DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of the Applicants’ Amendments and Remarks, filed July 15, 2026 which have been entered on the record.
Claims 3-4, 6-7, and 9-14 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, and 15-16 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, and 15-16 are pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2025 and July 15, 2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/CN2023/085442 filed March 31, 2023, which claims the benefit of priority to Chinese Patent Application No. CN202210534437.8, filed on May 17, 2022 and CN202211487425.0, filed November 24, 2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), and the certified copy has been filed.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Abstract Objections
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 5 are rendered unclear by the phrase “wherein when R3, R4, R7 and R8 are not all H, n is 1, 2, or 3 and m is 1, 2 or 3,” because it is unclear how n and m are defined when R3, R4, R7, and R8 are all H.
The lack of clarity renders the claims indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Therefore, claim 5 is rejected on grounds of indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 (Entered STN Registry on November 16, 1984, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Non-Patent Literature No. 1).
Regarding claim 1, CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 teaches the elements of claim 1 as detailed below.
[AltContent: textbox (n = 1
R3 = R4 = HR1 = H)]
Regarding claim 2, CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 meets the limitations of claim 2, where R1 is H, R3 is H, R4 is H, and n is 1 as shown above.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See MPEP § 2131.02, I.
Therefore claims 1-2 are rejected as clearly anticipated by CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1 (Entered STN Registry on November 16, 1984, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Non-Patent Literature No. 1).
Regarding claim 1, CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1 teaches the elements of claim 1 as detailed below.
[AltContent: textbox (n = 2
R3 = R4 = HR1 = H)]
Regarding claim 2, CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1 meets the limitations of claim 2, where R1 is H, R3 is H, R4 is H, and n is 2 as shown above.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See MPEP § 2131.02, I.
Therefore claims 1-2 are rejected as clearly anticipated by CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 (Entered STN Registry on November 16, 1984, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Non-Patent Literature No. 1) in view of Lee et al. (Lee et al. 2021. Urolithin and reduced urolithin derivatives as potent inhibitors of tyrosinase and melanogenesis: importance of the 4-substituted resorcinol moiety. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 22(11), p.5616).
The teachings of CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 are applied and set forth as taught above.
CAS Registry Number 80867-99-8 does not teach cosmetic and pharmaceutical formulations of the compounds as claimed.
Lee teaches that “Pharmacophore analyses showed that two hydroxyl groups of the 4-substituted resorcinol entity act as hydrogen bond donors in both mushroom and human tyrosinases… These results suggest that 2a is a promising candidate for the treatment of skin pigment disorders, and show the 4-substituted resorcinol entity importantly contributes to tyrosinase inhibition.”
Lee further teaches that “Taken together, our studies of urolithin and o-phenylbenzyl alcohol derivatives indicate that the 4-substituted resorcinol is a mandatory backbone for potent tyrosinase inhibitory activity and that the type, position, and number of substituents on the phenyl ring markedly influence abilities to inhibit tyrosinase.”
Therefore, Lee teaches the 4-substituted resorcinol core is key to pharmacological activity and additionally, that such compounds can be used to treat skin pigment disorders.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the compound in cosmetic and pharmaceutical formulations based the pharmacological activity associated with 4-substituted resorcinol as a pharmacophore and the well-known pharmacological and cosmetic applications of 4-substituted resorcinol analogues.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to develop such cosmetic and pharmaceutical formulations as in claimed invention and consequently, would have arrived at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success and as a highly predictable result.
Therefore, Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected as being obvious.
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1 (Entered STN Registry on November 16, 1984, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Non-Patent Literature No. 1) in view of Lee et al. (Lee et al. 2021. Urolithin and reduced urolithin derivatives as potent inhibitors of tyrosinase and melanogenesis: importance of the 4-substituted resorcinol moiety. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 22(11), p.5616).
The teachings of CAS Registry Number 65422-05-1 and Lee are applied and set forth as taught above.
Similarly, as stated above, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the compound in cosmetic and pharmaceutical formulations based the pharmacological activity associated with 4-substituted resorcinol as a pharmacophore and the well-known pharmacological and cosmetic applications of 4-substituted resorcinol analogues.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to develop such cosmetic and pharmaceutical formulations as in claimed invention and consequently, would have arrived at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success and as a highly predictable result.
Therefore, Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected as being obvious.
Claims 5, 8, and 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAS Registry Number 72132-81-1 (Entered STN Registry on November 16, 1984, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Non-Patent Literature No. 1) in view of Sakai et al WO 01/19323 A1, Machine Translation, Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2026, Foreign Patent No. 6).
Regarding claim 5, CAS Registry Number 72132-81-1 teaches the elements of claim 1 as detailed below excepting the limitation that not all substituents can be H.
[AltContent: textbox (n = 2
R3 = R4 = HR1 = H)]
Regarding claim 8, CAS Registry Number 72132-81-1 teaches compounds similar to those recited in claim 8 excepting R3 and R4 are H, not alkyl as shown below.
Sakai teaches compounds that are resorcinol analogues similar to instant invention, specifically compounds that show tyrosine activity and applications in cosmetics (abstract).
Sakai teaches the importance of substitution at the 4-position, specifically that “Furthermore, it has been proposed to apply a specific compound having a 4-substituted resorcinol skeleton and a specific flavonoid compound to a whitening agent (Japanese Patent Application Laid-Open No. 2-49715, Japanese Patent Application Laid-Open No. 55-49). JP-A-11-411, JP-A-57-35506, JP-A-6-16531, etc.).
Sakai teaches the following compound
, demonstrating where R3 is ethyl.
Additionally, as per MPEP 2144.09 (II) “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09 (II).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CAS Registry Number 72132-81-1 to incorporate methyl and ethyl substituents as such substituents are generally of close structural similarity that such compounds would be expected to possess similar properties. Sakai additionally teaches similar resorcinol analogues including compounds with such ethyl substitution as instant invention that possess cosmetic and pharmaceutical properties in inhibiting tyrosinase activity.
Consequently, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify CAS Registry Number 72132-81-1 based on the teachings of Sakai as part of standard structure-activity relationship studies in optimizing the cosmetic and/or pharmaceutical activity of such analogues and because such compounds are homologs. Therefore, one would arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success as a highly predictable result.
It would be further prima facie obvious to use the compounds in pharmaceutical and cosmetic compositions as such an operation would be part of standard optimization as part of process optimization and development in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic arts and because Sakai teaches cosmetic and pharmaceutical applications of similar compounds.
Therefore claims 1, 2, 5, 8, and 15-16 are rejected on grounds of obviousness.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, and 15-16 are under consideration and are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/C.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622