DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (WO2023/147688)(hereafter Li) (see IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Li discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See Figure 2, a user equipment (104), comprising a memory (282) as well as a transmit processor (264), a controller processor (280) and a receive processor (258) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive information that indicates a first set of beams mapping to a second set of beams comprising at least one group of beams, (See Figure 15 and paragraph [0086]: "[ ... ] the UE may receive, from a network entity (e.g., the BS 102) , a CSI report setting (e.g., CSI-Report Config #1 in FIG. 10) associated with at least one resource setting [ ... ] that indicates a first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources[ ... ] and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources[ ... ] the first group of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be narrow beam resources with a long periodicity, and the second group of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be wide beam resources with a short periodicity", wherein: - The first group of CSI-RS or SSB narrow beam resources corresponds to a second set of beams. - The second group of CSI-RS or SSB wide beam resources corresponds to a first set of beams.
- The association of the CSI report setting with at least one resource setting indicating a first group and a second group of CSI-RS/SSB resources implicitly discloses an association between said first and second groups of CSI-RS/SSB resources. The CSI report setting constitutes therefore received information that indicates a first set of beams mapping to a second set of beams comprising at least one group of beams); wherein each beam in the first set of beams is mapped to the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams (See figures 13A and 13B and paragraph [0080] discloses: "[ ... ] each of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources may be associated with certain narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources, where the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources do not have an overlapping association with the narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources. For example, the wide beam to narrow beam association may be a one-to-N association (or linkage)", wherein a one-to-N association constitutes a mapping between each beam in the first set of beams to at least one group of beams of the second set of beams)
select a beam of the first set of beams; perform a set of one or more measurements on at least one beam of the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams, wherein the at least one beam corresponds to the selected beam of the first set of beams (See paragraph [0087]: "At block 1504, the UE may report, to the network entity, CSI associated with the first group, the second group, or both groups (the first and second groups) of one or more monitored CSI-RS or SSB resources[ ... ] The UE may determine properties associated with the first group of CSI-RS or SSB resources based at least in part on the measured properties associated with the second group of CSI-RS or SSB resources", wherein: - The obtention of measured properties associated with the second group of CSI-RS or SSB resources corresponds to performing a set of one or more measurements on at least one beam of the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams. - Insofar as a mapping is established between the resources of first and second groups, it is implicit that in order to measure at least one beam of the second set group of beams, the beam in the first group associated with said at least one beam of the second group has been selected first i.e. a beam of the first set of beams is selected)
and
perform wireless communication based at least in part on the set of one or more measurements (See paragraph [0087]: "At block 1504, the UE may report, o the network entity, CSI associated with the first group, the second group, or both groups", wherein transmitting a CSI report implies performing wireless communication based at least in part on the set of one or more measurements).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Li further discloses the UE, wherein each beam of the first set of beams is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, and wherein each beam of the second set of beams is associated with a non-zero power (NZP) channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (see, Figs 13A and 13B, para [0080], The associations depicted in FIGS. 13A and 13B may be explicitly or implicitly indicated to a UE, as further described herein. Referring to FIG. 13A, each of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources may be associated with certain narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources, where the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources do not have an overlapping association with the narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources.).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the first set of beams comprises a plurality of beams encompassing the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams, and wherein a number of beams in the first set of beams is equal to a number of groups of beams in the second set of beams (Fig. 8, para [0070], CSI-RS/SSB associations for resources with different periodicities, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In this example, there are three wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources with a short periodicity and twelve narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources with a long periodicity, where each of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources is associated with four of the narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources. For example, narrow beam CSI-RS resources 0-3 are associated with wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 12; narrow beam CSI-RS resources 4-7 are associated with wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 13; and narrow beam CSI-RS resources 8-9 are associated with wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 14. The narrow beam CSI-RS resources 0-3 may be beamformed within a beam shape of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 12; and so on for the other narrow beams and wide beams, in this example. In certain cases, a UE may determine properties of the narrow beams using measurements of the wide beams, for example, properties of the narrow beam CSI-RS resources 0-3 using measurements of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 12).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the information indicates a first number of beams associated with the first set of beams, a second number of beams associated with the second set of beams, or a size of the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams (Figure 10 and paragraph [0091], the first and second groups of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be configured in the same CSI resource set of a CSI report setting, for example, as described herein with respect to FIG. 10. For example, the CSI report setting (through a CSI resource setting) may identify a CSI resource set (e.g., the CSI-Resource Set #1 in FIG. 10) indicating the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources).
