Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surana (US 2023/0315262 hereinafter Surana) in view of Edelman et al. (US 2015/0319211 hereinafter Edelman) and Agrawal et al. (US 2019/0073490 hereinafter Agrawal) and further in view of Jing et al. (US 2016/0227161 hereinafter Jing).
Regarding claim 1, Surana discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
responsive to receiving a request to share a segment of a media stream by a video conferencing server, computing an access metric from the request wherein the access metric describes access to the segment by a user (¶ [0016]-[0018], [0021], [0027]; i.e. the meeting service receives a request from a first user to share a portion of an active screen, user selected application windows of one or more respective applications, etc. and determining the permissions and/or the participants whom is shared the selected application windows);
extracting the segment from the media stream based on the access metric wherein the segment is a portion of the media stream (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service causes the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to send to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices, and/or only one of the selected application windows which is interpreted that the meeting service extracts the selected portion of the active screen or selected application windows from the respective applications); and
sending the segment that is separate from the media stream to a device of the user (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service sends the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices).
Surana does not explicitly disclose sending one or more messages to the device based on a priority of a medium type of the segment wherein the one or more messages are combined on the device; wherein a presenter device extends a message protocol by modifying a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server.
However, Edelman discloses sending one or more messages to the device based on a priority of a medium type of the segment wherein the one or more messages are combined on the device (¶ [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana and Edelman in order to achieve an efficient mix of audio, video, and data chunks that results in a good playback that minimizes the audio or video jitter in the playback (Edelman, ¶ [0072]).
Agrawal discloses sending wherein a presenter device modifies a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server (FIG. 4-8, ¶ [0030], [0035]-[0037], [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman and Agrawal in order to control sharing content by obfuscating the content within the shared space for the unauthorized receiving participant (Agrawal, ¶ [0002]-[0003], [0014]).
Jing discloses extending a message protocol to include access control list to the media stream (¶ [0014], [0024], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman, Agrawal and Jing in order to improve user experience, save network bandwidth and reduce local resource consumption of the user terminal (Jing, ¶ [0003]-[0005], [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Surana in view or Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the request is received using an extended messaging protocol comprising a message wherein the message further comprises the access metric (Surana, ¶ [0016]-[0018], [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Surana in view of Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising sending a message from a presenter device using an extended message protocol wherein the extended message protocol comprises the media stream and is extended with the message comprising the access metric (Agrawal, FIG. 4-8, ¶ [0027]-[0037], [0039]; Jing, ¶ [0014], [0024], [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Surana in view or Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving by the device of the user from the video conferencing server the segment that is separate from the media stream, the video conferencing server sending the one or more messages to the device wherein the priority of the sending is higher for a control message than the one or more messages containing the medium type of the segment (Surana, ¶ [0057]-[0061]; Edelman, ¶ [0030], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Surana in view or Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the access metric comprises an access control list (Agrawal, FIG. 4-8, ¶ [0027]-[0037], [0039]; Jing, ¶ [0014], [0024], [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Surana in view or Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the sending the segment is contemporaneous with the media stream (Surana, ¶ [0057]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Surana in view or Edelman, Agrawal and Jing discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the media stream is generated at a presenter device that is sharing the segment to the device of the user (Surana, ¶ [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Surana discloses a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
responsive to receiving a request to share a segment of a media stream by a video conferencing server, computing an access metric from the request wherein the access metric describes access to the segment by a user (¶ [0016]-[0018], [0021], [0027]; i.e. the meeting service receives a request from a first user to share a portion of an active screen, user selected application windows of one or more respective applications, etc. and determining the permissions and/or the participants whom is shared the selected application windows);
extracting the segment from the media stream based on the access metric wherein the segment is a portion of the media stream (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service causes the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to send to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices, and/or only one of the selected application windows which is interpreted that the meeting service extracts the selected portion of the active screen or selected application windows from the respective applications); and
sending the segment that is separate from the media stream to a device of the user (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service sends the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices).
Surana does not explicitly disclose chunking the segment into a chunk based on a medium type of the segment and sending the chunk according to a priority to the device wherein the chunk is combined on the device; wherein a presenter device extends a message protocol by modifying a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server.
However, Edelman discloses chunking the segment into a chunk based on a medium type of the segment and sending the chunk according to a priority to the device wherein the chunk is combined on the device (¶ [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana and Edelman in order to achieve an efficient mix of audio, video, and data chunks that results in a good playback that minimizes the audio or video jitter in the playback (Edelman, ¶ [0072]).
Agrawal discloses sending wherein a presenter device modifies a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server (FIG. 4-8, ¶ [0030], [0035]-[0037], [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman and Agrawal in order to control sharing content by obfuscating the content within the shared space for the unauthorized receiving participant (Agrawal, ¶ [0002]-[0003], [0014]).
Jing discloses extending a message protocol to include access control list to the media stream (¶ [0014], [0024], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman, Agrawal and Jing in order to improve user experience, save network bandwidth and reduce local resource consumption of the user terminal (Jing, ¶ [0003]-[0005], [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, Surana discloses a computer system comprising a processor and one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0017]):
responsive to receiving a request to share a segment of a media stream by a video conferencing server, computing an access metric from the request wherein the access metric describes access to the segment by a user (¶ [0016]-[0018], [0021], [0027]; i.e. the meeting service receives a request from a first user to share a portion of an active screen, user selected application windows of one or more respective applications, etc. and determining the permissions and/or the participants whom is shared the selected application windows);
extracting the segment from the media stream based on the access metric wherein the segment is a portion of the media stream (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service causes the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to send to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices, and/or only one of the selected application windows which is interpreted that the meeting service extracts the selected portion of the active screen or selected application windows from the respective applications); and
sending the segment that is separate from the media stream to a device of the user (¶ [0016], [0027], [0057]-[0061]; i.e. the meeting service sends the portion of the active screen, or the selected application windows to be displayed on the permitted participants’ devices).
Surana does not explicitly disclose sending one or more messages to the device based on a priority of a medium type of the segment wherein the one or more messages are combined on the device; wherein a presenter device extends a message protocol by modifying a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server.
However, Edelman discloses sending one or more messages to the device based on a priority of a medium type of the segment wherein the one or more messages are combined on the device (¶ [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana and Edelman in order to achieve an efficient mix of audio, video, and data chunks that results in a good playback that minimizes the audio or video jitter in the playback (Edelman, ¶ [0072]).
Agrawal discloses sending wherein a presenter device modifies a message to include an access control list, and wherein the message is sent together with a second message comprising the media stream to the video conferencing server (FIG. 4-8, ¶ [0030], [0035]-[0037], [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman and Agrawal in order to control sharing content by obfuscating the content within the shared space for the unauthorized receiving participant (Agrawal, ¶ [0002]-[0003], [0014]).
Jing discloses extending a message protocol to include access control list to the media stream (¶ [0014], [0024], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Surana, Edelman, Agrawal and Jing in order to improve user experience, save network bandwidth and reduce local resource consumption of the user terminal (Jing, ¶ [0003]-[0005], [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435