DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/18/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD, TERMINAL DEVICE, AND NETWORK DEVICE USING UNIFIED TRANSMISSION CONFIGURATION INDICATION (TCI) STATE.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites, a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to: …
performing single-transmission reception point …
Analysis:
Claim 14 recites a machine claim, "a terminal device", and the list of devices (i.e. a processor, a memory, and a transceiver) in the preamble. The body of the claim recites the action step: “performing” performed by the terminal device.
For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to replace "a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver" with "terminal device, comprising:" and include the aforementioned list of devices as part of the body of the claim, comprised by the terminal device, which are performing these actions/steps (see MPEP 2106.03, section I; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II).
Claim 17 discloses similar limitations and is therefore objected for the same reason as indicated above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al., (hereinafter Yuan), U.S. Publication No. 2025/0007677.
As per claim 1, Yuan discloses an information processing method [paragraphs 0005, 0007, 0042, 0054, 0166, 0167, 0177, an information processing method (a method of wireless communication performed by a UE; perform signal processing on the received communications)], comprising:
performing, by a terminal device, single-transmission reception point (TRP) transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state [fig. 12, paragraphs 0066, 0087, 0092, 0095, 0097, 0133, 0144, performing, by a terminal device, multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (the UE 120 is configured to apply a first unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated in the single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the UE may communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information)].
As per claim 2, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that the terminal device performs the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state [fig. 7, paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0042, 0043, 0090, receiving, by the terminal device, first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that the terminal device performs the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state (receive configuration information associated with a single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the configuration information may include information that identifies whether the UE 120 is in a multiple-TRP mode or in a single-TRP mode)].
As per claim 3, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 2,
wherein the first information is carried by first downlink control information (DCI); and wherein the first information comprises a first field in the first DCI, the first field being used for indicating that the terminal device [paragraphs 0042, 0043, 0052, 0053, 0092, 0095, wherein the first information is carried by first downlink control information (DCI); and wherein the first information comprises a first field in the first DCI, the first field being used for indicating that the terminal device (the UE 120 includes means for receiving configuration information associated with a single DCI)] performs at least one of:
following a first applicable unified TCI state; following a second applicable unified TCI state; or following the first applicable unified TCI state and the second applicable unified TCI state [paragraphs 0042, 0043, 0052, 0053, 0092, 0095, 0097, 0104, following a first applicable unified TCI state; following a second applicable unified TCI state (the UE 120 is configured to apply a second unified TCI in the pair of unified TCIs indicated in the single DCI)].
As per claim 4, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein performing, by the terminal device, the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state comprises at least one of:
performing, by the terminal device, the single-TRP transmission using one applicable unified TCI state; or performing, by the terminal device, the multi-TRP transmission using a plurality of applicable unified TCI states [fig. 7, paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0042, 0043, 0090, 0092, 0096, performing, by the terminal device, the multi-TRP transmission using a plurality of applicable unified TCI states (receive configuration information associated with a single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the configuration information may include information that identifies whether the UE 120 is in a multiple-TRP mode or in a single-TRP mode; configuration information may include a configuration of a TCI state pool for the UE 120)].
As per claim 6, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a number of unified TCI states [paragraphs 0079, 0092, receiving, by the terminal device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a number of unified TCI states (apply a second unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated to receive the second list of CORESETs)].
As per claim 7, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein performing, by the terminal device, the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state comprises at least one of:
in a case where the number of unified TCI states is one, performing, by the terminal device, the single-TRP transmission using one applicable unified TCI state; or in a case where the number of unified TCI states is multiple, performing, by the terminal device, the multi-TRP transmission using a plurality of applicable unified TCI states [fig. 7, paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0042, 0043, 0090, 0092, 0096, a case where the number of unified TCI states is multiple, performing, by the terminal device, the multi-TRP transmission using a plurality of applicable unified TCI states (receive configuration information associated with a single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the configuration information may include information that identifies whether the UE 120 is in a multiple-TRP mode or in a single-TRP mode; configuration information may include a configuration of a TCI state pool for the UE 120; receive an indication of a pair of unified transmission configuration indicators (TCIs))].
