurations.
However, JIAO discloses these limitations/features through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-7, abstract, Para [0014, 0041] – teaching cylindrical robotic system for storing and delivering medical supplies provided with a plurality of mutually independent placing areas/shelves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by JIAO, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to transport goods with advantages of convenience, speed, and saving manpower; to reduce human contact in hospitals by using delivery robots (see entire JIAO document, particularly Para [0002]).
As per claim 8, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing a web camera for facilitating televisits; and a depth camera for navigation and image classification tasks.
However, Rieder discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0013, 0026, 0029], claims 5, 8, 12, 16 – teaching LED touchscreen as a component of a telepresence medical technology platform that can be integrated into and used with medical hardware in … mobile design).
Rieder further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0016, 0021, 0032], claims 1 , 11 15 – teaching camera 26 provided together with a lockable robotic head 28 with a PDA 29 having a screen; audio-visual component built into PDA 29; monitor 20 used to access, display and enter patient data of other information; the PDA 29 as a terminal which includes the display screen to allow the user of the cart 10 to view a patient at a remote location and to audibly and visually interact with that patient.
Rieder further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-2, Para [0031, 0034, 0038] – teaching cart 10 that does include an on-board computer which enables the physician-side of the telepresence software of the present invention; table 30 that includes an on-board computer which enables the patient-side of the telepresence software of the present invention.
Rieder further discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-2, Para [0022-0023, 0026, 0028] – teaching mobile terminal in accordance with the preferred embodiment of the present invention that includes a wireless communication unit; mobile terminal operating in a phone call mode, the display that generally provides a user interface (“UI”) or graphical user interface (“GUI”) which includes information associated with placing, conducting, and terminating a phone call; interface unit implemented to couple the mobile terminal with external devices; the interface unit that receives data from the external devices or is supplied with the power and then transfers the data or power to the respective elements of the mobile terminal or enables data within the mobile terminal to be transferred to the external device.
Skaaksrud, in turn, further discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0407, 0820-0821, 0842, 0903-0904, 0929, 0931, 0962, 0966, 0968, 0977] – teaching Artificial Intelligence platforms to detect and classify different types of objects in the environment; capturing sensor data from the payload monitoring sensors on the MAM and/or CSS, detecting when the ordered item is removed from within the CSS based upon the captured sensor data, which may be processed to transform the raw sensor data into usable data (e.g., a detected image of the ordered item using visual images of what is disposed within the modular cargo storage system); detecting, classifying, and avoiding objects (fixed and/or moving) while navigating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Rieder, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to allow a specialist physician or other healthcare provider to remotely provide patient care in hospitals, emergency departments (“ED”) and clinical program locations (see entire Rieder document, particularly Para [0002]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 9, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing onboard computer system configured to run AI models for image classification tasks including PPE compliance monitoring and inventory checking.
However, Skaaksrud discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0407, 0705, 0709, 0820-0821, 0842, 0903-0904, 0929, 0931, 0962, 0966, 0968, 0977, 0979, 1010] – teaching Artificial Intelligence platforms to detect and classify different types of objects in the environment; capturing sensor data from the payload monitoring sensors on the MAM and/or CSS, detecting when the ordered item is removed from within the CSS based upon the captured sensor data, which may be processed to transform the raw sensor data into usable data (e.g., a detected image of the ordered item using visual images of what is disposed within the modular cargo storage system); detecting, classifying, and avoiding objects (fixed and/or moving) while navigating; visual recognition by sensors on the exemplary enhanced hand cart of a hazardous object, symbol, or sign (e.g., a tanker truck with gasoline having a hazardous material sign or explosive triangle visual symbol on the truck or on a warning sign placed near the truck; when the sensors noted above identify the object in the path of the modular mobility base 5705 as being in a class of pathway objects to be avoided (e.g., a predetermined class of hazardous objects (such as fuel tankers), a predetermined class of symbols (such as symbols for hazardous waste), and a predetermined class of signs (such as STOP signs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 10, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing cylindrical body that has a diameter of approximately 12.5 inches, enabling navigation in areas as narrow as 33 inches wide.
An Official Notice is taken with respect to claim 10: the limitations/features “cylindrical body that has a diameter of approximately 12.5 inches, enabling navigation in areas as narrow as 33 inches wide,” as being particular sizes/dimensions, longitudinal, radial and/or transverse, absent any criticality, are only considered to be the “optimum” or “preferred” sizes/dimensions used by Prior Art that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, AND/OR before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the size/dimension of the area whose distance/length/size/dimension/offset, longitudinal, radial and/or transverse, is being measured, etc. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
However, taking into consideration the Official Notice above, Skaaksrud discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0607] – teaching Overall Dimensions—The dimensions of exemplary MALVT bot apparatus (e.g., min/max height, width, length) that may be impacted by weight and speed desired/needed as well as operating environment and regulatory requirements for the particular practical application where the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus has been programmed and is operative for use..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
Claim 11 recites the limitations/features similar to the limitations/features recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of JIAO (CN219081364U), further in view of Rieder (US20160328532), further in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594), similar to the claim 1 rejections presented above in the instant office action.
Claim 13 recites the limitations/features similar to the limitations/features recited in claim 6. Therefore, taking into consideration the claim 13 112 rejections presented in the instant office action above, claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594), similar to the claim 6 rejections presented above in the instant office action.
Claim 14 recites the limitations/features similar to the limitations/features recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of Rieder (US20160328532), and further in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594), similar to the claim 8 rejections presented above in the instant office action.
