DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendments filed on 4/23/2026 in which claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's First Argument:
The cited reference discloses, at most, a belt having adjustable fastening features. However, it does not disclose nor suggest:
a structure in which elasticity is selectively enabled or disabled,
a fastening mechanism that controls whether the elastic portion is operative, or
any mechanism that allows the user to toggle between distinct functional modes of the belt.
Rather, the cited reference teaches a system in which any flexibility or adjustment is continuously present, not conditionally controlled.
Examiner's Response:
Examiner disagrees with the applicant argument because the argument above is not claimed.
Applicant's Second Argument:
This concept of user-controlled activation of elasticity is neither disclosed nor suggested in the cited references.
Examiner's Response:
Examiner disagrees with the applicant argument because the argument above is not claimed.
Applicant's Third Argument:
Prior art elasticity is passive and always present
Applicant's elasticity is active, conditional, and user-controlled
Examiner's Response:
Examiner disagrees with the applicant argument because the argument above is not claimed.
Applicant's Fourth Argument:
Even if one were to combine the cited reference with general knowledge of elastic belts, there is no articulated reasoning that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to:
modify an adjustable belt to include a mechanism for selectively disabling elasticity, or redesign the system to operate in two distinct behavioral modes controlled by the user.
Such a modification would require:
a fundamental redesign of the belt's functional purpose, and
a departure from the conventional objective of belts, which is either fixed support or continuous comfort-not selective behavior control.
Examiner's Response:
Examiner disagrees with the applicant argument because the argument above is not claimed.
Applicant's Fifth Argument:
The Examiner's Rejection Relies on Impermissible Hindsight
Examiner's Response:
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0141821 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system (See Fig. 2 identifier 100) comprising:
a main belt body (110) configured (capable) to adjust in length to accommodate various waist sizes (when worn);
an elastic section (See annotated Fig. A above) (a portion of the belt right beside 122 that the cover overlaps when closed, see for example Figure 1) disposed near a buckle portion (See Fig. A) of the belt and configured (capable) to stretch in response to user movement (when worn);
a cover (See Fig. A) configured (capable) to selectively conceal or expose the elastic section (See Fig. 1); and
a fastening mechanism (124, 126) comprising a button (126) located on the belt (See Fig. A) and a corresponding opening (124) on the cover (See Fig. A), the fastening mechanism (124, 126) being configured (capable) to secure the cover over the elastic section to control the tightness and appearance of the belt (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system further comprising a buckle (140) configured (capable) to allow manual adjustment of the belt length (when worn), the buckle (140) (capable of) being operable to secure the belt at a desired fit (when worn).
Regarding claim 3, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the main belt body (110) is formed from a material selected from the group consisting of leather, synthetic leather, and textile fabric (See para. 0136).
Regarding claim 5, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the cover (See Fig. A) is longer than the elastic section (See Fig. A) and configured (capable) to fully enclose the elastic section when fastened (when worn), thereby maintaining a continuous belt appearance (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the fastening mechanism (124, 126) comprises a classical button and corresponding buttonhole located on the cover (See Fig. A), allowing the cover to be opened or closed over the elastic section (See Figs. 1-2 and A).
Regarding claims 7-8, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the fastening mechanism further comprises a snap button assembly, including a male snap element and a female snap receptacle integrated into the cover, wherein the snap button assembly provides an alternative closure mechanism for fastening the cover, allowing users to select between different closure styles based on preference (the system 124, 126 can also be considered as snap button assembly having a male snap 126 and a female snap 124 providing an alternative closure mechanism for fastening the cover).
Regarding claim 9, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the cover is a continuous piece of material extending along a portion of the main belt body. and is configured to move over or away from the elastic section (See Fig. A).
Regarding claim 10, provides an alternative closure mechanism for fastening the cover wherein the snap button components are integrated into the continuous cover to provide a concealed and streamlined fastening appearance (See Fig. A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0141821 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Toso discloses an adjustable belt system wherein the elastic section (See Fig. A) has a length.
Toso does not disclose that the length that varies according to the overall belt size (because it is elastic), ranging from approximately 6 centimeters for smaller belts to approximately 10 centimeters for larger belts.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the length that varies according to the overall belt size, ranging from approximately 6 centimeters for smaller belts to approximately 10 centimeters for larger belts to customize the intended use of the belt whether it is made for large size or small size users, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732