As per claim 8, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the second information is carried by first DCI; and
wherein the second information comprises a second field in the first DCI, and a relationship between the number of unified TCI states indicated by the second field and a transmission type scheduled by the first DCI [fig. 7, paragraphs 0060, 0064, 0072, 0076, 0077, 0083, wherein the second information comprises a second field in the first DCI, and a relationship between the number of unified TCI states indicated by the second field and a transmission type scheduled by the first DCI (a TCI state may be used for a downlink beam indication and a spatial relation may be used for an uplink beam indication; TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set (for example, an SSB and an aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) for different QCL types)] comprises at least one of:
in a case where the number of unified TCI states indicated by the second field is one, transmission scheduled by the first DCI being the single-TRP transmission; or in a case where the number of unified TCI states indicated by the second field is multiple, transmission scheduled by the first DCI being the multi-TRP transmission [fig. 7, paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0042, 0043, 0090, 0092, 0096, a case where the number of unified TCI states indicated by the second field is multiple, transmission scheduled by the first DCI being the multi-TRP transmission (receive configuration information associated with a single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the configuration information may include information that identifies whether the UE 120 is in a multiple-TRP mode or in a single-TRP mode; configuration information may include a configuration of a TCI state pool for the UE 120)].
As per claim 13, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in a case of receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a first TRP, receiving, by the terminal device, a transmission resource other than the PDSCH from a second TRP using a default TCI state [paragraphs 0061, 0076, 0079, 0106, in a case of receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a first TRP, receiving, by the terminal device, a transmission resource other than the PDSCH from a second TRP using a default TCI state (a single indication in the TCI field may be used to indicate two TCI states for multiple-TRP transmission of the PDSCH; second multi-TRP transmission mode (e.g., Mode 2), multiple PDCCHs may be used to schedule downlink data communications for multiple corresponding PDSCHs)];
wherein a determination manner for the default TCI state comprises at least one of:
that the terminal device uses a downlink TCI state and/or joint TCI state corresponding to a minimum control resource set (CORESET) identifier (ID) of the second TRP within a most recent slot; that the terminal device uses a synchronization signal block (SSB) selected when randomly accessing the second TRP as a default beam, or uses at least one of an uplink TCI state, a downlink TCI state or a joint TCI state corresponding to the SSB as the default TCI state; or that the terminal device uses a unified TCI state, corresponding to the second TRP, among unified TCI states corresponding to a codepoint with a minimum ID in codepoints of a plurality of unified TCI states activated in a MAC CE as the default TCI state [paragraphs 0060, 0065, 0092, 0094, 0097, 0104, 0108, 0115, 0117, 0124, that the terminal device uses a downlink TCI state and/or joint TCI state corresponding to a minimum control resource set (CORESET) identifier (ID) of the second TRP within a most recent slot; that the terminal device uses a unified TCI state, corresponding to the second TRP, among unified TCI states corresponding to a codepoint with a minimum ID in codepoints of a plurality of unified TCI states activated in a MAC CE as the default TCI state (where the first list includes a CORESET (e.g., of lower ID); apply the apply a first unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated to receive the first list of CORESETs)].
As per claim 14, Yuan discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to control the transceiver to communicate with other devices, and the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program [fig. 2, 14, paragraphs 0005, 0036, 0050, 0052, 0164-0167, a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to control the transceiver to communicate with other devices, and the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program (apparatus for wireless communication at a device, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to perform the method)], to cause the terminal device to implement:
performing single-transmission reception point (TRP) transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state [fig. 12, paragraphs 0066, 0087, 0092, 0095, 0097, 0133, 0144, performing single-transmission reception point (TRP) transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (the UE 120 is configured to apply a first unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated in the single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the UE may communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information)].
