DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/18/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, “an lamp body” should be “a lamp body.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3 and 13 recite “providing a selection interface for the unknown accessory and the known accessory.” That is, as recited, claims 3 and 13 require that both an unknown accessory and a known accessory be available for selection. However, their respective base claims recite that the “accessory comprises one of a target accessory … a known accessory …and an unknown accessory ….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0224099 to Farnik et al. (“Farnik”) in view of Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN114815456 to Wang et al. (“Wang”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0003084 to Justin Eichel (“Eichel”).
Regarding claim 1:
A control method for a lighting system (Farnik discloses a method for a lighting system. Farnik at par. [0002] and Fig. 6.),
the lighting system (Farnik discloses a lighting system. Farnik at Fig. 6.) comprising:
a lighting device (Farnik discloses automated luminaires 120 and 122, which includes a light source portion (“lighting device”). Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and Figs. 2 and 4.) comprising:
an lamp body for emitting light (The light source portion of the luminaires 120 and 122 project a light beam and thus includes a “lamp body for emitting light.” Farnik at pars. [0051]-[0053] and [0056] and Fig. 6.); and
an accessory interconnected with the lamp body, and configured to adjust the light emitted by the lamp body (Farnik discloses that the luminaires 120 and 122 can provide control over “light characteristics, such as an iris or focusing of the light beam and/or its intensity.” Farnik at par. [0022]. Farnik, however, does not explicitly disclose that the luminaires 120 and 122 can include “an accessory interconnected with the lamp body.” In the same field of endeavor, lighting systems (and thus analogous art), Wang discloses that light effect accessory 200 (“accessory”) can be connected to an illumination device 100 with a light source (“accessory interconnected with the lamp body”). Wang at p. 5, first par. and Figs. 1 and 2. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the luminaires in Farnik in order to connect with different types of accessories that provide different lighting effects. Wang at p. 10, last par. Because Farnik and Wang relate to lighting systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.); and
an electric bracket on which the lighting device is mounted (Farnik discloses that the luminaires 120 and 122 include a bracket portion onto which the light source portion of the luminaires 120 and 122. Farnik at Figs. 2, 4, and 6. Farnik discloses that the luminaries include motors for pan and tilt control and thus the bracket is an “electric bracket.” Farnik at pars. [0045].),
wherein the electric bracket is configured to adjust an angle of the lighting device (Farnik discloses that the luminaries include motors for pan and tilt control. Farnik at pars. [0045].);
wherein the control method comprises:
receiving a control instruction for the electric bracket (Farnik discloses that spot controller 200 can control one or more luminaires “such that each luminaire is directed to the same spot on the performance area 240 based on the pan and tilt parameters of the manually controlled follow spot.” Farnik at par. [0023]. Thus, Farnik discloses the claimed “receiving a control instruction for the electric bracket.”);
acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction (Farnik discloses controlling the pan and tilt parameters and other parameters (e.g. brightness, focus, beam size, and/or color) of one or more of the luminaires 120 and 122 and that the system includes a communication network 232, 236 for the controlling luminaries, which will require transmitting identification information. Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022], [0043], and [0048]. That is, to control each luminaire, controller 200 will need to know the identity of each luminaire. In addition, Wang discloses that the accessory 200 can include a type identification circuit to identify the installed accessory (“acquiring accessory information”). Wang at p. 12, second par.);
determining control parameters of the electric bracket which are configured for the lighting device, based on the accessory information (Farnik discloses that “the follow spot controller 200 may control the pan and tilt parameters of one or more of luminaires 120 and 122 and direct them to illuminate a target point 242 on performance area 240.” Farnik at pars. [0005] and [0043]. Thus, Farnik discloses the claimed “determining control parameters.”); and
calibrating the electric bracket based on the control parameters (Farnik discloses that the performance area 240 can include illuminated calibration points, but Farnik in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose “calibrating the electric bracket based on the control parameters.” In the same field of endeavor, lighting systems (and thus analogous art), Eichel discloses a data model for calibrating an electric bracket of a lighting device based on a desired location R in the performance area. Eichel at pars. [0038]-[0043]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have adopted the calibration data model of Eichel in order to “quickly and accurately calibrate[]” the equipment. Eichel at par. [0080]. Because Farkin, Wand, and Eichel relate to lighting system, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 2: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 1,
wherein the accessory comprises one of a target accessory with pre-configured accessory information, a known accessory with pre-configured accessory information, and an unknown accessory with un-configured accessory information (Wang discloses that after the lighting effect accessory 200 is installed on the lighting device 100, the type identification circuit can perform data interaction with the controller to identify whether the lighting effect accessory 200 installed on the lighting device 100 is the correct type and the specific function of the installed lighting effect accessory 200, and to avoid installing a lighting effect accessory 200 that is the wrong type. Wang at p. 12, second par.).
