DETAILED ACTION
In view of appeal brief filed on May 29, 2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
Appellant’s appeal brief filed on May 29, 2026 have been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. This action is a second non-final due to the new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Appellant’s appeal brief filed on May 29, 2025 with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16, and 18- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbaraju et al. (US 2025/0060763 A1) in view of Wood et al. (WO 2024/124062 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Wood”).
Regarding claim 1, Abbaraju teaches a system (Fig. 1) for mapping a hailstorm (para. [0018]: The predicted location of hail can be considered a hail parameter) experienced by a photovoltaic (PV) array (Fig. 1, the plurality of solar panels 110) of a solar tracker system (Fig. 1, 100) within a solar power plant (Fig. 1) comprising:
a sensor (para. [0014]: one or more sensing instruments 112 located proximate the solar array can be used to provide weather data, for example, impact sensors (e.g., hail impact sensors) mounted on a first PV module (Fig. 1, a first one of the plurality of solar panels 110) of the solar power plant (Fig. 1), the sensor (para. [0014]: see above) configured to directly measure vibrational data experienced (para. [0014]: impact sensors (e.g., hail impact sensors) by the first PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110) through the first PV module as corresponding to weather effects (para. [0018]: a predicted location of hail can be determined via the forecast service provider);
a second PV module (Fig. 1, a different one of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent to the first PV module) of the solar power plant (Fig. 1), the second PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent to the first PV module) having a solar tracking path (Fig. 1, tracker 100) that includes a first tilt angle (para. [0013]: tracker angle (i.e. not stow angle)), wherein the second PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent to the first PV module ) is non-adjacent to the first PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110) within the solar power plant (Fig. 1); and
a central computing system communicatively coupled to the sensor configured to (para. [0007]: the system also includes a controller in communication with the one or more solar trackers configured to receive weather data, the weather data including one or more hail parameters, determine the one or more hail parameters exceed a first corresponding one or more hail parameter thresholds; para. [0014]: impact sensors (e.g., hail impact sensors), note that the above feature of “a controller in communication with the one or more solar trackers” in para. [0007] and “impact sensors” in para. [0014] reads on “a central computing system communicatively coupled to the sensor”) to:
characterize a hailstorm through which the vibrational data was experienced (para. [0007], [0014]: “the weather data including one or more hail parameters, determine the one or more hail parameters exceed a first corresponding one or more hail parameter threshold” in paras. [0007] and “impact sensors (e.g., hail impact sensors)” in [0014] reads on “characterize a hailstorm through which the vibrational data was experienced”).
cause, based on the characterization of the hailstorm (paras. [007], [0014]: see above), a real-time reconfiguration of the second PV module positioned non-adjacent (Fig. 1, another of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent with first PV module) to the first PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110) within the solar power plant (Fig. 1) that moves the second PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent to the first PV module) that corresponds to a hail stow position (para. [0013]: the stow angle (e.g. -90 degrees and +90 degrees); para. [0015]: The stow configurator 222 includes multiple sections of trigger conditions related to triggering and/or un-triggering stowing of a solar array. A first trigger condition can include a direction of stow 224 having a first option of nearest max-tilt and a second option of away from the storm. The first option of stowing nearest the max-tilt is based on the current angle of the solar array),
wherein the hail stow position reduces a surface area (para. [0013]: the stow angle (e.g. -90 degrees and +90 degrees)) of the second PV module (Fig. 1, one of the plurality of solar panels 110 that is non-adjacent to the first PV module) that is oriented to the sky (para. [0015]: see above; para. [0022]: the solar tracker(s) of a solar array will be stowed either away from the storm or to the nearest max-tilt in accordance with the user's selection (e.g., due East or due West)para. [0023]: when one or more trigger conditions are satisfied, a solar tracker is triggered into being stowed). Note that the above feature of “the plurality of solar panels 110” in Fig. 1, 110 and “stow configurator 222” in para. [0015] and “the solar tracker(s) of a solar array will be stowed either away from the storm” in para. [0022] reads on “a real-time reconfiguration of the second PV module positioned non-adjacent to the first PV module within the solar power plant that moves the second PV module from the first tilt angle of the solar tracking path to a second tilt angle that corresponds to a hail stow position, wherein the hail stow position reduces a surface area of the second PV module that is oriented to the sky.”