As per claim 15, Yuan discloses the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program, to cause the terminal device further to implement:
receiving first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that the terminal device performs the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state [fig. 7, paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0042, 0043, 0090, receiving first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that the terminal device performs the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using the unified TCI state (receive configuration information associated with a single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the configuration information may include information that identifies whether the UE 120 is in a multiple-TRP mode or in a single-TRP mode)].
As per claim 16, Yuan discloses the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program, to cause the terminal device further to implement:
receiving second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a number of unified TCI states [paragraphs 0079, 0092, receiving second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a number of unified TCI states (apply a second unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated to receive the second list of CORESETs)].
As per claim 17, Yuan discloses a network device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to control the transceiver to communicate with other devices, and the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program [fig. 2, 14, paragraphs 0005, 0036, 0050, 0052, 0164-0167, a network device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to control the transceiver to communicate with other devices, and the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program (apparatus for wireless communication at a device, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to perform the method)], to cause the network device to implement:
transmitting first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that a terminal device performs single-transmission reception point (TRP) transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state [fig. 12, paragraphs 0066, 0087, 0092, 0095, 0097, 0133, 0144, transmitting first information, wherein the first information is used for indicating that a terminal device performs single-transmission reception point (TRP) transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission using a unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (the UE 120 is configured to apply a first unified TCI in a pair of unified TCIs indicated in the single DCI multiple-TRP mode; the UE may communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information)].
As per claim 18, Yuan discloses the network device according to claim 17,
wherein the first information is carried by first downlink control information (DCI); and wherein the first information comprises a first field in the first DCI, the first field being used for indicating that the terminal device [paragraphs 0042, 0043, 0052, 0053, 0092, 0095, wherein the first information is carried by first downlink control information (DCI); and wherein the first information comprises a first field in the first DCI, the first field being used for indicating that the terminal device (the UE 120 includes means for receiving configuration information associated with a single DCI)] performs at least one of:
following a first applicable unified TCI state; following a second applicable unified TCI state; or following the first applicable unified TCI state and the second applicable unified TCI state [paragraphs 0042, 0043, 0052, 0053, 0092, 0095, 0097, 0104, following a first applicable unified TCI state; following a second applicable unified TCI state (the UE 120 is configured to apply a second unified TCI in the pair of unified TCIs indicated in the single DCI)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan, in view of Zhu et al., (hereinafter Zhu), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0114010.
As per claim 5, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 3, Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission [paragraphs 0173, 0179, 0187, 0188, 0219, 0225, wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission (the UE receives a TCI state update; the UE may apply the common UL TCI state indication for both PUCCH and PUSCH via MAC CE or DCI for common beam indication, until the UE receives a TCI state update)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Yuan by updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device as taught by Zhu because it would provide the Yuan's method with the enhanced capability of supporting various services/applications with different requirements [Zhu, paragraphs 0008, 0049].
As per claim 9, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 8, Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission [paragraphs 0173, 0179, 0187, 0188, 0219, 0225, wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission (the UE receives a TCI state update; the UE may apply the common UL TCI state indication for both PUCCH and PUSCH via MAC CE or DCI for common beam indication, until the UE receives a TCI state update)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Yuan by updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device as taught by Zhu because it would provide the Yuan's method with the enhanced capability of supporting various services/applications with different requirements [Zhu, paragraphs 0008, 0049].
As per claim 19, Yuan discloses the network device according to claim 18, Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first DCI is used for updating a unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the first DCI is used for updating a unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission [paragraphs 0173, 0179, 0187, 0188, 0219, 0225, wherein the first DCI is used for updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device after scheduling the terminal device to perform the single-TRP transmission and/or multi-TRP transmission (the UE receives a TCI state update; the UE may apply the common UL TCI state indication for both PUCCH and PUSCH via MAC CE or DCI for common beam indication, until the UE receives a TCI state update)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Yuan by updating the unified TCI state applied by the terminal device as taught by Zhu because it would provide the Yuan's device with the enhanced capability of supporting various services/applications with different requirements [Zhu, paragraphs 0008, 0049].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0318795 discloses enhance unified TCI state application procedures based on the wireless device capability and multiple TRPs/panels.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469