DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 9/17/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden as each of the prospective inventions shares certain features. This is not found persuasive. Although the separate inventions share certain features, a serious search burden arises in that searches for the features specific and unique to each inventive group are, in of themselves, are not helpful or even relevant to those features specific and unique to the other inventive groups.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-13, 16, 27, 33-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, the claims recite “the gas medium comprises a gaseous molecule whose total electrons number greater than fourteen, and the gaseous molecule comprises an atom whose atomic number is at least 35.”
The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.
While there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 262, 191 USPQ 90, 96 (CCPA 1976), a question as to whether a specification provides an adequate written description may arise in the context of an original claim. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc).
In the case at hand, the limitation of a gas including “a molecule whose total electrons number greater than fourteen, and the gaseous molecule comprises an atom whose atomic number is at least 35” recites two broad genera: 1) molecules whose total electrons exceed fourteen; and 2) atoms whose atomic number is at least 35. Since all atoms with atomic number of at least 35 also have at least 35 electrons, this combination of limitations would cover every possible gas molecule including an atom having an atomic number of at least 35. However, the instant disclosure lists only two such molecules, Br2 and WF6.
In effect, the instant claims are drafted to claim uncountably many molecular gases being irradiated with a laser and producing an electron beam, but has only described two. Such a narrow disclosure does not reasonably provide evidence that the entirety of the claimed molecular gases was possessed or considered at the time of filing. As such, the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3 and 21 describe the invention in terms of its B-integral. The B-integral, as described in the instant specification and understood in the art, depends upon wavelength, medium, pulse intensity, and path length. In the instant case, the claims have specified none of the above factors. The scope of the claim is indeterminate, because there is no context with which to perform the calculations necessary to determine if a given reflective surface provides the claimed focusing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 19-23, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0161539 A1 [Payeur].
Regarding Claim 1:
Payeur discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a laser configured to generate a pulse of laser light (Fig. 2 (12));
a gas medium comprising an interaction region therein (Fig. 2 (17), para 39); and
an optical element comprising a reflective surface that defines a focal point in the interaction region, the reflective surface configured to receive the pulse of laser light and focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point (Fig. 2 (18), para 40);
wherein the pulse of laser light is configured to generate a plasma in the interaction region when focused at the focal point by the reflective surface (para 47 recites a beam intensity at the focal point of 7.4 x 1017 W/cm2, which is more than sufficient to generate plasma per the instant specification); and
wherein the gas medium is configured to emit an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 2 – Electron bunch).
Regarding Claim 2:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reflective surface is configured to focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point at or near the diffraction limit. The mirrors of Figs. 6a-c are configured to focus the light to the focus near the diffraction limit.
Regarding Claim 3:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reflective surface is configured to focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point with a B-integral no greater than 2π radians. The B-integral depends upon wavelength, medium, pulse intensity, and path length. In the instant case, the claims have specified none of the above factors. As such, the reflective surface of Payeur anticipates the claimed configuration for some arbitrary set of wavelength, medium, pulse intensity, and path length.
Regarding Claim 4:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pulse of laser light is configured to generate a relativistic ponderomotive force in the interaction region when focused onto the focal point. Paras 8, 9, 31, 32.
Regarding Claim 5:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ionizing radiation comprises a beam of ionizing radiation. Para 48.
Regarding Claim 8:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the gas medium comprises a gaseous atom or molecule whose total electrons number greater than fourteen. Para 38 – Argon.
Regarding Claim 10:
Payeur discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ionizing radiation comprises photon radiation. Ionizing the gases of para 38 inherently creates light, i.e. photons, that are capable of providing energy for ionization.
Regarding Claim 19:
Payeur discloses a method, comprising:
generating a pulse of laser light by operation of a laser (Fig. 2 (12));
receiving the pulse of laser light at a reflective surface of an optical element, the reflective surface defining a focal point (Fig. 2 (18), para 40) in an interaction region of a gas medium (Fig. 2 (17), para 39);
focusing, by operation of the reflective surface, the pulse of laser light at the focal point to generate a plasma in the interaction region (para 47 recites a beam intensity at the focal point of 7.4 x 1017 W/cm2, which is more than sufficient to generate plasma per the instant specification); and
emitting an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 2 – Electron bunch).
Regarding Claim 20:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the reflective surface is configured to focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point at or near the diffraction limit. The mirrors of Figs. 6a-c are configured to focus the light to the focus near the diffraction limit.