Abbaraju does not specifically teach that said characterization based on querying a trained hail model with attribute data of the first PV module, the vibrational data, and timestamps of the vibrational data; generate a hailstorm map relative to the PV array.
However, Wood teaches said characterization based on querying a trained hail model with PV module attribute data (para. [0096]: a power module 112; para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can be operably coupled to the sensor 366. In this manner, the computing device 362 can obtain data from sensor 366 (e.g., accelerometer, pressure sensor, wind speed sensor, temperature sensor, or another sensor measuring characteristics; para. [0135]: the duration of time can span a fraction of the duration of the hailstorm or span the entirety of the hailstorm. The collection of the largest impact data can be used to perform statistical operations to extrapolate characteristics about the hailstorm; para. [0291]: an artificial intelligence algorithm can be trained on this big data, and can be enhanced by access to multiple devices from multiple regions, or can be trained based on data from a particular region in order to better predict future events in that particular region, notes that above feature of “obtain data from sensor 366” in para. [0121], “an artificial intelligence algorithm can be trained on this big data” in para. [0291] and “perform statistical operations to extrapolate characteristics about the hailstorm” in para. [0135] reads on “said characterization based on querying a trained hail model with PV module attribute data”), the vibrational data (para. [0109]: the vibration upon hail impact), and
timestamps (para. [0132]: the system would capture that event as an "interrupt." record the time stamp of the interrupt for each sensor) of the vibrational data and generating a hailstorm map relative to the PV array (para. [0096]: a power module 112; para. [0109]: the vibration upon hail impact is the source of the accelerometer reading and hail events occur at widely different temperatures; para. [0118]: the numbered squares shown in this figure were used to for mapping impact locations; para. [0151]: Figure 9A and 9B show how the data from the nomograph can be plotted to pinpoint the impact location, note that the above feature of “ a power module including solar cell” in para. [0096], “the vibration upon hail impact” in para. [0109], “mapping impact locations” in para. [0118], and “nomograph” in para. [0151] reads on “generating a hailstorm map relative to the PV array).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the characterization based on querying a trained hail model with attribute data such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 2, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Wood teaches that the central computing system is communicatively coupled to the sensor via a data transmission device (para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can be operably coupled to the sensor 366. In this manner, the computing device 362 can obtain data from sensor 366 (e.g., accelerometer, pressure sensor, wind speed sensor, temperature sensor, or another sensor measuring characteristics)…the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system, note that the feature of “computing device 362 can include a cell phone system” reads on “a central computing system”),
the data transmission device transmitting the vibrational data as measured by the sensor (para. [0109]: the vibration upon hail impact is the source of the accelerometer reading and hail events occur at widely different temperatures; para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system), and
wherein the data transmission device is a wireless transceiver configured to integrate into a mesh network of data transmission devices communicatively coupled with sensors (para. [0022]: apparatus and techniques described herein relate to a network including multiple outdoor sensing devices…a transmitter configured to send data from the accelerometer to a remote receiver; para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the central computing system such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 4, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Wood teaches that characterization of the hailstorm (para. [0135]: the duration of time can span a fraction of the duration of the hailstorm or span the entirety of the hailstorm. The collection of the largest impact data can be used to perform statistical operations to extrapolate characteristics about the hailstorm) comprises identifying one or more of:
hail size (para. [0287]: hail size );
hail impact force (para. [0059]: impact force);
hail impact kinetic energy (para. [0093]: sensing of kinetic energy from the impact of hail stones);
hail impact location (para. [0118]: mapping impact locations);
hail impact frequency (para. [0110]: a strike counting algorithm can be used to generate a measured number of strike times from each set of sensors);
hail impact incidence angle (para. [0161]: the indirect angle of incidence);
hailstorm duration (para. [0136]: he hailstorm and collect maximum impact data across a duration of time);
location of PV module failure (para. [0118]: mapping impact locations; para. [0096]: Some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit); and