Regarding claim 5, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the information comprises a system information block (SIB), and wherein the SIB includes a mapping of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index to a non-zero power (NZP) channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set comprising a plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (see paragraph [0069], wherein an RSRP measurement over narrow beams carrying CSI-RS signals implies that said CSI-RS correspond to non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS signals, The mapping of a synchronization block (SSB) index to a CSI-RS resource set is disclosed in Li, see Figures 13A and 13B).
Regarding claim 6, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources mapped to an SSB are mutually quasi-co-located (QCL’ed) with respect to at least a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a delay spread (see, Figs. 13A and para [0080]-[0081], since the CSI-RS mapped to an SSB correspond to narrow beams comprised within the width of an (SSB) wide beam (see Figure 14), it is implicit that the quasi-colocation relationship between the CSI-RS resources and the corresponding SSB shall be the same. As a result, by transitivity all CSI-RS resources mapped to this SSB will be mutually quasi-co-located.).
Regarding claim 7, Li further discloses the UE, wherein a respective NZP CSI-RS resource mapped to an SSB is quasi-co-located (QCL’ed) with respect to at least a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a delay spread (see, abstract, user equipment includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report setting associated with at least one resource setting that indicates a first group of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources having a different periodicity than the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources; and reporting CSI associated with the first group, the second group, or the first group and the second group of one or more monitored CSI-RS or SSB resources, see, para [0081], the QCL types indicated to a UE can be based on a parameter QCL-Type and may take one or a combination of the following types: QCL-TypeA: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, QCL-TypeB: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}, QCL-TypeC: {average delay, Doppler shift}, and QCL-TypeD: {Spatial Rx parameter}).
Regarding claim 8, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the information further indicates a first periodicity value associated with SSB transmission on the first set of beams (see, step 906, SSB with 1st periodicity), and a second periodicity value applicable for each resource of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (see, step 908, CSI-RS with the 2nd periodicity), and wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource within the NZP CSI-RS resource set is associated with a same periodicity value (see, Fig. 6, the measured wide beams , and estimated/predicted narrow beams, Figs. 9, 906, 908 SSBs transmitted with a first periodicity and CSI-RS transmitted with a second periodicity).
Regarding claim 10, Li further discloses the UE, wherein the information further indicates the at least one beam of the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams to perform the set of one or more measurements (see, Fig. 9, the step 901, determine properties associated with the RS (estimate narrow beam properties from wide beams, see, Fig. 16, the channel state information).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses a base station for wireless communication (see, Fig. 9, 102), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit information that indicates a first set of beams mapping to a second set of beams comprising at least one group of beams (See Figure 15 and paragraph [0086]: "[ ... ] the UE may receive, from a network entity (e.g., the BS 102) , a CSI report setting (e.g., CSI-Report Config #1 in FIG. 10) associated with at least one resource setting [ ... ] that indicates a first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources[ ... ] and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources[ ... ] the first group of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be narrow beam resources with a long periodicity, and the second group of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be wide beam resources with a short periodicity", wherein: The first group of CSI-RS or SSB narrow beam resources corresponds to a second set of beams. - The second group of CSI-RS or SSB wide beam resources corresponds to a first set of beams. The association of the CSI report setting with at least one resource setting indicating a first group and a second group of CSI-RS/SSB resources implicitly discloses an association between said first and second groups of CSI-RS/SSB resources. The CSI report setting constitutes therefore received information that indicates a first set of beams mapping to a second set of beams comprising at least one group of beams); wherein each beam in the first set of beams is mapped to the at least one group of beams of the second set of beams (See figures 13A and 13B and paragraph [0080] discloses: "[ ... ] each of the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources may be associated with certain narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources, where the wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resources do not have an overlapping association with the narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources. For example, the wide beam to narrow beam association may be a one-to-N association (or linkage)", wherein a one-to-N association constitutes a mapping between each beam in the first set of beams to at least one group of beams of the second set of beams); and
perform wireless communication based at least in part on the transmitted information (See paragraph [0087]: "At block 1504, the UE may report, o the network entity, CSI associated with the first group, the second group, or both groups", wherein transmitting a CSI report implies performing wireless communication based at least in part on the set of one or more measurements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of Kim et al. (KR20230020342) (see IDS) and further in view of Liu et al. (US2017/0311353)(hereafter Liu) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 9, Li does not disclose the UE, wherein the information further
However, in same field of endeavor, Kim, which discloses a mechanism by which narrow-beam SSBs are mapped to wide-beam SSBs and wherein an implicit time scheduling is established between the wide beam SSBs and the associated narrow beam SSBs (see paragraph [0099]). Additionally, a bit-map system is further defined to indicate the different wide/narrow beam groups including their presence (see paragraphs [0104]-[0116]). To the extent that the bitmaps provide information about which narrow beam SSB is active/present with respect to a wide beam SSB, said information implicitly correspond to a time offset between the wide-beam SSB and the corresponding narrow beam SSB.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the Li, as a whole, so as to set the offset value for the plurality of the NZP CSI-RS resources based on the SSB transmissions, the motivation is to improve the reception performance of the terminal.