wherein the target accessory is further provided with an electronic contact for identification and detection (Wang discloses that after the lighting effect accessory 200 is installed on the lighting device 100, the type identification circuit (“electronic contact”) can perform data interaction with the controller to identify whether the lighting effect accessory 200 installed on the lighting device 100 is the correct type and the specific function of the installed lighting effect accessory 200, and to avoid installing a lighting effect accessory 200 that is the wrong type. Wang at p. 12, second par. Wang at p. 12, second par.);
the acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction comprises:
sending a detection instruction to the accessory (Wang discloses that after the lighting effect accessory 200 is installed on the lighting device 100, the type identification circuit can perform data interaction with the controller (“sending a detection instruction to the accessory”) to identify whether the lighting effect accessory 200 installed on the lighting device 100 is the correct type and the specific function of the installed lighting effect accessory 200, and to avoid installing a lighting effect accessory 200 that is the wrong type. Wang at p. 12, second par. Wang at p. 12, second par.); and
in response to determining that a detected accessory by the electronic contact is the target accessory, identifying and acquiring the accessory information of the target accessory by the electronic contact (Wang discloses that after the lighting effect accessory 200 is installed on the lighting device 100, the type identification circuit can perform data interaction with the controller to identify whether the lighting effect accessory 200 installed on the lighting device 100 is the correct type and the specific function (“identifying and acquiring the accessory information of the target accessory by the electronic contact”) of the installed lighting effect accessory 200. Wang at p. 12, second par. Wang at p. 12, second par.).
Regarding claim 3: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 2,
wherein the acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction comprises:
in response to determining that the detected accessory is not the target accessory, providing a selection interface for the unknown accessory and the known accessory for a user side to select (Farnik discloses interfaces such as controller 200 and console 304 (“first calibration interface”) that can each provide control over the parameters of the luminaire (“providing a selection interface”). Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7. As discussed above, with respect to claim 2, Wang discloses identifying attached accessories. Thus, Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel renders obvious an interface that can connect to the attached accessories.);
in response to determining that the user side selects the known accessory, acquiring the accessory information of the known accessory selected by the user side on the selection interface (As discussed above, Wang discloses a model identification circuit that can identify whether the lighting effect accessory 200 installed on the lighting device 100 is the correct model and the specific function of the installed lighting effect accessory 200. Wang at p. 12, second par. Thus, Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel renders obvious acquiring information from an attached accessory even when it is not the target accessory.).
Regarding claim 4: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 3, wherein the method comprises:
in response to determining that the user side selects the unknown accessory, providing a filling interface for the control parameters of the electric bracket which are configured for unknown accessory, to enable the user side to input the control parameters to the filling interface (Farnik discloses parameters such as pan, tilt, focus, beam size, beam shape, and beam pattern can be operator controlled. Farnik at par. [0020], [0022], and [0045]. Accordingly, if an attached accessory in the system of Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel is not automatically identified, Farnik discloses that the control parameters can be set by an operator. Thus, Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel renders obvious the claimed feature.).
