DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: "the base is comprises a horizontal member" should be replaced with either --the base comprises a horizontal member-- or the base is comprised of a horizontal member . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear if applicant is claiming that the body and the base are two separate elements of the containment device (e.g. a bucket and a separate stand) or if the body is comprised of the base (e.g. a pan with a sidewall and base). For the purpose of examination: the examiner understands the body and the base to be two separate elements of the containment device as disclosed in the figures.
Claims 12-14 are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell, Jr. (US 4603506) in view of Billings (US 2018/0064044) in view of Lipani (US 10130048).
Regarding claim 1, Powell, Jr. teaches a containment device comprising: a body comprised of: an opening (pan 10, col. 2, ll. 47-48, fig. 2); an interior space (interior of pan 10, fig. 3); a screened drainage hole (col. 3, ll. 57-59, fig. 4), and a drain plug (gate valve 74, fig. 4) but fails to teach the screen being rustproof, a lid, a clamp fastener that secures one end of the lid to the body; and wherein the lid is a wire mesh lid comprising a plurality of openings configured to allow passage of a spray of water into the interior space when the lid is closed. However, Billings teaches a rustproof screen (screen 105h is made of a galvanized steel mesh material, para. 0026, fig. 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Powell, Jr.’s screen with a galvanized screen as taught by Billings to increase the durability of the screen to prevent damage. And Lipani teaches a lid (dome 30, col. 4, ll. 42-44, fig. 2), a clamp fastener that secures one end of the lid to the body (col. 10, ll. 48-53); and wherein the lid is a wire mesh lid comprising a plurality of openings configured to allow passage of a spray of water into the interior space when the lid is closed (col. 5, ll. 59-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Powell, Jr.’s device with a lid as taught by Lipani to protect a plant from animals. Regarding “an animal bathing containment device” It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 5, Powell, Jr. as modified by Billings and Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Powell, Jr. further teaches a handle (front and rear pipe sections 70 and 71, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Powell, Jr. as modified by Billings and Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Powell, Jr. further teaches wherein the drain plug is comprised of a valve (gate valve 74, fig. 3 and 4).
Claims 8, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell, Jr. (US 4603506) in view of Lipani (US 10130048).
Regarding claim 8, Powell, Jr. teaches a containment device comprising: a body comprised of: an opening (pan 10, col. 2, ll. 47-48, fig. 2); a base (tubular frame 12, col. 2, ll. 57-60, fig. 3); an interior space (interior of pan 10, fig. 3); a drainage hole (col. 3, ll. 57-59, fig. 4); a drain plug (gate valve 74, fig. 4) and further wherein the base comprises a horizontal member (horizontal pipe joints 46-53, col. 3, ll. 21-24, fig. 5) and a telescoping vertical member (vertical tubular frame members 30-35 are inserted into T-joints 20-22 and 24-26, col. 3, ll. 13-21, fig. 5) but fails to teach a lid attached to the body via hinge; a clamp fastener that secures one end of the lid to the body opposite the hinge; and wherein the lid is a wire mesh lid comprising a plurality of openings configured to allow passage of a spray of water into the interior space when the lid is closed. However, Lipani teaches a lid attached to the body via hinge (dome 30, col. 4, ll. 42-44, fig. 2); a clamp fastener that secures one end of the lid to the body opposite the hinge (col. 10, ll. 48-53); and wherein the lid is a wire mesh lid comprising a plurality of openings configured to allow passage of a spray of water into the interior space when the lid is closed (col. 5, ll. 59-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Powell, Jr.’s device with a lid as taught by Lipani to protect a plant from animals. Regarding “an animal bathing containment device” It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 12, Powell, Jr. as modified by Billings and Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Powell, Jr. further teaches a handle (front and rear pipe sections 70 and 71, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Powell, Jr. as modified by Billings and Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Powell, Jr. teaches wherein the drainage hole is comprised of a screened drainage hole (protective screen 78, col. 3, ll. 57-59, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Powell, Jr. as modified by Billings and Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Powell, Jr. teaches wherein the drain plug is comprised of a valve (gate valve 74, fig. 3 and 4).
Claims 8, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell, Jr. in view of Lipani, as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Hans (DE 4414829).
Regarding claim 17, Powell, Jr. as modified by Lipani teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the base attaches to the body via a second fastener. However, Hans teaches a base (1) attached to a body (6) via a fastener (32, fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Powell, Jr.’s system with a fastener as taught by Hans to prevent unwanted separation if the system tips or is knocked over.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed. The limitation of a method of providing an animal bathing containment system comprising a body with a drain, a mesh screen lid, a clip fastener, a drain plug and a base; placing an animal within the body, closing the lid and securing the lid to the body with the clip and spraying a liquid through the screen lid on to the animal as claimed in claim 1 is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record, in the examiner’s opinion. For example, Gallego (US 5765507) discloses placing a cat within a bathing containment system but fails to disclose placing a mesh screen lid on the body and spraying a liquid through the screen lid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, filed 2/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 12-14, and 17 under 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Powell, Jr. (US 4603506), Billings (US 2018/0064044) and Lipani (US 10130048).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 2/6/2026, with respect to claims 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claims 18-20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647