DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “… the control and evaluation unit being configured to obtain a switching signal when a target approaches …” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “the control and evaluation unit” coupled with functional language “… the control and evaluation unit being configured to obtain a switching signal when a target approaches …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “the control and evaluation unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation: “… the control and evaluation unit being configured to obtain a switching signal when a target approaches …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “the control and evaluation unit”
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of "… the control and evaluation unit being configured to obtain a switching signal when a target approaches …"
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
Note: Paragraph 30 and figure 5 of the specification discloses structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the longitudinal axis" in line 16 and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether it is referring to the longitudinal axis of the proximity switch in lines 13-14 or another longitudinal axis. If it is referring to the longitudinal axis of the proximity switch in lines 13-14, then it is recommended to amend to recite “… the longitudinal axis of the proximity switch …”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "optionally in" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "optionally in" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FABER MICHAEL (German Patent Application #DE 102015117075 A1; hereinafter Faber; translation provided by the examiner) in view of MUELLER JENS (German patent application # DE 102006053222 A1; hereinafter Mueller; translation provided by the examiner).
Regarding clam 1, Faber teaches
A proximity switch (fig.9 #6 and #7, #9, #8.1-8.3), comprising:
- a coil arrangement including at least two receiving coils (fig.9 #8.1 and #8.3) and at least one transmitting coil (fig.9 #8.2), and
- a control and evaluation unit arranged downstream of the coil arrangement (fig.9 shows #9 arranged downstream), the control and evaluation unit being configured to obtain a switching signal when a target approaches a predefined response distance of the proximity switch (par.29),
- wherein the at least two receiving coils and the at least one transmitting coil are planar coils (fig.9 shows all coils being planar coils) and are arranged in a common coil plane being arranged completely within one single copper layer,
- wherein the common coil plane is oriented perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the proximity switch (fig.9 shows the common coil plane being oriented perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the proximity switch),
- wherein coil axes of the at least two receiving coils and the at least one transmitting coil are each arranged in parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig.9 shows coil axes arranged in parallel to the longitudinal axis), and
- wherein the at least two receiving coils and the at least one transmitting coil do not overlap one another in a direction of the longitudinal axis and do not enclose one another circumferentially (fig.9 shows coils not overlapping one another and not enclosing one another circumferentially).
Faber fails to teach the at least two receiving coils and the at least one transmitting coil arranged in a common coil plane being arranged completely within one single copper layer.
Mueller does teach the at least two receiving coils and the at least one transmitting coil arranged in a common coil plane being arranged completely within one single copper layer (fig.1 and par.21 teach coils in a common coil plane being arranged completely within one single copper layer).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Faber to include the teachings of Mueller; which would provide a more robust and temperature stable proximity switch as disclosed by Mueller(par.8-10).
Regarding claim 2, Faber in view of Mueller teaches the proximity switch according to claim 1, Faber further teaches wherein the coil axis of the at least one transmitting coil is located radially on an inside in the common coil plane (fig.9), and the coil axes of the at least two receiving coils are located radially on an outside of the common coil plane (fig.9).
Regarding claim 3, Faber in view of Mueller teaches the proximity switch according to claim 1, Faber further teaches wherein exactly one transmitting coil is provided, the coil axis of which extends in alignment with the longitudinal axis (fig.9 shows one transmitting coil wound up and extending in alignment with the longitudinal axis), and wherein the coil axes of the at least two receiving coils have an identical spacing from the coil axis of the transmitting coil (fig.9).
Regarding claim 4, Faber in view of Mueller teaches the proximity switch according to claim 3, Faber further teaches wherein three to six receiving coils are provided (fig.9 shows a set of four receiving coils 8.1 and 8.3), the coil axes of which are arranged concentrically around the coil axis of the transmitting coil (fig.9).
Regarding claim 8, Faber in view of Mueller teaches a method, Faber further teaches comprising:
detecting a target using the proximity switch according to claim 1 (par.4 “This proximity switch can detect the approach of a metallic object”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faber in view of Mueller further in view of Kuhn; Thomas (US 20080204118 A1; hereinafter Kuhn).
Regarding claim 5, Faber in view of Mueller teaches the proximity switch according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein each receiving coil has a number S of windings, and each transmitting coil has a number E of windings, wherein a ratio ΣS/ΣE lies in a range from 0.46 to 0.30, optionally in a range from 0.43 to 0.32.
Kuhn does teach wherein each receiving coil has a number S of windings (par.6 “specific number of windings”), and each transmitting coil has a number E of windings (par.6 “specific number of windings”), wherein a ratio ΣS/ΣE lies in a range from 0.46 to 0.30, optionally in a range from 0.43 to 0.32 (par.71 inherently teaches the winding ratio lying in range from .43-.32; the sum of coil S to coils E lies around .32).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Faber in view of Mueller to include the teachings of Kuhn; which would open up the possibility of evaluating their signals separately or of linking them, allowing, for example, a linear combination or the formation of ratios of the two signals or of several signals as disclosed by Kuhn (par.17).
Regarding claim 6, Faber in view of Mueller teaches the proximity switch according to claim 1, but fails to wherein a ratio of a coil base surface of one of the at least two receiving coils to a coil base surface of the at least one transmitting coil is 1 plus/minus 0.2.
Kuhn does teach wherein a ratio of a coil base surface (fig.2 shows coil base surface) of one of the at least two receiving coils to a coil base surface (fig.2 shows coil base surface) of the at least one transmitting coil is 1 plus/minus 0.2 (par.71-72 inherently teaches ratio of receiving coils to transmitting coil with tolerance with +- .25 tolerance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Faber in view of Mueller to include the teachings of Kuhn; which would open up the possibility of evaluating their signals separately or of linking them, allowing, for example, a linear combination or the formation of ratios of the two signals or of several signals as disclosed by Kuhn (par.17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20180375516 A1; Nagel; Joachim et al. is a sensor apparatus for detecting a target object and a method for operating a sensor apparatus for detecting a target object.
US 20180331684 A1; KOIZUMI; Masayuki et al. is a proximity sensor and method.
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858