Claim 15 recites the limitations/features similar to the limitations/features recited in claim 9. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594), similar to the claim 9 rejections presented above in the instant office action.
Claim 16 recites the limitations/features similar to the limitations/features recited in claims 1, 4 and 10. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHENG (CN107616889A) in view of JIAO (CN219081364U), further in view of Rieder (US20160328532), further in view of Skaaksrud (US20240257594), similar to the claims 1, 4 and 10 rejections presented above in the instant office action.
As per claim 20, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing a fleet management system for coordinating multiple robot units within a healthcare facility..
However, Skaaksrud discloses these limitations/features through the invention, particularly in Para [0395, 0539, 0591, 0636-0637].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Skaaksrud, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to deliver item from a hold-at-location (HAL) logistics facility having a secured storage and using a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly and a dispatch server (see entire Skaaksrud document, particularly abstract).
2. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of CHENG, JIAO, Rieder and Skaaksrud, further in view of GONG (CN213532636U).
As per claim 3, CHENG further discloses through the invention (see entire document) omnidirectional drive system that comprises four wheels (fig. 2-3, Para [0021, 0024] – teaching four driving wheels 61 for omnidirectional movement).
CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing mecanum wheels.
However, GONG discloses through the invention, particularly in fig. 1-2, abstract, numerous paragraphs – teaching temperature measuring robot based on Mecanum wheels.
Additionally, in regards to the fact that an excessive number of references has been combined, the Examiner kindly presents that “… reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention.” See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by GONG, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to accurately reach a designated temperature measuring area; to accurately detect the body temperature, to conduct remote image display through wireless equipment transmission signals, to prevent medical workers from directly reaching the temperature measuring area to conduct body temperature monitoring, and to greatly reduce infection rate (see entire GONG document, particularly abstract).
3. Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of CHENG, JIAO, Rieder and Skaaksrud, further in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi (US 20220066456).
As per claim 12, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing autonomously navigating that comprises: detecting obstacles using a plurality of sensors; using simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithms in conjunction with its IMU, LIDAR and other sensors to determine the robot's position and update an environment map; and adjusting the planned route to avoid detected obstacles.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0803-0806, 0816-0917] – teaching robot that may be an autonomous hospital bed that benefit from SLAM capabilities, LIDAR, other sensors, mecanum drive wheels, a rear sensor array, a detachable user interface, storage for other equipment such as wires and plugs for scanning sessions, a control panel and side sensor arrays.
Additionally, in regards to the fact that an excessive number of references has been combined, the Examiner kindly presents that “… reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention.” See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Ebrahimi Afrouzi, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to operate a robot, including: capturing images of a workspace; capturing movement data indicative of movement of the robot; capturing LIDAR data as the robot performs work within the workspace; comparing at least one object from the captured images to objects in an object dictionary; identifying a class to which the at least one object belongs; generating a first iteration of a map of the workspace based on the LIDAR data; generating additional iterations of the map based on newly captured LIDAR data and newly captured movement data; actuating the robot to drive along a trajectory that follows along a planned path by providing pulses to one or more electric motors of wheels of the robot; and localizing the robot within an iteration of the map by estimating a position of the robot based on the movement data, slippage, and sensor errors (see entire Ebrahimi Afrouzi document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 19, CHENG does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing onboard computer system configured to run simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithms for autonomous navigation.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi discloses through the invention, particularly in Para [0803-0806, 0816-0917] – teaching robot that may be an autonomous hospital bed that benefit from SLAM capabilities, LIDAR, other sensors, mecanum drive wheels, a rear sensor array, a detachable user interface, storage for other equipment such as wires and plugs for scanning sessions, a control panel and side sensor arrays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of CHENG by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Ebrahimi Afrouzi, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to operate a robot, including: capturing images of a workspace; capturing movement data indicative of movement of the robot; capturing LIDAR data as the robot performs work within the workspace; comparing at least one object from the captured images to objects in an object dictionary; identifying a class to which the at least one object belongs; generating a first iteration of a map of the workspace based on the LIDAR data; generating additional iterations of the map based on newly captured LIDAR data and newly captured movement data; actuating the robot to drive along a trajectory that follows along a planned path by providing pulses to one or more electric motors of wheels of the robot; and localizing the robot within an iteration of the map by estimating a position of the robot based on the movement data, slippage, and sensor errors (see entire Ebrahimi Afrouzi document, particularly abstract).
RELEVANT PRIOR ART THAT WAS CITED BUT NOT APPLIED
The following relevant prior art references that were found, by the Examiner while performing initial and/or additional search, cited but not applied:
MIAO (CN211592752U) – (see entire MIAO document, particularly abstract – teaching a ball moving balance robot, comprising a bearing table, a cylindrical frame, an omni-directional wheel and a ball body; the bearing table set on the top of the cylindrical frame; the top part of the bearing table provided with a cargo clamp; the outer wall of the cylindrical frame provided with a tripod head; and the outer part of the tripod head provided with a camera; the number of the omni-directional wheel three, further comprising three driving devices respectively corresponding to the omni-directional wheel; the bottom of the cylindrical frame provided with a chassis; the driving device fixed on the chassis; the driving device drives the omni-directional wheel to rotate; three omni-directional wheels inclined outwards; three omni-directional wheels contacted with the surface of the ball body; a ball moving balance robot according to the content, realizing omnidirectional movement of the whole robot, and the movement track as flexible, it can change the movement radius to change the movement direction of itself, can carry goods in the moving process).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YURI KAN, P.E./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662