Regarding Claim 21:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the reflective surface is configured to focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point with a B-integral no greater than 2π radians. The B-integral depends upon wavelength, medium, pulse intensity, and path length. In the instant case, the claims have specified none of the above factors. As such, the reflective surface of Payeur anticipates the claimed configuration for some arbitrary set of wavelength, medium, pulse intensity, and path length.
Regarding Claim 22:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein focusing the pulse of laser light comprises generating a relativistic ponderomotive force in the interaction region. Paras 8, 9, 31, 32.
Regarding Claim 23:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein emitting an ionizing radiation comprises emitting a beam of ionizing radiation from the interaction region. Para 48.
Regarding Claim 29:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the gas medium comprises a gaseous atom or molecule whose total electrons number greater than fourteen. Para 38 – Argon.
Regarding Claim 31:
Payeur discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the ionizing radiation comprises photon radiation. Ionizing the gases of para 38 inherently creates light, i.e. photons, that are capable of providing energy for ionization.
Claims 1, 7, 19, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veltri, Salvatore, et al. "Laser stimulated plasma-induced luminescence for on-air material analysis." Applied Physics Letters 110.2 (2017) [hereinafter Veltri].
Regarding Claim 1:
Veltri discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a laser configured to generate a pulse of laser light (Fig. 1 (laser));
a gas medium comprising an interaction region therein (abstract- air); and
an optical element comprising a reflective surface that defines a focal point in the interaction region, the reflective surface configured to receive the pulse of laser light and focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point (Fig. 1- on-axis parabolic mirror);
wherein the pulse of laser light is configured to generate a plasma in the interaction region when focused at the focal point by the reflective surface (“The air plasma was generated by the interaction of a strongly focused-down high-energy laser, the Advanced Laser Light Source (ALLS) few-cycle infrared (IR) beamline, with air.”); and
wherein the gas medium is configured to emit an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 1 - Electrons).
Regarding Claim 7:
Veltri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the gas medium is air. Abstract, Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 19:
Veltri discloses a method, comprising:
generating a pulse of laser light by operation of a laser (Fig. 1 (laser));
receiving the pulse of laser light at a reflective surface of an optical element, the reflective surface defining a focal point (Fig. 1- on-axis parabolic mirror) in an interaction region of a gas medium (abstract- air)
focusing, by operation of the reflective surface, the pulse of laser light at the focal point to generate a plasma in the interaction region (“The air plasma was generated by the interaction of a strongly focused-down high-energy laser, the Advanced Laser Light Source (ALLS) few-cycle infrared (IR) beamline, with air.”); and
emitting an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 1 - Electrons).
Regarding Claim 28:
Veltri discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the gas medium is air. Abstract, Fig. 1.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 19, 31, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0302295 A1 [Umstadter]
Regarding Claim 1:
Umstadter discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a laser configured to generate a pulse of laser light (Fig. 1 (12));
a gas medium comprising an interaction region therein (Fig. 1 (30), para 35); and
an optical element comprising a reflective surface that defines a focal point in the interaction region, the reflective surface configured to receive the pulse of laser light and focus the pulse of laser light at the focal point (Fig. 1 (82));
wherein the pulse of laser light is configured to generate a plasma in the interaction region when focused at the focal point by the reflective surface (paras 35, 37); and
wherein the gas medium is configured to emit an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 1 (16, 20)).
Regarding Claim 10:
Umstadter discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ionizing radiation comprises photon radiation. Fig. 1 (20), para 27.
Regarding Claim 11:
Umstadter discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the photon radiation comprises X-ray radiation or γ-ray radiation. Fig. 1 (20), para 27.
Regarding Claim 19:
Umstadter discloses a method, comprising:
generating a pulse of laser light by operation of a laser (Fig. 1 (12));
receiving the pulse of laser light at a reflective surface of an optical element, the reflective surface defining a focal point (Fig. 1 (82)) in an interaction region of a gas medium (Fig. 1 (30, 14))
focusing, by operation of the reflective surface, the pulse of laser light at the focal point to generate a plasma in the interaction region (para 37); and
emitting an ionizing radiation from the interaction region in response to the plasma being generated therein, the ionizing radiation comprising electron radiation (Fig. 1 (16, 20)).
Regarding Claim 31:
Umstadter discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the ionizing radiation comprises photon radiation. Fig. 1 (20), para 27.
Regarding Claim 32:
Umstadter discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the photon radiation comprises X-ray radiation or γ-ray radiation. Fig. 1 (20), para 27.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0147147 A1 Fig. 2 teaches a similar system to that claimed.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881