The combined teachings do not disclose offset value.
However, in same field of endeavor, Liu teaches in para [0052], a time offset between a wide beam boundary and a narrow receiver beam designated for random access; and so forth. The timing of broadcast signals should be aligned in all downlink wide beams. Para [0057], a time offset between a wide beam boundary and a narrow receiver beam designated for random access. See, para [0062], the UE informs the eNB of an indicator of the wide beam boundary (block 720). The indicator may indicate a time slot corresponding to when the UE was able to detect the wide beam boundary. Alternatively, the indicator may indicate a time offset or difference from when the UE was able to detect the wide beam boundary and when the UE synchronized with the eNB.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with Li and Kim, as a whole, so as to indicates an offset value applicable for each resource of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources, the motivation is to indicate the narrow beam direction to the UE.
9. Claim(s) 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of Su et al (US 2023/0189344)(hereafter Su) (See IDS).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Li does not explicitly disclose the UE wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: transmit a channel state information (CSI) report during a random access channel (RACH) occasion associated with the selected beam, wherein the CSI report comprises an indication of a spatial filter corresponding to at least one reference signal from a set of reference signals associated with a beam from the first set of beams.
However, in same field of endeavor, Su teaches early CSI reporting during RACH, see e.g. Figure 4 and paragraphs [0063]-[0065], wherein the indication of the SSBRI constitutes an implicit indication of a spatial filter used by the UE to receive the corresponding SSB, [0016] Random access resource selection—In NR up to Release 16, the UE selects a PRACH preamble associated with a SSB for which the SS-RSRP is above a RSRP threshold, but it may not be the best SSB, which is described in 3GPP TS 38.321. During the RACH procedure, the UE and network transmit and receive in the direction of a preamble-associated SSB beam. [0063] A first set of embodiments relate to implementation of early CSI reporting of SSBRI in a 4-step RA procedure, as illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 shows signaling between a UE and a base station in a 4-step RA procedure. In the case of 4-step RACH, SSB resource configuration and CSI reporting configuration for early CSI acquisition are configured in SIB1. The UE sends a PRACH preamble associated with a preferred SSB which is above a RSRP threshold (this is Msg1). The UE keeps measuring SSB. [0064] The base station (network) can request an early CSI report via msg2 RAR, e.g. by setting a CSI request field as 1. Reporting quantities of ‘N’ SSBRI, L1-RSRP, L1-RSRQ, L1-SINR and CQI can be configured in SIB1 or msg2 RAR. N can be band specific. [0065] In msg3 the UE reports up to the ‘N’ best SSBRI, and optionally the corresponding RSRP and/or CQI for those N best SSBRI. The base station determines the new downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) beam, MCS, TB scaling factor and PDCCH aggregation level for subsequent transmission based on CSI report. The base station (network) sends msg4 PDCCH which indicates a same or a new beam for msg4 PDSCH and msg4 HARQ-ACK, also known as Ack/Nack (NN). The base station (network) can indicate a SSB index which is ‘Type D’ Quasi Co-Located (QCL'ed) with a new beam in msg4 PDCCH in Downlink Control Information (DCI). The UE monitors PDCCH to get the DCI from msg4 PDCCH, then obtains the scheduled msg4 PDSCH. Then UE receives msg4 MAC PDU on the beam in msg4 PDSCH and decodes the MAC PDU. Alternatively, the base station/network can indicate one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state with a particular SSB beam as a Type D QCL source RS for the new transmission beam. TCI states can be previously configured, e.g. in SIB1 or msg2 or fixed in a specification, as shown in Table 3 below. L is the number of configured SSB. The same beam as the PRACH preamble (msg1) is used from msg1 to msg4 PDCCH. The base station (network) and UE apply the new beam starting from msg4 PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date for the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Su with the Li, as a whole, to use the indicate of a spatial filter corresponding to at least one reference signal from a set of reference signals associated with a beam from the first set of beams, the motivation is to report quantities UE sent in CSI report .