Regarding claim 8:
A lighting system (Farnik at par. [0002].) comprising
a lighting device, an electric bracket (Farnik discloses automated luminaires 120 and 122, which includes a light source portion (“lighting device”) and a bracket portion (“electric bracket”). Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045] and Figs. 2 and 4., and
a controller, the electric bracket being communicatively connected to the controller (Farnik discloses that spot controller 200 can control one or more luminaires “such that each luminaire is directed to the same spot on the performance area 240 based on the pan and tilt parameters of the manually controlled follow spot.” Farnik at par. [0023].);
wherein the lighting device is mounted on the electric bracket, and the electric bracket is configured to adjust an angle of the lighting device; the lighting device comprises: a lamp body for emitting light, and an accessory interconnected with the lamp body, wherein the accessory is configured to adjust the light emitted by the lamp body; the controller is configured to acquire accessory information of the accessory, determine control parameters of the electric bracket which are configured for the lighting device according to the accessory information, and send the control parameters to the electric bracket; the electric bracket is configured to calibrate according to the control parameters in response to receiving the control parameters, so as to drive the lighting device to move to adjust the light emitted by the lighting device (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 10: The lighting system according to claim 8,
wherein the controller comprises an input interface and a processor (Farnik discloses interfaces such as controller 200 and console 304 (“input interface”) that can each provide control over the parameters of the luminaire. Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7. Farnik also discloses that the controller has a processor. Farnik at par. [0005] and Fig. 5.);
the input interface is configured to provide interfaces for a user side to operate (Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7.);
the processor is configured to perform a calibration operation on the electric bracket after receiving an operation instruction from the input interface (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Eichel discloses a data model for calibrating an electric bracket of a lighting device based on a desired location R in the performance area. Eichel at pars. [0038]-[0043]. Farnik discloses that the operator can initiate the calibration. Farnik at pars. [0051]-[0052]. Please see claim 1 for motivation to combine.).
Regarding claim 11:
A computer readable storage medium storing computer programs, and coupled to a processor (Farnik at par. [0005] and Fig. 5.),
wherein a lighting system comprising: a lighting device comprising: an lamp body for emitting light; and an accessory interconnected with the lamp body, and configured to adjust the light emitted by the lamp body; and an electric bracket on which the lighting device is mounted, wherein the electric bracket is configured to adjust an angle of the lighting device; wherein the computer programs are executed by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a control instruction for the electric bracket; acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction; determining control parameters of the electric bracket which are configured for the lighting device, based on the accessory information; and calibrating the electric bracket based on the control parameters (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 12: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 11,
wherein the accessory comprises one of a target accessory with pre-configured accessory information, a known accessory with pre-configured accessory information, and an unknown accessory with un-configured accessory information, wherein the target accessory is further provided with an electronic contact for identification and detection; the acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction comprises: sending a detection instruction to the accessory; and in response to determining that a detected accessory by the electronic contact is the target accessory, identifying and acquiring the accessory information of the target accessory by the electronic contact (Please see analysis in claim 2.).
Regarding claim 13: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 12,
wherein the acquiring accessory information of the accessory based on the control instruction comprises: in response to determining that the detected accessory is not the target accessory, providing a selection interface for the unknown accessory and the known accessory for a user side to select; in response to determining that the user side selects the known accessory, acquiring the accessory information of the known accessory selected by the user side on the selection interface (Please see analysis in claim 3.).
Regarding claim 14: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 13,
wherein the operations comprise: in response to determining that the user side selects the unknown accessory, providing a filling interface for the control parameters of the electric bracket which are configured for the unknown accessory, to enable the user side to input the control parameters to the filling interface (Please see analysis in claim 4.).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel, and further in view of Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN106849518 to Liu et al. (“Liu”).
