DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “denoiser” in claim 1 and its dependents. The limitation is constructed as a microspeaker (cf. Applicant’s specification at ¶21)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (US 11924994 B2) in view of Franklin (WO 2024238704 A11).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the best prior art when taken alone or in combination does not teach or suggest all of the limitations of the instant claim in such a way that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. Specifically, the best prior art Tsen (US 11924994 B2) discloses a head-mounted display apparatus (Fig. 1, “In other embodiments, information handling system 100 may represent different types of portable information handling systems, such as … head mount display systems”), comprising:
a casing with a body part and a supporting part extending from the body part (considered to be implicitly disclosed, lest Tsen’s head mounted display be inoperable);
a heat sink (110);
a denoiser (130, C. 9, ll. 22-67);
a sensing module (120) adapted to detect an audio signal or/and a vibration signal generated by the heat sink (id.); and
a control module (135) electrically connected the denoiser and the sensing module (id.), wherein the control module receives the audio signal or/and the vibration signal detected by the sensing module and controls the denoiser to generate a reverse shock wave to eliminate the audio signal or/and the vibration signal generated by the heat sink (id., “The noise-cancelling event may cause vibration unit 130 to apply one or more noise-cancelling vibrations to heatsink 110 based on, or in accordance with, the noise-cancelling waveform generated by controller unit 135. The one or more noise-cancelling vibrations applied by vibrations unit 130 may cause the fan noise to be reduced due to destructive interference between the noise waveform and the noise-cancelling waveform, thereby decreasing the overall acoustics generated by information handling system 100.”).
Tsen does not explicitly show the heat sink disposed alongside the optical engine module; or the denoiser disposed in the supporting part; or the sensing module disposed in the supporting part; or that the control module is electrically connected to the heat sink.
Franklin drawn to head mounted displays in goggle conformation, i.e. showing well known goggle casing and head supporting parts, explicitly shows the heat sink disposed alongside the optical engine module (“[1128] In at least one example, the graphite layer 3-426 can be one of multiple graphite layers, for example two layers, three layers, four layers, or more than four layers. The graphite layers 3-426 can be configured to spread heat from the display assembly 3-408 coupled to the display bracket 3-414. In at least one example, the display bracket 3-414 is a metal material that acts as a heat sink to dissipate heat from the display assembly 3-408.”); and the denoiser disposed in the supporting part (“[0867] User input and other information may be gathered using sensors and other input devices in input-output devices 2.2-22. If desired, input-output devices 2.2-22 may include other devices 2.2-24 such as haptic output devices (e.g., vibrating components), light-emitting diodes, lasers, and other light sources (e.g., light-emitting devices that emit light that illuminates the environment surrounding device 2.2-10 when ambient light levels are low), speakers such as ear speakers for producing audio output, circuits for receiving wireless power, circuits for transmitting power wirelessly to other devices, batteries and other energy storage devices (e.g., capacitors), joysticks, buttons, and/or other components.”); and the sensing module disposed in the supporting part (“[1453] Different forms of head-mounted devices that enable a person to sense and/or interact with various CGR environments. Examples include smart glasses, helmets, visors, or goggles. A head- mounted device may have one or more speaker(s) and an integrated opaque display. Alternatively, a head-mounted system may be configured to accept an external opaque display (e.g., a smartphone). The head-mounted device may incorporate one or more imaging sensors to capture images or video of the physical environment, and/or one or more microphones to capture audio of the physical environment.”); and the control module is electrically connected to the heat sink (“FIG.8-5 illustrates a perspective view of a logic board coupled with a fan assembly of an HMD.”; ¶1456-1457, “The air circulation device 9.1-140 can be implemented as a fan that is configured to draw air into the inlet port(s) 9.1-240 and urge air out of the outlet port 9.1-250. However, any suitable number of fans or other air circulation devices can be included to urge movement of air. [1457] The air flow path 9.1-275 can extend over or across components such as heat-generating electronic components mounted within the housing. For example, the pair of display assemblies may include heat-generating display layers, and the air circulation device 9.1-140 may be configured to generate a flow of air so that the air flow path 9.1-275 extends over each of the display assemblies 9.1-121a and 9.1-121b to cool the heat-generating layers by dissipating heat therefrom”). Accordingly, it is considered that Franklin discloses a device having the components required to perform the method of Tsen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the method of Tsen in a device disclosed to be compatible, i.e. having the required components such as that of Franklin, and obtained a predictable noise cancellation result.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Tsen teaches the head-mounted display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the control module is disposed in the supporting part (logic board discussed supra), wherein the body part has an air inlet and the supporting part has an air outlet (defining the air flow path, see Figs. 9.1-3 – 9.1-6 and 9.2-2 – 9.2-12 and 9.3-2 – 9.3-11, configurations of the fan in the HMD supporting goggle), the air inlet being connected to the air outlet (lest there be no flow at all), wherein the heat sink (3-414) is located between the optical engine module and the control module (Fig. 3-4, Figs. 9.1-3 – 9.1-6 and 9.2-2 – 9.2-12 and 9.3-2 – 9.3-11).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Tsen teaches the head-mounted display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses denoisers (1-114) in the temples (considered as first and second supporting part) but does not explicitly show wherein the denoiser is fixed to an inner surface of the supporting part corresponding to the denoiser and spaced apart from an outer surface of the supporting part, or the denoiser is exposed to the inner surface of the supporting part corresponding to the denoiser and spaced apart from the outer surface of the supporting part.
