DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 2/26/2026, wherein claims 1-7 were amended, claims 8-9 are new. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 8 ( must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 8 states ". In fact the drawings appear to show no contact. Keep in mind, claim 1 positively states the existence of a pressing portion. The drawings fail to depict a configuration in which there is a pressing portion, a first water stop (on the outer wall), second water stop (on the inner wall) and the side wall abutting both water stops.
Claim 9 states "the side wall of the main body portion that contacts both of the press portion and the water stop portion". However, this is not clearly outright stated by the as filed disclosure. For example, the specification states " the side wall 22 is smoothly guided into the groove 34 without being caught by the press portion 341.". Neither the specification or drawings support the claim limitations. In fact the drawings appear to show no contact between the press portion and side wall.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the main body" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Elsewhere, it is referred to as the main body portion. Claims 2-9 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Bordner (US 4718571 A).
With respect to claim 1, Bordner discloses an accommodation box comprising: a main body portion (16) includes a side wall and an interior space, the interior space is able to accommodate an electronic component there inside, and has an opening portion that opens the interior space; a cover portion (20) attached to the main body portion and covering the opening portion, the cover portion includes; a groove(groove between 100 and 64); an inner wall (64) that bounds the groove, an outer wall that bounds the groove, and is spaced away from and surrounds the inner wall; and a packing member (58) in the groove of the cover portion and arranged between the main body portion and the cover portion, wherein the side wall extends into the groove in an attachment direction and includes a side surface that extends along the attachment direction, wherein the packing member is in contact with the side surface (surface of 96) of the main body (16), and wherein the cover portion includes a press portion (98) that is formed at a position facing the packing member and presses the main body portion (16) between itself (98) and the packing member (58), toward the packing member and the wherein the packing member (58) is provided on the outer wall.
Examiner Note: Column 9 lines 4-13 discuss a close sealing arrangement. Column 8 line 66 – Column 9 line 2 reads “Additionally, the skirt assembly 34, particularly the upper portion thereof 64 is dimensioned having an internal diameter which is slightly less than the corresponding outside dimension of the side surface portion 88 of the rim structure 82.” This teaches of another form of press portion.
With respect to claim 2, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes a reinforcement rib (30) that is bonded to a surface of the cover portion, and suppresses deformation of the outer wall on which the packing member (98) is provided.
With respect to claim 3, Bordner discloses an accommodation box comprising: a main body portion (16) includes an interior space that is able to accommodate an electronic component there inside, and has an opening portion that opens the interior space; a cover portion (20) attached to the main body portion and covering the opening portion, the cover portion includes; a groove, an inner wall (64) that bounds the groove, and an outer wall (100) that bounds the groove, and is spaced away from and surrounds the inner wall: and a packing member (58) that is provided in the groove of the cover portion and arranged between the main body portion and the cover portion, wherein the packing member is in contact with a surface of the main body portion (16) formed along an attachment direction of the cover portion (20), wherein the cover portion includes a reinforcement rib (30) that is bonded to a surface of the cover portion, and suppresses deformation of the wall portion (portions contacting 98 of 20) of the cover portion on which the packing member is provided and wherein the packing member (58) is provided on the outer wall.
Examiner Note: Column 9 lines 4-13 discuss a close sealing arrangement.
With respect to claim 4, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to wherein the cover portion includes a hanging portion hanging downward from an outer rim (26) of a top surface portion, a lower portion of the hanging portion branches to form the inner wall (100) and the outer wall (64) main body portion into a groove between the inner wall and the outer wall, and the packing member (58) includes a water stop portion provided on a side surface of the outer wall, and the water stop portion contacts the side surface (96) of the main body portion that extends into the groove.
With respect to claim 5, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 3, wherein the cover portion includes a hanging portion (perimeter portion outside of 26) hanging downward from an outer rim of a top surface portion (top surface/rim of 26), a lower portion of the hanging portion branches to form the inner wall (64) and the outer wall (100), and the packing member (58) includes a water stop portion (58) provided on a side surface of the outer wall, and the water stop portion (58) contacts the side surface of the main body portion (16) that is extends into the groove.
With respect to claim 6, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 4, wherein the water stop portion (58) is formed only on the side surface of the outer wall (64).
With respect to claim 7, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 5, wherein the water stop portion (58) is formed only on the side surface of the outer wall (64).
With respect to claim 8, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 1, packing member includes a first water stop (58) that is provided on the outer wall and a second water stop portion (portion of 98) that is provided on the inner wall, and the side wall of the main body portion abuts both of the first water stop portion and the second water stop portion.
Examiner Note: Can consider a portion of 98 as the first water stop and another portion as the pressing portion to meet the claimed limitations of both members. For example a bottom quadrant could be considered either feature and the rest of 98 could be considered the other feature to meet the claim language.
With respect to claim 9, Bordner discloses the accommodation box according to claim 1, wherein the inner wall (100) includes a side surface that opposes the outer wall, the press portion (98) is on the side surface of the inner wall, and the press portion (98) protrudes from the side surface of the inner wall and toward the outer wall, and the side wall (96 and 16) of the main body portion that contacts both of the press portion (98) and the water stop portion (58).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20240225391-A1 OR US-20180270977-A1 OR US-20210119424-A1 OR US-20250282531-A1 OR US-20240391653-A1 OR US-20170070040-A1 OR US-20160366996-A1 OR US-7854344-B2 OR US-4718571-A OR US-5655677-A OR US-4494674-A OR US-8448814-B2 OR US-5574254-A
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has altered the reading of Bordner to read on the claimed art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735