Regarding claim 5: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 1,
wherein the control parameters comprise a locked-rotor calibration parameter and an origin reset calibration parameter (Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel does not explicitly disclose “a locked-rotor calibration parameter” and “an original reset calibration parameter.” However, Liu discloses locking the rotor at various electrical degrees (“locked-rotor calibration parameter”). One of the locked-rotor degree values is zero electrical degrees (“origin reset calibration parameter”) and the obtained numerical value (i.e., the value corresponding to the locked-rotor at zero electrical degrees) is the null or zero point value required in the calibration. Liu at Abstract. Liu is analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which is to determine the rotational position of a rotor. MPEP §2141.01(a).I. In the system of Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel the rotational position corresponds to the pan and tilt position of the electric bracket. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the lock-rotor calibration method of Liu because it provides a simple, easy and highly accuracy method of calibration. Liu at Abstract.); the method comprises:
providing a first calibration interface for performing locked-rotor calibration on the electric bracket, wherein the first calibration interface is configured to receive a locked-rotor calibration instruction from a user side (Farnik discloses interfaces such as controller 200 and console 304 (“first calibration interface”) that can each provide control over the parameters of the luminaire (such as pan and tilt). Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7. In the system of Farnik in view of Wang, Eichel, and Liu, the parameters will include the instruction to lock the rotor (“locked-rotor calibration instruction”), as disclosed in Liu (Liu at Abstract), because it is a control parameter related to pan and tilt control.);
in response to determining that the locked-rotor calibration instruction is received, performing the locked-rotor calibration on the electric bracket based on the locked-rotor calibration parameter (Liu at Abstract.);
providing a second calibration interface for performing origin reset calibration on the electric bracket, wherein the second calibration interface is configured to receive an origin reset calibration instruction from the user side; in response to determining that the origin reset calibration instruction is received, performing the origin reset calibration on the electric bracket based on the origin reset calibration parameter (The controller 200 and/or console 304 (“second calibration interface”) will also allow the user to set the electrical zero degree value (“performing the origin reset calibration”). Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7, and Liu at Abstract.).
Regarding claim 15: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 11,
wherein the control parameters comprise a locked-rotor calibration parameter and an origin reset calibration parameter; the operations comprise: providing a first calibration interface for performing locked-rotor calibration on the electric bracket, wherein the first calibration interface is configured to receive a locked-rotor calibration instruction from a user side; in response to determining that the locked-rotor calibration instruction is received, performing the locked-rotor calibration on the electric bracket based on the locked-rotor calibration parameter; providing a second calibration interface for performing origin reset calibration on the electric bracket, wherein the second calibration interface is configured to receive an origin reset calibration instruction from the user side; in response to determining that the origin reset calibration instruction is received, performing the origin reset calibration on the electric bracket based on the origin reset calibration parameter (Please see analysis in claim 5.).
Claims 6-7, 9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0343699 to Engelen et al. (“Engelen”).
Regarding claim 6: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 1,
wherein the control parameters comprise an angular range of pan rotation and an angular range of tilt rotation (Farnik discloses controlling parameters such as pan and tilt. Farnik at par. [0020] and [0022]. Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel does not explicitly disclose “an angular range” for the pan and tilt. However, in the same field of endeavor, lighting systems (and thus analogous art), Engelen discloses that the range of movements of a lighting representation, which correspond to the pan and/or tilt movement of a lighting source (“an angular range of pan rotation and an angular range of tilt rotation”) can be presented to the user in an interactive lighting environment. Engelen at Abstract and pars. [0080]-[0082]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include angular ranges of pan and tilt movements in the control parameters to “enable[] a user to control one or more desired lighting effects.” Engelen at Abstract. Because the references relate to lighting systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2134.I.G.), and
the calibrating the electric bracket based on the control parameters comprises:
detecting whether an obstacle exists around the accessory (Engelen discloses that “the maximum adjustability of the lighting representation 341A [is] []e.g., defined by the maximum turning angles of the spot lighting source 312A and/or obstacles in the real environment[].”Engelen at par. [0080].);
in response to determining that the obstacle is detected, obtaining a safety area of the accessory which is determined according to the accessory information, the angular range of the pan rotation, and the angular range of the tilt rotation (The “maximum adjustability of the lighting representation” will correspond to a “safety area” and the lighting representation corresponds to the angular range of the pan and tilt movements as discussed above. Engelen at Abstract and pars. [0080]-[0082].);
in response to determining that the obstacle is not in the safety area, calibrating the electric bracket within the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation (As discussed above, lighting representation corresponds to the angular range of the pan and tilt movements. Engelen at Abstract and pars. [0080]-[0082]. Accordingly, determining the lighting representation corresponds to the claimed “calibration.”).