However, absent any criticality of the denoiser position, rearrangement of parts known from the prior art that otherwise allow the noise cancellation method of Tsen to be carried out would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g. for the purpose of minimizing form factor and improving comfort. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Tsen teaches the head-mounted display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein a quantity of the optical engine module is two and a quantity of the heat sink is two (Franklin shows a fan for each left and right optical engine positioned to display to each eye as in Figs. 9.1-3 – 9.1-6 and 9.2-2 – 9.2-12 and 9.3-2 – 9.3-11), the two heat sinks being disposed alongside the two optical engine modules respectively (id.), and the supporting part comprises a first supporting part and a second supporting part (Fig. 1-1A, B), wherein a quantity of the denoiser is two, the two denoisers being disposed in the first supporting part (Fig. 1-1A, 1-114) and the second supporting part respectively (“[2294] User input and other information may be gathered using sensors and other input devices in input-output devices 11.4.2-22. If desired, input-output devices 11.4.2-22 may include other devices 11.4.2-24 such as haptic output devices (e.g., vibrating components), light-emitting diodes and other light sources, speakers such as ear speakers for producing audio output, and other electrical components.”; thus it is considered disclosed to provide denoisers, i.e. microspeakers, for each ear).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Tsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 118502115 A).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Tsen teaches the head-mounted display apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein the heat sink is a piezoelectric fan.
Chen drawn to head mounted displays explicitly shows piezoelectric fans as compatible with such devices (“It is understood that the fan may include, but is not limited to, an axial fan, a centrifugal fan, a jet fan, a piezoelectric fan, a flapping fan, and the like.”).
Since its use is known in the field of head mounted displays, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the piezoelectric fan of Chen as the heat sink of the modified Tsen and thus achieved a predictable heat sink result.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Tsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao (US 20250085545 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Tsen teaches the head-mounted display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses a broad array of analogous technologies (¶1453-1454 including retinal projection) but does not explicitly show wherein the optical engine module comprises a light emitting element, a lens unit, and a light guiding element, wherein the image is formed by imaging by a light emitted from the light emitting element and passing through the lens unit, the image being converged on the imaging module through the light guiding element
Gao drawn to an analogous head mounted display explicitly shows wherein the optical engine module comprises a light emitting element (11, “The image source 11 provides an image light beam IL, and may be any one of a liquid crystal display, an organic light-emitting diode display, a silicon-based liquid crystal display, a micro-light-emitting diode display, and the like, or may be implemented using laser scanning projection and digital projection technology.”), a lens unit (9), and a light guiding element (7), wherein the image is formed by imaging by a light emitted from the light emitting element and passing through the lens unit, the image being converged on the imaging module (2) through the light guiding element (7) (Figs. 1A-1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the projection configuration of Gao to predictably implement display projection in a head mounted display known to both Tsen and Franklin, thus providing for augmented reality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10830545 B2 discloses heat sink feedback based vibration control
US 20050237717 A1 discloses fan noise cancellation methods
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 This is a very large document; the copy thereof has been included with the office action per MPEP 707.05(a), but is provided in four 400 page parts. Where possible, entire passages have been included in the body of the office action.