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to: receive a channel state information (CSI) report during a random access channel (RACH) occasion associated with a beam corresponding to the spatial filter, wherein the CSI report comprises an indication of a selected spatial filter corresponding to at least one reference signal from a set of reference signals associated with a beam from the first set of beams (Su teaches early CSI reporting during RACH, see e.g. Figure 4 and paragraphs [0063]-[0065], wherein the indication of the SSBRI constitutes an implicit indication of a spatial filter used by the UE to receive the corresponding SSB, [0016] Random access resource selection—In NR up to Release 16, the UE selects a PRACH preamble associated with a SSB for which the SS-RSRP is above a RSRP threshold, but it may not be the best SSB, which is described in 3GPP TS 38.321. During the RACH procedure, the UE and network transmit and receive in the direction of a preamble-associated SSB beam. [0063] A first set of embodiments relate to implementation of early CSI reporting of SSBRI in a 4-step RA procedure, as illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 shows signaling between a UE and a base station in a 4-step RA procedure. In the case of 4-step RACH, SSB resource configuration and CSI reporting configuration for early CSI acquisition are configured in SIB1. The UE sends a PRACH preamble associated with a preferred SSB which is above a RSRP threshold (this is Msg1). The UE keeps measuring SSB. [0064] The base station (network) can request an early CSI report via msg2 RAR, e.g. by setting a CSI request field as 1. Reporting quantities of ‘N’ SSBRI, L1-RSRP, L1-RSRQ, L1-SINR and CQI can be configured in SIB1 or msg2 RAR. N can be band specific. [0065] In msg3 the UE reports up to the ‘N’ best SSBRI, and optionally the corresponding RSRP and/or CQI for those N best SSBRI. The base station determines the new downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) beam, MCS, TB scaling factor and PDCCH aggregation level for subsequent transmission based on CSI report. The base station (network) sends msg4 PDCCH which indicates a same or a new beam for msg4 PDSCH and msg4 HARQ-ACK, also known as Ack/Nack (NN). The base station (network) can indicate a SSB index which is ‘Type D’ Quasi Co-Located (QCL'ed) with a new beam in msg4 PDCCH in Downlink Control Information (DCI). The UE monitors PDCCH to get the DCI from msg4 PDCCH, then obtains the scheduled msg4 PDSCH. Then UE receives msg4 MAC PDU on the beam in msg4 PDSCH and decodes the MAC PDU. Alternatively the base station/network can indicate one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state with a particular SSB beam as a Type D QCL source RS for the new transmission beam. TCI states can be previously configured, e.g. in SIB1 or msg2 or fixed in a specification, as shown in Table 3 below. L is the number of configured SSB. The same beam as the PRACH preamble (msg1) is used from msg1 to msg4 PDCCH. The base station (network) and UE apply the new beam starting from msg4 PDSCH))
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2023/0224774) (hereafter Da Silva) (See IDS).
Regarding claim 12, Li does not disclose the UE, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine a set of random access channel (RACH) resources corresponding to the second set of beams; and transmit a RACH signal using a RACH resource corresponding to a selected beam of the second set of beams.
However, in same field of endeavor, Da Silva teaches (determination of RACH resources based on CSI-RS signals) correspond to well-known features by the skilled person, Figure 5b. seem, Fig. 5b, teaches random access preamble (RACH configuration according to selected CSI-RS), and based on preamble reception target gNode knows the best DL narrow beam to transmit the RAR e.g. beam n and then perform random access response in beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date for the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Da Silva with the Li, as a whole, to transmit RACH signal corresponding to the selected beam, the motivation is to perform RACH configuration using time and frequency resources to perform beamforming.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (US 2025/0274180) discloses METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MEASURING AND REPORTING CSI FOR BEAM OPERATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
Chen et al. (US 2024/0007172) discloses BEAM TRAINING METHOD AND DEVICE, COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
Sun et al. (US 2022/0377756) discloses BEAM MANAGEMENT ENHANCEMENT FOR DISCONTINUOUS RECEPTION (DRX) OPERATION.
Thomas et al. (US 12574094) discloses METHODS, ARCHITECTURES, APPARATUSES AND SYSTEMS FOR PROACTIVE NON-RADIO MEASUREMENTS BASED BEAM RECOVERY PROCEDURE.
Lim et al. (US 2026/0012237) discloses METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MEASURING AND REPORTING CSI FOR BEAM OPERATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
Khan Beigi et al. (US 2025/0344170) discloses Random Access For Estimation SSBs In AIML Systems
/DHAVAL V PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631