Regarding claim 7: The control method for the lighting system according to claim 6, further comprising:
receiving an unlocking instruction for the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation; providing a filling interface for the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation according to the unlocking instruction, such that a user side inputs a target angular range of the pan rotation and a target angular range of the tilt rotation to the filling interface (Farnik discloses interfaces such as controller 200 and console 304 (“filling interface”) that can each provide control over the parameters of the luminaire such as pan and tilt. Farnik at pars. [0021]-[0022] and [0045]-[0046] and Figs. 2 and 7. As discussed above with respect to claim 6, Engelen discloses determining “the maximum adjustability of the lighting representation,” which corresponds to the desired pan and tilt movements. Engelen at Abstract and pars. [0080]-[0082]. The desired pan and tilt movements correspond to “target angular range of the pan rotation and a target angular range of the tilt rotation.” According, Farnik in view of Wang, Eichel, and Engelen render obvious the claimed feature.
Regarding claim 9: The lighting system according to claim 8, further comprising
distance measuring sensors disposed on the electric bracket and/or the lighting device (Farnik in view of Wang and Eichel does not explicitly disclose a distance measuring sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor, lighting systems (and thus analogous art), Engelen discloses “a distance sensor (e.g., a laser) provided on the fixture 116 and aimed in the same direction as the center of the light beam generated by the fixture 116.” Engelen at par. [0067]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate distance sensors in order to identify areas that are not accessible because the “light sources that are too far away.” Engelen at par. [0086]. Because the references relate to lighting systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.),
wherein the distance measuring sensors are in communication with the controller; the distance measuring sensors are configured to detect whether an obstacle exists around the accessory, and send a detection result to the controller; the controller is further configured to calibrate the electric bracket according to the detection result and the accessory information after receiving the detection result (Farnik discloses that the “processor 502 is further electrically coupled to and in communication with a communication interface 506 and one or more sensors, actuators, and/or controls 508.” Farnik at par. [0038]. Engelen discloses that “the maximum adjustability of the lighting representation 341A [is] []e.g., defined by the maximum turning angles of the spot lighting source 312A and/or obstacles in the real environment[].”Engelen at par. [0080]. The lighting representation corresponds to the angular range of the pan and tilt movements. Engelen at Abstract and pars. [0080]-[0082]. Accordingly, determining the lighting representation corresponds to the claimed “calibration.”).
Regarding claim 16: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 11,
wherein the control parameters comprise an angular range of pan rotation and an angular range of tilt rotation, and the calibrating the electric bracket based on the control parameters comprises: detecting whether an obstacle exists around the accessory; in response to determining that the obstacle is detected, obtaining a safety area of the accessory which is determined according to the accessory information, the angular range of the pan rotation, and the angular range of the tilt rotation; in response to determining that the obstacle is not in the safety area, calibrating the electric bracket within the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation (Please see analysis in claim 6.).
Regarding claim 17: The computer readable storage medium according to claim 16,
the operations comprise: receiving an unlocking instruction for the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation; providing a filling interface for the angular range of the pan rotation and the angular range of the tilt rotation according to the unlocking instruction, such that a user side inputs a target angular range of the pan rotation and a target angular range of the tilt rotation to the filling interface (Please see analysis in claim 7.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0332689 to Clout et al. discloses automatically identifying and configuring attached accessories.
German Patent Application Publication No. DE202022104395U1 to Sick AG discloses calibrating an encoder by locking the rotor and stator.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040165385 to Richard S. Belliveau discloses a locking system for a lighting system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0164428 to Brutsche et al. discloses a luminaire with user menu to select lock and unlock modes for pan and tilt control.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116