time of PV module failure (para. [0114]: this data can be correlated in absolute time with data from accelerometers attached to a lens or strike plate… strike counting algorithm can be used to generate a measured number of strike times from each set of sensors, and this can be used for verification, calibration, error checking, etc).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the characterization of the hailstorm such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 6, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Wood teaches that a plurality of sensors is positioned along a plurality of PV modules (para. [0096]: solar cells) of the solar power plant (para. [0094]: a device can assemble multiple sensors that can act independently or in concert. Such sensors can measure or otherwise respond to temperature, altitude, humidity, windspeed, wind direction, etc. They can sense location and/or optical, electrical, magnetic, vibration, acoustic, or other physical effects; para. [0096]: some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit, notes that the above feature of “a power module 112 “ in para. [0096] reads on “solar power plant”),
wherein the central computing system (para. [0121]: the computing device including a cell phone system) identifies a plurality of regions of the PV array, each of the plurality of regions corresponding to one or more adjacent sensors of the plurality of sensors (para. [0094]: a device can assemble multiple sensors that can act independently or in concert. Such sensors can measure or otherwise respond to temperature, altitude, humidity, windspeed, wind direction, etc. They can sense location and/or optical, electrical, magnetic, vibration, acoustic, or other physical effects; para. [0096]: Some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit); para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can be operably coupled to the sensor 366. In this manner, the computing device 362 can obtain data from sensor 366 (e.g., accelerometer, pressure sensor, wind speed sensor, temperature sensor, or another sensor measuring characteristics)… the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system),
wherein the central computing system (para. [0121]: the computing device including a cell phone system) characterizes the hailstorm through which the vibrational data was experienced for each of the plurality of regions (para. [0094]: a device can assemble multiple sensors that can act independently or in concert. Such sensors can measure or otherwise respond to temperature, altitude, humidity, windspeed, wind direction, etc. They can sense location and/or optical, electrical, magnetic, vibration, acoustic, or other physical effects; para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can be operably coupled to the sensor 366. In this manner, the computing device 362 can obtain data from sensor 366 (e.g., accelerometer, pressure sensor, wind speed sensor, temperature sensor, or another sensor measuring characteristics)…the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system), and
wherein the central computing system (para. [0121]: the computing device including a cell phone system) generates a site-wide hailstorm map across the PV array (para. [0096]: a power module 112; para. [0109]: the vibration upon hail impact is the source of the accelerometer reading and hail events occur at widely different temperatures; para. [0118]: the numbered squares shown in this figure were used to for mapping impact locations; para. [0151]: Figure 9A and 9B show how the data from the nomograph can be plotted to pinpoint the impact location, note that the above feature of “ a power module including solar cells” in para. [0096], “the vibration upon hail impact” in para. [0109], “mapping impact locations” in para. [0118], and “nomograph” in para. [0151] reads on “a site-wide hailstorm map across the PV array”).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of sensors such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 7, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Wood teaches that said mount on the PV module (para. [0096]: solar cells) of the solar power plant (para. [0096]: one or more accelerometers 106 can be adhered to the bottom of the material forming impact surface 104, such that impacts on or movements of the surface 104 cause the accelerometer(s) to register movement… Some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit, notes that the above feature of “a power module 112 “ in para. [0096] reads on “solar power plant”) comprises a physical attachment to any of:
a laminate of the first PV module (paras. [0005]-[0007]: planer structure; para. [0096]: Some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit; para. [0114]: planar structure);
a frame (para. [0095]: Example support structures include a steel rectangular frame and a frame with a hexagonal shape. Factors affecting the frame shape and construction include durability, mountability, water resistance, weight, shielding (electrical, wind, weather, etc.) space for internal components) of the first PV module (para. [0096]: a power module 112); or
