DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 113386616 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses:
An apparatus (10) comprising means configured to:
navigate a mobile changing unit (30) to a first position beneath a vehicle (50) [0090];
determine at least one insertion apparatus (40) of the mobile changing unit, wherein the at least one insertion apparatus is configured to insert a battery module (1000) placed on the insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0005 & 0006 & 0067 & 0090]; and
cause insertion of the battery module placed on the determined at least one insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0088],
wherein the apparatus is part of the mobile changing unit (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13),
wherein the means are further configured to:
obtain vehicle information, wherein the vehicle information represents the vehicle [0007 & 0008 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0080 & 0086], and
wherein determining the at least one insertion apparatus is at least partially based on the obtained vehicle information [0005 & 0006 & 0007 & 0008 & 0067 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0080 & 0086 & 0090].
Regarding Claim 2, Huang discloses:
the mobile changing unit comprises a plurality of insertion apparatuses including the at least one insertion apparatus (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13), wherein each of the insertion apparatuses is configured to insert a battery module placed on the respective insertion apparatus [0005 & 0006 & 0067 & 0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095], and wherein the means of the apparatus are further configured to:
determine at least one further insertion apparatus from the plurality of insertion apparatuses [0005 & 0006 & 0067 & 0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095]; and
cause insertion of a further battery module placed on the determined at least one further insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0005 & 0006 & 0067 & 0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107].
Regarding Claim 3, Huang discloses:
the means of the apparatus are further configured to:
navigate the mobile changing unit, after the at least one battery module has been inserted into the vehicle and before the at least one further battery module is inserted into the vehicle, from the first position to a second position beneath the vehicle [0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107].
Regarding Claim 4, Huang discloses:
the means of the apparatus are further configured to:
cause, after the at least one battery module has been inserted, insertion of at least one further battery module placed on the determined at least one insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107].
Regarding Claim 5, Huang discloses:
the at least one insertion apparatus and/or the plurality of insertion apparatuses of the mobile changing unit are configured to insert the at least one battery module and the at least one further battery module into the vehicle in such a way that the at least one battery module and the at least one further battery module form a single battery stack inside the vehicle (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107].
Regarding Claim 7, Huang discloses:
the means are further configured to:
cause removal of a battery module from the vehicle before the at least one and/or the at least one further battery module is inserted into the vehicle, wherein the mobile changing unit comprises at least one removal apparatus for removing a battery module from the vehicle [0005 & 0067 & 0090].
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses:
the means are further configured to:
obtain at least one battery module information, wherein the battery module information represents a battery module, and wherein determining the at least one insertion apparatus is at least partially based on the obtained battery module information [0075 & 0078 & 0086].
Regarding Claim 9, Huang discloses:
the apparatus further comprising sensor means configured to obtain the battery module information from the battery module represented by the battery module information [0005 & 0015 & 0067 & 0068 & 0072 & 0073 & 0075 & 0078 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108].
Regarding Claim 10, Huang discloses:
the apparatus further comprising communication means configured to receive the battery module information from a backend server [0006 & 0074 & 0075 & 0078].
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses:
the apparatus further comprising communication means configured to receive the battery module information from a backend server [0006 & 0074 & 0075 & 0078].
Regarding Claim 12, Huang discloses:
the apparatus further comprises:
moving means for moving the mobile changing unit comprising a motor drive and/or a plurality of wheels (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0089]; and/or
the at least one insertion apparatus (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0071 & 0092 & 0095 & 0100 & 0107 & 0108]; and/or
the at least one removal apparatus (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0071 & 0092 & 0095 & 0100 & 0107 & 0108]; and/or
communication means for communicating with the backend server and/or the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 13, Huang discloses:
A method, performed by an apparatus (10), which is part of a mobile changing unit, wherein the method comprises:
navigating the mobile changing unit (30) to a first position beneath a vehicle (50) [0090];
determining at least one insertion apparatus (40) of the mobile changing unit, wherein the at least one insertion apparatus is configured to insert a battery module (1000) placed on the insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0005 & 0006 & 0067 & 0090]; and
causing insertion of the battery module placed on the determined at least one insertion apparatus into the vehicle [0088],
wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining vehicle information, the vehicle information representing the vehicle [0007 & 0008 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0080 & 0086], and wherein determining the at least one insertion apparatus is at least partially based on the obtained vehicle information [0005 & 0006 & 0007 & 0008 & 0067 & 0075 & 0076 & 0078 & 0080 & 0086 & 0090].
Regarding Claim 14, Huang discloses:
A computer program, comprising commands that cause an apparatus to perform the method steps according to claim 13 [0075 & 0093].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 113386616 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang teaches:
the at least one battery module and the at least one further battery module are arranged beneath one another and/or are electrically connected to a common vehicle (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [0090 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0100 & 0104 & 0105 & 0107].
Huang does not explicitly teach:
the at least one battery module and the at least one further battery module are arranged beneath one another and/or are electrically connected to one another within the battery stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one battery module and the at least one further battery module electrically connected to one another within the battery stack in order to provide power uninterrupted power to the vehicle to which they are attached without requiring switching of the connection between the batteries and the vehicle during operation as well as uniform discharging of the battery packs thereby improving performance of the system since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that multiple batteries connected to the same electric vehicle simultaneously and each other in series or in parallel were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20160368464 A1, US 20110113609 A1, US 6094028 A, US 9016417 B2, US 12122332 B2, and US 11858328 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: robotic battery exchanging systems for exchanging batteries in electric vehicles.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652