a support structure (para. [0095]: Example support structures include a steel rectangular frame and a frame with a hexagonal shape. Factors affecting the frame shape and construction include durability, mountability, water resistance, weight, shielding (electrical, wind, weather, etc.) space for internal components) of the first PV module (para. [0096]: a power module 112).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the mount on the PV module such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 8, it is a method type claim and has similar limitation as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 8, in addition, Wood teaches that the sensor is communicatively coupled to the central computing system using a communication device that transmits the data to the central computing system (para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can be operably coupled to the sensor 366. In this manner, the computing device 362 can obtain data from sensor 366 (e.g., accelerometer, pressure sensor, wind speed sensor, temperature sensor, or another sensor measuring characteristics)…the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system), and
wherein the communication device is a wireless transceiver configured to integrate into a mesh network of data transmission devices communicatively coupled with sensors (para. [0022]: apparatus and techniques described herein relate to a network including multiple outdoor sensing devices…a transmitter configured to send data from the accelerometer to a remote receiver; para. [0121]: the computing device 362 can include a cell phone system).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 11, it is a method type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 4 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 6 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 8, in addition, Wood teaches further comprising a power supply, the power supply configured to power the sensor and the communication device (para. [0021]: a power supply including at least one battery and configured to supply power to the processor, the memory, and the accelerometer; and a transmitter configured to send data from the accelerometer to a remote receiver).
Abbaraju and Wood are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of photovoltaic (PV) technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power supply such as is described in Wood into Abbaraju, in order to allow the array to be positioned such that the mirrors are facing downwards with the backside of the array structure being exposed to the hail strikes, mitigating damage to the mirrors (Wood, para. [00179]).
Regarding claim 15, it is a system type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above. The additional elements of a plurality of PV modules, the plurality of sensors are disclosed by Wood (see at least para. [0096]: Some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit; para. [0094]: a device can assemble multiple sensors that can act independently or in concert. Such sensors can measure or otherwise respond to temperature, altitude, humidity, windspeed, wind direction, etc).
Regarding claim 16, it is a system type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 2 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, it is a method type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 4 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 4 above.
The additional element of region, identifying a plurality of regions of the PV array (para. [0096]: solar cells), each of the plurality of regions corresponding to one or more adjacent sensors of the plurality of sensors is disclosed by Wood (see para. [0109]: the vibration upon hail impact is the source of the accelerometer reading and hail events occur at widely different temperatures; para. [0118]: the numbered squares shown in this figure were used to for mapping impact locations; para. [0151]: Figure 9A and 9B show how the data from the nomograph can be plotted to pinpoint the impact location, note that the above feature of “the vibration upon hail impact” in para. [0109], “mapping impact locations” in para. [0118], and “nomograph” in para. [0151] reads on “generating a hailstorm map relative to the PV array)) and the additional element of characterizing the hailstorm through which the vibrational data was experienced in each of the plurality of regions is disclosed by Wood (see para. [0094]: a device can assemble multiple sensors that can act independently or in concert. Such sensors can measure or otherwise respond to temperature, altitude, humidity, windspeed, wind direction, etc. They can sense location and/or optical, electrical, magnetic, vibration, acoustic, or other physical effects; para. [0118]: the numbered squares shown in this figure were used to for mapping impact locations; para. [0151]: Figure 9A and 9B show how the data from the nomograph can be plotted to pinpoint the impact location).
Regarding claim 19, it is a system type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 7 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 20, it is dependent on claim 16 and has similar limitations as of claim 14 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 14 above.
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbaraju in view of Wood and Corio et al. (US 2008/0308091 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Corio”).
Regarding claim 3, Abbaraju and Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Wood teaches the attribute data of the first PV module (para. [0096]: some embodiments include a power module 112, which can comprise solar cells and/or a solar-powered charging unit; para. [0106]: the structure can include a known thickness and material property) includes one or more of;
first PV module glass thickness (para. [0010]: the planar structure includes a strong, impact resistant polycarbonate having a thickness of less than 10 millimeters), first PV module superstructure thickness (para. [0106]: the structure can include a known thickness and material property; para. [0117]: polycarbonate material can be useful for constructing the impact surface or lens because of its useful mix of properties, at the right thicknesses), and first PV module superstructure construction (para. [0106]: the structure can include a known thickness and material property; para. [0117]: polycarbonate material can be useful for constructing the impact surface or lens because of its useful mix of properties, at the right thicknesses).
Abbaraju and Wood do not specifically teaches first PV module tilt angle during hail impacts; first PV module stow angle; tracking system damping; and tracking system deflection.
However, Corio teaches that first PV module tilt angle during hail impacts (para. [0023]: tilt angle); first PV module stow angle (para. [0027] : stow angle); first PV module glass thickness (para. [0010]: the planar structure includes a strong, impact resistant polycarbonate having a thickness of less than 10 millimeters); tracking system damping (para. [0026]: Solar tracker systems developed to date show a response time of rotation on the order of is or faster. The time of rotation is a function of the natural frequency (0.5˜1.5 hz for 1st order row rotation) and low total system damping); and tracking system deflection (para. [0021]: For purposes of this disclosure a “flexible” solar tracker system is one subject to sufficient deflection as to require aeroelastic consideration. For purposes of this disclosure a “flexible” solar tracker system is one subject to sufficient deflection as to require aeroelastic consideration).
Abbaraju and Corio are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of solar energy production. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the attribute data of the first PV module such as are described in Corio into Wood, in order to provide mechanically link multiple solar trackers in a large array configuration so that they may operate in unison, driven by a single motor and tracker controller (Corio, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Abbaraju in view of Wood teaches all the limitation of claim 1.
Abbaraju and Wood do not specifically teach the PV array is of a single-axis, flexible tracker system configuration.
However, Corio teaches the PV array is of a single-axis, flexible tracker system configuration (para. [0020]: Flexible PV systems generally rely on as few actuators as possible; para. [0024]: A further object is to apply the drive principals to various solar single-axis tracking geometries to maximize the economic performance for each solar tracking application).
Abbaraju and Corio are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of solar energy production. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the single-axis, flexible tracker system configuration such as is described in Corio into Wood, in order to provide mechanically link multiple solar trackers in a large array configuration so that they may operate in unison, driven by a single motor and tracker controller (Corio, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, it is dependent on claim 8 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12, it is dependent on claim 8 and has similar limitations as of claim 5 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17, it is dependent on claim 15 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above, Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herwood (US 2021/0399670 A1) teaches an automated self-contained solar panel system includes a weather-tight storage crate having a top side, bottom, and four vertical sides. The storage crate is used to house a first solar array having a primary solar panel mounted on a column and having at least one secondary solar panel slidably engaged with the primary solar panel, and at least one second solar array having a primary solar panel mounted on the column and having at least one secondary solar panel slidably engaged with the primary solar panel, the solar panels of the at least one secondary solar array overlapping the solar panels of the primary solar array in a stowed position.
Hansel et al. (US 2025/0392251 A1) teaches that system and method embodiments are described for solar panel protection against severe environmental impacts. A tracker controller may be configured to rotate a solar tracker comprising a group of solar panels to a safe position to diminish hail impact during a hailstorm. Such a rotation may be implemented using one or more motors to drive arc gears coupled to a pair of supporting purlins that support the group of solar panels.
Shah et al. (US 2022/0294387 A1) teaches that a method may include obtaining information from a weather forecasting service that relates to indicators of an incoming hail event. The method may include determining a stowing score that quantifies whether the hail event is likely to occur within a period of time based on the information from the weather forecasting service. Responsive to the stowing score exceeding a threshold value, a time at which the incoming hail event is likely to occur may be predicted based on the weather forecasting service information.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858